DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., an abstract idea) without “significantly more.” Claims 1-17 are directed to requesting stock information, determining one or more orders and providing a notification of the one or more orders, which is considered an abstract idea. Further, the claim(s) as a whole, when examined on a limitation-by-limitation basis and in ordered combination do not include an inventive concept.
Step 1 – Statutory Categories
As indicated in the preamble of the claims, the examiner finds the claims are directed to a process, machine, or article of manufacture.
Step 2A – Prong One - Abstract Idea Analysis
Exemplary claim 1 (and similarly claims 16 and 17) recites the following abstract concepts, in italics below, which are found to include an “abstract idea”:
A computer implemented method comprising:
in response to determining that an article for an aerosol provision system needs to be replaced, transmitting a request for stock information to one or more vendors of articles for the aerosol provision system;
determining, based on the stock information received from the one or more vendors, one or more orders, wherein each order of the one or more orders comprises a number of articles to be purchased, a unit cost of each article to be purchased, a lead time for delivering the articles to be purchased and a vendor of the one or more vendors; and
providing, to a user of the aerosol provision system, a notification including the one or more orders.
The claim features in italics above as drafted, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, are mental processes and/or certain methods of organizing human activity performed by generic computer components. That is, other than reciting “transmitting a request,” (the aerosol provision system is not currently cited as performing any of the steps) nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind or a method of organized human activity. For example, but for the “transmitting a request” language, “determining that an article for an aerosol provision system needs to be replaced… determining, based on the stock information received from the one or more vendors, one or more orders, wherein each order of the one or more orders comprises a number of articles to be purchased, a unit cost of each article to be purchased, a lead time for delivering the articles to be purchased and a vendor of the one or more vendors” in the context of this claim encompasses mental processes. If the claim limitations, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers steps which could be performed in the human mind including an observation, evaluation, judgement of opinion but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “mental process” grouping of abstract ideas. Further, “request for stock information to one or more vendors of articles for the aerosol provision system… providing, to a user of the aerosol provision system, a notification including the one or more orders” in the context of this claim encompasses certain methods of organizing human activity. If the claim limitations, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers fundamental economic practice, commercial or legal interaction or managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A – Prong Two - Abstract Idea Analysis
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claims only recites three additional elements – “transmitting a request”, “a computing device”, “an aerosol provision system”, “one or more processors” and “memory”. The “transmitting”, “computing device” (claim 4), “aerosol provision system” (claims 4 and 13), “one or more processors” (claim 17) and “memory” (claim 17) are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing generic computer functions) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component (MPEP 2106.05(f)). Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B - Significantly More Analysis
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to
significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of “transmitting a request”, “a computing device”, “an aerosol provision system”, “one or more processors” and “memory” amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. Further, the background does not provide any indication that the “transmitting”, “computing device”, “aerosol provision system”, “one or more processors” and “memory” are anything other than a generic, off-the-shelf computer component. The claim is not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 and 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by United States Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0095697 A1 to Greenbaum (“Greenbaum”).
As per claims 1, 16 and 17, the claimed subject matter that is met by Greenbaum includes:
a computer implemented method comprising (Greenbaum: Abstract and Figs. 2, 3A and 3B):
in response to determining that an article for an aerosol provision system needs to be replaced, transmitting a request for stock information to one or more vendors of articles for the aerosol provision system (Greenbaum: ¶¶ 0006 “Vaporization devices typically include … a cartridge that houses a vapor forming medium…The vapor may be mixed with the air drawn by the user to form an inhalable aerosol” and 0037-0040 “ an exemplary method of determining when a resupply is needed… computing system 230 may identify the nearest physical retail location that has the user's preferred type of cartridge in stock. Retailer stock may be determined based upon a database of current stock maintained by the resupply and inventory server 260 or may be determined by automated communication with one or more servers associated with nearby retailers”);
determining, based on the stock information received from the one or more vendors, one or more orders, wherein each order of the one or more orders comprises a number of articles to be purchased, a unit cost of each article to be purchased, a lead time for delivering the articles to be purchased and a vendor of the one or more vendors (Greenbaum: ¶¶ 0040-0043 “computing system 230 then sends retailer information (e.g., a street address, a web address, an Internet Protocol address or a Uniform Resource Locator (URL) or a phone number for the retail location) to the user's mobile device 202 at block 326. In another embodiment, if the preferred type of cartridge or vaporizable content is not in stock at any nearby location, the computing system 230 may suggest a different type of cartridge or vaporizable content that is available at a nearby location (e.g., a different flavor) and send the substitute information with retailer information to the mobile device 202… delivery procedure will typically consult a preferred type and quantity of substance… computing system 230 may override the default user preference if the delivery time plus the fulfillment time is estimated to exceed the estimated user supply by more than a predetermined amount of time (e.g., one day), which would leave the user without an adequate supply for that time” and 0051 “resupply determination server 240 then sends a signal 716 containing the retail information to the mobile device 202 associated with the user. Such retail information may include an indication of the location of one or more retailers, contact information of the retailers, or links to online information regarding the retailers”); and
providing, to a user of the aerosol provision system, a notification including the one or more orders (Greenbaum: ¶ 0041 “user needing to confirm the resupply, the computing system 230 sends a request to the user (e.g., sends a signal from the resupply determination server 240 to the mobile device 202 or presents a message to the user via a display of the mobile device 202) to prompt the user to approve the resupply, as shown at block 332. In some embodiments, the request to the user may include details regarding the resupply, such as a number and type of cartridges, an estimated delivery date, a cost for the order or options regarding the resupply”).
As per claim 2, the claimed subject matter that is met by Greenbaum includes:
wherein the stock information comprises one or more of a number of articles in stock that correspond to the article that needs to be replaced, a cost of each article in stock that corresponds to the article that needs to be replaced, and a lead time for delivering the articles in stock that correspond to the article that needs to be replaced (Greenbaum: ¶¶ 0040-0043, 0047-0048 and 0051).
As per claim 3, the claimed subject matter that is met by Greenbaum includes:
wherein the stock information further comprises a location of the vendor, and the one or more orders are determined based on the location of the vendor (Greenbaum: ¶ 0040 “computing system 230 may identify the nearest physical retail location that has the user's preferred type of cartridge in stock”).
As per claim 4, the claimed subject matter that is met by Greenbaum includes:
wherein transmitting the request for stock information to the one or more vendors of articles for the aerosol provision system includes transmitting the request for stock information to the one or more vendors of articles for the aerosol provision system within a certain distance of the aerosol provision system and/or a computing device communicatively coupled to the aerosol provision system (Greenbaum: ¶ 0040 “computing system 230 may identify the nearest physical retail location that has the user's preferred type of cartridge in stock”).
As per claim 5, the claimed subject matter that is met by Greenbaum includes:
wherein the request for stock information includes one or more characteristics of the article that is determined to need to be replaced (Greenbaum: ¶ 0040 “computing system 230 may identify the nearest physical retail location that has the user's preferred type of cartridge in stock”).
As per claim 6, the claimed subject matter that is met by Greenbaum includes:
wherein the characteristics are at least one of an ingredient or flavourant within the article, a concentration and/or an amount of the ingredient or flavourant, a size of the article, a type of the article, and an identifier of the article (Greenbaum: ¶ 0040 “computing system 230 may identify the nearest physical retail location that has the user's preferred type of cartridge in stock”).
As per claim 7, the claimed subject matter that is met by Greenbaum includes:
wherein the characteristics are received from the aerosol provision system (Greenbaum: ¶¶ 0039-0040).
As per claim 8, the claimed subject matter that is met by Greenbaum includes:
determining, in response to the stock information indicating that the article is not in stock at one or more of the vendors, an alternative article based on the received stock information and one or more user preferences; and providing an indication of the alternative article with the notification (Greenbaum: ¶ 0040 “if the preferred type of cartridge or vaporizable content is not in stock at any nearby location, the computing system 230 may suggest a different type of cartridge or vaporizable content that is available at a nearby location (e.g., a different flavor) and send the substitute information with retailer information to the mobile device 202”).
As per claim 13, the claimed subject matter that is met by Greenbaum includes:
wherein determining that the article needs to be replaced is based on an indication received from the aerosol provision system.
As per claim 14, the claimed subject matter that is met by Greenbaum includes:
wherein determining that the article needs to be replaced is based on an indication received from the user (Greenbaum: ¶¶ 0037-0040).
As per claim 15, the claimed subject matter that is met by Greenbaum includes:
wherein determining that the article needs to be replaced is based on one or more of a time between one or more previously placed orders and the number of articles in a previously placed order (Greenbaum: ¶¶ 0028-0029 and 0037-0040).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Greenbaum in view of United States Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0054359 A1 to Ross et al. (“Ross”).
As per claim 9, Greenbaum fails to specifically teach wherein each order of the one or more orders comprises an eco-score based on the environmental footprint of the order. The Examiner provides Ross to teach and disclose this claimed feature.
The claimed subject matter that is met by Ross includes:
wherein each order of the one or more orders comprises an eco-score based on the environmental footprint of the order (Ross: ¶¶ 0057-0058 and Fig. 4)
Greenbaum teaches a system and method for ordering products that was improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Ross offers the embodiment of wherein each order of the one or more orders comprises an eco-score based on the environmental footprint of the order. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the adaptation of the eco-score as disclosed by Ross to the system and method for ordering products as taught by Greenbaum for the predicted result of improved systems and methods for ordering products. No additional findings are seen to be necessary.
As per claim 10, the claimed subject matter that is met by Greenbaum and Ross includes:
wherein the eco-score is included in the received stock information (Ross: ¶¶ 0057-0058 and Fig. 4).
The motivation for combining the teachings of Greenbaum and Ross are discussed in the rejection of claim 9, and are incorporated herein.
As per claim 11, the claimed subject matter that is met by Greenbaum and Ross includes:
wherein the stock information further comprises a location of the vendor, and the eco-score is determined based on the location of the vendor (Ross: ¶¶ 0057-0058 and Fig. 4).
The motivation for combining the teachings of Greenbaum and Ross are discussed in the rejection of claim 9, and are incorporated herein.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Greenbaum in view of United States Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0046738 A1 to Cameron (“Cameron”).
As per claim 12, while Greenbaum discusses contacting the vendor, Greenbaum fails to specifically teach sending the order to a vendor of the one or more vendors to furnish the order. The Examiner provides Cameron to teach and disclose this claimed feature.
The claimed subject matter that is met by Cameron includes:
receiving, from the user, a selection of an order of the one or more orders; and sending the order to a vendor of the one or more vendors to furnish the order (Cameron: ¶ 0203).
Greenbaum teaches a system and method for ordering resupply for vaporization devices that was improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Cameron offers the embodiment of sending the order to a vendor of the one or more vendors to furnish the order. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the adaptation of sending the order directly to the vendor as disclosed by Cameron to the system and method for ordering resupply for vaporization devices as taught by Greenbaum for the predicted result of improved systems and methods for ordering resupply for vaporization devices. No additional findings are seen to be necessary.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
United States Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0327596 A1 to Alarcon et al. (“Alarcon”) teaches and discloses an “electronic smoking system includes an electronic smoking device; a pack communicatively linked to the device, the pack configured to hold the device; and a computer communicatively linked to the pack and to at least one communication channel; wherein the communication channel is configured to share data with at least one of a social network, a vendor, a clinical monitoring program, or a data collection program” (Alarcon: Abstract).
/A. Hunter Wilder/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3627