DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the cavity, input operation, trigger signal (claim 1), must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: A’, B’ (figure 1).
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: AA’, BB’ (see para 0028).
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided. In line 1, “An intelligent toilet seat, a toilet and a monitoring system are provided. The intelligent toilet seat includes: a toilet” should read --The intelligent toilet seat includes a toilet--.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, in line 11, “to an outside” is unclear as to outside of what structure. For clarity, the Examiner suggests using language that indicates that the reminder signal is sent outside a named structure (e.g., a user device; see Spec para 0045). Appropriate correction is required.
In claim 13, the term, “APPs” is unclear as to whether it is trademark/trade (MPEP 608.01(v)) or an acronym. According to the Specification (see para 0054), the term is used to identify/describe applications. Accordingly, for clarity, the Examiner suggests wording, --APPs (applications)-- in at least the first occurrence.
Since claims 2-14 are in the chain of dependency to claim 1, they too are subjected to the same rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 9, 12-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 205 881 115 U to Songyulong.
Re. claim 1, Songyulong discloses an intelligent toilet seat, comprising a toilet seat box comprising a seat box housing 1, wherein the seat box housing defines a cavity (in 1); a toilet seat ring (see fig. 2 ring below cover) pivotally connected with the toilet seat box; a reminder button 6 arranged on a side wall of the seat box housing and configured to accept an input operation to generate a trigger signal; and a control device 1-6 accommodated in the cavity and comprising a control module 3 and an loT communication module 4, wherein the control module is electrically connected with the reminder button and the loT communication module respectively (see fig. 1), and is configured to trigger the loT communication module to wirelessly send a reminder signal to an outside upon receiving the trigger signal from the reminder button (see claim 1-2).
Re. claim 2, Songyulong further discloses the reminder signal comprises at least one selected from a group consisting of a reminder signal sent continuously, a reminder signal sent at a predetermined frequency 5, a reminder signal sent for a predetermined duration 5 and a reminder signal sent once 5 (see figure 1-2).
Re. claim 3, Songyulong further discloses the intelligent toilet seat further comprises a toilet cover pivotally connected with the toilet seat box, and the toilet cover and the toilet seat ring are respectively connected with the toilet seat box through pivoting shafts parallel to each other (see figure 2).
Re. claim 9, Songyulong further discloses the intelligent toilet seat further comprises a buzzer 3 arranged in the cavity or on the side wall of the seat box housing and electrically connected with the control module, and the buzzer is configured to output a prompt sound based on the trigger signal (see figs. 1-2).
Re. claim 12, Songyulong further discloses a toilet body; and an intelligent toilet seat the intelligent toilet seat is detachably connected with the toilet body (see fig. 2).
Re. claim 13, Songyulong further discloses a monitoring system 2,3,4,5,6 based on an intelligent toilet seat (see fig. 2), one or multiple APPs installed on a user equipment and/or a cloud server of the intelligent toilet seat, wherein data associated with the intelligent toilet seat is wirelessly transmitted 4 between the intelligent toilet seat and the one or multiple APPs, and the one or multiple APPs are configured to remotely control the intelligent toilet seat (cloud server; see fig. 2).
Re. claim 14, Songyulong further discloses the monitoring system comprises the multiple APPs, wherein one APP wirelessly communicates 4 with one or more of the intelligent toilet seat, other APPs and the cloud server to transmit data associated with the intelligent toilet seat (see abstract; see fig. 2).
Re. claim 15, Songyulong further discloses the intelligent toilet seat wirelessly communicates with the cloud server via a router 4 (cloud server; see fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Songyulong as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of CN 106 638 850 A to Harbin
Re. claim 4, Songyulong does not disclose a button for temperature adjustment. Instead, Songyulong indicates a button for an alarm or wireless connection to a device. However, Harbin teaches a button 15 for temperature adjustment. Harbin discloses the intelligent toilet seat 2 further comprises a touch control screen 12 connection with the controller 6 and driving device 7 whereas input on the touch screen 12 to the temperature adjustment button 15 arranged on the side wall of the seat box housing (see figure below) and electrically connected with the control module 6, 12, enables the temperature adjustment (claim 1). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include a temperature adjustment button in view of Harbin because a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the know options within their technical grip.
Re. claim 6, Songyulong does not disclose a heater. Instead, Songyulong indicates a button for an alarm or wireless connection to a device. However, Harbin teaches a heater 9,10 configured to heat the toilet seat ring, having a touch sensor heat button 15. Harbin discloses the intelligent toilet seat 2 further the built-in heating device 9 on the end close to the heat conducting device 10 on the end close to the toilet seat 2 where the heat is transmitted to the toilet seat, the toilet seat temperature suitable for the requirement of human body temperature by the heated heat conducting device.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include a temperature adjustment button in view of Harbin because a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the know options within their technical grip.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 7-8 and 10-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record (see USPTO Form 892) and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. More specifically, CN 214884161 U to Xie is directed to the state of the art as a teaching of a intelligent smart toilet cover 110 having a sensor 118 for detecting a seat 120 position of a user by which the controller determines telescopic distance of the water sprayer 112.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to LORI BAKER whose telephone number is (571)272-4971. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday thru Friday: 9 am - 6 pm. Upon filing an amendment, please notify the Examiner to ensure timely processing for review. Providing representative information in an Application Data Sheet (ADS) does not constitute a power of attorney. See 37 CFR 1.76(b)(4) and MPEP § 408. For information on appointing a power of attorney, see MPEP § 402.02 et seq. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/LORI L BAKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3754