DETAILED ACTION
The Amendment filed 12/4/2025 has been entered. Claims 1,7-12,14-15,18-20,24-26,43 remain pending in the application. Claims 44 have been added.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,7-12,14-15,18,26,43-44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent 9790829 to Kawashima in view of US Patent 7748216 to Eiraku.
As to claim 1, Kawashima discloses a turbine dosing system for a turbocharger, the turbine dosing system comprising: a turbine inlet passage (Fig 1) configured to receive exhaust gas from an internal combustion engine; a turbine wheel chamber (36a) configured to receive exhaust gas from the turbine inlet passage, the turbine wheel chamber containing a turbine wheel supported for rotation about a turbine wheel axis, the turbine wheel; and a turbine outlet passage (50) downstream of the turbine wheel chamber and configured to receive exhaust gas from the turbine wheel chamber, the turbine outlet passage being at least partly defined by a structure (50) which comprises a dosing module mount (60) configured to receive a dosing module (52), the turbine outlet passage defining a flow axis which extends from a downstream end of the turbine wheel (C), along the flow axis, downstream of the downstream end of the turbine wheel (Fig 1),
a dosing module (52) mounted to the dosing module mount (60) and configured to inject aftertreatment fluid, via an outlet of the dosing module, (Fig 4) into exhaust gas in the turbine outlet passage, wherein the dosing module is angled orthogonal to, or downstream relative to, the flow axis (Fig 4, angled downstream of flow axis C); wherein the structure (50) which at least partly defines the turbine outlet passage comprises an opening (doser opening through 60); wherein the dosing module is configured to inject aftertreatment fluid through the opening (Fig 4 52 injects through orifice of 60); wherein the flow axis does not turn more than 35 degrees as it passes the dosing module (flow axis C shown Figure 4 not deviating more than 35 degrees); and wherein a primary impingement zone defined by the dosing module is downstream of the turbine wheel chamber (Fig 4).
Kawashima does not expressly go into detail about the turbine itself, and does not disclose a turbine wheel supported for rotation about a turbine wheel axis, the turbine wheel comprising an exducer defining an exducer diameter; the dosing module mount is located within around 10 exducer diameters in the direction of the flow axis.
Eiraku discloses shows a turbine outlet with connecting pipe and oxygen sensor similar to that in Kawashima. Eiraku showing a similar layout puts into perspective the relationship of the turbine wheel of Kawashima in relation to the pipe bend and include oxygen sensor and points of reference. As such Eiraku provides scope to Kawashima teaching that the turbine is supported for rotation about a turbine wheel axis (Eiraku: 8), the turbine wheel comprising an exducer defining an exducer diameter (Eiraku outlet of 5 Fig 1); the dosing module mount (and in this case the oxygen sensor as is present in Eiraku) is located within around 10 exducer diameters of the turbine downstream (Eiraku outlet of 5 Fig 1).
At the time of invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for Kawashima to have a the turbine supported for rotation about a turbine wheel axis, the turbine wheel comprising an exducer defining an exducer diameter; the dosing module mount is located within around 10 exducer diameters of the turbine downstream using the teachings of Eiraku as this would have provided perspective to teach the relationship between the turbine wheel and the injector in conjunction with the connecting pipe such that the components would be located close together to best assist in mixing of the exhaust gas for both injection and for sensor accuracy.
As to claim 7, Kawashima discloses the dosing module mount is located within 5 exducer diameters, in the direction of the flow axis, downstream of the downstream end of the turbine wheel (per frame of reference logic presented claim 1 above the doser is within 5 exducers).
As to claim 8, Kawashima discloses wherein the dosing module mount comprises a first recess; and wherein at least part of the dosing module is disposed in the first recess (recess in 60 housing portion 52).
As to claim 9, Kawashima discloses the outlet of the dosing module is flush with an interior surface of the structure which at least partly defines the turbine outlet passage (52a flush with wall 63).
As to claim 10, Kawashima discloses the turbine outlet passage at least partly diverges (51 diverges top to bottom Fig 4).
As to claim 11, Kawashima discloses the dosing module mount is provided in a diverging portion of the turbine outlet passage (60, 52, 51 diverges top to bottom Fig 4).
As to claim 12, Kawashima discloses wherein the dosing module mount is integral with the structure which at least partly defines the turbine outlet passage (60 integral Fig 4).
As to claim 14, Kawashima discloses the turbine dosing system further comprising a turbine housing assembly (36a,b), the turbine housing assembly comprising: a turbine housing (36a), the turbine housing defining the turbine inlet passage and the turbine wheel chamber (as commonly taught Eiraku:7); and a connection adapter (Fig 3), the connection adapter being coupled to the turbine housing and at least partly defining the turbine outlet passage.
As to claim 15, Kawashima discloses the connection adapter comprises the dosing module mount (60, Fig 3).
As to claim 18, Kawashima as modified by Eiraku above discloses comprising sensing one or more properties of exhaust gas using an exhaust gas sensor (Eiraku : 32,33) where it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to measure oxygen in addition to temperature as disclosed in Kawashima so as to better control the fuel air ratio of the engine for optimized combustion and pollution control as taught in Eiraku and known commonly in the art.
As to claim 26, Kawashima discloses A method of operating a turbine dosing system for a turbocharger, comprising: receiving exhaust gas from an internal combustion engine into a turbine inlet passage (Fig 2); receiving exhaust gas from the turbine inlet passage into a turbine wheel chamber (36a), the turbine wheel chamber containing a turbine wheel supported for rotation about a turbine wheel axis; and receiving exhaust gas from the turbine wheel chamber into a turbine outlet passage downstream of the turbine wheel chamber (Fig 3), the turbine outlet passage being at least partly defined by a structure which comprises a dosing module mount configured to receive a dosing module, the turbine outlet passage defining a flow axis which extends from a downstream end of the turbine wheel; injecting aftertreatment fluid across the flow axis (Fig 4 injection crosses flow axis C), via an outlet of the dosing module, into exhaust gas in the turbine outlet passage; wherein the dosing module is angled orthogonal to, or downstream relative to, the flow axis; wherein the flow axis does not turn more than 35 degrees as it passes the dosing module (flow axis C shown Figure 4 not deviating more than 35 degrees), and wherein a primary impingement zone defined by the dosing module is downstream of the turbine wheel chamber (Fig 2-4 as cited and rejected Claim 1 above).
Kawashima does not expressly go into detail about the turbine itself, and does not disclose a turbine wheel supported for rotation about a turbine wheel axis, the turbine wheel comprising an exducer defining an exducer diameter; the dosing module mount is located within around 10 exducer diameters in the direction of the flow axis.
Eiraku discloses shows a turbine outlet with connecting pipe and oxygen sensor similar to that in Kawashima. Eiraku showing a similar layout puts into perspective the relationship of the turbine wheel of Kawashima in relation to the pipe bend and include oxygen sensor and points of reference. As such Eiraku provides scope to Kawashima teaching that the turbine is supported for rotation about a turbine wheel axis (Eiraku: 8), the turbine wheel comprising an exducer defining an exducer diameter (Eiraku outlet of 5 Fig 1); the dosing module mount (and in this case the oxygen sensor as is present in Eiraku) is located within around 10 exducer diameters of the turbine downstream (Eiraku outlet of 5 Fig 1).
At the time of invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for Kawashima to have a the turbine supported for rotation about a turbine wheel axis, the turbine wheel comprising an exducer defining an exducer diameter; the dosing module mount is located within around 10 exducer diameters of the turbine downstream using the teachings of Eiraku as this would have provided perspective to teach the relationship between the turbine wheel and the injector in conjunction with the connecting pipe such that the components would be located close together to best assist in mixing of the exhaust gas for both injection and for sensor accuracy.
As to claim 43, Kawashima as modified by Eiraku above discloses comprising sensing one or more properties of exhaust gas using an exhaust gas sensor (Eiraku : 32,33) where it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to measure oxygen in addition to temperature as disclosed in Kawashima so as to better control the fuel air ratio of the engine for optimized combustion and pollution control as taught in Eiraku and known commonly in the art.
As to claim 44, Kawashima discloses a turbine dosing system for a turbocharger, the turbine dosing system comprising: a turbine inlet passage configured to receive exhaust gas from an internal combustion engine; a turbine wheel chamber configured to receive exhaust gas from the turbine inlet passage, the turbine wheel chamber containing a turbine wheel supported for rotation about a turbine wheel axis, the turbine wheel comprising an exducer defining an exducer diameter; and a turbine outlet passage downstream of the turbine wheel chamber and configured to receive exhaust gas from the turbine wheel chamber, the turbine outlet passage being at least partly defined by a structure which comprises a dosing module mount configured to receive a dosing module, the turbine outlet passage defining a flow axis which extends from a downstream end of the turbine wheel; the dosing module mounted to the dosing module mount and configured to inject aftertreatment fluid, via an outlet of the dosing module, into exhaust gas in the turbine outlet passage; wherein the dosing module mount is located within 10 exducer diameters, in the direction of the flow axis, downstream of the downstream end of the turbine wheel; wherein the dosing module is angled orthogonal to, or downstream relative to, the flow axis (as cited and rejected Claim 1 above);
wherein the structure which at least partly defines the turbine outlet passage comprises an opening (opening that 52/52 pass through Fig 4), the opening defined in a surface that at least partially defines the turbine outlet passage (Surface 60, Fig 4); wherein the dosing module is configured to inject aftertreatment fluid through the opening (injection spray Fig 4); wherein an included angle defined between diametrically opposing portions of the surface, either side of the opening, is at least 90 degrees (see 180 degrees of surface 60 below between diametrically opposing sides A, and B);
and wherein a primary impingement zone defined by the dosing module is downstream of the turbine wheel chamber (Fig 4).
Claims 18,43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent 9790829 to Kawashima in view of US Patent 7748216 to Eiraku as applied to Claim 1,26 above and further in view of FR2925586 (as provided by applicant).
As to claim 18, Kawashima (narrower location interpretation) does not expressly disclose further comprising an exhaust gas sensor, which is taught by FR2925586 (Line 25-38).
At the time of invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kawashima to include an exhaust gas sensor using the teachings of FR2925586 so as to improve the efficiency of the control deice by monitoring oxygen levels (Line 25-38) for enhanced pollutant control as known in the art.
As to claim 43, Kawashima (narrower location interpretation) does not expressly disclose further comprising an exhaust gas sensor on the dosing mount pipe, which is taught by FR2925586 (Line 25-38).
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent 9790829 to Kawashima in view of US Patent 7748216 to Eiraku as applied to Claim 1 above and further in view of US Patent 8596063 to Brown.
As to claim 19, Kawashima discloses a compressor (36b), the compressor comprising a compressor housing (36b); and a turbine dosing system according to claim 1 (see rejected of Claim 1 above); wherein the compressor wheel and turbine wheel are coupled in power communication with one another (Fig 2).
Kawashima does not go into detail about the interior of the turbocharger, including a compressor wheel; a bearing housing, the bearing housing being configured to support a shaft for rotation about an axis; the compressor wheel and turbine wheel are coupled to the shaft in power communication with one another, however these features are commonly known in turbochargers as taught by Brown (Col 3, Line 17-25).
At the time of invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for Kawashima to have these features as they are standard features of a turbocharger as already indicated as included in Kawashima, where the turbine would allow effective turning of the compressor by use of shaft and bearing as known in the art to achieve the desired function effectively.
As to claim 20, Kawashima discloses the turbocharger is configured to receive exhaust gas from the engine (10, Fig 2).
Claims 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent 9790829 to Kawashima in view of US Patent 7748216 to Eiraku as applied to Claim 1 above and further in view of US Patent 8327829 to Kiedel and further in view of teachings from US Patent 8127538 to Pollitt.
As to claim 24,25, Kawashima (narrower interpretation) discloses receiving a fixing plate of the injector and how it is all assembled (Fig 2,3) with an injector, as such it would have been obvious to urging the dosing module into engagement with the dosing module mount as this would be standard installation of a component as known in the art. Kawashima does not expressly disclose securing the dosing module to the dosing module mount wherein securing the dosing module to the dosing module mount comprises placing, and tightening, a clamp around flanges of the dosing module and the dosing module mount.
Kiedel discloses securing the dosing module to the dosing module mount wherein securing the dosing module to the dosing module mount comprises placing, and tightening, a clamp around flanges of the dosing module and the dosing module mount (Col 1, Line 55-60), where using a clamp mount is taught to shield the injector from heat by Pollitt (Col 1 Line 10-16).
At the time of invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kawashima to include securing the dosing module to the dosing module mount wherein securing the dosing module to the dosing module mount comprises placing, and tightening, a clamp around flanges of the dosing module and the dosing module mount using the teachings of Kiedel and Pollitt to assist in shielding the injector from the heat of the system increasing its functional life and preventing damage.
Claims 1,7,12,14-15,26,44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Publication 20210047957 to Norris in view of SE2150098 to Gawell.
As to claim 1, Norris discloses a turbine dosing system for a turbocharger, the turbine dosing system comprising: a turbine inlet passage (117) configured to receive exhaust gas from an internal combustion engine (104); a turbine wheel chamber (116) configured to receive exhaust gas from the turbine inlet passage, the turbine wheel chamber containing a turbine wheel supported for rotation about a turbine wheel axis (116, also supported by teachings of Gawell below); and a turbine outlet passage (123,126) downstream of the turbine wheel chamber and configured to receive exhaust gas from the turbine wheel chamber, the turbine outlet passage being at least partly defined by a structure which comprises a dosing module mount (Par 0031) configured to receive a dosing module (126,136,Fig 2), the turbine outlet passage defining a flow axis which extends from a downstream end of the turbine wheel (Fig 1, Fig 10, 200); the dosing module mounted to the dosing module mount and configured to inject aftertreatment fluid (130,Par 0035), via an outlet of the dosing module, into exhaust gas in the turbine outlet passage (Fig 12); wherein the dosing module is angled orthogonal to (Fig 12), or downstream relative to, the flow axis (200); wherein the structure which at least partly defines the turbine outlet passage comprises an opening; wherein the dosing module is configured to inject aftertreatment fluid through the opening (128,136 Fig 12); wherein the flow axis does not turn more than 35 degrees as it passes the dosing module (Fig 12, straight); and wherein a primary impingement zone defined by the dosing module is downstream of the turbine wheel chamber (204 downstream of 116, Fig 12).
While Norris discloses (Par 0025 “The exhaust gas aftertreatment system described herein includes an injection housing which is located immediately downstream of the turbine, so as to receive the swirling exhaust gas produced by the turbine” and a turbine in (116) it does not go into details of its construction specifically how the turbine wheel comprising an exducer defining an exducer diameter wherein the dosing module mount is located within 10 exducer diameters, in the direction of the flow axis, downstream of the downstream end of the turbine wheel.
Gawell discloses a doser opposite a wastegate equivalent to that in Norris (Fig 3) where an injection housing is located immediately downstream of the turbine (Fig 3), and which shows how in such a layout the turbine wheel comprising an exducer defining an exducer diameter wherein the dosing module mount is located within 10 exducer diameters, in the direction of the flow axis, downstream of the downstream end of the turbine wheel (Fig 3, note the orientation of the injector is not relied upon, merely its proximity as “immediately downstream”).
At the time of invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the system of Norris would include an exducer diameter as an inherent feature of a turbine wherein the dosing module mount is located within 10 exducer diameters, in the direction of the flow axis, downstream of the downstream end of the turbine wheel using the teachings of Gawell as this would be a reasonable interpretation of “immediately downstream” in light of the figures of Norris, and the equivalent teachings of Gawell to achieve the desired feature of “so as to receive the swirling exhaust gas produced by the turbine” as required by Norris (Par 0025).
As to claim 7, Norris discloses the dosing module mount is located within 5 exducer diameters, in the direction of the flow axis, downstream of the downstream end of the turbine wheel (Gawell Fig 3 shows injection and wastegate within 5 exducer as disclosed as immediate for Norris).
As to claim 12, Norris discloses the dosing module mount is integral with the structure which at least partly defines the turbine outlet passage (Par 0031).
As to claim 14, Norris discloses the turbine dosing system further comprising a turbine housing assembly, the turbine housing assembly comprising: a turbine housing (116), the turbine housing defining the turbine inlet passage and the turbine wheel chamber; and a connection adapter (126), the connection adapter being coupled to the turbine housing and at least partly defining the turbine outlet passage (Fig 1).
As to claim 15, Norris discloses the connection adapter comprises the dosing module mount (126, Fig 1).
As to claim 26, Norris discloses A method of operating a turbine dosing system for a turbocharger, comprising: receiving exhaust gas from an internal combustion engine into a turbine inlet passage; receiving exhaust gas from the turbine inlet passage into a turbine wheel chamber, the turbine wheel chamber containing a turbine wheel supported for rotation about a turbine wheel axis, the turbine wheel comprising an exducer defining an exducer diameter; and receiving exhaust gas from the turbine wheel chamber into a turbine outlet passage downstream of the turbine wheel chamber, the turbine outlet passage being at least partly defined by a structure which comprises a dosing module mount configured to receive a dosing module, the turbine outlet passage defining a flow axis which extends from a downstream end of the turbine wheel; injecting aftertreatment fluid across the flow axis, via an outlet of the dosing module, into exhaust gas in the turbine outlet passage; wherein the dosing module mount is located within 10 exducer diameters, in the direction of the flow axis, downstream of the downstream end of the turbine wheel; wherein the dosing module is angled orthogonal to, or downstream relative to, the flow axis; wherein the flow axis does not turn more than 35 degrees as it passes the dosing module; and wherein a primary impingement zone defined by the dosing module is downstream of the turbine wheel chamber (as cited and rejected Claim 1 above).
As to claim 44, Norris discloses a turbine inlet passage configured to receive exhaust gas from an internal combustion engine; a turbine wheel chamber configured to receive exhaust gas from the turbine inlet passage, the turbine wheel chamber containing a turbine wheel supported for rotation about a turbine wheel axis, the turbine wheel comprising an exducer defining an exducer diameter; and a turbine outlet passage downstream of the turbine wheel chamber and configured to receive exhaust gas from the turbine wheel chamber, the turbine outlet passage being at least partly defined by a structure which comprises a dosing module mount configured to receive a dosing module, the turbine outlet passage defining a flow axis which extends from a downstream end of the turbine wheel; the dosing module mounted to the dosing module mount and configured to inject aftertreatment fluid, via an outlet of the dosing module, into exhaust gas in the turbine outlet passage; wherein the dosing module mount is located within 10 exducer diameters, in the direction of the flow axis, downstream of the downstream end of the turbine wheel; wherein the dosing module is angled orthogonal to, or downstream relative to, the flow axis; wherein the structure which at least partly defines the turbine outlet passage comprises an opening, the opening defined in a surface that at least partially defines the turbine outlet passage; wherein the dosing module is configured to inject aftertreatment fluid through the opening; wherein an included angle defined between diametrically opposing portions of the surface, either side of the opening (as cited and rejected Claim 1 above), is at least 90 degrees (shown figure below); and wherein a primary impingement zone defined by the dosing module is downstream of the turbine wheel chamber (as cited and rejected Claim 1 above)
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Publication 20210047957 to Norris in view of SE2150098 to Gawell as applied to Claim 1 above and further in view of US Patent 8596063 to Brown.
As to claim 19, Norris discloses a compressor (110), the compressor comprising a compressor housing (110); and a turbine dosing system according to claim 1 (see rejected of Claim 1 above); wherein the compressor wheel and turbine wheel are coupled in power communication with one another (Fig 1).
Norris does not go into detail about the interior of the turbocharger, including a compressor wheel; a bearing housing, the bearing housing being configured to support a shaft for rotation about an axis; the compressor wheel and turbine wheel are coupled to the shaft in power communication with one another, however these features are commonly known in turbochargers as taught by Brown (Col 3, Line 17-25).
At the time of invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for Norris to have these features as they are standard features of a turbocharger as already indicated as included in Norris, where the turbine would allow effective turning of the compressor by use of shaft and bearing as known in the art to achieve the desired function effectively.
As to claim 20, Norris discloses the turbocharger is configured to receive exhaust gas from the engine (104).
Claims 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Publication 20210047957 to Norris in view of SE2150098 to Gawell as applied to Claim 1 above and further in view of US Patent 10677138 to McFarland.
As to claim 24, Norris does not expressly disclose much detail regarding the injector and does not expressly disclose urging the dosing module into engagement with the dosing module mount; and securing the dosing module to the dosing module mount.
McFarland discloses an injection retention system comprising urging the dosing module into engagement with the dosing module mount; and securing the dosing module to the dosing module mount (Fig 2, Abs).
At the time of invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Norris to include an injection retention system comprising urging the dosing module into engagement with the dosing module mount; and securing the dosing module to the dosing module mount using the teachings of McFarland to both shield the injector from harmful heat and to effectively retain the injector against the system while allowing for ease of installation of the system.
As to claim 25, Norris discloses securing the dosing module to the dosing module mount comprises placing, and tightening, a clamp around flanges of the dosing module and the dosing module mount (McFarland: Abs, Fig 2).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims have been considered.
With regards to applicants request for interview if no allowance is issued the examiner invites applicant to contact the office to set up an interview in response to the office action herein as new art has been applied so that all points of discussion might be known by both parties beforehand. Further as no response to the response to applicants arguments of the After Final were received with the RCE examiner wishes to allow applicant time to consider and respond to the response to remarks largely incorporated below. No allowable subject matter is presently known at this time as applicable to all independent claims.
Regarding applicants’ argument that the amendment would overcome the 112 issue the examiner is in agreement.
Regarding applicants’ argument that Kawashima fails to teach the new limitation of “wherein the flow axis does not turn more than 35 degrees as it passes the dosing module” the examiner is unconvinced. Kawashima shows a flow axis passing the doser as represented by “C”, where “C” shows that the flow as it passes the doser does not deviate by more than 35 degrees. In reference to the previous interview, the examiner indicated that language specifying the start and end of the flow axis should be used, such that the flow axis starts and the inlet and ends at the exit of the turbine outlet passage and any structure definitions should be applied to the space between that start and end point as defined in the claim. An example might be “wherein the flow axis has an inlet at an entrance to the turbine outlet passage and the flow axis has an outlet at an exit of the turbine outlet passage where the flow axis does not deviate more than 35 degrees between the inlet and outlet of the flow axis” or similar. However, attention is drawn to the new reference Norris above, which is cited in an attempt to show that this feature is presently known using a straight pipe.
Regarding applicants’ argument that Kawashima alone or as modified does not disclose “wherein an included angle defined between diametrically opposing portions of the surface, either side of the opening, is at least 90 degrees” of new claim 44, the examiner cites the above interpretation. Further the as understood by the examiner, this appears to be claiming that the walls on either side of the injector are at 90 degrees or greater or relative to each other, which would be reasonably read on by a flat surface of 180 degree as shown above.
Regarding applicants’ argument that “No cited reference discloses or suggests an opening in a wall that defines the turbine outlet passage, nor injection through such an opening” the examiner is unconvinced. Kawashima expressly shown the opening in wall 60 through which 52/52a passes (Fig 4).
Regarding applicants’ argument that “No cited reference discloses or suggests the "flow axis does not turn more than 35 degrees as it passes the dosing module" limitation” the examiner is unconvinced. As cited above the region recited in the claim is only the immediate portion passing the dosing module, and in Kawashima this is represented at “C” which does not deviate more than 35 degrees, Fig 4.
Regarding applicants’ argument that “No cited reference discloses or suggests the included-angle ;>90” the examiner cites the new above rejection referencing the opposing sides of the wall bordering the injection orifice which stand at 180 degrees.
Regarding applicants’ argument that “No cited reference - alone or in combination - discloses or suggests "injecting aftertreatment fluid across the flow axis"” the examiner is unconvinced. Kawashima Fig 4 shows the injection spread and how it crosses the flow axis at C.
Regarding applicants’ argument that “The Office Action provides no articulated reasoning supporting a motivation to combine all cited references to produce the claimed structure” the examiner is unconvinced. The office action states the features as they are lacking from Kawashima in each relevant claim, and how the feature is present in a relevant secondary reference, and which benefit it is taught in the secondary reference that would improve or be obvious as combined with the Kawashima reference. No general or unjustified combinations are made.
Conclusion
/JESSE S BOGUE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746