DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . The instant First Office Action on the merits is in response to claims filed on 9/12/2024.
Claims 1-17 and 20-22 are pending. Claims 1, 9 and 20 are the base independent claims.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted was filed before the mailing of a first Office action on the merits. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97(b). Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, or 365(c) is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 / 103
Claims 1-2, 4-7, 9-12, 14-17 and 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as anticipated by Madadi et al (US 20220338189) or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Madadi et al (US 20220338189) and/or in view of XUE et al (US 2021/0376895).
Regarding claim 1, Madadi discloses a method for processing information, performed by a base station, comprising:
determining whether a terminal supports compression of channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS) feedback information with at least one artificial intelligence (Al) model (fig. 4 & par 105-106; e.g. a BS receives the UE capability information, e.g., the support for the ML approach for CSI feedback; also par 71-72); and configuring a CSI-RS according to whether the terminal supports the compression of the CSI-RS feedback information with the at least one Al model (par 110; e.g. various triggering methods are used to dynamically move from one CSI reporting configuration to another; also par 116-117).
Regarding claim 2, the reference does not explicitly disclose the subject matter, however XUE discloses:
transmitting complexity information of the at least one Al model to the terminal (par 69, par 80; e.g. the network entity can configure the UE to predict CSI and quantize one or more CSI difference values by transmitting, to the UE, a configuration message including the CSI prediction model and a qualifying scheme that the UE can use to quantize the accuracy); receiving first information provided by the terminal according to the complexity information (par 70, par 80-82; e.g. If the UE does not report the predicted CSI or reports that a prediction is an unqualified prediction, the network entity may determine that the CSI prediction model did not accurately predict CSI); and determining whether the terminal supports the compression of the CSI-RS feedback information with the at least one Al model according to the first information (par 60-61, par 82, par 85; e.g. for example, as discussed above the network entity can use an a priori defined backoff scheme; hence if unqualified, it is not supporting the qualifying CSI prediction).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of communication protocol configured for the electronic system of XUE with the electronic system of Madadi. One is motivated as such to improve reliability (XUE, par 23).
Regarding claim 4, XUE discloses:
wherein the first information indicating that the terminal does not support the compression of the CSI-RS information feedback with the at least one Al model indicates that a partial reporting mode is used for the CSI-RS feedback information (par 60-61, par 82, par 85; e.g. for example, as discussed above the network entity can use an a priori defined backoff scheme; hence if unqualified, it is not supporting the qualifying CSI prediction).
Regarding claim 5, Madadi discloses:
wherein the complexity information indicates at least one of (examining note: since the claim shows a limitation in an alternative form, the prior art may teach either or both limitations, and this notice applies to subsequent occurrences of claim limitations that are in the alternative form): total floating-point operations per second of a corresponding Al model, wherein the total floating-point operations per second and a maximum allowable value of CSI computation duration are jointly used for the terminal to determine whether to support the corresponding Al model in compressing the CSI-RS feedback information; and a first ratio of complexity of the corresponding Al model to the complexity of a baseline Al model, wherein the first ratio (par 132; e.g. an additional field labelled AiCfiConfig is also included, to configure the specifics of this reporting parameter such as the number of bits, compression ratio to be considered while extracting the feature) is used for the terminal to determine whether to support the corresponding Al model in compressing the CSI-RS feedback information in combination with the Al capability of the terminal and the complexity of the baseline Al model (par 132; this reporting parameter is the compressed extracted feature from the estimated CSI at the UE, which can be used by BS to reconstruct the CSI; also par 106).
Regarding claim 6, Madadi discloses:
wherein determining whether the terminal supports the compression of CSI-RS feedback information with at least one Al model comprises:
receiving Al capability information transmitted from the terminal; and determining whether the terminal supports the compression of the CSI-RS feedback information with the at least one Al model according to the Al capability information (fig. 4 & par 105-106; e.g. a BS receives the UE capability information, e.g., the support for the ML approach for CSI feedback; also par 71-72).
Regarding claim 7, Madadi discloses:
wherein the Al capability information indicates at least one of:
whether the terminal has the Al capability; floating-point operations per second supported by the terminal; floating-point operations per second supported by the terminal within a maximum allowable value of CSI computation duration; and a second ratio indicating a ratio of the Al capability of the terminal to complexity of a baseline Al model (fig. 4 & par 105-106; e.g. a BS receives the UE capability information, e.g., the support for the ML approach for CSI feedback; also par 71-72).
Regarding claim 9, Madadi discloses a method for processing information, performed by a terminal, comprising:
transmitting second information, wherein the second information is used for a base station (fig. 4, fig. 6 & par 105-106; e.g. a BS receives the UE capability information, e.g., the support for the ML approach for CSI feedback; also par 71-72) to determine whether the terminal supports compression of channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS) feedback information with at least one artificial intelligence (AI) model (par 106; e.g. the BS is aware of the ML model being used at the UE for CSI feedback and is capable of interpreting the feedback information sent by the UE).
Regarding claim 10, Madadi discloses:
wherein the second information comprises: Al capability information indicating an Al capability of the terminal (fig. 4 & par 105-106; e.g. a BS receives the UE capability information, e.g., the support for the ML approach for CSI feedback; also par 71-72).
Regarding claim 11, Madadi discloses:
wherein the Al capability information indicates at least one of:
whether the terminal has the Al capability; floating-point operations per second supported by the terminal; floating-point operations per second supported by the terminal within a maximum allowable value of CSI computation duration; and a second ratio indicating a ratio of the Al capability of the terminal to complexity of a baseline Al model (fig. 4, fig. 6 & par 105-106; e.g. a BS receives the UE capability information, e.g., the support for the ML approach for CSI feedback; also par 71-72).
Regarding claim12, Madadi discloses:
wherein the second information comprises: first information used to indicate whether the terminal supports the compression of the CSI-RS feedback information with the at least one Al model (fig. 4, fig. 6 & par 105-106; e.g. a BS receives the UE capability information, e.g., the support for the ML approach for CSI feedback; also par 71-72).
Regarding claim 14, XUE discloses:
wherein the first information indicating that the terminal does not support the compression of the CSI-RS information feedback with the at least one Al model indicates that a partial reporting mode is used for the CSI-RS feedback information (par 60-61, par 82, par 85; e.g. for example, as discussed above the network entity can use an a priori defined backoff scheme; hence if unqualified, it is not supporting the qualifying CSI prediction).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of communication protocol configured for the electronic system of XUE with the electronic system of Madadi. One is motivated as such to improve reliability (XUE, par 23).
Regarding claim 15, XUE discloses:
receiving complexity information of the at least one Al model (par 69, par 80; e.g. the network entity can configure the UE to predict CSI and quantize one or more CSI difference values by transmitting, to the UE, a configuration message including the CSI prediction model and a qualifying scheme that the UE can use to quantize the accuracy); and transmitting the second information comprises: transmitting the first information to the base station according to the complexity information of the at least one AI model and an AI capability of the terminal (par 70, par 80-82; e.g. If the UE does not report the predicted CSI or reports that a prediction is an unqualified prediction, the network entity may determine that the CSI prediction model did not accurately predict CSI; par 60-61, par 82, par 85; e.g. for example, as discussed above the network entity can use an a priori defined backoff scheme; hence if unqualified, it is not supporting the qualifying CSI prediction).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of communication protocol configured for the electronic system of XUE with the electronic system of Madadi. One is motivated as such to improve reliability (XUE, par 23).
Regarding claim 16, XUE discloses:
wherein the transmitting the first information to the base station according to the complexity information of the at least one Al model and the Al capability of the terminal comprises at least one of: transmitting the first information indicating that the at least one Al model is supported in compressing the CSI-RS feedback information to the base station when it is determined that the terminal supports one Al model in compressing the CSI-RS feedback information according to the complexity information of the at least one Al model and the Al capability of the terminal; selecting, according to a resource scheduling situation of the terminal, the one Al model supported by the terminal, and sending to the base station the first information of supporting the one Al model in compressing the CSI-RS feedback information when it is determined that the terminal supports a plurality of Al models in compressing the CSI-RS feedback information according to the complexity information of the at least one Al model and the Al capability of the terminal; and transmitting the first information indicating that the terminal does not support the at least one Al model in compressing the CSI-RS feedback information to the base station when it is determined that the terminal does not support the at least one Al model in compressing the CSI-RS feedback information according to the complexity information of the at least one Al model and the Al capability of the terminal (par 60-61, par 82, par 85; e.g. for example, as discussed above the network entity can use an a priori defined backoff scheme; hence if unqualified, it is not supporting the qualifying CSI prediction).
Regarding claim 17, Madadi discloses:
wherein the complexity information indicates at least one of:
total floating-point operations per second of a corresponding Al model, wherein the total floating-point operations per second and a maximum allowable value of CSI computation duration are jointly used for the terminal to determine whether to support the corresponding Al model in compressing the CSI-RS feedback information; and a first ratio of complexity of the corresponding Al model to the complexity of a baseline Al model, wherein the first ratio is used for the terminal to determine whether to support the corresponding Al model in compressing the CSI-RS feedback information in combination with the Al capability of the terminal and the complexity of the baseline Al model (par 132; e.g. an additional field labelled AiCfiConfig is also included, to configure the specifics of this reporting parameter such as the number of bits, compression ratio to be considered while extracting the feature).
Regarding claim 20, Madadi discloses one or more processors, a transceiver, a memory, and an executable program stored in the memory and executable by the one or more processors (see par 96), wherein the one or more processors are collectively configured to:
transmitting second information, wherein the second information is used for a base station (fig. 4, fig. 6 & par 105-106; e.g. a BS receives the UE capability information, e.g., the support for the ML approach for CSI feedback; also par 71-72) to determine whether the terminal supports compression of channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS) feedback information with at least one artificial intelligence (AI) model (par 106; e.g. the BS is aware of the ML model being used at the UE for CSI feedback and is capable of interpreting the feedback information sent by the UE).
Regarding claim 21, Madadi discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, storing an executable program, wherein the executable program implements the method according to claim 9 (see par 18).
Regarding claim 22, Madadi discloses:
wherein the complexity information indicates at least one of:
total floating-point operations per second of a corresponding Al model, wherein the total floating-point operations per second and a maximum allowable value of CSI computation duration are jointly used for the terminal to determine whether to support the corresponding Al model in compressing the CSI-RS feedback information; and a first ratio of complexity of the corresponding Al model to the complexity of a baseline Al model, wherein the first ratio is used for the terminal to determine whether to support the corresponding Al model in compressing the CSI-RS feedback information in combination with the Al capability of the terminal and the complexity of the baseline Al model (par 132; e.g. an additional field labelled AiCfiConfig is also included, to configure the specifics of this reporting parameter such as the number of bits, compression ratio to be considered while extracting the feature).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 8 and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/YAOTANG WANG/SCE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2409