DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed 1/30/2026 has been entered.
Claims 1-22 remain pending.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
-Page 17 (unmarked up version of SPEC filed 1/30/2026), line 9 recites “for 0,5 s” and “0,1 s” but this would appear to be intended to recite “for 0.5 s” and “for 0.1 s” respectively.
-Page 7, line 11 and Page 17, lines 15, 22, 28 and Page 18, line 2 recite similar issues where a comma is used instead of a decimal.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 6, 10, 16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Honsha (US PGPUB 2017/0129634-cited in IDS), in view of Uetsuki (WO 2014/208155- see attached PDF for English translation).
Regarding Claim 1, Honsha discloses a hot air shrink tunnel (formed by chamber 2; Figures 1-2) for a heat shrinking apparatus (1) for heat shrinking a shrink label (“cylindrical label L”; Figures 6, 8, 9) to enclose a product (PC), wherein the hot air shrink tunnel (2) surrounds a conveying path (formed by conveyor C) of the product (PC), wherein the hot air shrink tunnel (2) comprises:
- a moist air zone (a heat-shrinking zone ZA) and a dry air zone (a drying zone ZB) arranged in this order in a conveying direction (of C) of the product (PC) through the hot air shrink tunnel (2; Para. 0030); wherein
- the moist air zone (ZA) includes a first heater (superheater 22; Figure 6) configured to heat air flowing within the moist air zone (ZA; Para. 0050), and
-a water diffuser (discharge holes and nozzles 12a, 13) configured to diffuse an amount of water in the air flowing within the moist air zone (ZA) to produce an air-steam mixture under normal pressure (Para. 0008, 0031), and
- the dry air zone (ZB) includes a second heater (preheating unit 27 and heated-air blowing nozzles 14a) configured to heat air flowing within the dry air zone (ZB; Paras. 0048, 0050-0051).
However, Honsha does not readily disclose the steam is supplied in a non-superheated state at or below its vaporization point
Attention is brought to the teachings of Uetsuki which teaches another hot air shrink tunnel (10; Figure 1) which comprises moist air zones (Z1, Z2, Z3) and a dry zone (“drying zone”; see Page 29, line 10 of translation in attached PDF), wherein in a first moist air zone (Z1) a steam (“first steam”) is supplied in a non-superheated state at or below its vaporization point (Page 11, lines 4-7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have utilized a moist air zone that uses a non-superheated steam as taught by Uetsuki in the tunnel of Honsha. By modifying Honsha in this manner, the label can be readily positioned in the desired position, in comparison to using high temperature steam (superheated steam), prior to application of a higher temperature steam as taught by Uetsuki (Page 4, lines 8-13).
Regarding Claim 5, Honsha, as modified, discloses any of the first heater (22 including valve 24) of the moist air zone (ZA) and/or the second heater (14a, 27) of the dry air zone (ZB) is configured to generate hot air controllably in terms of temperature and flow rate (Para. 0008, 0048 discloses obtaining a predetermined temperature; Para. 0050 discloses controlling a release of steam supply based on a predetermined flowrate and therefore both temperature and flowrate dictate the generation of the hot air supply).
Regarding Claim 6, Honsha, as modified, discloses any of the first heater (22 including valve 24) of the moist air zone (ZA) and the second heater (14a, 27) of the dry air zone (ZB) includes a fan or blower (13, 17; note the corresponding blowers of each can be viewed as part of the respective heater) configured to generate air flow circulation in a plane perpendicular to said conveying direction (of C; Para. 0031, 0048).
Regarding Claim 10, Honsha, as modified, discloses characterized in that the moist air zone (ZA) and the dry air zone (ZB) are separated from each other by a pass through (portion of 2 between 11 and 14) for the product (PC) to be conveyed from the moist air zone (ZA) to the dry air zone (ZB).
Regarding Claim 16, Honsha, as modified, discloses comprising a recycling zone (formed by supply of drain water of 31 to 20; Para. 0059) which is configured to recycle moist air leaving the moist air zone (ZA) to the moist air zone (ZA; Para. 0059). However, although Honsha does not readily disclose the recycling zone being arranged between the moist air zone (ZA) and the dry air zone (ZB), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have arranged the recycling zone between the moist and dry air zones as it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. Please note that in the instant application, applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations. See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C).
Regarding Claim 19, Honsha, as modified, discloses a heat shrinking apparatus (1; Figures 1, 2, 6) for heat shrinking a shrink label (L) enclosing a product (PC), said heat shrinking apparatus being characterized by comprising a hot air shrink tunnel (2) in accordance with claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), and a conveyor (C) configured to convey a shrink label covered product (P) through the hot air shrink tunnel (2; Para. 0029).
Claims 2, 4, 18, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Honsha (US PGPUB 2017/0129634-cited in IDS), in view of Uetsuki (WO 2014/208155), as applied to Claim 1, and in further view of Fresnel (US PGPUB 2014/0014272).
Regarding Claim 2, Honsha, as modified, discloses the first heater (22) of the moist air zone is configured to adjust a temperature of the air flowing in the moist air zone (ZA) to a given target temperature (see Para. 0050 which notes “generating superheated steam at approximately 160 to 180° C”) but does not readily disclose the water diffuser (12a, 13) is configured to adjust the amount of water depending on the given target temperature to such extent that a given absolute humidity of the air-steam mixture within the moist air zone is achieved.
Attention is brought to the teachings of Fresnel which includes another shrink tunnel (enclosure 1; Figure 1) comprising a moist air zone (chamber 11; Figure 2) and moist air zone heater (100; Figure 4) is configured to adjust a temperature (detected by 212) of the air flowing in the moist air zone (11) to a given target temperature and a water diffuser (200; Figure 7; Para. 0028) configured to adjust the amount of water depending on the given target temperature to such extent that a given absolute humidity of the air-steam mixture within the moist air zone (11) is achieved with the air-steam mixture being kept at normal pressure (see Para. 0040-0050, 0054; note that such adjustment is clearly capable of obtaining a given humidity at a normal pressure; note also Para. 0004 discloses supplying steam based on pressure).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have incorporated the adjustable control of the water diffuser based on given temperature as taught by Frensel into the diffuser of Honsha. Such a modification allows for controlled temperature directly inside of the enclosure/tunnel and therefore by regulating the heating based on such temperature measurement representative of the heating to which the sleeves are exposed to, heat-shrinking of the sleeves is of much better quality as taught by Frensel (Para. 0008).
Regarding Claim 4, Honsha, as modified, discloses a controller (panel 4) configured to control the absolute humidity of the air-steam mixture as a controlled variable (via valve 24; Figure 6; Para. 0050) within the moist air zone (ZA) to adjust a mass concentration of water in dry air while keeping the temperature at the target temperature (as modified in view Frensel, see above, the temperature would be readily controlled based on such feedback from a temperature sensor).
Regarding Claim 18, Honsha, as modified, discloses a method for heat shrinking a shrink label (“cylindrical label L”; Figures 6, 8, 9) enclosing a product (PC; Figures 1, 2, 6) while said product (PC) is conveyed through a hot air shrink tunnel (2) according to claim 1 (See above rejection of Claim 1), the method comprising:
- heating an air atmosphere (via superheater 22 through 12a, 13) within the moist air zone (ZA) to adjust its temperature to a given target temperature (Para. 0050; “generating superheated steam at approximately 160 to 180° C”), and
- adjusting the amount of water diffused in the moist air zone (ZA) so that by latent heat release due to condensation of water on a sleeve surface (of L), a desired sleeve surface temperature is achieved (temperature associated with shrinking; Para. 0050 discloses supplying steam at a predetermined flow rate to superheater 22 which will readily adjust the amount of water to be diffused at 12, 13).
However, Honsha does not readily disclose that depending on the target temperature, the amount of water diffused in the moist air zone is adjusted.
Attention is again brought to Fresnel which teaches another shrink tunnel (enclosure 1; Figure 1) comprising a moist air zone (chamber 11; Figure 2) and moist air zone heater (100; Figure 4) is configured to adjust a temperature (detected by 212) of the air flowing in the moist air zone (11) to a given target temperature and a water diffuser (200; Figure 7; Para. 0028) configured to adjust the amount of water depending on the given target temperature to such extent that a given absolute humidity of the air-steam mixture within the moist air zone (11) is achieved with the air-steam mixture being kept at normal pressure (see Para. 0040-0050, 0054; note also Para. 0004 discloses supplying steam based on pressure).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have adjusted the amount of water to be diffused based on the target temperature as taught by Frensel into the method/system of Honsha. Such a modification allows for controlled temperature directly inside of the enclosure/tunnel and therefore by regulating the heating based on such temperature measurement representative of the heating to which the sleeves are exposed to, heat-shrinking of the sleeves is of much better quality as taught by Frensel (Para. 0008).
Regarding Claim 22, Honsha discloses a hot air shrink tunnel (2; Figures 1, 2, 6) for a heat shrinking apparatus (1) for heat shrinking a shrink label (L) to enclose a product (PC), wherein the hot air shrink tunnel (2) surrounds a conveying path (of C) of the product (PC; Para. 0029), wherein the hot air shrink tunnel (2) comprises:
-a moist air zone (ZA) arranged in a conveying direction of the product (PC) through the hot air shrink tunnel (2; Para. 0030); wherein
-the moist air zone (ZA) includes a first heater (superheater 22) configured to heat air flowing within the moist air zone (ZA; Para. 0050), and
-a water diffuser (holes 12a and nozzles 13) configured to diffuse an amount of water in the air flowing within the moist air zone (ZA) to produce an air-steam mixture (Para. 0031), and
- the first heater (22) of the moist air zone is configured to adjust a temperature of the air flowing in the moist air zone (ZA) to a given target temperature (see Para. 0050; “superheater 22 for generating superheated steam at approximately 160 to 180° C”),
However, Honsha does not readily disclose the steam is supplied in a non-superheated state at or below its vaporization point
Further, Honsha does not readily disclose the water diffuser is configured to adjust the amount of water depending on the given target temperature to such extent that a given absolute humidity of the air-steam mixture within the moist air zone is achieved with the air-steam mixture being kept at normal pressure.
First, attention is brought to the teachings of Uetsuki which teaches another hot air shrink tunnel (10; Figure 1) which comprises moist air zones (Z1, Z2, Z3) and a dry zone (“drying zone”; see Page 29, line 10 of translation in attached PDF), wherein in a first moist air zone (Z1) a steam (“first steam”) is supplied in a non-superheated state at or below its vaporization point (Page 11, lines 4-7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have utilized a moist air zone that uses a non-superheated steam as taught by Uetsuki in the tunnel of Honsha. By modifying Honsha in this manner, the label can be readily positioned in the desired position, in comparison to using high temperature steam (superheated steam), prior to application of a higher temperature steam as taught by Uetsuki (Page 4, lines 8-13).
Further, attention is brought to the teachings of Fresnel (see rejections of Claims 2 and 18 above)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have incorporated the adjustable control of the water diffuser based on a desired temperature as taught by Frensel into the diffuser of Honsha. Such a modification allows for controlled temperature directly inside of the enclosure/tunnel and therefore by regulating the heating based on such temperature measurement representative of the heating to which the sleeves are exposed to, heat-shrinking of the sleeves is of much better quality as taught by Frensel (Para. 0008).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Honsha (US PGPUB 2017/0129634-cited in IDS), in view of Uetsuki (WO 2014/208155), as applied to Claim 1, and in further view of Uetsuki (WO 2020/031824-cited in IDS, note US PGPUB 2021/0292023 is relied upon for translation and paragraph numbering referenced below), hereinafter Uetsuki 2020’.
Regarding Claim 3, Honsha, as modified, discloses several features of the claimed invention but does not readily disclose a detector configured to detect the absolute humidity of the air-steam mixture within the moist air zone.
Attention can be brought to the teachings of Uetsuki 2020’ which includes a moist air zone (Z2, 40; Figure 1) and a detector (see “Note” below) for detecting the absolute humidity of the air-steam mixture within the moist air zone (Z2, 40; Para. 0052).
Note: although a “detector” is not explicitly disclosed, Uetsuki 2020’ teaches controlling a desired temperature and relative humidity of the superheated steam being applied by the “reheating apparatus” per Paras. 0070, 0077, 0082, and therefore, it can be readily assumed or at least implied some form of humidity detector is utilized.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified the shrink tunnel of Honsha to include the humidity controls as taught by Uetsuki 2020’ in order to reduce the amount of water droplets that are consequently attached to workpieces that have passed through the tunnel (Para. 0054).
Claims 7, 8, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Honsha (US PGPUB 2017/0129634-cited in IDS), in view of Uetsuki (WO 2014/208155), as applied to Claim 1, and in further view of Sonntag (DE 102011054463A1-see attached PDF for English translation and paragraph numbering referenced below)
Regarding Claims 7, 8 and 17, Honsha, as modified, discloses several features of the claimed invention but does not readily disclose the moist air zone (ZA) includes at least a first moist air chamber and a second moist air chamber arranged in this order in the conveying direction of the product, which are defined by their respective moist air atmospheres individually controllable at least in terms of temperature, humidity and flow, wherein the first moist air chamber and the second moist air chamber are separated from each other by a pass through for the product to be conveyed from the first moist air chamber to the second moist air chamber.
Uetsuki teaches multiple moist air zones (Z1, Z2, Z3) for subjecting different temperature steam to the label (Page 10, line 13 through Page 11, line 12) but further attention can be brought to the teachings of Sonntag which includes a tunnel (1; Figure 1) comprising a moist air zone (steam chamber 2; Figure 2) which includes at least a first moist air chamber (2a) and a second moist air chamber (2b) arranged in this order in a conveying direction (of 8) of a product (Para. 0029), which are defined by their respective moist air atmospheres individually controllable (i.e. via throttle 11, 11a-11c; Para. 0029) at least in terms of temperature, humidity and flow (see Para. 0016 which outlines “The continuous steam tunnel can have successive sections or chambers in the direction of flow of the product in the form of steam chambers or inlet or outlet chambers, in which operating and/or condition parameters, such as steam temperature, steam quantity and steam volume flow, can be set, controlled or regulated section by section”), wherein the first moist air chamber (2a) and the second moist air chamber (2b) are separated from each other by a pass through (coupling portion of 2a and 2b) for the product to be conveyed from the first moist air chamber (2a) to the second moist air chamber (2b; Para. 0029).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have utilized multiple moist air chambers that are individually controllable as taught by Sonntag in the tunnel of Honsha. By modifying Honsha in this manner, the individual chambers can be individually controlled so that optimal process parameters can be set in each chamber without influencing the process parameters of other chambers as taught by Sonntag (Para. 0016) and thereby increasing flexibility of the tunnel.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Honsha (US PGPUB 2017/0129634-cited in IDS), in view of Uetsuki (WO 2014/208155) and Sonntag (DE 102011054463A1), as applied to Claim 8, and in further view of Schilling (US PGPUB 2013/0000256).
Regarding Claim 15, Honsha, as modified, discloses several features of the claimed invention but does not readily disclose the pass through is adapted to be closed and opened in the transition of the product from one zone to the next.
Schilling teaches another air shrink tunnel (10; Figure 1) which includes several heated air zones (14) which are separated by pass throughs (lamellar curtains 16) that adapted to be closed and opened in the transition of the product from one zone to the next (the lamellar curtains 16 per Para. 0041 are readily configured to be contacted and opened by the product and when not in contact readily will remain “closed”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have utilized such curtains that are adapted to be closed and opened between zones as taught by Schilling in the tunnel of Honsha as such curtains allow for prevention of energy losses as taught by Schilling (Para. 0041).
Claims 9 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Honsha (US PGPUB 2017/0129634-cited in IDS), in view of Uetsuki (WO 2014/208155), as applied to Claim 1, and in further view of Choplin (US PGPUB 2019/0062016).
Regarding Claim 9, Honsha, as modified, discloses several features of the claimed invention but does not readily disclose wherein the dry air zone (ZB) includes at least a first dry air chamber and a second dry air chamber arranged in this order in the conveying direction of the product, which are defined by their respective dry air atmospheres individually controllable at least in terms of temperature.
Attention is brought to Choplin which teaches another shrink tunnel (6; Figure 1) which includes a dry air zone (12) includes at least a first dry air chamber (12) and a second dry air chamber (12) arranged in this order in a conveying direction (of 9) of a product (bundles 4), which are defined by their respective dry air atmospheres individually controllable at least in terms of temperature (Para. 0033-0034).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have utilized multiple dry air chambers that are individually controllable as taught by Choplin in the tunnel of Honsha. By modifying Honsha in this manner, the individual chambers can be individually controlled to optimize shaping of the bundle/product as taught by Choplin (Para. 0033) and thereby increasing flexibility of the shrink tunnel.
Regarding Claim 13, Honsha discloses several features of the claimed invention but does not readily disclose an outfeed zone arranged after the dry air zone in the conveying direction of the product and including a fourth heater configured to heat the interior of the outfeed zone.
Note that Choplin teaches the use of multiple dry air chambers (12; Figure 1) sequentially arranged in a shrink tunnel (6) and it is noted that the one chamber can be readily viewed as the claimed dry air zone while the other downstream chamber (12) can be readily viewed as an outfeed zone.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have utilized an additional heated outfeed chamber/zone downstream of a dry air chamber/zone as taught by Choplin in the tunnel of Honsha. By modifying Honsha in this manner, the individual chambers can be individually controlled to optimize shaping of the bundle/product as taught by Choplin (Para. 0033) and thereby increasing flexibility of the shrink tunnel.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Honsha (US PGPUB 2017/0129634-cited in IDS), in view of Uetsuki (WO 2014/208155) and Choplin (US PGPUB 2019/0062016), as applied to Claim 13, and in further view of Schilling (US PGPUB 2013/0000256).
Regarding Claim 14, Honsha, as modified, specifically Choplin discloses the dry air zone (upstream 12) and the outfeed zone (downstream 12) are separated from each other pass through (wall 13; Para. 0033, 0143) for the product (4) to be conveyed from the dry air zone (12) to the outfeed zone (12) but does not disclose the pass through being openable/closeable
Schilling teaches another air shrink tunnel (10; Figure 1) which includes several heated air zones (14) which are separated by pass throughs (lamellar curtains 16) that adapted to be closed and opened in the transition of the product from one zone to the next (the lamellar curtains 16 per Para. 0041 are readily configured to be contacted and opened by the product and when not in contact readily will remain “closed”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have utilized such curtains that are openable/closeable between zones as taught by Schilling in the tunnel of Honsha as such curtains allow for prevention of energy losses as taught by Schilling (Para. 0041).
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Honsha (US PGPUB 2017/0129634-cited in IDS), in view of Uetsuki (WO 2014/208155), as applied to Claim 1, and in further view of Uetsuki (US PGPUB 2010/0032077), hereinafter Uetsuki 2010’.
Regarding Claims 11 and 12, Honsha, as modified, discloses several features of the claimed invention but does not readily disclose an infeed zone arranged ahead of the moist air zone in the conveying direction of the product and including a third heater configured to heat the interior of the infeed zone and wherein the infeed zone and the moist air zone are separated from each other by a pass through for the product to be conveyed from the infeed zone to the moist air zone.
Attention can be readily brought to Uetsuki 2010’ which includes another shrink tunnel (10; Figure 1-2) which includes an infeed zone (ZA) arranged ahead of a moist air zone (ZB; Para. 0057) in a conveying direction (of C) of a product and including heater (21; Figure 4) for heating the interior of the infeed zone (ZA; Para. 0054), and wherein the infeed zone (ZA) and the moist air zone (ZB) are separated from each other by a pass through (ZC) for the product to be conveyed from the infeed zone (ZA) to the moist air zone (ZB; Para. 0052).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have incorporated a preheating unit in the form of a heated infeed zone and a pass through zone as taught by Uetsuki 2010’ prior to the moist air zone of Honsha. By modifying Honsha in this manner, the label on the product can be preliminarily heated and softened to shape the label and eliminate any folds in the label as taught by Uetsuki 2010’ (Para. 0056).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Honsha (US PGPUB 2017/0129634-cited in IDS), in view of Uetsuki (WO 2014/208155) and Uetsuki (US PGPUB 2010/0032077), as applied to Claim 12, and in further view of Schilling (US PGPUB 2013/0000256).
Regarding Claim 21, Honsha, as modified, discloses several features but does not disclose the pass through being adapted to be opened and closed.
Schilling teaches another air shrink tunnel (10; Figure 1) which includes several heated air zones (14) which are separated by pass throughs (lamellar curtains 16) that adapted to be closed and opened in the transition of the product from one zone to the next (the lamellar curtains 16 per Para. 0041 are readily configured to be contacted and opened by the product and when not in contact readily will remain “closed”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have utilized such curtains that are openable/closeable between zones as taught by Schilling in the tunnel of Honsha as such curtains allow for prevention of energy losses as taught by Schilling (Para. 0041).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Honsha (US PGPUB 2017/0129634-cited in IDS), in view of Uetsuki (WO 2014/208155), as applied to Claim 10, and in further view of Schilling (US PGPUB 2013/0000256).
Regarding Claim 20, Honsha, discloses several features of the claimed invention but does not disclose the pass through being adapted to be opened and closed.
Schilling teaches another air shrink tunnel (10; Figure 1) which includes several heated air zones (14) which are separated by pass throughs (lamellar curtains 16) that adapted to be closed and opened in the transition of the product from one zone to the next (the lamellar curtains 16 per Para. 0041 are readily configured to be contacted and opened by the product and when not in contact readily will remain “closed”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have utilized such curtains that are openable/closeable between zones as taught by Schilling in the tunnel of Honsha as such curtains allow for prevention of energy losses as taught by Schilling (Para. 0041).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. see “Notice of References Cited”.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSHUA G KOTIS/Examiner, Art Unit 3731 4/7/2026