DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 9, 10, 16, 17, 19, 20, 21, 23-25 have been examined and are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
An initialed and dated copy of Applicant’s IDS form 1449 submitted 01/08/2007, is attached to the instant office action. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 19 and 25 objected to because of the following informalities: Claims 19 and 25 recites “a second number of paging cycles”. However there is no reference to a first number of paging cycles in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 20, 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2025/0088968 A1 (foreign priority date of Jan. 28, 2022) to Mazloum et al. (hereinafter “Mazloum”)
Regarding Claim 1 and 21, Mazloum teaches A method of communication performed by a terminal device, comprising: (Figure 2, illustrates UE 2100)
A processor configured to: (Figure 2, illustrates UE 2100 with CPU 2111)
switching on a receiver of the terminal device to monitor a wake-up signal, WUS, (Figure 2 and [0025], illustrates The UE 2100 includes a main transceiver 2121 and a low power wake-up receiver 2122 (i.e. receiver). In particular, the low power wake-up receiver 2122 may only be capable of detecting and/or receiving low power wake-up signals (i.e. wake-up signal). [0040], discloses the first power save mode 3400 may be advantageous with respect to power consumption as the low power wake-up receiver only needs to be activated (i.e. switching on receiver) during the low power wake-up signal time intervals.)
without performing radio resource control, RRC, actions corresponding to RRC idle/inactive process; (Figure 3 and [0033], discloses The power mode 3400 may prescribe a pre-defined time schedule for main signal time intervals 3411, 3412, 3413a deactivated main receiver. [0053], discloses, communicating main signals may include receiving a downlink (DL) control and/or a downlink data transmission, e.g., a reception of a paging (i.e. RRC action corresponding to RRC idle/inactive process) or a normal DL message. Examiner notes that Figure 3 and [0033], further illustrates a deactivated main receiver (i.e. without performing) that is only activated for transmission of a main signal when a low power wake-up signal is detected during a low power wake up signal time 3421, 3422 or 3423. As such, the main receiver is deactivated during activation of the low power wake up receiver. [0079], further disclose the UE entering an idle mode and enter a first power save mode by deactivating the UEs main receiver and monitoring for low power wake-up signals according to the first power save mode with the UE’s low power wake-up receiver)
starting a timer associated with the WUS; and ([0033], discloses For example, it may be specified that the low power wake-up signal time interval 3421 (i.e. timer) is to end at time 3402, which is x time units (e.g., time slots, time frames, milliseconds) before the point in time 3404, in which the main signal time interval 3412 starts)
in accordance with a determination that the timer expires, performing the RRC actions and switching off the receiver. (Figure 3 and [0033], For example, it may be specified that the low power wake-up signal time interval 3421 is to end at time 3402 (i.e. timer expires), which is x time units (e.g., time slots, time frames, milliseconds) before the point in time 3404, in which the main signal time interval 3412 starts (i.e. performing RRC actions). [0040], discloses the first power save mode 3400 may be advantageous with respect to power consumption as the low power wake-up receiver only needs to be activated during the low power wake-up signal time intervals (i.e. switching off the receiver when timer expires))
Regarding Claim 20, Mazloum teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the WUS comprises a 2 amplitude shift keying, ASK, modulation on/off keying, OOK, signal. ([0036], discloses For example, the low power wake-up signal is designed using on-off keying (OOK). Examiner notes that OOK is a well known example of ASK modulation, in which “on” is a first amplitude and “off” is a second amplitude)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mazloum in view of US 2025/0016675 A1 (provisional application no. 63/264,589, file don Nov. 26, 2021) to Hoglund (hereinafter “Hoglund”) and US 2024/0284456 A1 to Elkotby et al. (hereinafter “Elkotby”)
Regarding Claim 9, Mazloum teaches The method of claim 1, further comprising:
Mazloum does not explicitly teach receiving a first indication from upper layer, the first indication indicating to perform the RRC actions and switching off the receiver; and
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Hoglund discloses in [0128], explicit signaling may be used to move the wireless device 130 in and out of WUR mode. [0146], further discloses Triggers for entering and exiting the new WUR state (i.e. perform RRC actions and switching off the receiver) may also be needed. The wireless device 130 may exit the WUR state and return to legacy operation/procedure upon detection of WUS, and the wireless device 130 may enter the WUR state upon any of the following: i) explicit indication from the network node 110, e.g., in Downlink Control Information (DCI), Radio Resource Control (RRC), or Non-Access Stratum (NAS) signaling (i.e. receiving a first indication from upper layer).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Mazloum to include the above limitations as suggested by Hoglund, to adaptively apply WUR to make it work in macro cell deployment as indicated in [0061] of Hoglund.
Mazloum/Hoglund does not explicitly teach transmitting to the upper layer a second indication, the second indication indicating that performing the RRC actions and switching off the receiver is caused by the first indication.
However, the concept of sending higher layer message with a cause indication is well known in the art. For example, in a similar field of endeavor, Elkotby discloses in Figure 11 and [0251], a UE in ULP idle mode, in which WTRU initiates an RRC connection establishment procedure with an establishment cause set to “mt-Access” so that WTRU can obtain the paged service such as mobile terminated data communication, mobile terminated voice call.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Mazloum/Hoglund to include the above limitations as suggested by Elkotby, to support energy-efficient and low-latency or on-demand IDLE/INACTIVE mode Paging as indicated in [0117] of Elkotby.
Claim 23 is rejected for having the same limitations as claim 9, except the claim is in terminal apparatus format.
Claim(s) 10, 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mazloum in view of US 2019/0387572 A1 to Nam et al. (hereinafter “Nam”)
Regarding Claim 10, Mazloum teaches The method of claim 1, further comprising:
transmitting a response to the network device, the response comprising at least one of:([0071], discloses Further, the UE may provide a message 7104 (i.e. response) indicative of the UE's radio capabilities to the serving AN. For example, the message 7104 may be indicative of the UE being equipped with a low power wake-up receiver. Optionally, the message 7104 may also be indicative of a transition time t.sub.t required (i.e. third time duration for switching on the communication device) by the UE to activate its main transceiver in response to detecting a low power wake-up signal.)
Mazloum does not teach transmitting the response to the network device, in response to receiving a capability request from a network device.
However, the concept of sending UE capabilities in response to a capability request is well known in the art. For example, in a similar field of endeavor, Nam discloses in [0071], a BS 110 may determine a selected configuration for a DRX WUS for a UE 120. For example, the BS 110 may select the selected configuration from a plurality of configurations for the DRX WUS. In some aspects, the BS 110 may determine the selected configuration based at least in part on radio link quality, a UE capability, a UE request, and/or the like. [0075], In some aspects, the BS 110 may determine the selected configuration based at least in part on a requested configuration or a UE capability.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Mazloum to include the above limitations as suggested by Nam, thus battery resources of the UE 120 are conserved, and coverage of the DRX WUS is improved as indicated in [0080] of Nam.
Claim 24 is rejected for having the same limitations as claim 10, except the claim is in terminal apparatus format.
Claim(s) 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mazloum in view of US 2024/0015653 A1 to He et al. (hereinafter “He”)
Regarding Claim 16, Mazloum teaches The method of claim 1,
Mazloum teaches RRC actions ([0053] and [0079], discloses performing paging processes in an RRC_IDLE state) does not explicitly teach while the terminal device performs the RRC actions, the method further comprising: performing cell selection or reselection criteria or performing measurements; in accordance with a determination that the cell selection or reselection criteria or the measurements indicates that a cell being camped on by the terminal device is unsuitable for the terminal device, performing a cell selection or reselection process; and disabling the receiver from monitoring the WUS.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, He discloses in [0041], The UE enters into the RRC_IDLE state upon powering up, and may perform operations including receiving broadcast messages, receiving paging messages (i.e. RRC actions), PLMN selection, and cell re-selection mobility (i.e. performing cell re-selection while performing the RRC actions). [0088], discloses For example, in 5G NR, for a UE configured with a DRX cycle of 1.28 seconds and above, the UE measures the serving cell at least once every DRX cycle and evaluates the cell selection criterion “S” to decide if the serving cell remains suitable (i.e. determining cell selection or reselection criteria or measurements indicate that a cell being camped on by the terminal device is unsuitable). [0110], discloses If a cell re-selection is triggered (i.e. performing a cell selection or reselection process), the WUR may wake up the MR to perform the cell acquisition procedure. [0047], further discloses To reduce power consumption, the UE does not perform the following operations in the WUR State 420 (i.e. disabling the receiver from monitoring the WUS): PLMN selection, reception of system information (SI) broadcasts, paging for mobile terminated data initiated by SCC, cell re-selection mobility, or DRX for CN paging configured by NAS. [0093], further discloses disabling the WUR.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Mazloum to include the above limitations as suggested by He, for reducing power consumption as indicated in [0047] of He.
Regarding Claim 17, Mazloum/He teaches The method of claim 16,further comprising:
He further teaches in responsive to receiving, from a network device, an indication indicating to monitor the WUS, switching on the receiver to monitor the WUS without performing the RRC actions; i.e. receiving an indication), and the UE determines whether/when to enable the second WUR based on the configured parameters. [0040], further discloses The “WUR state” as described herein may refer to an operating state distinct from the existing radio resource control (RRC) protocol states, wherein only the WUR is used for receiving network signals including, e.g., a WUR signal (WUR-S) to wake up the MR (i.e. monitor the WUS without performing the RRC actions), reference signals to perform RRM measurements, or other signals to be described in detail below) Examiner maintains same motivation to combine as indicated in Claim 16 above.
Claim(s) 19, 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mazloum in view of US 2024/0284456 A1 to Elkotby et al. (hereinafter “Elkotby”)
Regarding Claim 19, Mazloum teaches The method of claim 1,
Mazloum teaches performs the RRC actions ([0053] and [0079], discloses performing paging processes in an RRC_IDLE state) but does not explicitly teach while the terminal device performs the RRC actions, the method further comprising: in accordance with a determination that no paging notification is received from a network device during a paging occasion, PO, time duration, switching on the receiver to monitor the WUS, the PO time duration representing a time duration during which the terminal device monitors a second number of paging cycles.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Elkotby discloses in Figure 11 and [0245], a UE in ULP idle mode, in which 1101: WTRU checks if a paging indication designated to the WTRU is sent over the LP-WUS/LP-PDCCH signal/channel. If the paging indication is detected, then go to step 1102. [0250], further discloses 1106: WTRU checks if a paging message corresponding to the WTRU is sent over the PDCCH/PDSCH channels. If the paging message is detected and the detected paging message is designated for the WTRU, then go to step 1107. Otherwise, go back to step 1100. (i.e. switching on the receiver to monitor the WUS based on determining no paging notification is receive during a paging occasion). [0233], discloses a ULP receiver of a WTRU determining the next ULP paging occasion based on a received ULP paging configuration including, e.g., a configured ULP paging cycle and/or an assigned ULP WTRU-ID.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Mazloum to include the above limitations as suggested by Elkotby, to support energy-efficient and low-latency or on-demand IDLE/INACTIVE mode Paging as indicated in [0117] of Elkotby.
Claim 25 is rejected for having the same limitations as claim 19, except the claim is in terminal apparatus format.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2024/0267849 A1 to Lu et al., directed to operation in a low power state and transitioning to a legacy idle mode based on receiving LP-WUS.
US 2024/0397422 A1 to Martin et al., directed to paging monitoring based on a low power wake up receiver
/JENKEY VAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477