DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the filing of Patent Application 18846473 on 9/12/2024.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: reception unit receives, control unit determines in claims 1, 2, 3, 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Claim(s) 4 is/are drawn to method (i.e., a process), claim(s) 1 is/are drawn to a system (i.e., a machine/manufacture). As such, claims 1, 4 is/are drawn to one of the statutory categories of invention.
Claims 1-5 are directed to call routing. Specifically, the claims recite determine whether or not the call-arrival is to be transferred to a computing resource that is configured for each subscriber, which is grouped within the Methods Of Organizing Human Activity and is similar to the concept of (fundamental economic principles or practices including hedging insurance, mitigating risk) OR (commercial or legal interactions including agreements in the form of contracts, legal obligations, advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors business relations) OR (managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people including social activities teaching, and following rules or instructions) grouping of abstract ideas in prong one of step 2A of the Alice/Mayo test (See 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, 84 Fed. Reg. 50, 52, 54 (January 7, 2019)). Accordingly, the claims recite an abstract idea (See pages 7, 10, Alice Corporation Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank International, et al., US Supreme Court, No. 13-298, June 19, 2014; 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, 84 Fed. Reg. 50, 53-54 (January 7, 2019)).
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because, when analyzed under prong two of step 2A of the Alice/Mayo test (See 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, 84 Fed. Reg. 50, 54-55 (January 7, 2019)), the additional element(s) of the claim(s) such as “units” and “network node” merely use(s) a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea and/or generally link(s) the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment. Specifically, the “units” and “network node” perform(s) the steps or functions of receive an indication of a call-arrival from an external terminal or from an external application. The use of a processor/computer as a tool to implement the abstract idea and/or generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it requires no more than a computer performing functions that correspond to acts required to carry out the abstract idea. The additional elements do not involve improvements to the functioning of a computer, or to any other technology or technical field (MPEP 2106.05(a)), the claims do not apply or use the abstract idea to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition (Vanda Memo), the claims do not apply the abstract idea with, or by use of, a particular machine (MPEP 2106.05(b)), the claims do not effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing (MPEP 2106.05(c)), and the claims do not apply or use the abstract idea in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception (MPEP 2106.05(e) and Vanda Memo). Therefore, the claims do not, for example, purport to improve the functioning of a computer. Nor do they effect an improvement in any other technology or technical field. Accordingly, the additional elements do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, and the claims are directed to an abstract idea.
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because, when analyzed under step 2B of the Alice/Mayo test (See 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, 84 Fed. Reg. 50, 52, 56 (January 7, 2019)), the additional element(s) of using a “units” and “network node” to perform the steps amounts to no more than using a computer or processor to automate and/or implement the abstract idea of call routing. As discussed above, taking the claim elements separately, the “units” and “network node” perform(s) the steps or functions of receive an indication of a call-arrival from an external terminal or from an external application. These functions correspond to the actions required to perform the abstract idea. Viewed as a whole, the combination of elements recited in the claims merely recite the concept of call routing. Therefore, the use of these additional elements does no more than employ the computer as a tool to automate and/or implement the abstract idea. The use of a computer or processor to merely automate and/or implement the abstract idea cannot provide significantly more than the abstract idea itself (MPEP 2106.05(I)(A)(f) & (h)). Therefore, the claim is not patent eligible.
Dependent claims 2, 3, 5 further describe the abstract idea of call routing. The dependent claims do not include additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or that provide significantly more than the abstract idea. Therefore, the dependent claims are also not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim (U.S. Patent App Pub 20230345333).
Regarding claim 1,
Kim teaches a network node comprising: a reception unit configured to receive an indication of a call-arrival from an external terminal or from an external application; (See paragraphs 366-369, fig 12a – 12b, Kim teaches receiving a call arrival message during a handover)
a control unit configured to determine whether or not the call-arrival is to be transferred to a computing resource that is configured for each subscriber. (See paragraphs 366-369, fig 12a – 12b, Kim teaches determining whether to transfer the call or not)
Regarding claim 2,
Kim teaches the network node as claimed in claim 1, wherein the control unit determines whether or not the call-arrival is to be transferred to the computing resource, based on whether or not a PDU session context includes an information element indicating that the call-arrival is to be transferred to the computing resource. (See paragraphs 366-368, 375 -376, fig 12a – 12b, Kim teaches no pdu session with an indication to avoid error processing)
Regarding claim 3,
Kim teaches the network node as claimed in claim 1, wherein the reception unit receives, from another network node, a determination result based on whether or not an information element indicating that the call-arrival is to be transferred to the computing resource is included in a service request that is received from a call-arrival destination terminal, and the control unit determines whether or not the call-arrival is to be transferred to the computing resource, based on the determination result.(See paragraphs 366-367, 375-377, fig 12a, 12b, Kim teaches NG-Ran receives from AMF a relayed determination result)
Regarding claim 4,
Kim teaches a communication method performed by a network node, the communication method comprising: receiving an indication of a call-arrival from an external terminal or from an external application; and (See paragraphs 366-369, fig 12a – 12b, Kim teaches receiving a call arrival message during a handover)
determining whether or not the call-arrival is to be transferred to a computing resource that is configured for each subscriber. (See paragraphs 366-369, fig 12a – 12b, Kim teaches determining whether to transfer the call or not)
Regarding claim 5,
Kim teaches the network node as claimed in claim 2, wherein the reception unit receives, from another network node, a determination result based on whether or not an information element indicating that the call-arrival is to be transferred to the computing resource is included in a service request that is received from a call-arrival destination terminal, and the control unit determines whether or not the call-arrival is to be transferred to the computing resource, based on the determination result. (See paragraphs 377-378, 382, fig 12a – 12b, Kim teaches hybrid via AMFs role in adding indications without source involvement)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and located in the PTO-892 form.
1.Kim, U.S. Patent App 20180276591, teaches an apparatus and method for field service monitoring are disclosed. The apparatus includes a communication unit and a control unit. The communication unit receives schedule information, real-time location information, and service status information including service completion information for each worker. The control unit determines a visit type of a service using the schedule information and the real-time location information. When the determined visit type is the non-requested visit, the control unit calculates a first achievement score having a penalty score for a non-requested visit. When the determined visit type is a requested visit, the control unit calculates a second achievement score having a new service completion rate for each worker using the schedule information and the service status information. The control unit calculates a key performance indicator (KPI) for each worker using the first and second achievement scores, and evaluates a working status of each worker using the calculated KPI.
2. Jost, U.S. Patent 11330428, teaches core network equipment (20) in a wireless communication system transmits control plane signaling (22) to a user equipment (16) which receives that control plane signaling (22). The control plane signaling (22) indicates a privacy key (24) with which a subscriber identifier (e.g., an international mobile subscriber identity, IMSI) associated with the user equipment (16) is to be encrypted or decrypted. The control plane signaling (22) may be non-access stratum, NAS, signaling. The privacy key (24) may be a public key of a home network associated with the subscriber identifier.
/NINOS DONABED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2444