Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: feed mechanism, guide mechanism, tension traction mechanism, control mechanism and label sensing module in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8, 11, 13-21, 25-26 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by Chen (US Patent 9,199,758).
Regarding claim 1, Chen discloses a bench-top label dispenser for labels, comprising a housing, and a feeding mechanism, a guide mechanism, a tension traction mechanism, and a control mechanism 40 that are arranged on the housing, wherein a label release liner 201 on the feeding mechanism is connected to the tension traction mechanism through the guide mechanism; and the tension traction mechanism is controlled by the control mechanism 40 to pull the label release liner 201 to move; and the housing is provided with a label sensing module 50 electrically connected to the control mechanism 40; the guide mechanism comprises a label peeling plate 31; and labels located at a tail end of the label peeling plate 31 are within a sensing range of the label sensing module 50.
Applicant is reminded that expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof during an intended operation are of no significance in determining patentability of the apparatus claim. (See MPEP §2115). Therefore the concept of acousto-magnetic (AM) anti-theft labels has been fully considered, but is not given patentable weight in so far as it does not affect the structure of the claimed apparatus.
Regarding claim 2, Chen discloses the tension traction mechanism comprises a take-up spool 34 and a rotary drive assembly 343 controlled by the control mechanism 40; the rotary drive assembly 343 is provided inside the housing; and one end of the take-up spool 34 is connected to a rotating end of the rotary drive assembly 343.
Regarding claim 3, Chen discloses collecting the release on winding rod 34 (see Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 4, Chen shows the liner at an angle to the peeling plate 31 (see Fig. 6). It is noted this angle is not specified or limited in the claim.
Regarding claim 5, Chen discloses press plate 32 which functions as a baffle plate.
Regarding claim 6, Chen discloses plate 32 with press portion 321 formed with a curved front edge 322. This configuration inherently reduced friction and thus forms a “soft” plate as claimed.
Regarding clam 7, Chen discloses: the top of the label pressing plate 32 is close to the feeding mechanism, and the bottom of the label pressing plate 32 is close to the tail end of the label peeling plate 31; and an angle is formed between the label pressing plate 32 and the label peeling plate 31.
Regarding claim 8, Chen discloses guide stem or cylinder 33.
Regarding claim 11, the width of the label on the release liner is a work-piece dependent limitation and has been fully considered, but is not given patentable weight in so far as it does not affect the structure of the claimed apparatus.
Regarding claim 13-16, Chen discloses reel shaft rod 20 which functions as a hanging rod and stopper 22 with the configuration claimed.
Regarding claims 17-20, 25 and 28, the details of the label and the release liner are work-piece dependent limitation and have been fully considered, but are not given patentable weight in so far as it does not affect the structure of the claimed apparatus.
Regarding claim 21, Chen discloses the control mechanism 40 further comprises a control panel; and the control panel is provided on the housing.
Regarding claim 26, Chen discloses label peeling plate 31 and press plate 32 with the configuration and angle claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9-10, 12, 22-24 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US Patent 9,199,758).
Regarding claims 9-10, 12, 22-24 and 27, it is the examiner’s position that the specific sensor, sensor baseplate and label activator recited are well known in the prior art and would have been obvious to employ in the device of Chen based on the physical requirements of the labels being dispensed.
Conclusion
JAMES D. SELLS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1745
/JAMES D SELLS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1745