DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 13 and 29 are objected to because they depend from canceled claims 12 and 28, respectively. Accordingly, the claims have not been further on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 , 5, 9, 17-19, 21 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a(1) as being anticipated by Nam et al. (US 2011/0299484 A1, hereinafter “Nam”).
Regarding claims 1 and 17, Nam discloses a wireless communication method in which a UE receives an uplink grant/DCI scheduling a PUSCH in an uplink MIMO transmission mode. Nam discloses DCI format 4 for scheduling a PUSCH and DCI 0B indicating a two-codeword/two-transport-block transmission. See Nam ¶¶[0069], [0105], [0267]. Nam further discloses that DCI format 4 includes separate MCS and NDI fields for transport block 1 and transport block 2. See Nam ¶¶[0084]–[0089]. Nam discloses that, when both transport blocks are enabled, transport block 1 is mapped to codeword 0 and transport block 2 is mapped to codeword 1. See Nam ¶[0090]. Nam further discloses determining how to multiplex UCI, including CQI/PMI, on the PUSCH by determining a subset of uplink MIMO layers based on the number of codewords, codeword-to-layer mapping, and the codeword using the highest initial-transmission MCS value. See Nam ¶¶[0239]–[0244]. Nam further discloses transmitting the UCI/CQI/PMI on the selected CW/layers of the PUSCH. See Nam ¶¶[0240], [0244], [0267]–[0271].
Regarding claims 2 and 18, Nam discloses that for two-CW transmission with different MCS values indicated by the uplink grant, UCI is mapped onto the layers of the CW with the higher initial MCS value, and that the UE transmits CQI/PMI in one of the CWs. See Nam ¶¶[0244], [0267]–[0271].
Regarding claims 3 and 19, Nam discloses that, for two CWs with different MCS values, UCI is mapped onto the CW with the higher initial MCS value. See Nam ¶¶[0240], [0244]. Nam further discloses that, when the two codewords have the same MCS, the UE may always map UCI onto CW0, which corresponds to the first codeword and thus to the first TB when both TBs are enabled. See Nam ¶¶[0090], [0245]–[0248].
Regarding claims 5 and 21, Nam discloses that CQI/PMI may be transmitted in both CWs, where CQI/PMI information bits are separately encoded and mapped for the two CWs, or where CQI/PMI modulation symbols are split into the layers of the two CWs. See Nam ¶¶[0279]–[0282]. Because Nam discloses that TB1 maps to CW0 and TB2 maps to CW1, transmitting CQI/PMI in both CWs discloses multiplexing at least a portion of UCI on each of the first TB and the second TB. See Nam ¶[0090].
Regarding claims 9 and 25, Nam discloses that transport block 1 is mapped to codeword 0 and transport block 2 is mapped to codeword 1 when both transport blocks are enabled. See Nam ¶[0090]. Nam further discloses that CQI/PMI, which is uplink control information, may be transmitted in both codewords. In particular, Nam discloses an option in which “CQI/PMI is transmitted in both CWs, where CQI/PMI information bits are separately encoded and mapped for the two CWs.” See Nam ¶[0281]. Because separately encoding CQI/PMI information bits produces coded UCI bits, the encoded CQI/PMI mapped to codeword 0 corresponds to a first set of coded bits of the UCI multiplexed on the first TB, and the encoded CQI/PMI mapped to codeword 1 corresponds to a second set of coded bits of the UCI multiplexed on the second TB. Nam further discloses that CQI/PMI may be transmitted in both codewords with CQI/PMI modulation symbols split into the layers of the two codewords. See Nam ¶[0282].
Claims 37 and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Luo et al. (US 2011/0268080 A1, hereinafter “Luo”).
Regarding claim 37, Luo discloses an apparatus for wireless communication, including UE 120. Luo ¶¶[0038]-[0041]. Luo discloses that UE 120 includes processors and memory, where processors at UE 120 may perform or direct process 700 and process 1200, and memories store data and program codes. Luo ¶[0045]. Luo further discloses a computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions for causing a computer to determine UCI, determine a number of symbols for UCI, multiplex UCI with data on multiple layers, and send the multiplexed UCI/data on uplink. Luo claim 34. Luo also discloses an apparatus comprising at least one processor and memory coupled to the processor, where the processor is configured to perform the UCI multiplexing and uplink transmission operations. Luo claim 27. Luo further discloses receiving signaling scheduling a PUSCH with at least first and second TBs because Luo discloses that UE 120 receives downlink control information from base station 110, and that uplink grants/PDCCH schedule transmissions for transport blocks TB0 and TB1. Luo ¶¶[0044], [0068]-[0071]. Luo further discloses that in LTE Release 10 SU-MIMO, a UE may transmit up to two transport blocks to the eNB. Luo ¶[0046]. Luo further discloses that the first and second TBs have separate transmission parameters because Luo discloses codeword 0 scheduled with MCS0 and codeword 1 scheduled with MCS1, and further discloses TB-specific initial scheduled bandwidth and symbol parameters for TB0 and TB1. Luo ¶¶[0060], [0072]-[0074]. Luo further discloses determining how to multiplex UCI on the PUSCH because Luo discloses determining a number of symbols for UCI on each of a plurality of layers and multiplexing UCI symbols with data on multiple layers such that the UCI symbols are time-aligned across the layers. Luo Abstract; ¶¶[0048], [0057]-[0061]. Luo further discloses that UCI may be mapped to all layers associated with all codewords or to a subset of all codewords. Luo ¶[0057].
Luo discloses transmitting the PUSCH with the UCI multiplexed on the PUSCH in accordance with the determination because Luo discloses sending the multiplexed UCI/data symbols on uplink. Luo Abstract; ¶[0061].
Regarding 38, claim 38 recites limitations corresponding to those of claim 37, except that claim 38 is written from the perspective of the apparatus/entity transmitting the scheduling signaling, rather than the wireless device receiving the scheduling signaling. Luo discloses both sides of the same scheduled uplink communication. Accordingly, the transmitting-side limitations of claim 38 is met for the same reasons that the corresponding receiving-side limitations of claim 37 is met.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 6, 8, 20, 22 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nam et al. (US 2011/0299484 A1, hereinafter “Nam”) in view of Papasakellariou et al. (US 2011/0299500 A1 hereinafter “Papa”).
Regarding claims 4 and 20, Nam discloses the method including a two-transport-block/two-codeword PUSCH and determining which codeword/TB carries UCI based on MCS. Nam discloses that if both transport blocks are enabled, TB1 is mapped to CW0 and TB2 is mapped to CW1. Nam ¶[0090]. Nam further discloses that UCI is mapped to the codeword/layers associated with the higher initial MCS. Nam ¶¶[0239]-[0244]. Nam does not expressly state that the modulation order of UCI follows the modulation order of the TB on which the UCI is multiplexed. However, PAPA teaches determining the modulation scheme for coded UCI symbols in a PUSCH conveying multiple TBs and expressly considers the modulation orders of the data information in the multiple TBs. PAPA ¶¶[0042], [0075]-[0077]. In the same field of endeavor, PAPA discloses that coded UCI modulation may be determined based on the modulation order used for data transmission in each of the multiple codewords/TBs. PAPA ¶¶[0075]-[0076]. Therefore, i would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the UCI modulation order in Nam to follow the modulation order of the TB/codeword carrying the UCI, in view of PAPA’s teaching that UCI modulation is determined based on TB/codeword modulation order, because doing so would align the UCI modulation with the modulation processing of the selected codeword/TB and simplify UCI multiplexing with data carried on that codeword.
Regarding claims 6 and 22, Nam discloses all the aspects of the claimed invention, except wherein a modulation order of the UCI multiplexed on the first TB follows a modulation order of the first TB, and the UCI multiplexed on the second TB follows a modulation order of the second TB. In the same field of endeavor, Papa discloses the method including a PUSCH with two codewords/TBs, CW0/TB0 and CW1/TB1, each having separate MCS/modulation parameters, and UCI multiplexed across spatial layers of both codewords/TBs. Papa ¶¶[0030]-[0032], [0038]-[0042], [0058]-[0065]. Papa further discloses determining modulation for coded UCI symbols based on the modulation orders of the data information in the multiple codewords/TBs. PAPA ¶¶[0042], [0075]-[0077]. Papa teaches one implementation in which a common UCI modulation order may be selected as the smaller modulation order among the data modulation orders of the TBs. Papa ¶¶[0042], [0075]-[0076]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nam’s apparatus and method with Papa’s multi-TB UCI multiplexing method so that the UCI multiplexed on each TB follows the modulation order of the corresponding TB because this would apply the known per-codeword MCS/modulation relationship to the UCI carried on that same codeword/TB and would permit independent codeword processing in a multi-codeword uplink MIMO transmission.
Regarding claims 8 and 24, Nam discloses the base multi-TB/codeword PUSCH arrangement, including transport block 1 mapped to codeword 0 and transport block 2 mapped to codeword 1. Nam ¶[0090]. Nam further discloses that CQI/PMI may be transmitted in both CWs. Nam ¶¶[0281]–[0282]. Papa teaches, in a PUSCH with SU-MIMO transmission using multiple CWs/TBs, that UCI is equally replicated across all spatial layers of both CWs and that time division multiplexing between UCI and data is such that UCI symbols are time-aligned across all layers. Papa ¶[0030]. Papa further illustrates that the same REs and DFT-S-OFDM symbols are used for HARQ-ACK multiplexing in different spatial layers. PAPA ¶[0031], FIG. 6. It would have been obvious to apply the replica/time-aligned UCI mapping of Papa to the multi-TB/codeword PUSCH of Nam because all references address uplink MIMO PUSCH control/data multiplexing. Replicating UCI across layers/codewords and aligning the UCI on common time-frequency resource positions would predictably improve UCI reliability and simplify receiver processing, as expressly taught by Papa. See PAPA ¶¶[0030]–[0032].
Claims 7 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Nam et al. (US 2011/0299484 A1, hereinafter “Nam”) in view of Luo et al. (US 2011/0268080 A1, hereinafter “Luo”)
Regarding claim 7 and 23, Nam discloses a multi-TB/codeword uplink PUSCH transmission in which transport block 1 is mapped to codeword 0 and transport block 2 is mapped to codeword 1. Nam ¶[0090]. Nam further discloses that CQI/PMI, which is UCI, may be transmitted in both codewords. In particular, Nam teaches that CQI/PMI may be transmitted in both CWs, where CQI/PMI information bits are separately encoded and mapped for the two CWs. Nam ¶[0281]. Nam also teaches that CQI/PMI modulation symbols may be split into the layers of the two CWs. Nam ¶[0282].
Luo discloses determining the number of coded modulation symbols for UCI using spectral resource parameters associated with first and second transport blocks. Luo ¶¶[0065]–[0077]. Luo specifically teaches computing a first spectral resource parameter based on an initially scheduled spectral allocation for a first transport block and computing a second spectral resource parameter based on an initially scheduled spectral allocation for a second transport block, and determining the number of symbols for UCI using the first and second spectral resource parameters. Luo ¶¶[0072]–[0074], [0080]–[0081]; Luo claims 7, 20, 30, 35. It would have been obvious to separately rate match the coded UCI bits multiplexed on the first TB and the coded UCI bits multiplexed on the second TB because Nam already teaches separately encoding and mapping UCI for the two CWs, and Luo teaches determining UCI coded-symbol allocation using TB-specific spectral resource parameters. A person of ordinary skill would have understood that separately encoded and mapped UCI streams for distinct codewords/TBs, each having different spectral resource parameters, would predictably be rate matched separately to fit the respective resources of each TB/codeword.
Claims 10-11, 15-16, 26-27 and 31-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Nam et al. (US 2011/0299484 A1, hereinafter “Nam”) in view of Su et al. (US 2024/0073874 A1, hereinafter “Su”).
Regarding claims 10 and 26, Nam discloses a multi-TB/codeword PUSCH and determining how to multiplex UCI on the PUSCH based on codeword/TB parameters. Nam ¶¶[0084]–[0090], [0239]–[0244]. Su teaches determining whether and how UCI is multiplexed on PUSCH based on UCI type. Su discloses that, for multiplexing UCI on PUSCH transmissions, configurations can indicate “whether and which kind of UCI can be multiplexed on multi-slot TB,” and gives the example that HARQ-ACK may be multiplexed while CSI may not. Su ¶¶[0195]–[0199]. Su further states that “which method to be used can be in part determined by UCI types” and that “different UCI types can use different methods.” Su ¶[0199]. It would have been obvious to incorporate Su’s type-based UCI multiplexing determination into Nam’s multi-TB/codeword PUSCH UCI multiplexing method because the references address the same problem of multiplexing uplink control information with PUSCH resources. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to select different UCI multiplexing approaches based on UCI type to account for different reliability, latency, and payload requirements of HARQ-ACK, CSI, RI, CQI, and other UCI types.
Regarding claims 11 and 27, Nam teaches all aspects of the claimed invention, except UCI of a first type is multiplexed on each of the first TB and the second TB and UCI of a second type is multiplexed on either the first TB or the second TB; or UCI of a first type is multiplexed on the first TB and UCI of a second type is multiplexed on the second TB. In the same field of endeavor, Su teaches determining UCI multiplexing based on UCI type, including that different UCI types can use different methods. Su ¶¶[0195]–[0199]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to apply the known one-TB or both-TB multiplexing options of Nam differently depending on UCI type, as taught by Su.
Regarding Claims 15-16 and 31-32, Nam discloses a two-TB/codeword PUSCH and determining whether UCI/CQI/PMI is mapped to one or both codewords. Nam ¶¶[0084]–[0090], [0239]–[0244], [0267]–[0282]. PAPA discloses time-aligned UCI multiplexing across layers/codewords. PAPA ¶¶[0030]–[0031]. Su discloses conventional UCI-on-PUSCH resource-element mapping, including rate-matched and punctured ACK/NACK operation. Su ¶¶[0009]–[0017]. Su explains that CSI part 1 may be mapped around ACK/NACK resource elements for rate-matched ACK/NACK, and that PUSCH and CSI part 2 can be mapped on resources reserved for ACK/NACK puncturing and may eventually be punctured. Su ¶¶[0011]–[0016]. Thus, Su teaches that when UCI occupies certain REs of a PUSCH, data or other information may be omitted, punctured, or rate-matched around those UCI REs. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply Su’s known UCI RE mapping, rate-matching, and puncturing techniques to the multi-TB/codeword PUSCH of Nam.
Conclusion
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/RICKY Q NGO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2464