DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9, 11, 13, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Vickery et al [US 2024/0114890]
Claim 1. A system for monitoring an animal trap (see Fig. 1, abstract), the system comprising:
a camera unit, the camera unit (the secondary station 140, 240, 540, 640 including camera 144, 244, 544 (see Figs. 1, 3A-3I, 5, 6, para [0039, 0047, 0051]) comprising: a power source (the battery, see Fig. 1, para [0046]) a digital camera (the camera 544, 644, see Figs. 5, 6); a first wireless communicate module (the wireless Interface 636, see Fig. 6); and a first controller (the controller 632, see Fig. 6);
a trap activation unit (the trap 122, 222, see Figs. 1, 2), the trap activation unit (the base station 110, 510 including one or more sensors 120 is associated with actuation of trap 122, see Figs. 1, 5, para [0041]) comprising: a power source (the rechargeable battery power source or power supply 526, see Figs. 4A, 4H, 5, para [0040, 0056, 0065, 0067, 0069]); one or more sensors (the sensor 520, see Fig. 5, para [0041]); securing means for affixing the unit in place upon, or in close proximity to, an animal trap (the base station 110, 210 is placed in proximity with the trap 122, 222, see Figs. 1, 2A, 2B, 7A, para [0096]); a second wireless communications module (the wireless communication 518, see Fig. 5); and a second controller paired with and in wireless communication with the first controller (the base station 110, 510 and/or secondary station 140, 540 may include, a processor, a wireless communication interface, circuitry, or the like (see Figs. 1, 5, para [0005, 0041, 0046]), and wherein the first station controller/processor 114, 514 may be in wireless communication between the base station 110 including the secondary station 140 controller/processor 542, see Figs. 1, 5, 6, 7A, para [0072, 0041, 0046, 0097]);
one or more servers configured to receive and store image data from the camera
unit and further configured to host an online platform for interfacing with the camera unit
via one or more user devices (the network 551 is coupled to the server 552 and/or the device 554 (e.g., an electronic device, such as a computer, mobile device, smart phone, etc.) via a wired connection, a wireless connection, or both. Each of server 552 and electronic device 554 may include a memory storing one or more instructions, and a processor coupled to the memory and configured to execute the one or more instructions to perform corresponding operations as described herein. For example, electronic device 554 may include one or more instructions (e.g., software), such as a mobile application, to enable the electronic device to configure detector device 504, see Fig. 5, para [0066]).
Sensor data 668 may be generated based on one or more sensors (e.g., 120, 150, 520, 550, etc.) of a PMD (e.g., 604). In some implementations, timing data 631 is stored at server 602, and the server generates image capture commands based on the timing data and sends the commands to the PMDs (see Figs. 6, 8, para [0080, 0101]);
wherein the second controller is configured to generate and send a notification or
alert to the first controller in response to a detection of a signal from the one or more
sensors indicative of animal activity (the remote wired and/or wireless alert notification to indicate of a pest or no pest, see Figs. 5, 6, 14, 15, para [0006, 0007, 0041, 0106, 0110]);
and wherein the first controller is configured to, in response to receiving a notification or alert from the second controller, capture image data of an animal trap with the digital camera and upload the image data to the one or more servers (the controller/processor 514 wirelessly transmitting message 666 including detected pet image data 664 to the server 602, see Figs. 5, 6, 15, para [0082, 0083, 0110]).
Claim 2. A system according to claim 1, wherein the one or more servers are configured to allow a user accessing the hosted online platform to remotely instruct the camera unit to capture image data and upload it to the platform for viewing on demand (in an implementation with a bait container (e.g., 424) server 552 and/or electronic device 554 may transmit a command to drop/dispense bait upon identification of a pest. In some such implementations, the pest may be identified via programming (e.g., at server 552 based on image data sent from camera 544) or via a user (e.g., at a display of electronic device based on an image). The server 552 or electronic device 554 (e.g., via an input from a user) may then transmit a command to a processor (e.g., 514, 542) of pest management station 501 to cause bait to be dispensed at a target area (e.g., 420), at a trap (e.g., 522), or any other suitable location (see Figs. 5, 6, para [0076, 0093]).
Claim 3. A system according to claim 1, wherein the camera unit further comprises one or more additional sensors (the plurality sensors 150, see Fig. 1, para [0050]).
Claim 4. A system according to claim 3, wherein the additional sensors include a motion sensor in the form of a vibration sensor and/or an infra-red, IR sensor, and the first controller is configured to capture and upload image data in response to a detection of motion in proximity to the camera unit (the vibration sensor, a power sensor, touch sensors, field sensors, motion sensors, PIR, or the like, see para [0050]).
Claim 5. A system according to claim 3, wherein the additional sensors include a magnetic field sensor (the magnetic field sensor 120, 232, see Figs. 1, 2A, 2B, para [0042, 0061]).
Claim 6. A system according to claim 5, wherein the magnetic field sensor is paired with a permanent magnet and the first controller is configured to capture and upload image data in response to a detection of a change in magnetic field strength detected from the permanent magnet (as cited in respect to claim 5 above and including the magnet 132 coupled to strap 122 having designated magnetic field strength, see Fig. 1, para [0042, 0061]).
Claim 7. A system according to claim 3, wherein the one or more servers are configured to allow a user accessing the platform to instruct the first controller on whether to trigger the capture of image data based on the trap activation sensor or using a sensor of the one or more additional sensors (as cited in respect to claims 1-5 above).
Claim 8. A system according to claim 1, wherein the camera unit further comprises a flash lighting element configured to illuminate an area at which the digital camera is focused to facilitate capture of image data (as cited in respect to claim 1 above, and wherein the camera 144 includes light flash devices, see Figs. 1, 6, para [0048, 0074, 0087]).
Claim 9. A system according to claim 1, wherein the paired wireless communications modules of the camera unit and trap activation unit communicate via Bluetooth (see para [0041]).
Claim 11. A system according to claim 1, wherein the camera unit further comprises a GPS unit, and is configured to upload location data to the one or more servers alongside the image data (the resulting image may be transmitting to a server 552, 602, 1452, or other electrical device, where a pest detection program may identify one or more pests in the image, see Figs. 5, 6, 14, para [0006, 0074, 0075, 0080, 0106]).
Claim 13. A system according to claim 1, wherein the camera unit comprises securing means for affixing it in place with a view of an animal trap and surrounding environment (see Figs. 2A, 2B, 4E, 4F).
Claim 16. A system according to claim 1, wherein the system further comprises one or more additional pairs of camera units and trap activation units in communication with the one or more servers (FIGS. 8-13 depict images of a display corresponding to display data generated by a detector device (e.g., 104, 204, 504, 604, 704) or a server (e.g., 552, 652), as described above, and based on image data captured by a camera of the detector device. For example, FIGS. 8 and 9 depict images captured by a detector device of a first target area corresponding to an exterior of trap (e.g., 122, 222, 404, 406, 522, 722) and FIGS. 10-13 depict images captured by the detector device or camera of second target area corresponding to an interior of a trap (see para [0100]) and where the detected images are transmitted to the one or more servers 552, 602, see abstract, Figs. 5, 6, para [0009-0011, 0062]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vickery et al [US 2024/0114890] in view of Masoud [US 2023/0421991]
Claim 10. Vickery et al fails to disclose wherein the wireless communications module of the camera unit is further configured for satellite and 4G wireless standards to communicate with the one or more servers. However,
Vickery et al teaches that the transceiver 118 may include multiple distinct components or can include a single unitary component. The, transceiver may include or correspond to a wireless interface configured to enable wireless communication between base station 110 and another device. In some such implementations, the wireless interfaces may include a LoRa interface, a Wi-Fi interface (e.g., an IEEE 802.11 interface), a cellular interface, a Bluetooth interface, a BLE interface, a Zigbee interface, another type of low power network interface, or the like. Additionally, or alternatively, transceiver may send and receive information over a network 551 (e.g., LAN, WAN, the Internet, or server 552, 602) via any suitable communication path (see Figs. 5, 6, para [0041, 0066,
Masoud suggests that mobile agents 104 are equipped with at least three types of sensors, e.g., visual sensors such as camera, torque sensors, and tactile sensors, for identifying respective robotic control strategies, e.g., visual serving control, force control, and tactile control. The sensing environment includes any presence of a live human or animal trapped inside, send the exact location of the live human or the animal (see para [0059]).
The mobile wireless agent 104 including a controller 114 to collect sensory information to be shared with the base station), a wireless communication unit 116 (e.g., a component facilitating wireless communication), and a video surveillance system 120 for capturing a video stream and connected to video transmitter and receiver (see Fig. 1C, para [0065).
The network 2460 can also be wired, such as an Ethernet network, or can be wireless such as a cellular network including EDGE, 3G and 4G wireless cellular systems. The wireless network can also be WiFi, Bluetooth, or any other wireless form of communication that is known (see Fig. 24, para [0173]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement or user the 4G or 5G wireless communications of Masoud to the wireless interfaces or wireless communications of Vickery et al for providing a faster communication networks, which is available and known in the wireless network,
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vickery et al [US 2024/0114890] in view of Gaskamp et al [US 2016/0277688]
Claim 12. Vickery et al fails to disclose wherein the components of the camera unit are disposed within a waterproof housing. However,
Vickery teaches that the detector device 104 may, but need not, include a secondary station 140. Secondary station 140 may include additional components that are adapted to a particular trap (e.g., 122) or for capture/detection of a particular pest. As shown in FIG. 1, secondary station 140 includes a housing 142, camera 144, one or more light sources 146, an indicator 148, and/or one or more sensors 150 (see Fig. 1, para [0046]).
Gaskamp et al suggests that the camera unit 100 includes a housing 102 (see Fig. 1A, para [0025]). Operatively, a user may properly mount and orient the camera unit 100 so as to establish a desired MFOV/IFOV to encompass the target (T), which may include a path, an animal feeder, water source, a trap or trapping system, or other desired target to be monitored (see Figs. 2A, 2B, para [0050]). The front housing 102a and the rear housing 102b are secured relative to one another using latches 126. The latches 126 apply a constant, even pressure against the front housing 102a and the rear housing 102b, which causes seal 128 (FIG. 1C), formed into the rear housing 102b, to compress against an edge of the front housing 102a to create a weatherproof or waterproof seal against environmental intrusion. The illustrated configuration is but one embodiment, and to those skilled in the art, the latches 126 could be sliding in nature, could be threaded fasteners, or could be other structural configurations. Moreover, to those skilled in the art, it is known that the seal 128 may be external to the housing 102 or a combination of internal and external structures or elements (see Figs. 1A, 1B, para [0031]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify and/or implement the waterproof camera housing of Gaskamp et al to the camera housing of Vickery et al for protecting the camera, sensors and electronic circuits being exposed to the environment such as dusts, snow and/or water, which causes damage and failure of the detection device.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vickery et al [US 2024/0114890] in view of Deering et al [US 2021/0029983]
Claim 14. Vickery et al fails to disclose wherein the second controller is configured with one or more predefined thresholds and/or filter algorithms for preventing false alert notifications from being sent to the first controller. However,
Vickery et al teaches that the processor 514 may be configured to execute instructions 528 to detect activation of trap 522 (e.g., the release of capture element 128 from the set position), activate an indicator device 519 responsive to detection of the release, or both. For example, sensor 520 may detect activation or deactivation of trap 522. Additionally, or alternatively, in response to activation of trap 522, processor 514 may initiate communication circuitry 518 to transmit message 556 indicating operation of trap 122. Communication circuitry 518 may transmit message 556 to server 552 or to electronic device 554. In some implementations, processor 514 is configured to identify when an output of a sensor 520 satisfies a threshold and, in response, to initiate a communication (e.g., a message). For example, when sensor 520 is a power supply sensor, processor 514 may identify when power supply 526 is in a low power condition, such as when a battery needs to be changed or charged. As another example, when sensor 520 is a moisture sensor, processor 514 may identify when one or more traps are underwater and are in need of physical inspection. As another example, when sensor 520 is a vibration sensor, processor 514 may identify activation of a particular trap based on a signal of a corresponding switch indicating operation of the particular trap and based on the output of the vibration sensor being greater than or equal to a threshold during a particular time period associated with the processor 514 receiving the signal from the switch (see Fig. 5, para [0073]).
Deering et al suggests that the wire live animal trap, as is commonly available to technicians and the public is shown in FIG. 4C. Trap 4300 is provided with one or more doors 4312 and 4314, along with a trigger, as shown by trip 4322. A trap of the type 4300 is usually baited to encourage entry into trap area 4360. Other alternatives may simply be placed in an area where animals may pass. Humane treatment and often time laws require frequent monitoring of animal traps. Sensor station 4350 is positioned to place animals trapped within trap 4300 in the field of view of a motion detector to monitor the trap occupancy. (see Fig. 1, para [0094]).
In some embodiments, thresholds are used to avoid overwhelming a technician with false alarms or to increase the efficiency so that technicians are able to check a plurality of traps that are in the same vicinity. As stated in this disclosure, sensor stations may be paired with a location, and that location may then be stored and presented to a technician via an application that receives information from a pest section detector. In some embodiments the user may then view a visual map that shows where the sensor station that is occupied or is suspected of being occupied is located at a site. Various thresholds may be that a certain type of data needs to be collected for a specific sensor station trap, such as a rat-like object or rat having activated a motion sensor at least 3 times during a ten minute period. Any examples given here are only exemplary and are suggestive of other types of intervals or thresholds that may be implemented. (see par [0165]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify and/or implement the thresholds are used to avoid overwhelming with false alarms of Deering et al to the threshold for determining to transmit a message or notification alert of Vickery et al for minimizing or preventing of false alarms, such as the trap is activated cause by environmental conditions such as strong wind, tornado, etc.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vickery et al [US 2024/0114890]
Claim 15. Vickery et al fails to disclose wherein the one or more servers are configured to allow a user to remotely deactivate the camera unit, putting it into a low power sleep mode. However,
Hickery et al teaches that the when trap 122 is in a position (e.g., set position) and the trap does not contact sensor 120, as an activation switch 515, the sensor is in or transitions to an electrically conductive state (i.e., an on state or a closed state). When trap 122 moves to a position (e.g., activated position) and the trap contacts sensor 120, the sensor is in or transitions to a non-electrically conductive state (i.e., an off state or an open state). (see Figs. 1, 2A, 2B, para [0042, 0061]).
In some implementations, camera 544 is configured to capture an image responsive to receiving an image capture command, such as from an input button (e.g., switch 515) or from a remote device (e.g., 552 or 554) by a user. For example, server 552, 602, 1452 and/or electronic device 554 may transmit a command to base station 510 or secondary station 540 (e.g., via network) to cause camera 544 or light source 546 to initiate an action, such as flash and capture an image (see Figs. 5, 6, 14, para [0065, 0075, 0106]).
Additionally, or alternatively, image data which indicate negative results (e.g., no pests present) may be used to identify which monitoring devices are candidates for decreased monitoring and/or when to not monitor or capture images. Further, image data which indicate positive results (e.g., a pest is present) may be used to initiate an action of first PMD 604. For example, positive identification of a pest (e.g., at server 602 via AI generated Pest ID data 628, at an external device via identification and input of a user, or the like) may cause a trap (e.g., 122), bait station (e.g., 424), or other component of the system to be activated. (see Fig. 6, para [0093]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skill in art to recognize that the claim limitations are met the animal trap is remotely controlled to activate “on” or deactivate “off” one or more operating functions such as sensors, camera, bait and strap door, etc. by the server by a user of Vickery et al as for decreasing monitoring or not monitoring or capture images as a sleeping mode to save the battery power when it is unnecessary.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Gaskamp et al discloses a trap system 100, the control system 10 may execute another possible process 1305 for monitoring and actuating the trap system 100, as illustrated in FIG. 14. In the process 1305, the user activates the controller unit 300 of the on-site system 30, which enters a sleep state. In such sleep state, the controller unit 300 passively seeks to detect motion within or near the trap area 107 using the motion detector 273 (step 1320). In the absence of any such motion, the controller unit 300 remains in a sleep state. Upon detecting motion, the controller unit 300 enters an active state, and controller 264 activates camera 266 and illuminator 272 to illuminate the trap area 107. The controller 264 initiates an image capture of at least the trap area 107 (step 1340), wherein such image capture may include multiple images (e.g. video) or a single image. The controller 264 effects transmission of an alert message (step 1350), via transceiver 262, through the IP network 50 and server 40 to a user device 20, including a remote computer 20a, a cellular device 20b or other electronic communications device of the user. [US 2015/0296766]
For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair- direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786- 9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/VAN T TRIEU/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2685
06/16/2026