DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Application filed on 12 September 2024.
Claims 1-30 are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12 September 2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The Abstract contains phrases, “In an aspect of the disclosure…” in line 1. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The Abstract should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “This disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “This disclosure describes,” etc.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 10, line 6 recites the pronoun “that”. For clarity and consistency, it is suggested to amend to remove the pronoun “that”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8, lines 4-5 recites the limitation “a respective spatial domain filter”. It is unclear whether “a respective spatial domain filter” is the same as “a respective spatial domain filter” in Claim 1, line 8.
Claim 10, line 2 recites the limitation “..a plurality of preamble messages…”. It is unclear whether “…a plurality of preamble messages…” in claim 1, line 13 recites “…a plurality of preamble messages…”.
Dependent claim 9 is also rejected since it is dependent upon the rejected claim set forth above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 18-21, 23 and 26-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Islam et al (US 2020/0267770 A1), hereinafter Islam.
Regarding Claim 18, Islam discloses a first network node (see Figure 9 and paragraph 150; a first network device/device 905), comprising:
a memory (see Figure 9 and paragraph 150; a memory/memory 925); and
at least one processor (see Figure 9 and paragraph 150; at least one processor/processor 920) coupled to the memory (see Figure 9 and paragraph 150; coupled to the memory/memory 925), wherein the at least one processor (see Figure 9 and paragraph 150; wherein the at least one processor/processor 920) is configured to:
transmit each of a set of reference signals via a respective beam of a set of beams (see Figure 2 and paragraphs 4, 86, 103 and 110; transmit/transmitted each of a set of reference signals/(reference signals) via a respective beam of a set of beams/uplink transmission beams 210), transmit a random access channel (RACH) configuration associated with spatial domain filtering for transmission of a plurality of preamble messages of a RACH procedure (see paragraphs 106, 110 and 127; transmit/transmit a random access channel (RACH) configuration/(RACH configuration message, Figure 5, steps 505, 510) associated with spatial domain filtering/(uplink transmission beam sweep) for transmission/transmission of a plurality of preamble messages/(multiple RACH preamble message transmissions) of a RACH procedure/RACH message), and perform the RACH procedure (see Figure 2and Figure 5, step 510 and paragraphs 64 and 106; and perform/performing the RACH procedure/RACH procedure), wherein, to perform the RACH procedure (see Figure 2 and paragraphs 64 and 106; to perform/performing the RACH procedure/RACH procedure), the at least one processor is configured to:
receive (see Figure 2 and paragraphs 64, 111 and 119; receive/receive), from a second network node (see Figure 2 and paragraphs 110, 114 and 118-119; from a second network node/base station 105-a), at least one of the plurality of preamble messages associated with at least one of a set of spatial domain filters that corresponds to at least one set of the set of beams (see Figure 2 and paragraphs 64, 111 and 119; at least one of the plurality of preamble messages/(RACH preamble messages) associated with at least one/(different uplink transmission beam 210) of a set of spatial domain filters/(uplink transmission beams 210 and uplink reception beams 215) that corresponds to at least one set of the set of beams/uplink transmission and reception beams).
Regarding Claim 19, Islam discloses the first network node, wherein the RACH configuration indicates at least one of a number of the plurality of preamble messages (see Figure 3 and paragraphs 107-108 and 118-119; wherein the RACH configuration/(a configuration for multiple dedicated RACH transmissions) indicates at least one/(dedicated preamble index) of a number of the plurality of preamble messages/preamble indices).
Regarding Claim 20, Islam discloses the first network node, wherein, to transmit the RACH configuration, the at least one processor is configured to:
transmit the RACH configuration via one of a radio resource control (RRC) signaling (see paragraph 114; transmit/(UE 115-a transmits) the RACH configuration/(RACH message using an identified configuration) via one of a radio resource control (RRC) signaling/RRC configuration).
Regarding Claim 21, Islam discloses the first network node, wherein the set of reference signals comprises at least one of a synchronization signal block (SSB) or a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) (see Figure 2 and paragraphs 86 and 110; wherein the set of reference signals/(reference signals) comprises at least one of a synchronization signal block (SSB)/(synchronization signal (SS) blocks) or a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS)/CSI-RS).
Regarding Claim 23, Islam discloses the first network node, wherein the plurality of preamble messages comprises one of a same preamble (see Figure 5, step 525 and paragraphs 112 and 130; wherein the plurality of preamble messages/(RACH preamble message) comprises one of a same preamble/(RACH preamble transmitted multiple times).
Regarding Claim 26, Islam discloses the first network node, wherein the at least one of the plurality of preamble messages includes at least one of:
one or more instances of a first preamble message (see paragraphs 65, 112 and 119; wherein the plurality of preamble messages/(multiple RACH preamble messages) includes at least one of: one or more instances of a first preamble message/one or more instances of a RACH preamble message); or
one or more instances of a second preamble message (see paragraphs 112 and 119; wherein the plurality of preamble messages/(multiple RACH messages) includes at least one of: one or more instances of a second preamble message/second RACH preamble message).
Regarding Claim 27, Islam discloses the first network node, wherein, to receive (see Figures 1 and 4 and paragraphs 106, 113, 119 and 122; to receive/transmit), from the second network node (see Figure 2 and paragraph 106; from the second network node/base station 105), the at least one of the plurality of preamble messages associated with the at least one of the set of spatial domain filters that corresponds to the at least one set of the set of beams (see Figures 1 and 4 and paragraphs 106, 113, 119 and 122; the at least one of the plurality of preamble messages/(multiple preamble RACH messages) associated with the at least one of the set of spatial domain filters/(UE 115-a maps one or more uplink transmission beams 210 to uplink reception beams 215 at base station 105-a) that corresponds to the at least one set of the set of beams/uplink transmission beams 210), the at least one processor is configured to:
receive one or more instances of a first preamble message associated with a first spatial domain filter of the set of spatial domain filters based on the RACH configuration (see paragraphs 108 and 112; receive/transmit one or more instances of a first preamble message/(RACH preamble message) associated with a first spatial domain filter/(uplink transmission beam) of the set of spatial domain filter/(uplink transmission beams) based on the RACH configuration/configuration for multiple dedicated RACH transmissions).
Regarding Claim 28, Islam discloses the first network node, wherein, to receive (see Figures 1 and 4 and paragraphs 106, 113, 119 and 122; to receive/transmit), from the second network node, the at least one of the plurality of preamble messages associated with the at least one of the set of spatial domain filters that corresponds to the at least one set of the set of beams (see Figures 1 and 4 and paragraphs 106, 113, 119 and 122; the at least one of the plurality of preamble messages/(multiple preamble RACH messages) associated with the at least one of the set of spatial domain filters/(UE 115-a maps one or more uplink transmission beams 210 to uplink reception beams 215 at base station 105-a) that corresponds to the at least one set of the set of beams/uplink transmission beams 210), the at least one processor is configured to:
receive one or more instances of the first preamble message associated with a second spatial domain filter of the set of spatial domain filters based on the RACH configuration (see Figure 4 and paragraphs 102, 113, 121 and 124; receive/transmit one or more instances of the first preamble message/(RACH preamble message) using a second spatial domain filter/(first uplink beam such as uplink transmission beam 405-a) of the set of spatial domain filters/(uplink transmission beams 405-a and 405-b) based on the RACH configuration/RACH configuration of the UE).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 11, 13-16, 22 and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Islam in view of Tsai et al (US 2018/0279136 A1), hereinafter Tsai.
Regarding Claim 1, Islam discloses a first network node (see Figure 9 and paragraph 150; a first network device/device 905) for wireless communication (see paragraph 2-3; for wireless communication/wireless communication), comprising:
a memory (see Figure 9 and paragraph 150; a memory/memory 925); and
at least one processor (see Figure 9 and paragraph 150; at least one processor/processor 920) coupled to the memory (see Figure 9 and paragraph 150; coupled to the memory/memory 925), wherein the at least one processor (see Figure 9 and paragraph 150; wherein the at least one processor/processor 920) is configured to:
receive a random access channel (RACH) configuration for a RACH procedure with a second network node (see Figure 2 and paragraphs 110, 114 and 118-119; receive/(UE receives) a random access channel (RACH) configuration/(RACH using an identified configuration) for a RACH procedure/RACH with a second network node/base station 105-a);
determine a set of spatial domain filters for the RACH procedure based on the RACH configuration (see Figures 1 and 4 and paragraphs 106, 113, 119 and 122; determine a set of spatial domain filters/(UE 115-a maps one or more uplink transmission beams 210 to uplink reception beams 215 at base station 105-a) for the RACH procedure/(RACH message) based on the RACH configuration/RACH message configuration 400), wherein each respective spatial domain filter of the set of spatial domain filters corresponds to a respective reference signal of a set of reference signals (see paragraphs 64, 105 and 110; wherein each respective spatial domain filter of the set of spatial domain filters corresponds to a respective reference signal/CSI-RS of a set of reference signals/channel state information reference signals (CSI-RS)); and
perform the RACH procedure (see Figure 2 and paragraphs 64 and 106; perform/performing the RACH procedure/RACH procedure), wherein, to perform the RACH procedure (see Figure 2 and paragraph 106; wherein, to perform/performing the RACH procedure/RACH procedure), the at least one processor is configured to:
transmit (see Figure 2 and paragraph 106; transmit/transmit), to the second network node (see Figure 2 and paragraph 106; to the second network node/base station 105).
Although Islam discloses determine a set of spatial domain filters for the RACH procedure based on the RACH configuration as set forth above,
Islam does not explicitly disclose “wherein each respective spatial domain filter of the set of spatial domain filters corresponds to a respective reference signal of a set of reference signals” or “a plurality of preamble messages using the set of spatial domain filters based on the RACH configuration”.
However, Tsai discloses a first network node for wireless communication, comprising:
wherein each respective spatial domain filter of the set of spatial domain filters corresponds to a respective reference signal of a set of reference signals (see Figure 4 and paragraphs 52, 54, 56; wherein each respective spatial domain filter/(particular Tx beam) of the set of spatial domain filters/(uplink and downlink beams) corresponds to a respective reference signal/(reference signal) of a set of reference signals/downlink reference signals);
a plurality of preamble messages using the set of spatial domain filters based on the RACH configuration (see Figure 4 and paragraphs 52, 54, 56 and 84; a plurality of preamble messages/(PRACH preambles) using the set of spatial domain filters/(uplink and downlink beams) based on the RACH configuration/PRACH configurations).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “wherein each respective spatial domain filter of the set of spatial domain filters corresponds to a respective reference signal of a set of reference signals” or “a plurality of preamble messages using the set of spatial domain filters based on the RACH configuration” as taught by Tsai in the system of Islam to provide efficient PRACH resource utilization (see page 1, paragraph 2 of Tsai).
Regarding Claim 2, Islam discloses the first network node, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
receive the set of reference signals from the second network node (see paragraphs 86-87, 110, 119; receive/(base station transmits) the set of reference signals/(some signals (e.g. synchronization signals, reference signals, beam selection signals, or other control signals)) from the second network node/base station 105).
Regarding Claim 3, Islam discloses the first network node, wherein, to transmit the plurality of preamble messages using the set of spatial domain filters based on the RACH configuration, the at least one processor is configured to:
transmit at least two preamble messages of the plurality of preamble messages using a same spatial domain filter of the set of spatial domain filters based on the RACH configuration (see Figure 2 and paragraphs 107-108, 113; transmit/sent at least two/multiple preamble messages/(preamble indices) of the plurality of preamble messages/(preamble indices) using a same spatial domain filter/(a first uplink transmission beam and a second uplink transmission beam) of the set of spatial domain filters/(multiple beams) based on the RACH configuration/a configuration for multiple dedicated RACH transmissions).
Regarding Claim 4, Islam discloses the first network node, wherein the RACH configuration indicates at least one of a number of the plurality of preamble messages (see Figure 3 and paragraphs 107-108 and 118-119; wherein the RACH configuration/( a configuration for multiple dedicated RACH transmissions) indicates at least one/(dedicated preamble index) of a number of the plurality of preamble messages/preamble indices).
Regarding Claim 5, Islam discloses the first network node, wherein, to receive the RACH configuration, the at least one processor is configured to:
receive the RACH configuration via one of a radio resource control (RRC) signaling (see paragraph 114; receive/(UE 115-a transmits) the RACH configuration/(RACH message using an identified configuration) via one of a radio resource control (RRC) signaling/RRC configuration).
Regarding Claim 6, Islam discloses the first network node, wherein the set of reference signals comprises at least one of a synchronization signal block (SSB) or a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) (see Figure 2 and paragraphs 86 and 110; wherein the set of reference signals/(reference signals) comprises at least one of a synchronization signal block (SSB)/(synchronization signal (SS) blocks) or a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS)/CSI-RS).
Regarding Claim 7, Although Islam discloses the first network node as set forth above,
Islam does not explicitly disclose “wherein a first subset of the set of reference signals comprises a set of SSBs and a second subset of the set of reference signals comprises a set of CSI-RSs”.
However, Tsai discloses the first network node, wherein a first subset of the set of reference signals comprises a set of SSBs and a second subset of the set of reference signals comprises a set of CSI-RSs (see paragraph 52; wherein a first subset/(set of downlink reference signals ) of the set of reference signals/(set of downlink reference signals) comprises a set of SSBs/(SS blocks) and a second subset/(set of downlink reference signals) of the set of reference signals/(reference signals) comprises a set of CSI-RSs/CSI-RS resources).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “wherein a first subset of the set of reference signals comprises a set of SSBs and a second subset of the set of reference signals comprises a set of CSI-RSs” as taught by Tsai in the system of Islam to provide efficient PRACH resource utilization (see page 1, paragraph 2 of Tsai).
Regarding Claim 11, Islam discloses the first network node, wherein the plurality of preamble messages comprises one of a same preamble or at least two different preambles (see Figure 5, step 525 and paragraphs 112 and 130; wherein the plurality of preamble messages/(RACH preamble message) comprises one of a same preamble/(RACH preamble transmitted multiple times).
Regarding Claim 13, Islam discloses the first network node, wherein at least two of the plurality of preamble messages are multiplexed in at least one of time or frequency (see paragraphs 64, 107, 109 and 118; wherein at least two of the plurality of preamble messages are multiplexed/(UE 115-a performs multiple transmission of a RACH message at different times) in at least one of time/(time domain) or frequency/frequency domain).
Regarding Claim 14, Islam discloses the first network, wherein the plurality of preamble messages includes at least one of:
one or more instances of a first preamble message (see paragraphs 65, 112 and 119; wherein the plurality of preamble messages/(multiple RACH preamble messages) includes at least one of: one or more instances of a first preamble message/one or more instances of a RACH preamble message); or
one or more instances of a second preamble message (see paragraphs 112 and 119; wherein the plurality of preamble messages/(multiple RACH messages) includes at least one of: one or more instances of a second preamble message/second RACH preamble message).
Regarding Claim 15, Islam discloses the first network node, wherein,
to transmit the plurality of preamble messages using the set of spatial domain filters based on the RACH configuration (see Figures 1 and 4 and paragraphs 106, 113, 119 and 122; to transmit/transmit the plurality of preamble messages/(multiple preamble RACH messages) using the set of spatial domain filters/(UE 115-a maps one or more uplink transmission beams 210 to uplink reception beams 215 at base station 105-a) based on the RACH configuration/RACH message configuration 400), the at least one processor is configured to:
transmit one or more instances of a first preamble message using a first spatial domain filter of the set of spatial domain filters based on the RACH configuration (see paragraphs 108 and 112; transmit/transmit one or more instances of a first preamble message/(RACH preamble message) using a first spatial domain filter/(uplink transmission beam) of the set of spatial domain filter/(uplink transmission beams) based on the RACH configuration/configuration for multiple dedicated RACH transmissions).
Regarding Claim 16, Islam discloses the first network node, wherein, to transmit the plurality of preamble messages using the set of spatial domain filters based on the RACH configuration (see Figures 1 and 4 and paragraphs 106, 113, 119 and 122; to transmit/transmit the plurality of preamble messages/(multiple preamble RACH messages) using the set of spatial domain filters/(UE 115-a maps one or more uplink transmission beams 210 to uplink reception beams 215 at base station 105-a) based on the RACH configuration/RACH message configuration 400), the at least one processor is configured to:
transmit one or more instances of the first preamble message using a second spatial domain filter of the set of spatial domain filters based on the RACH configuration (see Figure 4 and paragraphs 102, 113, 121 and 124; transmit/transmit one or more instances of the first preamble message/(RACH preamble message) using a second spatial domain filter/(first uplink beam such as uplink transmission beam 405-a) of the set of spatial domain filters/(uplink transmission beams 405-a and 405-b) based on the RACH configuration/RACH configuration of the UE).
Regarding Claim 22, Although Islam discloses the first network node as set forth above,
Islam does not explicitly disclose “wherein a first subset of the set of reference signals comprises a set of SSBs and a second subset of the set of reference signals comprises a set of CSI-RSs”.
However, Tsai discloses the first network node, wherein a first subset of the set of reference signals comprises a set of SSBs and a second subset of the set of reference signals comprises a set of CSI-RSs (see paragraph 52; wherein a first subset/(set of downlink reference signals ) of the set of reference signals/(set of downlink reference signals) comprises a set of SSBs/(SS blocks) and a second subset/(set of downlink reference signals) of the set of reference signals/(reference signals) comprises a set of CSI-RSs/CSI-RS resources).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “wherein a first subset of the set of reference signals comprises a set of SSBs and a second subset of the set of reference signals comprises a set of CSI-RSs” as taught by Tsai in the system of Islam to provide efficient PRACH resource utilization (see page 1, paragraph 2 of Tsai).
Regarding Claim 25, Islam discloses the first network node, wherein, to receive (see Figure 2 and paragraphs 64, 111 and 119; to receive/receive), from the second network node (see Figure 2 and paragraphs 110, 114 and 118-119; from a second network node/base station 105-a), the at least one of the plurality of preamble messages associated with the at least one of the set of spatial domain filters that corresponds to the at least one set of the set of beams (see Figure 2 and paragraphs 64, 111 and 119; the at least one of the plurality of preamble messages/(RACH preamble messages) associated with at least one/(different uplink transmission beam 210) of a set of spatial domain filters/(uplink transmission beams 210 and uplink reception beams 215) that corresponds to at least one set of the set of beams/uplink transmission and reception beams), the at least one processor is configured to:
receive at least two of the plurality of preamble messages that are multiplexed in at least one of time or frequency (see paragraphs 64, 107, 109 and 118; receive/transmit at least two of the plurality of preamble messages that are multiplexed/(UE 115-a performs multiple transmission of a RACH message at different times) in at least one of time/(time domain) or frequency/frequency domain).
Claim(s) 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Islam in view of Tsai, and further in view of Chen et al (US 2019/0110300 A1), hereinafter Chen.
Regarding Claim 8, Although the combination of Islam and Tsai discloses the first network node as set forth above,
The combination of Islam and Tsai “determine a respective signal strength value of a set of signal strength values for each reference signal of the set of reference signals to which a respective spatial domain filter of the set spatial domain filters corresponds, wherein the set of spatial domain filters is determined further based on the set of signal strength values”.
However, Chen discloses the first network node, wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
determine a respective signal strength value of a set of signal strength values for each reference signal of the set of reference signals to which a respective spatial domain filter of the set spatial domain filters corresponds (see paragraphs 74 and 105; determine a respective signal strength value/(threshold for qualities of the beams) of a set of signal strength values/(beam measurement report) for each reference signal/CSI-RS(s) of the set of reference signals/CSI-RS(s) to which a respective spatial domain filter/(beam #2) of the set spatial domain filters/(beam #1 and #2) corresponds),
wherein the set of spatial domain filters is determined further based on the set of signal strength values (see paragraphs 74 and 105; wherein the set of spatial domain filters/(beam #1 and #2) is determined further based on the set of signal strength values/beam measurement report).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “determine a respective signal strength value of a set of signal strength values for each reference signal of the set of reference signals to which a respective spatial domain filter of the set spatial domain filters corresponds, wherein the set of spatial domain filters is determined further based on the set of signal strength values” as taught by Chen in the combined system of Islam and Tsai to provide to random access resource selection (see page 1, paragraph 2 of Chen).
Regarding Claim 9, Although the combination of Islam and Tsai discloses the first network node as set forth above,
The combination of Islam and Tsai “determine whether each of the set of signal strength values satisfies at least one threshold, wherein each of the set of spatial domain filters is determined further based on whether the respective signal strength value satisfies the at least one threshold, and wherein the RACH configuration indicates the at least one threshold”.
However, Chen discloses the first network node, wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
determine whether each of the set of signal strength values satisfies at least one threshold (see Figure 24, step 2462 and paragraphs 7-8, 107, 136 and 141; determine/determining whether each of the set of signal strength/(a first Synchronization Signal-Reference Signal Received Power (SS-RSRP)) values satisfies/(greater than) at least one threshold/threshold),
wherein each of the set of spatial domain filters is determined further based on whether the respective signal strength value satisfies the at least one threshold (see paragraphs 7, 105, 107 and 120; wherein each of the set of spatial domain filters/(suitable beams) is determined further based on whether the respective signal strength value/(quality of the beam) satisfies/(suitable beam (which quality is above the threshold)) the at least one threshold/greater than the first threshold), and
wherein the RACH configuration indicates the at least one threshold (see paragraphs 24, 102, 104 and 107; wherein the RACH configuration/(random access configuration) indicates the at least one threshold/ CSI-RS-rsrp threshold).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “determine whether each of the set of signal strength values satisfies at least one threshold, wherein each of the set of spatial domain filters is determined further based on whether the respective signal strength value satisfies the at least one threshold, and wherein the RACH configuration indicates the at least one threshold” as taught by Chen in the combined system of Islam and Tsai to provide to random access resource selection (see page 1, paragraph 2 of Chen).
Regarding Claim 10, Islam discloses the first network node, wherein to transmit (see Figure 2 and paragraph 106; wherein to transmit/transmit), to the second network node (see Figure 2 and paragraph 106; to the second network node/base station 105).
Although Islam discloses the first network node as set forth above,
Islam does not explicitly disclose “a plurality of preamble messages using the set of spatial domain filters based on the RACH configuration”.
However, Tsai discloses a first network node for wireless communication, comprising:
a plurality of preamble messages using the set of spatial domain filters based on the RACH configuration (see Figure 4 and paragraphs 52, 54, 56 and 84; a plurality of preamble messages/(PRACH preambles) using the set of spatial domain filters/(uplink and downlink beams) based on the RACH configuration/PRACH configurations).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “a plurality of preamble messages using the set of spatial domain filters based on the RACH configuration” as taught by Tsai in the system of Islam to provide efficient PRACH resource utilization (see page 1, paragraph 2 of Tsai).
Although the combination of Islam and Tsai discloses the first network node as set forth above,
The combination of Islam and Tsai “transmit the plurality of preamble messages respectively using the set of spatial domain filters based on a set of indices with which the set of spatial domain filters is respectively configured when a number of the set of signal strength values that satisfy the at least one threshold is less than a number of configured spatial domain filters”.
However, Chen discloses the first network node,
transmit the plurality of preamble messages respectively using the set of spatial domain filters based on a set of indices with which the set of spatial domain filters is respectively configured when a number of the set of signal strength values that satisfy the at least one threshold is less than a number of configured spatial domain filters (see Figures 14-15 and paragraphs 68, 74, 111, 117, 120; transmit/(during random access procedure) the plurality of preamble messages/(preamble via random access) respectively using the set of spatial domain filters/(SSB specific beam(s)) based on a set of indices/(beam indices) with which the set of spatial domain filters/(suitable beams) is respectively configured/configuration when a number of the set of signal strength values/(strongest detectable beam) that satisfy/above the at least one threshold/threshold is less than a number of configured spatial domain filters/detectable beams).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “transmit the plurality of preamble messages respectively using the set of spatial domain filters based on a set of indices with which the set of spatial domain filters is respectively configured when a number of the set of signal strength values that satisfy the at least one threshold is less than a number of configured spatial domain filters” as taught by Chen in the combined system of Islam and Tsai to provide to random access resource selection (see page 1, paragraph 2 of Chen).
Claim(s) 12 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Islam in view of Tsai, and further in view of Lei et al (US 2020/0252975 A1), hereinafter Lei.
Regarding Claim 12, Islam discloses the first network node, wherein the RACH configuration (see paragraph 114; wherein the RACH configuration/(RACH message using an identified configuration).
Although the combination of Islam and Tsai discloses the first network node as set forth above,
The combination of Islam and Tsai does not explicitly disclose “wherein the RACH configuration indicates whether the plurality of preamble messages is to include the same preamble or the at least two different preambles”.
However, Lei discloses the first network node, wherein the RACH configuration (see paragraph 42; wherein the RACH configuration/preamble sequence configuration for random access channel (RACH)) indicates whether the plurality of preamble messages is to include the same preamble or the at least two different preambles (see Figure 9, step 902 and paragraphs 6, 98, 100, 107 and 116; indicates whether the plurality of preamble messages/(more preamble sequences) is to include the same preamble/(a preamble sequence that is a composite of a plurality of initial preamble sequences) or the at least two different preambles/different preamble root sequences).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “whether the plurality of preamble messages is to include the same preamble or the at least two different preambles” as taught by Lei in the combined system of Islam and Tsai to provide techniques and apparatuses for preamble sequence configuration for random access channel (RACH) (see page 1, paragraph 2 of Lei).
Regarding Claim 17, Islam discloses the first network node, wherein, to transmit the plurality of preamble messages using the set of spatial domain filters based on the RACH configuration (see Figures 1 and 4 and paragraphs 106, 113, 119 and 122; to transmit/transmit the plurality of preamble messages/(multiple preamble RACH messages) using the set of spatial domain filters/(UE 115-a maps one or more uplink transmission beams 210 to uplink reception beams 215 at base station 105-a) based on the RACH configuration/RACH message configuration 400).
Although the combination of Islam and Tsai discloses transmit the plurality of preamble messages using the set of spatial domain filters based on the RACH configuration as set forth above,
The combination of Islam and Tsai does not explicitly disclose “transmit one or more instances of a second preamble message using a second spatial domain filter of the set of spatial domain filters based on the RACH configuration”.
However, Lei discloses the first network node,
transmit one or more instances of a second preamble message using a second spatial domain filter of the set of spatial domain filters based on the RACH configuration (see Figure 9, step 904,906 and paragraphs 100, 107, 116 and 118; transmit/transmit one or more instances/instances of a second preamble message/(initial preamble sequences) using a second spatial domain filter of the set of spatial domain filters based on the RACH configuration).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “transmit one or more instances of a second preamble message using a second spatial domain filter of the set of spatial domain filters based on the RACH configuration” as taught by Lei in the combined system of Islam and Tsai to provide techniques and apparatuses for preamble sequence configuration for random access channel (RACH) (see page 1, paragraph 2 of Lei).
Claim(s) 24 and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Islam in view of Lei et al (US 2020/0252975 A1), hereinafter Lei.
Regarding Claim 24, Although the Islam discloses the first network node as set forth above,
Islam does not explicitly disclose “wherein the RACH configuration indicates whether the plurality of preamble messages is to include the same preamble or the at least two different preambles”.
However, Lei discloses the first network node, wherein the RACH configuration (see paragraph 42; wherein the RACH configuration/preamble sequence configuration for random access channel (RACH)) indicates whether the plurality of preamble messages is to include the same preamble or the at least two different preambles (see Figure 9, step 902 and paragraphs 6, 98, 100, 107 and 116; indicates whether the plurality of preamble messages/(more preamble sequences) is to include the same preamble/(a preamble sequence that is a composite of a plurality of initial preamble sequences) or the at least two different preambles/different preamble root sequences).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “whether the plurality of preamble messages is to include the same preamble or the at least two different preambles” as taught by Lei in the system of Islam to provide techniques and apparatuses for preamble sequence configuration for random access channel (RACH) (see page 1, paragraph 2 of Lei).
Regarding Claim 29, Islam discloses the first network node, wherein, to receive (see Figures 1 and 4 and paragraphs 106, 113, 119 and 122; to receive/transmit), from the second network node (see Figure 2 and paragraph 106; from the second network node/base station 105), the at least one of the plurality of preamble messages associated with the at least one of the set of spatial domain filters that corresponds to the at least one set of the set of beams (see Figures 1 and 4 and paragraphs 106, 113, 119 and 122; the at least one of the plurality of preamble messages/(multiple preamble RACH messages) associated with the at least one of the set of spatial domain filters/(UE 115-a maps one or more uplink transmission beams 210 to uplink reception beams 215 at base station 105-a) that corresponds to the at least one set of the set of beams/uplink transmission beams 210).
Although Islam discloses transmit the plurality of preamble messages using the set of spatial domain filters based on the RACH configuration as set forth above,
Islam does not explicitly disclose “transmit one or more instances of a second preamble message using a second spatial domain filter of the set of spatial domain filters based on the RACH configuration”.
However, Lei discloses the first network node,
transmit one or more instances of a second preamble message using a second spatial domain filter of the set of spatial domain filters based on the RACH configuration (see Figure 9, step 904,906 and paragraphs 100, 107, 116 and 118; transmit/transmit one or more instances/instances of a second preamble message/(initial preamble sequences) using a second spatial domain filter of the set of spatial domain filters based on the RACH configuration).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “transmit one or more instances of a second preamble message using a second spatial domain filter of the set of spatial domain filters based on the RACH configuration” as taught by Lei in the system of Islam to provide techniques and apparatuses for preamble sequence configuration for random access channel (RACH) (see page 1, paragraph 2 of Lei).
Claim(s) 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Islam in view of Chen et al (US 2019/0110300 A1), hereinafter Chen.
Regarding Claim 30, Although Islam discloses the first network node as set forth above,
Islam does not explicitly disclose “wherein the RACH configuration indicates at least one threshold associated with the set of reference signals respectively corresponding to the at least one of the set of spatial domain filters”.
However, Chen discloses the first network node, wherein the RACH configuration indicates at least one threshold associated with the set of reference signals respectively corresponding to the at least one of the set of spatial domain filters (see paragraphs 8, 24-25,104-105 and 107; wherein the RACH configuration/(random access configuration) indicates at least one threshold/(corresponding threshold) associated with the set of reference signals/(reference signals) respectively corresponding to the at least one/(suitable beam) of the set of spatial domain filters/beams).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “wherein the RACH configuration indicates at least one threshold associated with the set of reference signals respectively corresponding to the at least one of the set of spatial domain filters” as taught by Chen in the system of Islam to provide to random access resource selection (see page 1, paragraph 2 of Chen).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Prasad et al (US 2025/0365680 A1) Random Access Procedure with Multiple Beams. Specifically, see paragraphs 167-192.
/L.A.M/Examiner, Art Unit 2469 /Ian N Moore/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2469