Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of 1-11 in the reply filed on 7/23/26 is acknowledged. The claims that read on the elected species are 1-4. 6 and 9-11.
Claims 5, 7-8 and 12-24 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group and species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 7/23/26
Information Disclosure Statement
Receipt is acknowledged of the Information Disclosure Statement filed 6/3/25. The Examiner has considered the references cited therein to the extent that each is a proper citation. Please see the attached USPTO Form 1449.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Clevland et al. (WO 2021/113651).
With regards to instant claim 1 Cleland teaches dendrimers useful as nano carriers i.e., nano formulations (see pg. 18 lines 10-15) comprising a poly(amidoamine) (PAMAM) dendrimer conjugated to an active agent (see abstract) wherein the active agent is an anti-inflammatory agent- metformin (see pg. 67, lines 14-15) wherein the PAMAM dendrimer generation 4 PAMAM (as required by instant claims 2-3) wherein the linker is a carbamate bond (see pg. 17, lines 25+, as required by instant claim 6). With regards to instant claim 11, Cleland teaches the composition exist in a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier (see pg. 13, lines 14+)..
Therefore the claims are anticipated or in the alternative obvious at the time the invention was made as it would have been anticipated or obvious to have the nanoparticle comprising a PAMAM dendrimer generation 4 conjugated to an active agent metformin with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cleland et al. (WO 2021/113651) in view of Cleland et al. ( US 2021/0170040) .
Cleland ’651 is applied here as above. However fails to teach instant claim 9. Leland ‘040 With regards to instant claim 1 teaches dendrimers useful as nano carriers i.e., nano formulations (see 0070) comprising a poly(amidoamine) (PAMAM) dendrimer conjugated to an active agent (see abstract) wherein the active agent is an anti-inflammatory agent- metformin (see para 0227) wherein the PAMAM dendrimer generation 4 PAMAM (as required by instant claims 2-3, see abstract) wherein the linker is a carbamate bond (see 0067, 0083, as required by instant claim 6). With regards to instant claim 11, Cleland teaches the composition exist in a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier (see 0052).
However fails to teach as required by instant claims 9-10. Nonetheless teaches the nanoparticle comprises
wherein A is as shown above.
Although Cleland did not per se teach specifically the A conjugated to metformin as represented by claims 9-10. Nonetheless based on the teaching that the conjugated PAMAM dendrimer generation 4 PAMAM is capable of conjugating with, and active metformin as illustrated by the Figs 13B-15C.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have substituted polyethylene glycol with a carbamate bond with a reasonable expectation of success because the reference teaches so. And the expectation that the prior art elements will perform their expected functions to achieve the expected result.
No claims are allowed.
/SHIRLEY V GEMBEH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1615 9/8/26