DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claims 1-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanabe et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2017/0349145) in view of Penilla et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2021/0394637).
Regarding claims 1, 10, and 18, Tanabe discloses a method, comprising:
transitioning, in response to a first presence signal, an electronic device from a non-start state to a start state (e.g. paragraphs [0105], [0138]) while a vehicle is parked (implicit from figures 1-3, 5, 10-11, 16-17 and text), wherein the electronic device is integrated into the vehicle (e.g. figures 8, 14);
determining, in response to a second presence signal, that an entity is within a defined range from the vehicle (e.g. paragraphs [0082], [0084], [0090] and figures 10, 13: range Y, but could also be mapped to range X or range Z);
receiving, by the electronic device, from a microphone integrated into the vehicle, an audio signal representative of speech (e.g. paragraph [0091] and figure 13);
determining, by the electronic device, using the audio signal, that a defined command is present in the speech (e.g. paragraph [0091] and figure 13); and
causing, by the electronic device, an actor device to perform an operation corresponding to the command, wherein performing the operation causes a change in a state of the vehicle (e.g. figures 5-7, 13-14, and paragraph [0091]).
Tanabe fails to disclose transitioning, in response to a first signal, an electronic device from a power-off state to a power-on state while a vehicle is parked; or determining that the entity is approaching the vehicle.
In the same field of endeavor, Penilla discloses transitioning, in response to a first signal, an electronic device from a power-off state to a power-on state while a vehicle is parked (e.g. [0045], [0059], [0267], [0276], [0288]); or determining that the entity is approaching the vehicle (e.g. [0136], [0143], [0147]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tanabe to do, as taught by Penilla, in order to conserve power on the vehicle and avoid unwanted activations of the vehicle systems, with predictable results.
Regarding claims 2, 11, and 19, Tanabe in view of Penilla further discloses validating a voice profile associated with the speech before the causing the actor device to perform the operation (e.g. Penilla paragraph [0101]).
Regarding claims 3 and 12, Tanabe in view of Penilla further discloses that the first presence signal is indicative of a hardware token being within a second defined range from the vehicle, the method further comprising receiving, by the electronic device, the first presence signal from a first detector device integrated into the vehicle (e.g. paragraphs [0105], [0138]).
Regarding claims 4 and 13, Tanabe in view of Penilla further discloses receiving, by the electronic device, the second presence signal from a second detector device integrated into the vehicle (e.g. paragraphs [0082], [0084], [0090] and figures 10, 13).
Regarding claims 5 and 14, Tanabe in view of Penilla further discloses causing, by the electronic device, a microphone integrated into the vehicle to transition from a second power-off state to a second power-on state in response to the second presence signal (e.g. from combination of paragraphs [0105], [0138] and Penilla [0045], [0059], [0267], [0276], [0288]).
Regarding claims 6 and 15, Tanabe in view of Penilla further discloses determining that a level of ambient noise within a cabin of the vehicle is less than a threshold level before the causing the microphone to transition from the second power-off state to the second power-on state (well known in the art. The examiner hereby takes Official Notice).
Regarding claims 7, 16, and 20, Tanabe in view of Penilla further discloses causing, by the electronic device, the vehicle to provide an indication that the vehicle is ready to accept a voice command (e.g. paragraphs [0091] and figure 13, in combination with Penilla paragraphs [0143], [0147]).
Regarding claim 8, Tanabe in view of Penilla further discloses that the causing, by the electronic device, the vehicle to provide the indication comprises causing, by the electronic device, one or more lighting devices integrated into the vehicle to turn on (e.g. Penilla paragraphs [0143], [0147]).
Regarding claim 9, Tanabe in view of Penilla further discloses determining, based on at least one state signal, that a cabin of the vehicle is open (implicit from figures 2, 5, 10, 16, and text); configuring one or more attributes of signal processing for the audio signal (e.g. paragraphs figures 5-8, 13-14: 601-602, and paragraph [0091]: such as for audio codec/DSP 601 or speech recognition 602); and processing the audio signal according to the one or more configured attributes (e.g. paragraphs figures 5-8, 13-14: 601-602, and paragraph [0091]: such as audio codec/DSP 601 or speech recognition 602).
Regarding claim 17, Tanabe in view of Penilla further discloses that the microphone is assembled inside a cabin of the vehicle or is assembled outside the cabin of the vehicle and faces an exterior of the vehicle (e.g. figures 1-4, 8, 10-11, 14, 16-17).
Conclusion
/Shelley Chen/
Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3665
December 6, 2025