DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 10/8/2024 and 5/21/2025 have been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: reference numerals 300, 301, 302, 303, and 304 of Fig. 3, and reference numerals 400, 401, 402, and 403 of Fig. 4. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claims 8 and 23-24 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 8: line 4 includes “in response to that the reference signal mode” which should be “in response to [[that]] the reference signal mode”, and line 8 includes “in response to that the reference signal mode” which should be “in response to [[that]] the reference signal mode”, to obviate potential indefinite issues. Regarding claim 23: line 3 includes “when the instructions are executed” which should be “when the instructions are executed by a processor” to obviate potential 35 U.S.C. 101 issues.
Regarding claim 24: line 3 includes “when the instructions are executed” which should be “when the instructions are executed by a processor” to obviate potential 35 U.S.C. 101 issues.
Appropriate correction is required
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16, 19-20, and 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1: lines 7-10 includes “sending an indication message to the UE, wherein the indication message is used to indicate at least one of a reference signal mode” [first optional limitation], or “reference signal configuration information of at least one type of reference signal corresponding to the reference signal mode indicated by the network device” [second optional limitation], however, what is actually optional and what is actually required is not clear as claim language of “sending an indication message to the UE, wherein the indication message is used to indicate at least one of a reference signal mode, or” indicates “reference signal mode” is optional, while “or reference signal configuration information of at least one type of reference signal corresponding to the reference signal mode indicated by the network device” indicates second optional limitation also satisfies first optional limitation, thus, whether “reference signal mode” is actually required is unclear and thus, further limitations based thereon are also unclear. Examination continued on the assumption the indication message is some type of configuration referred to as “reference signal mode” and/or “reference signal configuration information”. The examiner respectfully recommends amendments to clearly delineate required/optional limitations, and use of active limitations (e.g. “indicating” / “performing” as opposed to “used to indicate” / “to perform”) to obviate indefiniteness.
Regarding claim 2: the claim, ultimately dependent upon claim 1, is interpreted and rejected for substantially the same reason as set forth in claim 1.
Further, lines 3-7 include the first optional limitation “a reference signal mode 1, wherein a reference signal corresponding to the reference signal mode 1 is used to train at least one of an artificial intelligence (Al) model or a machine learning (ML) model, wherein the Al model is used to implement channel estimation based on the reference signal, and the ML model is used to implement channel estimation based on the reference signal” which is indefinite and includes antecedent issues regarding a/the “reference signal”. As best understood, examination continued on the assumption “a reference signal” in line 3 is intended to be a general/generic “reference signal” that is used in training, “the reference signal” in line 6 and line 7 are intended to refer to either the generic “a reference signal” of line 3 or the “reference signal” of parent claim 1.
Further, lines 8-12 include the second optional limitation “a reference signal mode 2, wherein a reference signal corresponding to the reference signal mode 2 is used for at least one of training the Al model, training the ML model, evaluating the Al model, evaluating the ML model, performing channel estimation based on the Al model, or performing channel estimation based on the ML model” which, as above, is indefinite and includes antecedent issues regarding a/the “reference signal”. Still further, the second optional limitation includes substantially the same limitations as in the first optional limitation (first optional limitation: “is used to train at least one of an artificial intelligence (Al) model or a machine learning (ML) model”, second optional limitation: “is used for at least one of training the Al model, training the ML model”; first optional limitation: “the Al model is used to implement channel estimation based on the reference signal, and the ML model is used to implement channel estimation based on the reference signal”, second optional limitation: “performing channel estimation based on the Al model, or performing channel estimation based on the ML model”, thus, fulfilling the first optional limitation would fulfill the second optional limitation and thus, the precise intention of “reference signal mode 1” of the first optional limitation and “reference signal mode 2” of the second optional limitation is unclear. Examination continued on the assumption “reference signal mode 1” and “reference signal mode 2” may be the same as satisfying first optional limitation satisfies second optional limitation. As with the recommendation with claim 1 above, the examiner respectfully recommends amendments to clearly delineate required/optional limitations, and use of active limitations (e.g. ”training” / “implementing” / “performing” as opposed to “used to train” / “to implement” / “to implement” ) to obviate indefiniteness.
Regarding claims 3-6: the claims, ultimately dependent upon claim 1, are interpreted and rejected for substantially the same reason as set forth in claim 1.
Regarding claim 7: the claim, ultimately dependent upon claim 1, is interpreted and rejected for substantially the same reason as claim 1; further, line 10 includes “the reference signal mode 1”, there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim; line 12 includes “the reference signal mode 2”. there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claims 8: the claims, ultimately dependent upon claim 1, are interpreted and rejected for substantially the same reason as set forth in claim 1.
Regarding claim 9: similar to claim 2, lines 7-10 include “obtaining an indication message sent by the network device, wherein the indication message is used to indicate at least one of a reference signal mode, or reference signal configuration information of at least one type of reference signal corresponding to the reference signal mode indicated by the network device” which is unclear as to whether “a reference signal mode” is optional (first optional limitation “to indicate at least one of a reference signal mode, or”) or (second optional limitation “the reference signal mode indicated by the network device”), or required as second optional limitation satisfies first optional limitation. Examination continued on the assumption the indication message is some type of configuration referred to as “reference signal mode” and/or “reference signal configuration information”.
Regarding claims 10-16: the claims, ultimately dependent upon claim 9, are interpreted and rejected for substantially the same reason as set forth in claim 9.
Regarding claims 19: the claim is interpreted and rejected for substantially the same reason as set forth in claim 1.
Regarding claims 20: the claim, ultimately dependent upon claim 9, is interpreted and rejected for substantially the same reason as set forth in claim 9.
Regarding claims 23: the claim, ultimately dependent upon claim 1, is interpreted and rejected for substantially the same reason as set forth in claim 1.
Regarding claims 24: the claim, ultimately dependent upon claim 9, is interpreted and rejected for substantially the same reason as set forth in claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-16, 19-20, and 23-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 2022/0393781 A1) hereinafter Kim.
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches a channel estimation method (channel estimation; para. [263-265]), performed by a network device (estimation from an uplink signal by base station (BS); para. [263-265]), comprising: determining configuration information (BS provides [determining] configuration information; para. [273, 281-282] and Figs. 33-34 step [S3301, S3401-3403]), wherein the configuration information comprises at least one of a reference signal mode supported by a user equipment (UE) (BS receives uplink reference signal (RS) from UE for learning [mode] through resource indicated by configuration information; para. [269-273, 277, 282] and Figs. 32-34 steps [3220-3250, S3305, S3401-3403], examiner notes the use of alternative language here, thus, only one of the alternative features need to be shown by reference), or reference signal configuration information of at least one type of reference signal corresponding to the reference signal mode supported by the UE (BS receives uplink [type] RS for learning [mode] through resource [configuration information] indicated by configuration information; para. [269-273, 277, 282] and Figs. 32-34 steps [3220-3250, S3305, S3401-3403]); sending an indication message to the UE, wherein the indication message is used to indicate at least one of a reference signal mode (BS provides configuration information; para. [273, 281-282] and Figs. 33-34 step [S3301, S3401-3403], BS receives uplink reference signal (RS) for learning [mode] for channel estimation [mode] through resource indicated by configuration information; para. [269-273, 277, 282] and Figs. 32-34 steps [3220-3250, S3305, S3401-3403], examiner notes the use of alternative language here, thus, only one of the alternative features need to be shown by reference), or reference signal configuration information of at least one type of reference signal corresponding to the reference signal mode indicated by the network device (BS provides configuration information; para. 273 and Fig. 33 step S3301, BS receives uplink RS for learning [mode] for channel estimation [mode] through resource [configuration information] indicated by configuration information; para. [269-273, 277, 282] and Figs. 32-34 steps [3220-3250, S3305, S3401-3403]); obtaining a reference signal sent by the UE (BS receives uplink RS for learning [mode] for channel estimation [mode]; para. [269-273, 277, 282] and Figs. 32-34 steps [3220-3250, S3305, S3401-3403]); and performing, based on the reference signal, an operation corresponding to the reference signal mode indicated by the network device to perform channel estimation (perform learning [mode] for channel estimation [mode] based on uplink RS; para. 285-286 and Fig. 34 step S3409).
Regarding claim 2, Kim teaches the limitation of previous claim 1.
Kim further teaches wherein the reference signal mode comprises at least one of: a reference signal mode 1 (BS receives uplink RS for learning [mode] for channel estimation [mode] through resource [configuration information] indicated by configuration information; para. [277, 282-283] and Figs. 33-34 steps [S3305, S3405], examiner notes the use of alternative language here, thus, only one of the alternative features need to be shown by reference), wherein a reference signal corresponding to the reference signal mode 1 is used to train at least one of an artificial intelligence (AI) model (artificial intelligence (AI) applicable to communication procedure; para. [77, 126, 164, 236-238], perform learning [mode / training] for channel estimation [mode] based on uplink RS; para. 285-286 and Fig. 34 step S3409, examiner notes the use of alternative language here, thus, only one of the alternative features need to be shown by reference) or a machine learning (ML) model (machine learning (ML) for channel estimation; para. [178, 187, 258-260], perform learning [mode] for channel estimation [mode] based on uplink RS; para. 285-286 and Fig. 34 step S3409), wherein the AI model is used to implement channel estimation based on the reference signal (perform learning for channel estimation based on uplink RS; para. 285-286 and Fig. 34 step S3409, AI applicable to communication procedure; para. [77, 126, 164, 236-238]), and the ML model is used to implement channel estimation based on the reference signal (ML for channel estimation; para. [178, 187, 258-260], perform learning for channel estimation based on uplink RS; para. 285-286 and Fig. 34 step S3409); or a reference signal mode 2 (BS receives uplink RS for learning [mode] through resource [configuration information] indicated by configuration information; para. [277, 282-283] and Figs. 33-34 steps [S3305, S3405], examiner notes the use of alternative language here, thus, only one of the alternative features need to be shown by reference), wherein a reference signal corresponding to the reference signal mode 2 is used for at least one of training the AI model (AI applicable to communication procedure; para. [77, 126, 164, 236-238], perform learning [mode / training] for channel estimation [mode] based on uplink RS; para. 285-286 and Fig. 34 step S3409, examiner notes the use of alternative language here, thus, only one of the alternative features need to be shown by reference), training the ML model (ML for channel estimation; para. [178, 187, 258-260], AI applicable to communication procedure; para. [77, 126, 164, 236-238], perform learning [mode / training] for channel estimation based on uplink RS; para. 285-286 and Fig. 34 step S3409, perform learning [mode] for channel estimation based on uplink RS; para. 285-286 and Fig. 34 step S3409), evaluating the AI model (learning model includes obtaining test data set from uplink RS; para. 294, evaluation of learning model using test set; para. [294-295, 327, 339-340], AI applicable to communication procedure; para. [77, 126, 164, 236-238]), evaluating the ML model (learning model includes obtaining test data set from uplink RS; para. 294, evaluation of learning model using test set; para. [294-295, 327, 339-340], ML for channel estimation; para. [178, 187, 258-260], perform learning for channel estimation based on uplink RS; para. 285-286 and Fig. 34 step S3409), performing channel estimation based on the AI model (perform learning for channel estimation based on uplink RS; para. 285-286 and Fig. 34 step S3409, AI applicable to communication procedure; para. [77, 126, 164, 236-238]), or performing channel estimation based on the ML model (ML for channel estimation; para. [178, 187, 258-260], perform learning for channel estimation based on uplink RS; para. 285-286 and Fig. 34 step S3409).
Regarding claim 3, Kim teaches the limitation of previous claim 1.
Kim further teaches wherein the reference signal configuration information comprises at least one of: a reference signal pattern of the reference signal (configuration information includes resource allocation derived by a rule [pattern] of downlink reference signal; para. 290, examiner notes the use of alternative language here, thus, only one of the alternative features need to be shown by reference); or a reference signal sequence of the reference signal (configuration information includes sequence values; para. 292).
Regarding claim 4, Kim teaches the limitation of previous claim 1.
Kim further teaches wherein determining the configuration information comprises at least one of: determining the configuration information based on a protocol (configuration information includes resource allocation derived by a rule [protocol]; para. 290, examiner notes the use of alternative language here, thus, only one of the alternative features need to be shown by reference); or obtaining configuration information sent by the UE (message from terminal includes learning support capability; para. 275, BS transmits configuration information related to learning after receiving message from terminal; para. 275-277).
Regarding claim 5, Kim teaches the limitation of previous claim 1.
Kim further teaches wherein sending the indication message to the UE comprises: sending the indication message to the UE through a signaling (BS provides configuration information in a message [signaling]; para. [273, 276, 281-282] and Figs. 33-34 step [S3301, S3401-3403]).
Regarding claim 6, Kim teaches the limitation of previous claim 5.
Kim further teaches wherein the indication message comprises at least one of: first indication information used to indicate the reference signal mode indicated by the network device (BS provides configuration information in a message; para. [273, 276, 281-282] and Figs. 33-34 step [S3301, S3401-3403], message includes information related to learning; para. 282, examiner notes the use of alternative language here, thus, only one of the alternative features need to be shown by reference); second indication information used to indicate the reference signal configuration information corresponding to the reference signal mode indicated by the network device (BS provides configuration information in a message; para. [273, 276, 281-282] and Figs. 33-34 step [S3301, S3401-3403], message includes information related to learning; para. 282, BS receives uplink RS for learning [mode] through resource [configuration information] indicated by configuration information; para. [269-273, 277, 282] and Figs. 32-34 steps [3220-3250, S3305, S3401-3403]); or a time domain position corresponding to the reference signal configuration information indicated by the network device (uplink RS signal on timestep according to configuration information; para. 269, BS receives uplink RS for learning [mode] through resource [configuration information] indicated by configuration information; para. [269-273, 277, 282] and Figs. 32-34 steps [3220-3250, S3305, S3401-3403]).
Regarding claim 7, Kim teaches the limitation of previous claim 5.
Kim further teaches wherein the indication message comprises at least one of: first indication information used to indicate the reference signal mode indicated by the network device (BS provides configuration information in a message; para. [273, 276, 281-282] and Figs. 33-34 step [S3301, S3401-3403], message includes information related to learning; para. 282, examiner notes the use of alternative language here, thus, only one of the alternative features need to be shown by reference); second indication information used to indicate the reference signal configuration information corresponding to the reference signal mode indicated by the network device (BS provides configuration information in a message; para. [273, 276, 281-282] and Figs. 33-34 step [S3301, S3401-3403], message includes information related to learning; para. 282, BS receives uplink RS for learning [mode] through resource [configuration information] indicated by configuration information; para. [269-273, 277, 282] and Figs. 32-34 steps [3220-3250, S3305, S3401-3403]); a configuration period of the network device for the configuration information (timestep [configuration period] for learning at BS indicated in configuration information; para. [269, 276, 282, 235], configuration resource include timestep within coherence time [configuration period]; para. [269, 325]); a first time domain position of the reference signal configuration information corresponding to the reference signal mode 1 within the configuration period (RS at timestep [time domain period] for learning [mode] and estimating channel [mode] at BS indicated in configuration information; para. [269, 276, 282, 235], configuration resource include timestep within coherence time [configuration period]; para. [269, 325]); or a second time domain position of the reference signal configuration information corresponding to the reference signal mode 2 within the configuration period (RS at timestep [time domain period] for learning [mode] and estimating channel [mode] at BS indicated in configuration information; para. [269, 276, 282, 235], configuration resource include timestep within coherence time [configuration period]; para. [269, 325]).
Regarding claim 8, Kim teaches the limitation of previous claim 2.
Kim further teaches wherein performing, based on the reference signal, the operation corresponding to the reference signal mode indicated by the network device (perform learning [mode] for channel estimation [mode] based on uplink RS; para. 285-286 and Fig. 34 step S3409) comprises: in response to that the reference signal mode indicated by the network device is the reference signal mode 1 (BS receives uplink RS for learning [mode] for channel estimation [mode] through resource [configuration information] indicated by configuration information; para. [277, 282-283] and Figs. 33-34 steps [S3305, S3405], examiner notes the use of alternative language here, thus, only one of the alternative features need to be shown by reference), the corresponding operation comprising at least one of: the network device training the AI model based on the reference signal (AI applicable to communication procedure; para. [77, 126, 164, 236-238], perform learning [mode / training] for channel estimation [mode] based on uplink RS; para. 285-286 and Fig. 34 step S3409, examiner notes the use of alternative language here, thus, only one of the alternative features need to be shown by reference), or the network device training the ML model based on the reference signal (machine learning (ML) for channel estimation; para. [178, 187, 258-260], perform learning [mode] for channel estimation [mode] based on uplink RS; para. 285-286 and Fig. 34 step S3409); in response to that the reference signal mode indicated by the network device is the reference signal mode 2 (BS receives uplink RS for learning [mode] through resource [configuration information] indicated by configuration information; para. [277, 282-283] and Figs. 33-34 steps [S3305, S3405], examiner notes the use of alternative language here, thus, only one of the alternative features need to be shown by reference), the corresponding operation comprising at least one of: the network device training the AI model based on the reference signal (AI applicable to communication procedure; para. [77, 126, 164, 236-238], perform learning [mode / training] for channel estimation [mode] based on uplink RS; para. 285-286 and Fig. 34 step S3409, examiner notes the use of alternative language here, thus, only one of the alternative features need to be shown by reference); the network device training the ML model based on the reference signal (ML for channel estimation; para. [178, 187, 258-260], AI applicable to communication procedure; para. [77, 126, 164, 236-238], perform learning [mode / training] for channel estimation based on uplink RS; para. 285-286 and Fig. 34 step S3409, perform learning [mode] for channel estimation based on uplink RS; para. 285-286 and Fig. 34 step S3409); the network device performing channel estimation based on the reference signal and the AI model (perform learning for channel estimation based on uplink RS; para. 285-286 and Fig. 34 step S3409, AI applicable to communication procedure; para. [77, 126, 164, 236-238]); the network device performing channel estimation based on the reference signal and the ML model (ML for channel estimation; para. [178, 187, 258-260], perform learning for channel estimation based on uplink RS; para. 285-286 and Fig. 34 step S3409); the network device evaluating the AI model based on the reference signal (learning model includes obtaining test data set from uplink RS; para. 294, evaluation of learning model using test set; para. [294-295, 327, 339-340], AI applicable to communication procedure; para. [77, 126, 164, 236-238]); or the network device evaluating the ML model based on the reference signal (learning model includes obtaining test data set from uplink RS; para. 294, evaluation of learning model using test set; para. [294-295, 327, 339-340], ML for channel estimation; para. [178, 187, 258-260], perform learning for channel estimation based on uplink RS; para. 285-286 and Fig. 34 step S3409).
Regarding claim 9, Kim teaches a channel estimation method (channel estimation; para. [263-265]), performed by a user equipment (UE) (user equipment (UE) transmits uplink reference signal (RS) to base station (BS); para. [263-265, 269-273, 277, 282] and Figs. 32-34 steps [3220-3250, S3305, S3401-3403]), comprising: sending configuration information to a network device (terminal transmits message including learning support capability to BS; para. 275-277), wherein the configuration information comprises at least one of a reference signal mode supported by the UE (message from terminal includes learning [mode] support capability for channel estimation [mode]; para. [263-264, 275, 279], examiner notes the use of alternative language here, thus, only one of the alternative features need to be shown by reference), or reference signal configuration information of at least one type of reference signal corresponding to the reference signal mode supported by the UE (terminal transmits uplink [type] RS for learning [mode] through resource [configuration information] indicated by configuration information; para. [269-273, 277, 282] and Figs. 32-34 steps [3220-3250, S3305, S3401-3403]); obtaining an indication message sent by the network device (BS provides configuration information; para. [273, 281-282] and Figs. 33-34 step [S3301, S3401-3403]), wherein the indication message is used to indicate at least one of a reference signal mode (BS provides configuration information; para. [273, 281-282] and Figs. 33-34 step [S3301, S3401-3403], BS receives uplink RS for learning [mode] for channel estimation [mode] through resource indicated by configuration information; para. [269-273, 277, 282] and Figs. 32-34 steps [3220-3250, S3305, S3401-3403], examiner notes the use of alternative language here, thus, only one of the alternative features need to be shown by reference), or reference signal configuration information of at least one type of reference signal corresponding to the reference signal mode indicated by the network device (BS provides configuration information; para. 273 and Fig. 33 step S3301, BS receives uplink RS for learning [mode] for channel estimation [mode] through resource [configuration information] indicated by configuration information; para. [269-273, 277, 282] and Figs. 32-34 steps [3220-3250, S3305, S3401-3403]); and sending a reference signal to the network device based on the indication message (terminal transmits uplink RS to BS through resource indicated by configuration information; para. [269-273, 277, 282] and Figs. 32-34 steps [3220-3250, S3305, S3401-3403]).
Regarding claim 10, Kim teaches the limitation of previous claim 9.
Kim further teaches wherein the reference signal mode comprises at least one of: a reference signal mode 1 (BS receives uplink RS for learning [mode] for channel estimation [mode] through resource [configuration information] indicated by configuration information; para. [277, 282-283] and Figs. 33-34 steps [S3305, S3405], examiner notes the use of alternative language here, thus, only one of the alternative features need to be shown by reference), wherein a reference signal corresponding to the reference signal mode 1 is used to train at least one of an artificial intelligence (AI) model (artificial intelligence (AI) applicable to communication procedure; para. [77, 126, 164, 236-238], perform learning [mode / training] for channel estimation [mode] based on uplink RS; para. 285-286 and Fig. 34 step S3409, examiner notes the use of alternative language here, thus, only one of the alternative features need to be shown by reference) or a machine learning (ML) model (machine learning (ML) for channel estimation; para. [178, 187, 258-260], perform learning [mode] for channel estimation [mode] based on uplink RS; para. 285-286 and Fig. 34 step S3409), wherein the AI model is used to implement channel estimation based on the reference signal (perform learning for channel estimation based on uplink RS; para. 285-286 and Fig. 34 step S3409, AI applicable to communication procedure; para. [77, 126, 164, 236-238]), and the ML model is also used to implement channel estimation based on the reference signal (ML for channel estimation; para. [178, 187, 258-260], perform learning for channel estimation based on uplink RS; para. 285-286 and Fig. 34 step S3409); or a reference signal mode 2 (BS receives uplink RS for learning [mode] through resource [configuration information] indicated by configuration information; para. [277, 282-283] and Figs. 33-34 steps [S3305, S3405], examiner notes the use of alternative language here, thus, only one of the alternative features need to be shown by reference), wherein a reference signal corresponding to the reference signal mode 2 is used for at least one of training the AI model (AI applicable to communication procedure; para. [77, 126, 164, 236-238], perform learning [mode / training] for channel estimation [mode] based on uplink RS; para. 285-286 and Fig. 34 step S3409, examiner notes the use of alternative language here, thus, only one of the alternative features need to be shown by reference), training the ML model (ML for channel estimation; para. [178, 187, 258-260], AI applicable to communication procedure; para. [77, 126, 164, 236-238], perform learning [mode / training] for channel estimation based on uplink RS; para. 285-286 and Fig. 34 step S3409, perform learning [mode] for channel estimation based on uplink RS; para. 285-286 and Fig. 34 step S3409), evaluating the AI model (learning model includes obtaining test data set from uplink RS; para. 294, evaluation of learning model using test set; para. [294-295, 327, 339-340], AI applicable to communication procedure; para. [77, 126, 164, 236-238]), evaluating the ML model (learning model includes obtaining test data set from uplink RS; para. 294, evaluation of learning model using test set; para. [294-295, 327, 339-340], ML for channel estimation; para. [178, 187, 258-260], perform learning for channel estimation based on uplink RS; para. 285-286 and Fig. 34 step S3409), performing channel estimation based on the AI model (perform learning for channel estimation based on uplink RS; para. 285-286 and Fig. 34 step S3409, AI applicable to communication procedure; para. [77, 126, 164, 236-238]), or performing channel estimation based on the ML model (ML for channel estimation; para. [178, 187, 258-260], perform learning for channel estimation based on uplink RS; para. 285-286 and Fig. 34 step S3409).
Regarding claim 11, Kim teaches the limitation of previous claim 9.
Kim further teaches wherein the reference signal configuration information comprises at least one of: a reference signal pattern of the reference signal (configuration information includes resource allocation derived by a rule [pattern] of downlink reference signal; para. 290, examiner notes the use of alternative language here, thus, only one of the alternative features need to be shown by reference); or a reference signal sequence of the reference signal (configuration information includes sequence values; para. 292).
Regarding claim 12, Kim teaches the limitation of previous claim 9.
Kim further teaches wherein obtaining the indication message sent by the network device comprises: obtaining the indication message sent by the network device through a signaling (BS provides configuration information in a message [signaling]; para. [273, 276, 281-282] and Figs. 33-34 step [S3301, S3401-3403]).
Regarding claim 13, Kim teaches the limitation of previous claim 12.
Kim further teaches wherein the indication message comprises at least one of: first indication information used to indicate the reference signal mode indicated by the network device (BS provides configuration information in a message; para. [273, 276, 281-282] and Figs. 33-34 step [S3301, S3401-3403], message includes information related to learning; para. 282, examiner notes the use of alternative language here, thus, only one of the alternative features need to be shown by reference); second indication information used to indicate the reference signal configuration information corresponding to the reference signal mode indicated by the network device (BS provides configuration information in a message; para. [273, 276, 281-282] and Figs. 33-34 step [S3301, S3401-3403], message includes information related to learning; para. 282, terminal transmits uplink RS to BS for learning [mode] through resource [configuration information] indicated by configuration information; para. [269-273, 277, 282] and Figs. 32-34 steps [3220-3250, S3305, S3401-3403]); or a time domain position corresponding to the reference signal configuration information indicated by the network device (uplink RS signal on timestep according to configuration information; para. 269, BS receives uplink RS for learning [mode] through resource [configuration information] indicated by configuration information; para. [269-273, 277, 282] and Figs. 32-34 steps [3220-3250, S3305, S3401-3403]).
Regarding claim 14, Kim teaches the limitation of previous claim 13.
Kim further teaches wherein sending the reference signal to the network device based on the indication message comprises: sending the reference signal to the network device at the time domain position based on at least one of the reference signal mode corresponding to the first indication information (uplink RS signal on timestep according to configuration information; para. 269, terminal transmits uplink RS to BS for learning [mode] through resource [configuration information] indicated by configuration information; para. [269-273, 277, 282] and Figs. 32-34 steps [3220-3250, S3305, S3401-3403], examiner notes the use of alternative language here, thus, only one of the alternative features need to be shown by reference) or the reference signal configuration information corresponding to the second indication information (BS provides configuration information in a message; para. [273, 276, 281-282] and Figs. 33-34 step [S3301, S3401-3403], message includes information related to learning; para. 282, terminal transmits uplink RS to BS for learning [mode] through resource [configuration information] indicated by configuration information; para. [269-273, 277, 282] and Figs. 32-34 steps [3220-3250, S3305, S3401-3403]).
Regarding claim 15, Kim teaches the limitation of previous claim 12.
Kim further teaches wherein the indication message comprises at least one of: first indication information used to indicate the reference signal mode indicated by the network device (BS provides configuration information in a message; para. [273, 276, 281-282] and Figs. 33-34 step [S3301, S3401-3403], message includes information related to learning; para. 282, examiner notes the use of alternative language here, thus, only one of the alternative features need to be shown by reference); second indication information used to indicate the reference signal configuration information corresponding to the reference signal mode indicated by the network device (BS provides configuration information in a message; para. [273, 276, 281-282] and Figs. 33-34 step [S3301, S3401-3403], message includes information related to learning; para. 282, BS receives uplink RS for learning [mode] through resource [configuration information] indicated by configuration information; para. [269-273, 277, 282] and Figs. 32-34 steps [3220-3250, S3305, S3401-3403]); a configuration period of the network device for the configuration information (timestep [configuration period] for learning at BS indicated in configuration information; para. [269, 276, 282, 235], configuration resource include timestep within coherence time [configuration period]; para. [269, 325]); a first time domain position of the reference signal configuration information corresponding to the reference signal mode 1 within the configuration period (RS at timestep [time domain period] for learning [mode] and estimating channel [mode] at BS indicated in configuration information; para. [269, 276, 282, 235], configuration resource include timestep within coherence time [configuration period]; para. [269, 325]); or a second time domain position of the reference signal configuration information corresponding to the reference signal mode 2 within the configuration period (RS at timestep [time domain period] for learning [mode] and estimating channel [mode] at BS indicated in configuration information; para. [269, 276, 282, 235], configuration resource include timestep within coherence time [configuration period]; para. [269, 325]).
Regarding claim 16, Kim teaches the limitation of previous claim 15.
Kim further teaches wherein sending the reference signal to the network device based on the indication message (terminal transmits uplink RS to BS through resource indicated by configuration information; para. [269-273, 277, 282] and Figs. 32-34 steps [3220-3250, S3305, S3401-3403]) comprises: sending the reference signal to the network device (terminal transmits uplink RS to BS through resource indicated by configuration information; para. [269-273, 277, 282] and Figs. 32-34 steps [3220-3250, S3305, S3401-3403]) periodically (BS obtains training data set from uplink RS; para. [294, 327], learning includes repeatedly [periodically] inputting training data; para. 184-185) according to the first time domain position (RS at timestep [time domain period] for learning [mode] and estimating channel [mode] at BS indicated in configuration information; para. [269, 276, 282, 235]), the second time domain position (RS at timestep [time domain period] for learning [mode] and estimating channel [mode] at BS indicated in configuration information; para. [269, 276, 282, 235]), and the configuration period (RS at timestep [configuration period] for learning [mode] and estimating channel [mode] at BS indicated in configuration information; para. [269, 276, 282, 235], configuration resource include timestep within coherence time [configuration period]; para. [269, 325]).
Regarding claim 19, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1, including communication apparatus (base station (BS) 200/300; para. [89-92, 263-265] and Figs. 2-3), comprising: a processor (processor 202/320; para. 90 and Figs. 2-3); and a memory (memory 204/330; para. 90 and Figs. 2-3), storing a computer program executable by the processor (memory including program executing software; para. 82-85).
Regarding claim 20, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 9, including communication apparatus (user equipment (UE) 200/400; para. [89-92, 263-265, 269-273, 277, 282] and Figs. [2, 4]), comprising: a processor (processor 202/420; para. [89-92, 96-97]); and a memory (memory 204/430; para. [89-92, 96-97]), storing a computer program executable by the processor (memory including program executing software; para. 82-85).
Regarding claim 23, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 19.
Regarding claim 24, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 20.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lei (US 2023/0292369 A1) discloses a method and apparatus for reporting AI network model support capability, method and apparatus for receiving AI network model support capability, and storage medium, user equipment and base station.
Song (US 2022/0376957 A1) discloses machine learning-based channel estimation.
Fakoorian et al. (US 2024/0406036 A1) discloses channel estimation using artificial intelligence.
Shen (US 2023/0066109 A1) discloses a communication method and related devices.
Timo et al. (US 2024/0275519 A1) discloses training network-based decoders of user equipment (UE) channel state information (CSI) feedback.
/JOSE L PEREZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2474