DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by JP3234530 (English machine translation provided herein).
JP3234530 discloses a packaging material for an aqueous content, comprising:
at least a gas barrier laminate having a paper base material, an anchor coat layer, a
vapor-deposited layer and an overcoat layer laminated in this order, wherein a mass of the paper base material is 50 mass% or more relative to a total mass of the packaging material, the vapor-deposited layer comprises a metal or a metal oxide, the overcoat layer comprises a polyolefin having a carboxylic acid base, and the overcoat layer has a thickness of more than 3 µm (paragraphs [0016], [0020-0055], [0063], [0068-0070]).
JP3234530 discloses wherein the anchor coat layer comprises a polyolefin having a carboxylic acid base, a sealant layer provided on a side of the overcoat layer opposite to the vapor-deposited layer, wherein a thickness of the anchor coat layer is 5 µm or less, wherein the thickness of the overcoat layer is 8 µm or less (paragraphs [0016], [0020-0055], [0063], [0068-0070]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 5 and 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP3234530 (English machine translation provided herein).
JP3234530 discloses a packaging material for an aqueous content, comprising:
at least a gas barrier laminate having a paper base material, an anchor coat layer, a
vapor-deposited layer and an overcoat layer laminated in this order, wherein a mass of the paper base material is 50 mass% or more relative to a total mass of the packaging material, the vapor-deposited layer comprises a metal or a metal oxide, the overcoat layer comprises a polyolefin having a carboxylic acid base, and the overcoat layer has a thickness of more than 3 µm (paragraphs [0016], [0020-0055], [0063], [0068-0070]).
JP3234530 discloses wherein the anchor coat layer comprises a polyolefin having a carboxylic acid base, a sealant layer provided on a side of the overcoat layer opposite to the vapor-deposited layer, wherein a thickness of the anchor coat layer is 5 µm or less, wherein the thickness of the overcoat layer is 8 µm or less (paragraphs [0016], [0020-0055], [0063], [0068-0070]).
With regard to claims 3 and 8-9, JP3234530 does not disclose applicant’s recited thickness ratio and thickness of the vapor deposited layer. However, discovering the optimum range or value for a result effective variable is obvious and well within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2144.05). It would have been obvious to have provided applicants recited thickness ratio and thickness of the vapor deposited layer in order to save costs through the use of less materials or improved gas barrier properties and/or improve mechanical properties.
With regards to claim 5, JP3234530 does not specifically disclose a packaging bag. However, JP3234530 discloses a packaging material for beverages or liquids (paragraphs [0016], [0020-0055], [0063], [0068-0070]) and is perfectly capable of being used to make a packaging bag for aqueous content.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL C MIGGINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782
MCM
September 20, 2026