Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1, 2, 4-8, 11-15, 17-8 and 28) in the reply filed on 4/29/26 is acknowledged.
Claims 21, 24-26 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 4/29/26.
Information Disclosure Statement
Receipt is acknowledged of the Information Disclosure Statement filed December 10 2024. The Examiner has considered the references cited therein to the extent that each is a proper citation. Please see the attached USPTO Form 1449.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-8, 11, 15 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gungor-Ozkerim et al (Biomater sci 2018 May 1:6(5):915-946).
With regards to instant claim 1, Gungor-Ozkerim teaches a bioink composition comprising crosslinking polymer such as poly(ethylene glycol)diacrylate (PEDGA) (as required by instant claims 1,4 and 6 (see sec. 2.3), comprising a rheological modifier (see introduction), additive such as bacterial, nanoparticles (see sec.4, as required by claims 1 and 11), wherein the unmodified crosslinking biopolymer is a collagen, GELMA (see sec 2.4-2.5 and3, as required by instant claims 5 and 7-8) crosslinked by exposure to UV (as required by instant claim 17, see sec 2.3). The printability is anticipated as the composition comprises all the required and therefore it is an inherent property as required by instant claim 1) and is extrudable (see sec 2.3, as required by instant claim 15) and wherein the rheology modifier is PEGX-PEG (ie., partially crosslinked polyacrylic acid interpolymer (as required by instant claim 2, see sec 2.4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 3-8, 11-15, 17-18 and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gungor-Ozkerim et al (Biomater sci 2018 May 1:6(5):915-946) in view of Bagley et al. (WO 2018/071639) and Huang et al. (US 2019/0275746) ..
Gungor-Ozkerim is applied here as above. However fails to teach that the bioink is thixotropic as required by instant claim 14 and fails to teach also that the rheological modifier is a carbopol as required by instant claims 18 and 28.
Bagley teaches a bioink composition comprising thixotropic (see 0076) with a shear viscosity in the range from 100-150,000 Pas (see 0076, claim 41) wherein the bioink can also be crosslinked using PEGDA (see 0081) wherein the pH can vary from a basic , neutral or acidic (see 0087).
Huang teaches bioink composition (0301) at a concentration 0.5, 1.0’ 2.0% (see 0301) comprising thixotropic (see 0122) and carbopol as the rheological modifier (see 0031) at a concentration 0.05%, 0.2% and 1.0% (see 0183), wherein the viscosity decreases with shear rate (see 0311) (as required by instant claims 12-14 18 and 28).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have expanded the teachings of Gungor-Ozkerim to include Bagley and Huang to result in the instant claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success, because One would have been motivated to combine these references and make the modification because they are drawn to same technical fields (constituted with same ingredients and share common utilities, and pertinent to the problem which applicant concerns about. MPEP 2141.01(a)
No claims are allowed.
Prior art Wu et al. (WO 2019/236891) teach with regards to instant claim 1 a bioink composition (see abstract) comprising a synthetic cross linking polymer poly(ethylene glycol)diacrylate (see 0011, as required by instant claim 1, 4 and 6), additives (see 0097) and printable (see 0002, 0004), wherein the gel is hyaluronic acid (see 0062, as required by instant claim 8) is made of record but not used in the rejection above.
/SHIRLEY V GEMBEH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1615 6/23/26