DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12-15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 12 recites the identifier grooves as having a longer length towards a "widthwise center" of the tire. Examiner notes that the widthwise center of a tire is understood to mean the equator of the tire. Specification and drawings do not appear to provide support for the identifier grooves being longer towards the widthwise center or equator of the tire. Rather, the grooves are illustrated as being longer towards the tire center axis (see Fig. 1). Examiner suggest describing the plurality of identifier grooves having a longer length towards a center axis of the tire.
Claims 1-9, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites "the identifier region the plurality of identifier grooves" in the last 2 lines. The limitation appears to contain extra words or is missing words. It is unclear if the "identifier region" is intended to be part of the limitation phrase. For the purpose of examination, it is assumed to require --the plurality of identifier grooves define an identifier in the at least one sidewall.--
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rittweger (DE 102016218487, with English machine translation).
Regarding claim 1, Rittweger discloses a vehicle tire comprising:
a tread which is provided for contacting the road surface, and two sidewalls which adjoin the tread, wherein at least one sidewall comprises at least one identifier region (see [0018-0020], see decorative surface 2, 2' on sidewall; tires inherently have treads for contacting the road surface);
wherein the identifier region comprises a plurality of identifier grooves which extend in the sidewall of the vehicle tire (see shallow depressions 1a in Figs. 1-3, [0020]);
wherein the identifier grooves have in each case one inner corrugation having a plurality of elongate elevations and depressions which in the interior of the identifier grooves run transversely to the longitudinal direction of the identifier grooves (see surface elevations 3a, 3b with depressions therebetween);
wherein that the elongate elevations and depressions, conjointly with the longitudinal direction of the identifier grooves, include in each case an angle in the range of 20° to 90° (the elevations are clearly illustrated with angles well within the 20 and 90 degrees relative to the extension of the recesses 1a, see Figs. 1, 2). Drawings and pictures can anticipate claims if they clearly show the structure which is claimed. In re Mraz, 455 F.2d 1069, 173 USPQ 25 (CCPA 1972). See MPEP 2125.
Rittweger discloses a spacing of the plurality of elongate elevations and depressions that varies along a longitudinal direction of the identifier grooves (Rittweger discloses that the first and second elevations can differ by their density to create a depth effect, [0009]). See annotated Fig. 1 a below.
Rittweger discloses elevations are preferably essentially triangular or trapezoidal in cross-section ([0008])--thus Rittweger discloses triangular cross-sections. As to the height corresponding to 50 percent of a groove depth, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to have configured the elevations with height of 50% since Rittweger discloses the grooves (depressions 1a) have depths of 0.4 mm to 0.8 mm ([0024]) and elevations have height h1 of 0.15 to 0.6 mm, preferably 0.3 mm ([0025]), said ranges yielding height/depth ratios that include 50% (at 0.3 mm height, a groove depth of 0.4 to 0.8 yields a 38%-75% height ratio).
As to the "plurality of identifier grooves define an identifier in the at least one sidewall," Rittweger discloses a pattern of identifier grooves that form a sidewall decoration band (see Figs. 1,2; [0004]). This is decorative band reads on an "identifier" as this decoration can be used to identify the type or brand of tires (observers can associate a decorative pattern with a particular tire brand/type).
Regarding claim 2, there are more than five identifier grooves (see depressions 1a in Figs. 1, 2).
Regarding claim 3, the identifier grooves have varying width along their longitudinal direction (see depressions 1a in Figs. 1, 2).
Regarding claim 4, the identifier grooves extend at angle of 90 degrees to the radial direction in Fig. 2.
Regarding claim 5, the inner corrugation is disposed on the base of the identifier grooves (see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 6, there are more than 15 elevations/depressions within the identifier grooves (see Figs. 1, 2).
Regarding claim 7, the elongate elevations or depressions extend across the periphery of the of the identifier groove to the other periphery of the identifier groove (see Fig. 1, 2). Additionally, Examiner notes that the elevations/depressions are provided for decorative effect and it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to have configured the arrangement and extensions of the elevations/depressions across the identifier grooves based on aesthetic design choice.
Regarding claim 8, the elongate elevations/depressions are substantially mutually parallel within an identifier groove (see Figs. 1, 2).
Regarding claim 9, the elongate elevations/depressions of an identifier groove are at least partially co-aligned with elevations/depressions of an adjacent an identifier groove (see Figs. 1, 2).
Regarding claim 10, Rittweger discloses a method for producing a vehicle tire wherein the structure of the tire sidewall is produced by vulcanization of a green tire within a vulcanization mold that has been milled or engraved accordingly to imprint the correspondingly designed surface elements in the sidewall ([0031]). While Rittweger does not expressly disclose a step of producing a non-vulcanized vehicle tire blank, comprising a vulcanizable rubber compound in at least one component of the sidewall of the non-vulcanized vehicle tire blank, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to have produced a non-vulcanized tire blank since Rittweger discloses that a green tire is vulcanized with the patterned mold ([0031])--thus, one would obviously need to produce a green tire.
As to step (b), Rittweger discloses the sidewall shell of vulcanization molds that vulcanize the raw tire as milled or engraved to form the surface element pattern of the sidewall ([0031]), thus a raw tire is produced and vulcanized to form the vehicle tire. Rittweger discloses the sidewall pattern as having elongate identifier grooves (recesses 1a) and corrugations with elevations/depressions within the grooves (see elevations 3a, 3b). As to the angle being 20 to 70 degrees, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to have configured the angles at 20 to 70 degrees since Rittweger clearly illustrates the elevations with angles well within the range of 20 and 70 degrees relative to the extension of the recesses 1a, see Figs. 1, 2. Given the mold is correspondingly designed to imprint the pattern, the mold would have corresponding elongate identifier elevations, corrugations of elevations/depressions, and the recited angle. The step of molding ([0031]) would provide the identifier region, identifier groove, inner corrugation, and elongate elements.
Rittweger discloses a spacing of the plurality of elongate elevations and depressions that varies along a longitudinal direction of the identifier grooves (see Figs. 1 and 2 wherein the density of the elevations/depressions changes along the longitudinal direction of the shallow depressions 1a--see first and second structured elements 5a, 5b and Fig. 3 with varied spacing a1 and a2; see [0009]).
As to performing a complimentary vulcanization using a complementary vulcanization mold to emboss an identifier of the identifier region, Rittweger discloses that very fine and small sized structures are formed in sidewall shells, which imprint correspondingly designed surface elements into the sidewall of the tire during vulcanization ([0031]). This is decorative band reads on an "identifier" as this decoration can be used to identify the type or brand of tires (observers can associate a decorative pattern with a particular tire brand/type).
Regarding claim 11, the identifier region is molded as a negative of the identifier embossing region (mold imprints the sidewall structure, [0031]).
Regarding claim 17, Rittweger discloses that very fine and small sized structures are formed in sidewall shells, which imprint correspondingly designed surface elements into the sidewall of the tire during vulcanization ([0031]).
Claims 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rittweger (DE 102016218487, with English machine translation) in view of Matsumoto (US 20130263992).
Regarding claim 12, Rittweger discloses an identifier region on a sidewall of a vehicle tire (see sidewall 1 of Figs. 1), the identifier region comprising:
a plurality of identifier grooves having a longer length towards a widthwise center of the tire (see depressions 1a of Fig. 1 wherein triangular shaped depressions have longer length towards the center; Fig. 2 depressions are longer towards the widthwise center of the tire);
a plurality of groove widths of the plurality of identifier grooves that vary along a longitudinal direction of the plurality of identifier grooves (depressions 1a have variable widths along their longitudinal length, Fig. 1);
a plurality of inner corrugations (see elevations 3 at bottom of depression 1a; said elevations are inclined to the longitudinal direction);
a plurality of spacings of the plurality of inner corrugations to adjust contrast (the inner elevations 3 have variable spacing to create difference in light reflection, [0009], Fig. 3; Examiner notes that the claim does not require the spacings be different); and
a plurality of cross sections of the plurality of identifier grooves (the depressions 1a have plural cross-sections; Examiner notes that the claim does not particularly limit the cross-sections or require differences).
Rittweger does not expressly disclose the at an offset angle of 70 degrees from the longitudinal direction; however, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to have configured the corrugation with inclination of 70 degrees to the longitudinal direction since (1) Rittweger clearly illustrates the elevations 3a as inclined relative to the longitudinal direction of the depressions 1a (see Fig. 1) and one having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to adjust the inclination of the elevations based on aesthetic design choice for the decorative pattern and (2) Matsumoto, similarly directed towards a tire sidewall having decorative corrugations, teaches configuring the inclination of serrations as not more than 45 degrees to the tire radial, preferably 10 to 30 degrees (i.e., more than 45 degrees, preferably 60-80 degrees, to the longitudinal direction) to reduce cracks and tensile stress ([0039]), said range overlapping the claimed range.
Regarding the identifier grooves having a groove length in the range of 0.1*u to 0.2*u wherein u is an internal circumference of the vehicle tire, Rittweger illustrates the identifier grooves (depressions 1a) as extending around a relatively small portion of the tire circumference--see Fig. 1 and 2 wherein Rittweger discloses the patterns form a spoke/net-like structure or a honeycomb structure ([0021,0023]). While Rittweger does not expressly disclose the extent of these depressions relative to a tire inner circumference, Examiner notes that the depressions are formed as part of a decorative band extending around the sidewall ([0001,0003-0004]). Absent a showing of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to have configured the length of the depressions 1a of Rittweger as 0.1*u to 0.2*u since Rittweger discloses forming the depressions as extending for small lengths of the tire circumference to form a decorative pattern around the sidewall ([0001,0003-0004], Figs. 1, 2) and one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to adjust the dimensions of the depressions based on aesthetic design choice.
Regarding claim 13, Rittweger discloses the elevations are isosceles triangles in cross-section ([0025]). As to the height, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to have configured the elevations with height of 50% since Rittweger discloses the grooves (depressions 1a) have depths of 0.4 mm to 0.8 mm ([0024]) and elevations have height h1 of 0.15 to 0.6 mm, preferably 0.3 mm ([0025]), said ranges yielding height/depth ratios that include 50%.
Regarding claim 14, the space between the elevations is construed as a depression in the corrugation. As to the depression "height," it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to have configured the depressions with height of 50% since Rittweger discloses the grooves (depressions 1a) have depths of 0.4 mm to 0.8 mm ([0024]) and elevations have height h1 of 0.15 to 0.6 mm, preferably 0.3 mm ([0025]), said ranges yielding height/depth ratios that include 50%.
Regarding claim 15, the limitation "a groove density, a groove width, a groove depth and dimensions of the inner corrugations are designed to adjusting the contrast" relates to the intended use of the pattern and does not require any particular structure not present in Rittweger. Examiner notes that Rittweger arranges the depressions 1a and the inner elevations 3 to provide a contrasting shadow effect in the pattern (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 16, Rittweger does not expressly disclose the elongate elevations have an angle of 45 to 65 degrees conjointly with the longitudinal direction of the identifier grooves; however, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to have configured the elevations with inclination of 45-65 degrees to the longitudinal direction since (1) Rittweger clearly illustrates the elevations 3a as inclined relative to the longitudinal direction of the depressions 1a (see Fig. 1) and one having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to adjust the inclination of the elevations based on aesthetic design choice for the decorative pattern and (2) Matsumoto, similarly directed towards a tire sidewall having decorative corrugations, teaches configuring the inclination of serrations as not more than 45 degrees to the tire radial, preferably 10 to 30 degrees (i.e., more than 45 degrees, preferably 60-80 degrees, to the longitudinal direction) to reduce cracks and tensile stress ([0039]), said range overlapping the claimed range.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/21/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Rittweger does not teach the claim limitations.
Examiner disagrees. As to claim 1, Rittweger clearly depicts a plurality of depressions 1a (identifier grooves) having an elevations 3a/3b (inner corrugation) that incline with a substantial angle relative to the longitudinal direction of the depressions. As to claim 10, Rittweger discloses that very fine and small sized structures are formed in sidewall shells, which imprint correspondingly designed surface elements into the sidewall of the tire during vulcanization ([0031])--thus complementary vulcanization is taught.
As to claim 12 and the groove length range based on tire circumference, Rittweger illustrates the identifier grooves (depressions 1a) as extending around a relatively small portion of the tire circumference--see Fig. 1 and 2 wherein Rittweger discloses the patterns form a spoke/net-like structure or a honeycomb structure ([0021,0023]). While Rittweger does not expressly disclose the extent of these depressions relative to a tire inner circumference, Examiner notes that the depressions are formed as part of a decorative band extending around the sidewall ([0001,0003-0004]). Absent a showing of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to have configured the length of the depressions 1a of Rittweger as 0.1*u to 0.2*u since Rittweger discloses forming the depressions as extending for partial lengths of the tire circumference to form a decorative pattern around the sidewall ([0001,0003-0004], Figs. 1, 2) and one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to adjust the dimensions of the depressions based on aesthetic design choice.
Conclusion
/ROBERT C DYE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619