DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant's arguments filed 8/18/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
4. Regarding Claims 1, 22, and 23, the applicant argues that Cosman U.S. xx fails to teach the “first temperature sensor is positioned proximally of the distal end and is spaced from the cooled section”. They cite Figure 2 embodiment that discloses a temperature sensor found distal of the distal end of the active electrode tip. However, the examiner disagrees with these arguments.
5. In the most recent office action (filed 5/19/2025), the examiner does not rely upon the Figure 2 embodiment to teach the limitations recited in Claims 1, 22, and 23. The applicant also points to the specification of Cosman which states that the “cooled RF electrode temperature sensor [may be] on outer surface proximal to the active tip” (see para 0139 of Cosman OR pg. 3 of NFOA). This proves there is a structural description that satisfies the present claim language. It is also found that the arrangement/rearrangement of parts involves only routine skin in the art (In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70). Therefore, Cosman reads on the present claim language, and the current rejection stands.
6. The applicant also argues that arranging the probe of Cosman to have the temperature sensor be proximal to the distal end would render the device inoperable. However, since Cosman does contemplate that the temperature sensor may be arranged in such a way, this indicates that the intended use of the device is still operational, rendering the argument moot.
7. The applicant also argues that the structural arrangement of the temperature sensor in regards to thermal/insulative barriers renders the device ineffective. However, there is no claim language present that shows the structural relationship between the temperature sensor and the insulation section. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
8. Regarding Claims 5 and 6, the applicant relies on arguments that have been addressed above. The applicant also states that the combination of references fails to teach a temperature sensor secured directly to the active metal in a non-cooled portion of the active electrode. However, there is no language present in the claims that reflects this feature. Therefore, the argument is moot and the rejection stands.
9. Regarding Claim 12, the applicant relies on arguments that have been addressed above. Therefore, the rejection stands.
10. Regarding Claim 15, the examiner finds the arguments persuasive, therefore, they have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
12. Claims 1, 2, 8, 19, 14, 18, 22, 23, 26, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cosman U.S. 2020/0330153 (herein referred to as “Cosman”).
13. Regarding Claim 1, Cosman teaches a probe for forming a lesion in a target tissue (Fig. 1A, para 0086, “an apparatus for HF ablation of tissue within a patient”), the probe comprising:
a. an elongate member extending longitudinally between a proximal end and a distal end (Fig. 1A, ref num 150), wherein the elongate member has an active electrode proximate the distal end for delivering ablative energy to the target tissue (Fig. 1A, ref num 151; para 0093, “electrode active tip”), and an electrically insulated section proximal of the active electrode (Fig. 1A, ref num 152 is proximal of ref num 151; para 0100, “an insulated portion 152”), and wherein the active electrode has a cooled section that is coolable by receipt of a cooling fluid delivered through the elongate member (para 0105, “one example of a coolant supply system 130 to cool the active tip portion 151… Tubing 155 carries the coolant through a peristaltic pump head 131 that pumps the coolant through the electrode 150E, and thus the ablation probe assembly 150. The electrode 150E has an internal channel through which coolant an flow to cool the probe”); and
b. at least a first temperature sensor (para 0128, “a temperature sensor configured to monitor tissue temperature distal to the active tip 161 of the electrode 160”) positioned external of the elongate member to measure a temperature in a heat affected zone of the target tissue (para 0139, “cooled RF electrode temperature sensory on outer surface proximal to the active tip”), wherein the first temperature sensor is positioned proximally of the distal end and is spaced from the cooled section (para 0139, “temperature sensor on outer surface proximal to the active tip”).
14. Regarding Claim 2, Cosman teaches the elongate member comprises at least a first fluid delivery lumen for delivering the cooling fluid through the elongate member to the cooled section (para 0105, “Tubing 155 carries the coolant through a peristaltic pump head 131 that pumps the coolant through the electrode 150E, and thus the ablation probe assembly 150. The electrode 150E has an internal channel through which coolant can flow to cool the probe active tip 151”).
15. Regarding Claim 8, Cosman teaches the first temperature sensor is positioned proximally of the active electrode (para 0139, “cooled RF electrode temperature sensory on outer surface proximal to the active tip”).
16. Regarding Claim 10, Cosman teaches the first temperature sensor is positioned to measure the temperature in a proximal projection of a thermal ablation zone (Fig. 1B, ref num 167 is proximal of ref num 193, the thermal ablation zone).
17. Regarding Claim 14, Cosman teaches the elongate member comprises a metallic hypotube (para 0101, “The thickness and material of the internally-cooled electrode shaft 152B and blunt distal end 151B (eg thin-wall stainless steel hypotube with a thin-wall closed distal end), the thickness and material of the cannula shaft 152 and active tip 151 (eg thin-wall stainless steel hypotube covered by a thin layer of electrical insulation in shaft portion 152)… the electrode shaft 152B can include a metallic outer surface”), wherein the metallic hypotube comprises a first section that is electrically exposed to form the active electrode (see Fig. 1A, ref num 151 is exposed to form the active electrode), and a second section on which an electrically insulative material is received to from the electrically insulative section (para 0101, “thin-wall stainless steel hypotube covered by a thin layer of electrical insulation in shaft portion 152”).
18. Regarding Claim 18, Cosman teaches at least one electrical conductor for electrically connecting the first temperature sensor to a temperature control system (para 0129, “the distal extension tip 167 can comprise a stainless steel tube, a temperature sensor at the distal point of the tube (for example, formed by welding a constantan wire within the stainless steel tube to the distal end of the stainless steel tube)” it is understood that the sensor would be connected to a control system, i.e., Fig. 1B, ref num 100), wherein the electrical conductor extends through a lumen of the elongate member (the distal extension tip 167 can comprise a stainless steel tube, a temperature sensor at the distal point of the tube (for example, formed by welding a constantan wire within the stainless steel tube to the distal end of the stainless steel tube), electrical insulation (which can comprise a plastic coating or sheath along the tube, and glue covering wire connections at the tube proximal end) covering all but the distal point of the tube).
19. Regarding Claim 22, Cosman teaches a system for forming a lesion in a target tissue (Fig. 1A, para 0086, “an apparatus for HF ablation of tissue within a patient”), comprising:
a. a probe (Fig. 1A, para 0086, “an apparatus for HF ablation of tissue within a patient”) comprising an elongate member extending longitudinally between a proximal end and a distal end (Fig. 1A, ref num 150), wherein the elongate member has an active electrode proximate the distal end for delivering ablative energy to the target tissue (Fig. 1A, ref num 151; para 0093, “electrode active tip”), and an electrically insulated section proximal of the active electrode (Fig. 1A, ref num 152 is proximal of ref num 151; para 0100, “an insulated portion 152”), and wherein the active electrode has a cooled section that is coolable by receipt of a cooling fluid delivered through the elongate member (para 0105, “one example of a coolant supply system 130 to cool the active tip portion 151… Tubing 155 carries the coolant through a peristaltic pump head 131 that pumps the coolant through the electrode 150E, and thus the ablation probe assembly 150. The electrode 150E has an internal channel through which coolant an flow to cool the probe”); and at least a first temperature sensor (para 0128, “a temperature sensor configured to monitor tissue temperature distal to the active tip 161 of the electrode 160”) positioned external of the elongate member to measure a temperature in a heat affected zone of the target tissue (para 0139, “cooled RF electrode temperature sensory on outer surface proximal to the active tip”), wherein the first temperature sensor is positioned proximally of the distal end and is spaced from the cooled section (para 0139, “temperature sensor on outer surface proximal to the active tip”).
b. a return electrode spaced from the active electrode (Fig. 1A, ref nums 121-124; para 0086, “the ground pads 121, 122, 123, and 124 can be connected to a reference potential generated by the HF generator 100 to carry return currents from the ablation probe”)
c. a radiofrequency generator (Fig. 1A, ref num 100) electrically connected to the active electrode for delivering the ablative energy to the active electrode (Fig. 1A, ref num 100 is connected to electrode; para 0086) and electrically connected to the return electrode for returning a return current to the radiofrequency generator (para 0086); and
d. a cooling fluid circulation system for delivering the cooling fluid to the probe (Fig. 1A, ref num 130; para 0086, “a coolant pump 130 that is configured to cool one or more of the ablation probes”).
20. Regarding Claim 23, Cosman teaches a method for forming a lesion in a target tissue (Fig. 1A, para 0086, “an apparatus for HF ablation of tissue within a patient”), comprising: positioning an active electrode of a probe at the target tissue (Fig. 1A, ref num 151 in tissue 190); delivering ablative energy from the active electrode to form the lesion in the target tissue (para 0093, “The upward spikes in impedance, such as spike 118, represent the occurrence of boiling and bubble formation in the tissue around the active or exposed tip of the ablation electrode 150. The bubble zone is the hottest region around the electrode active tip 151 and is located at a distance from the electrode tip 151”), while delivering a cooling fluid to a cooled section of the active electrode (Fig. 1A, ref num 130; para 0105); and using a first temperature sensor of the probe to monitor a temperature in a heat affected zone of the target tissue at a position proximal of a distal end of the probe and spaced from the cooled section (para 0128, “a temperature sensor configured to monitor tissue temperature distal to the active tip 161 of the electrode 160”; para 0139, “cooled RF electrode temperature sensory on outer surface proximal to the active tip”).
21. Regarding Claim 26, Cosman teaches the first temperature sensor comprises monitoring the temperature proximally of the active electrode (para 0139, “cooled RF electrode temperature sensory on outer surface proximal to the active tip”).
22. Regarding Claim 27, Cosman teaches wherein the lesion has a proximal projection, and the first temperature sensor measures the temperature in the proximal projection (Fig. 1B, ref num 167 is proximal of ref num 193, the thermal ablation zone).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
24. Claims 4-6, 25, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cosman and in view of Koblish U.S. 9,023,030 (herein referred to as “Koblish”).
25. Regarding Claim 4, Cosman fails to teach the elongate member is configured to restrict the cooling fluid to the cooled section on delivery of the cooling fluid.
Koblish teaches a probe of analogous art (Fig. 1), wherein the probe comprises an elongate member (Fig. 1, ref num 12) that is configured to restrict a cooling fluid to a cooled section on delivery of the cooling fluid (Col. 5, lines 53-55, “The cooling chamber can receive a flow of fluid to draw heat away [from] the proximal portion of the electrode”; Col. 4, lines 19-21, “the electrode tip can comprise a proximal cooling chamber through which cooling fluid circulates”). This reduces hotspots within the tip of the probe (abstract, Col. 4, lines 22-23). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cosman to restrict the cooling fluid to the cooled section in order to reduce the hotspots in the tip of the probe.
26. Regarding Claim 5, Cosman fails to teach a barrier within the elongate member for restricting the cooling fluid to the cooled section on delivery of the cooling fluid, wherein the barrier is positioned distally of a proximal boundary of the active electrode, to further provide the active electrode with a non-cooled section.
Koblish teaches a barrier within the elongate member for restricting the cooling fluid to the cooled section on delivery of the cooling fluid (Fig. 2A, ref num 60; Col. 5, lines 53-55, “the cooling chamber can receive a flow of fluid to draw heat away [from] the proximal portion of the electrode”), wherein the barrier is positioned distally of a proximal boundary of the active electrode (see Fig. 2A, ref num 60 is distal to ref num 48), to further provide the active electrode with a non-cooled section (Fig. 2A, the non-cooled section is proximal to ref num 62; i.e., the cooled chamber). This controls the temperature of the tip of the electrode to reduce hotspots (Col. 5, lines 25-28). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cosman to restrict the cooling fluid to the cooled section in order to reduce the hotspots in the tip of the probe.
27. Regarding Claim 6, Cosman teaches the first temperature sensor is secured to the active electrode in the non-cooled section (para 0016, “temperature can be measured almost directly by means of the non-cooled-electrode's temperature sensor”).
28. Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cosman and in view of Leung U.S. 10,610,297 (herein referred to as “Leung”).
29. Regarding Claim 7, Cosman fails to teach a barrier within the elongate member for restricting the cooling fluid to the cooled section on delivery of the cooling fluid, wherein the barrier is positioned at a proximal boundary of the active electrode so that the cooled section makes up an entirety of the active electrode.
Leung teaches a system of analogous art (Fig. 1), wherein the system comprises a barrier within an elongate member (Fig. 1, ref num 190 has a barrier, also see Fig. 4) for restricting cooling fluid to a cooled section on delivery of the cooling fluid (Fig. 4, ref num 450, 408; Col. 13, lines 28-30, “wherein arrow 408 indicates the direction of cooling fluid flow within a lumen 450 defined by the one or more energy delivery devices 192”), wherein the barrier is positioned at a proximal boundary of the active electrode so that the cooled section makes up an entirety of the active electrode (Fig. 4, ref num 408 shows the flow of the cooling fluid that makes up the active electrode, i.e., ref num 192). This provides cooling to the electrode (Col. 16, lines 55-67 – Col. 17, line 1, “The silver solder fills the lumen such that any cooling fluid supplied to probe assembly 106, that is not located within one of the cooling tubes described earlier, is confined to the distal tip region 190 of probe assembly 106. Thus, in this embodiment, the silver solder may be referred to as a flow impeding structure since it functions to restrict the circulation of fluid to a specific portion (in this case, at least a portion of distal region 190) of probe assembly 106. In other words, cooling fluid may flow from the one or more cooling devices 108, through the cooling supply tubes described earlier, to distal tip region 190 of probe assembly 106. The cooling fluid may then circulate within lumen 450 defined by electrode 192 in order to provide cooling to the electrode”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cosman to have a barrier positioned such that the cooled section makes up an entirety of the active electrode in order to cool the electrode.
30. Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cosman and in view of Curley U.S. 2020/0138502 (herein referred to as “Curley”).
31. Regarding Claim 12, Cosman fails to teach the first temperature sensor is spaced at least proximally from the cooled section.
Curley teaches a system of analogous art (Fig. 1), wherein a temperature sensor is spaced at least proximally from the cooled section (Fig. 6, ref num 614 is a temperature sensor that is proximal to the distal end where the cooling fluid is circulated; para 0069-0070). By placing the temperature sensor proximally to the cooled section, the completion of the therapy is indicated by the sensor (para 0072). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cosman to have the temperature sensor placed proximal to the cooled section in order to track the completion of the therapy to the target site.
32. Claims 20 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cosman and in view of Engelman U.S. 2014/0018788 (herein referred to as “Engelman”).
33. Regarding Claim 20, Cosman fails to teach the first temperature sensor is further configured to deliver ablative energy to the target tissue.
Engelman teaches a system of analogous art wherein a temperature sensor is further configured to deliver ablative energy to the target tissue (para 0144, “additional sensors 364 (e.g., temperature sensors such as a thermocouple or thermistor) may be mounted in the flex circuit proximate to the electrodes and may be used to monitor or control delivery of ablation energy”). This produces the same expected result of delivery ablative energy to the target tissue (para 0144). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cosman to have the temperature sensor deliver ablative energy to the target tissue as this produces the same expected result of ablating the target tissue.
34. Regarding Claim 32, Cosman fails to teach the first temperature sensor is further configured to deliver ablative energy to the target tissue.
Engelman teaches a system of analogous art wherein a temperature sensor is further configured to deliver ablative energy to the target tissue (para 0144, “additional sensors 364 (e.g., temperature sensors such as a thermocouple or thermistor) may be mounted in the flex circuit proximate to the electrodes and may be used to monitor or control delivery of ablation energy”). This produces the same expected result of delivery ablative energy to the target tissue (para 0144). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cosman to have the temperature sensor deliver ablative energy to the target tissue as this produces the same expected result of ablating the target tissue.
Allowable Subject Matter
35. Claim 15 contains allowable subject matter.
36. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: after considering the remarks of the applicant (filed 8/18/2026), the examiner agrees that the prior art fails to teaches at least one electrical conductor for electrically connecting the first temperature sensor to a temperature control system, wherein the electrical conductor is positioned between the second section of the metallic hypotube and the electrically insulative material.
37. However, Claim 15 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
38. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANNIE L SHOULDERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794