DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 24-30 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 8/19/26.
Frame elements of vehicles and fasteners are not classified in the same CPCs and the fastening device does not require the elements of the frame element. Therefore, a complete search would be burdensome and require a search across non-overlapping CPC symbols.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16 and 18-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Miyamoto, U.S. Patent 9,868,475.
Regarding Claim 16, Miyamoto teaches:
A support element (20f) and a compression element (22), wherein the compression
element is wedge-shaped, and the support element is designed so as to correspond to the wedge-shaped compression element, and
at least one fastener (30)
**Examiner’s Note: Examiner notes that the above claim contains the claim language “by way of which…and the support element“, and a claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim because the prior art need only be capable of meeting the claimed limitations. See MPEP 2114 [R-1].
Regarding Claim 18, Miyamoto teaches:
The compression element has lateral faces (see below) that converge in a wedge-
shaped manner, and a smooth/flat central face (see below) which is disposed between the lateral faces.
Regarding Claim 19, Miyamoto teaches:
The compression element has in each case one cutout (see above) for the at least one fastening element.
Regarding Claim 20, Miyamoto teaches:
The support element has in each case one receptacle for the at least one fastening element (see below), wherein the respective receptacle projects from the support element in the manner of a protrusion (see below).
Regarding Claim 21, Miyamoto teaches:
Reinforcement ribs are formed on the compression element.
Regarding Claim 22, Miyamoto teaches:
Rib cutouts formed on the compression element (see below).
**Examiner’s Note: Examiner notes that the above claim contains the claim language “for receiving reinforcement rigs of the shell element“, and a claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim because the prior art need only be capable of meeting the claimed limitations. See MPEP 2114 [R-1].
Regarding Claim 23, Miyamoto teaches:
Wherein reinforcement ribs are formed on the compression element and are disposed
adjacent to the rib cutouts and extend in the extension of the rib cutouts on the compression element (see above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyamoto ‘475.
Regarding Claim 17, Miyamoto is silent with regard to the support element (20f) and the compression element (22) being of metallic material.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide the support element and compression element as being composed of metallic material because metals are easily formed into the appropriate shapes for vehicle body panels and material selection is generally considered obvious to those of ordinary skill in the art and applicant has not provided any unforeseen result stemming from the use of the claimed structure nor provided any specific problem solved by the claimed structure, In re Leshin.
Conclusion
/MATTHEW J SULLIVAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3677