DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to application filed on 11 September 2024 (including amendment filed simultaneously). Claims 1-15 are now pending in the present application. This office action is made Non-Final.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on
03 December 2024
are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being by Ang et al. (hereinafter Ang) (US 2020/0389933 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 10, 11, 14, and 15, Ang discloses a method of receiving a signal by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system { (see Figs.1-15) }, the method comprising:
receiving discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration information including information about a DRX cycle { (see pg. 12, [0100]; Figs.1-3) }; and
monitoring a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) based on the DRX configuration information { (see pg. 12, [0100, 0101]; Figs.1-3) },
wherein each On-duration set including a plurality of On-durations spaced apart from each other on a time axis is configured in each DRX cycle { (see pg. 12, [0100]; Figs.1-3) },
wherein the UE monitors the PDCCH based on the plurality of On-durations included in each On-duration set { (see pg. 12, [0100, 0101]; pp. 9-10, [0081]; Figs.1-3) }, and
wherein based on the PDCCH being detected in any one of the plurality of On-durations as a result of monitoring the PDCCH, the UE determines that no subsequent On-duration will occur until a start of a next DRX cycle { (see pg. 12, [0100, 0101]; Figs.1-3) }.
Regarding claims 2, 10, 11, 14, and 15, Ang discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the UE is configured with at least one of first information about a maximum time duration in which each On-duration set is maintained to be valid from a start of each On-duration set or second information about a maximum number of valid On-durations included in each On-duration set { (see pg. 12, [0100, 0101]; Figs.1-3) }.
Regarding claims 3, 10, 11, 14, and 15, Ang discloses the method according to claim 2, wherein the DRX configuration information includes at least one of the first information or the second information { (see pg. 12, [0100, 0101]; pp. 9-10, [0081]; Figs.1-3) }.
Regarding claims 4, 10, 11, 14, and 15, Ang discloses the method according to claim 2, wherein based on the PDCCH being detected in an On-duration located before the maximum time duration or the maximum number of On-durations is reached, the On-duration set is early terminated { (see pg. 12, [0100, 0101]; Figs.1-3) }.
Regarding claims 5, 10, 11, 14, and 15, Ang discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein data scheduled by the detected PDCCH has a non-integer periodicity { (see pg. 12, [0100, 0101]; pp. 9-10, [0081]; Figs.1-3) }.
Regarding claims 6, 10, 11, 14, and 15, Ang discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the DRX configuration information includes at least one of information about a gap between the plurality of On-durations or information about a position of a starting On-duration among the plurality of On-durations { (see pg. 12, [0100, 0101]; pp. 9-10, [0081]; Figs.1-3) }.
Regarding claims 7, 10, 11, 14, and 15, Ang discloses the method according to claim 6, wherein the information about the gap between the plurality of On-durations includes a periodicity of the plurality of On-durations { (see pg. 12, [0100, 0101]; Figs.1-3) }.
Regarding claims 8, 10, 11, 14, and 15, Ang discloses the method according to claim 6, wherein the information about the position of the starting On-duration includes an offset between a start of the DRX cycle and the start of the starting On-duration { (see pg. 12, [0100, 0101]; Figs.1-3) }.
Regarding claims 9 and 15, Ang discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein a length of each On-duration is individually configured in a same On-duration set { (see pg. 12, [0100, 0101]; pp. 9-10, [0081]; Figs.1-3) }.
Regarding claim 12, Ang discloses the device according to claim 11, wherein the device is an application specific integrated circuit (ASIC) or a digital signal processing device { (see pg. 18, [0164, 0163]; Figs. 1-15) }.
Regarding claim 13, Ang discloses the device according to claim 11, wherein the device is a user equipment (UE) operating in a 3rd generation partnership project (3GPP)-based wireless communication system { (see pp. 20-21, [0195];pg. 12, [0100, 0101]; pp. 9-10, [0081]; Figs.1-3) }.
Conclusion
/WILLIE J DANIEL JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465
WJD,Jr
30 September 2026