DETAILED ACTION
This is the first action on the merits for application 18/846,339. Responsive to the preliminary amendment filed 9/12/2024, Claims 11-30 are currently pending in this application.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. PCT/EP2023/056406, filed on 3/14/2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 9/12/2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: references to specific claims (see, for example, page 1, lines 23-24) should be removed as claim scope and numbering is subject to change during prosecution.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 11, the phrase "in particular" in line 7 renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 12 contains numerous antecedent basis issues, rendering the claim indefinite, as the claim currently does not depend from another claim. It appears Claim 12, line 1, “claim wherein” should be changed to - -claim 11 wherein- -.
Claim 12, line 3 states, “and/or” rendering the claim indefinite. Specifically, although use of the phrase “and/or” is permitted, as presently written it is unclear what combination of limitations is required by the claim.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the axially opposite intermediate housing" in lines 4-5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear whether this limitation should be changed to - -an axially opposite side of the intermediate housing- -.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the transmission housing interior" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear whether this limitation should be changed to - -a transmission housing interior- -.
Regarding Claim 14, the phrase "in particular" in lines 2 and 3 renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the transmission-far side" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear what this limitation is referring to.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "by the fact that" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It appears that Claim 15, line 1, “by the fact that”, line 2, “that” and line 4, “that” should be deleted.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the transverse installation" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear whether this limitation should be changed to - -a transverse installation- -.
Claim 15, line 4 states, “and/or” rendering the claim indefinite. Specifically, although use of the phrase “and/or” is permitted, as presently written it is unclear what combination of limitations is required by the claim.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the vehicle body" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear whether this limitation should be changed to - -a vehicle body- -.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the intermediate housing" in lines 1 and 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear what this limitation is referring to.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the housing cover" in lines 2 and 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear what this limitation is referring to.
Regarding Claim 16, the phrase "in particular" in lines 2-3 renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the first transmission-side unit bearing" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear what this limitation is referring to.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the housing cover" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear what this limitation is referring to.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the second transmission-side unit bearing" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear what this limitation is referring to.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the intermediate housing" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear what this limitation is referring to.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the third unit bearing" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear what this limitation is referring to.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "wherein the power electronics" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear whether this limitation should be changed to - -wherein power electronics- -.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "the top" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear whether this limitation should be changed to - -a top- -.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "the drive unit" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear whether this limitation should be changed to either - -the unit- - or - -the drive device- -.
Claim 19 recites the limitation "the unit bearings" in lines 1 and 3-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear what this limitation is referring to.
Claim 19, line 4 states, “formed in material connection” which is unclear. Specifically, it is unclear what constitutes a “material connection”.
Claim 19 recites the limitation "the intermediate housing" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear what this limitation is referring to.
Claim 19 recites the limitation "housing cover" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear what this limitation is referring to.
Claim 20 is indefinite due to its dependence from indefinite Claim 11.
Claim 21 recites the limitation "the axially opposite intermediate housing" in lines 4-5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear whether this limitation should be changed to - -an axially opposite side of the intermediate housing- -.
Claim 21 recites the limitation "the transmission housing interior" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear whether this limitation should be changed to - -a transmission housing interior- -.
Regarding Claim 22, the phrase "in particular" in lines 2 and 3 renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 22 recites the limitation "the transmission-far side" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear what this limitation is referring to.
Regarding Claim 23, the phrase "in particular" in lines 2 and 3 renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 23 recites the limitation "the transmission-far side" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear what this limitation is referring to.
Claim 24 recites the limitation "by the fact that" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It appears that Claim 24, line 1, “by the fact that”, line 2, “that” and line 4, “that” should be deleted.
Claim 24 recites the limitation "the transverse installation" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear whether this limitation should be changed to - -a transverse installation- -.
Claim 24, line 4 states, “and/or” rendering the claim indefinite. Specifically, although use of the phrase “and/or” is permitted, as presently written it is unclear what combination of limitations is required by the claim.
Claim 24 recites the limitation "the vehicle body" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear whether this limitation should be changed to - -a vehicle body- -.
Claim 25 recites the limitation "by the fact that" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It appears that Claim 25, line 1, “by the fact that”, line 2, “that” and line 4, “that” should be deleted.
Claim 25 recites the limitation "the transverse installation" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear whether this limitation should be changed to - -a transverse installation- -.
Claim 25, line 4 states, “and/or” rendering the claim indefinite. Specifically, although use of the phrase “and/or” is permitted, as presently written it is unclear what combination of limitations is required by the claim.
Claim 25 recites the limitation "the vehicle body" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear whether this limitation should be changed to - -a vehicle body- -.
Claim 26 recites the limitation "by the fact that" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It appears that Claim 26, line 1, “by the fact that”, line 2, “that” and line 4, “that” should be deleted.
Claim 26 recites the limitation "the transverse installation" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear whether this limitation should be changed to - -a transverse installation- -.
Claim 26, line 4 states, “and/or” rendering the claim indefinite. Specifically, although use of the phrase “and/or” is permitted, as presently written it is unclear what combination of limitations is required by the claim.
Claim 26 recites the limitation "the vehicle body" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear whether this limitation should be changed to - -a vehicle body- -.
Claim 27 recites the limitation "the first transmission-side unit bearing" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear what this limitation is referring to.
Claim 27 recites the limitation "the housing cover" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear what this limitation is referring to.
Claim 27 recites the limitation "the second transmission-side unit bearing" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear what this limitation is referring to.
Claim 27 recites the limitation "the intermediate housing" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear what this limitation is referring to.
Claim 27 recites the limitation "the third unit bearing" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear what this limitation is referring to.
Claim 28 recites the limitation "wherein the power electronics" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear whether this limitation should be changed to - -wherein power electronics- -.
Claim 28 recites the limitation "the top" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear whether this limitation should be changed to - -a top- -.
Claim 28 recites the limitation "the drive unit" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear whether this limitation should be changed to either - -the unit- - or - -the drive device- -.
Claim 29 recites the limitation "wherein the power electronics" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear whether this limitation should be changed to - -wherein power electronics- -.
Claim 29 recites the limitation "the top" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear whether this limitation should be changed to - -a top- -.
Claim 29 recites the limitation "the drive unit" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear whether this limitation should be changed to either - -the unit- - or - -the drive device- -.
Claim 30 recites the limitation "wherein the power electronics" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear whether this limitation should be changed to - -wherein power electronics- -.
Claim 30 recites the limitation "the top" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear whether this limitation should be changed to - -a top- -.
Claim 30 recites the limitation "the drive unit" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear whether this limitation should be changed to either - -the unit- - or - -the drive device- -.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by NAKAMATSU (US 2020/0266687 A1).
Regarding Claim 11 as best understood, NAKAMATSU discloses a drive device for an electrified vehicle axle of a vehicle (Figs. 1-5), comprising: an electric machine (2), which operates on flange shafts (55) which are connected to vehicle wheels (paragraph [0041], “left and right wheels”) via a transmission (3), and with a cooling/lubricating module (96) which provides the electric machine and/or the transmission with a coolant/lubricant (Fig. 1), wherein the drive device has a modular housing design in which a module housing (unlabeled housing of 96 shown in Fig. 5) of the cooling/lubricating module, a stator housing (6a and 63) of the electric machine and a transmission housing (6b) are assembled into a unit as separate cast metal parts (paragraph [0026], “die-casting process”), in particular diecast parts.
Regarding Claim 12 as best understood, NAKAMATSU discloses the stator housing is flanged over a flange connection (61c) to the transmission housing, and the stator housing and the transmission housing span an inner corner area (Fig. 1) in which the module housing is located, and/or in that the module housing has a shaft passage through which one of the flange shafts extends.
Regarding Claim 13 as best understood, NAKAMATSU discloses the transmission housing is composed of two parts of the housing arranged in an axial succession (Fig. 4), consisting of an intermediate housing (61b) and a housing cover (62), and in that both the stator housing and the module housing are flanged on one side of the intermediate housing (Fig. 1), and in that on the axially opposite intermediate housing the housing cover is flanged and closes the transmission housing interior (Fig. 1 and 4).
Regarding Claim 14 as best understood, NAKAMATSU discloses the stator housing and the module housing are spaced by an axial distance (Fig. 1), and in particular the stator housing and the module housing, in particular on the transmission-far side, are connected to each other by force transfer via a support part.
Regarding Claim 15 as best understood, NAKAMATSU discloses by the fact that the electric machine is mounted in the vehicle axle in the transverse installation (Fig. 1) and that the stator housing of the electric machine in the vehicle's transverse direction is axially extended with the transmission housing (Fig. 1), and/or that the unit is supported in a three-point position by three aggregate bearings in the vehicle body (Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 16 as best understood, NAKAMATSU discloses the intermediate housing (61b) and the housing cover (62) each have bearing walls which are axially opposite each other (Fig. 4), and in particular in that in the bearing walls of the intermediate housing and of the housing cover, transmission shafts, and flange shafts are rotationally mounted (Figs. 1 and 4).
Regarding Claim 17 as best understood, NAKAMATSU discloses the first transmission-side unit bearing (Figs. 1 and 4) is formed on the housing cover (62), in that the second transmission-side unit bearing (Fig. 1 and 4) is formed on the intermediate housing (61b) and in that the third unit bearing (Figs. 1 and 4) is formed on the stator housing (Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 18 as best understood, NAKAMATSU discloses the power electronics (8) of the electric machine, which cover at least part of the transmission housing, the module housing and the stator housing, are located at the top of the drive unit (Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 19 as best understood, NAKAMATSU discloses each of the unit bearings (26; 27) is designed as a rubber-metal sleeve bearing which is pressed into a mounting eye of the transmission housing and/or the stator housing (Figs. 1 and 4) and in that the mounting eyes of the unit bearings are formed in material connection on the stator housing, the intermediate housing and the housing cover (Figs. 1 and 4).
Regarding Claim 20 as best understood, NAKAMATSU discloses on the module housing, a pump unit (96), a heat exchanger, an oil filter and/or an oil tank are formed or mounted, which are components of a hydraulic circuit for cooling/lubrication of the electric machine and transmission (Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 21 as best understood, NAKAMATSU discloses the transmission housing is composed of two parts of the housing arranged in an axial succession (Fig. 4), consisting of an intermediate housing (61b) and a housing cover (62), and in that both the stator housing and the module housing are flanged on one side of the intermediate housing (Fig. 1), and in that on the axially opposite intermediate housing the housing cover is flanged and closes the transmission housing interior (Figs. 1 and 4).
Regarding Claim 22 as best understood, NAKAMATSU discloses the stator housing and the module housing are spaced by an axial distance (Fig. 1), and in particular the stator housing and the module housing, in particular on the transmission-far side, are connected to each other by force transfer via a support part.
Regarding Claim 23 as best understood, NAKAMATSU discloses the stator housing and the module housing are spaced by an axial distance (Fig. 1), and in particular the stator housing and the module housing, in particular on the transmission-far side, are connected to each other by force transfer via a support part.
Regarding Claim 24 as best understood, NAKAMATSU discloses by the fact that the electric machine is mounted in the vehicle axle in the transverse installation (Fig. 1) and that the stator housing of the electric machine in the vehicle's transverse direction is axially extended with the transmission housing (Fig. 1), and/or that the unit is supported in a three-point position by three aggregate bearings in the vehicle body (Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 25 as best understood, NAKAMATSU discloses by the fact that the electric machine is mounted in the vehicle axle in the transverse installation (Fig. 1) and that the stator housing of the electric machine in the vehicle's transverse direction is axially extended with the transmission housing (Fig. 1), and/or that the unit is supported in a three-point position by three aggregate bearings in the vehicle body (Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 26 as best understood, NAKAMATSU discloses by the fact that the electric machine is mounted in the vehicle axle in the transverse installation (Fig. 1) and that the stator housing of the electric machine in the vehicle's transverse direction is axially extended with the transmission housing (Fig. 1), and/or that the unit is supported in a three-point position by three aggregate bearings in the vehicle body (Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 27 as best understood, NAKAMATSU discloses the first transmission-side unit bearing (Figs. 1 and 4) is formed on the housing cover (62), in that the second transmission-side unit bearing (Figs. 1 and 4) is formed on the intermediate housing (61b) and in that the third unit bearing (Figs. 1 and 4) is formed on the stator housing (Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 28 as best understood, NAKAMATSU discloses the power electronics (8) of the electric machine, which cover at least part of the transmission housing, the module housing and the stator housing, are located at the top of the drive unit (Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 29 as best understood, NAKAMATSU discloses the power electronics (8) of the electric machine, which cover at least part of the transmission housing, the module housing and the stator housing, are located at the top of the drive unit (Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 30 as best understood, NAKAMATSU discloses the power electronics (8) of the electric machine, which cover at least part of the transmission housing, the module housing and the stator housing, are located at the top of the drive unit (Fig. 1).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
ENDO et al. (US 2023/0019830 A1) discloses an electric drive apparatus (see Fig. 1).
WEHLEN et al. (US 2022/0219520 A1) discloses a drive device for an electrically driven vehicle including a unit comprised of an electric motor, transmission and oil chamber (see Fig. 2).
KIM et al. (US 2022/0025967 A1) discloses an electric drive system (see Fig. 4).
LIU et al. (US 2019/0348889 A1) discloses a stator cooling system (see Fig. 2).
EDWIN YOUNG
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3655
/Edwin A Young/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3655