DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I (claims 1-13) in the reply filed on September 29, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground that a search for one group would encompass a search for the other such that the entire application could be performed without serious burden. This is not found persuasive. While examiner disagrees with the argument concerning the serious burden, the restriction is based on the unity of invention, which does not require a serious burden as a condition for the restriction requirement. Therefore, the requirement is still deemed proper and is made FINAL.
Claims 14-16 have been withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: burnishing element in claim 1; and spring unit in claim 1.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: the term “centre” should be written as “center.” This issue appears in other claims and those claims are objected to on the same ground as claim 1. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: the term “forwards” in Line 18 should be written as “forward.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: the term bullet in Line 8 has not been properly deleted. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “when mounted in the associated insert seat” in Line 10. The term “when” creates a lack of clarity. It is unclear whether the cutting insert is required to be mounted to the seat to create said cutting tool or not. Appropriate correction required.
Claim 1 recites “a secondary cutting edge” in Lines 10-11. It is unclear whether the cutting inserts require a primary cutting edge or not. Appropriate correction required.
Claim 1 recites “cutting edge constitutes an axially foremost cutting edge” in Lines 11. It is unclear whether the cutting inserts require more cutting edges than the secondary edge as the term “foremost” requires/infers a series. Appropriate correction required.
Claim 1 recites “as seen in a reference direction from the rear end of the tool body towards the front end of the tool body in parallel with the centre axis” in Lines 12-13. It is unclear whether the requirement of “as seen in” requires the viewpoint to be in the direction as suggested by the language or if the view is taken perpendicular to the centre axis while the cutting edge is considered axially foremost in the reference direction. The “as seen in” language is recited through the claims and is rejected on the same grounds. Appropriate correction required.
Claim 1 recites “bulging end part” in Line 19. Antecedent basis has already been set forth for this limitation. As such, the limitation should be referred to as “the bulging end part” unless Applicant is attempting to set forth a different bulging end part. If the latter, the bulging end parts would need to be distinctly identified (e.g., a first and a second). Appropriate correction required.
Claim 1 recites “a reference plane . . . contains or substantially contains an axially foremost point of the secondary cutting edge” in Lines 27-29. Antecedent basis for “an axially foremost point” has already been established such that it is unclear whether this recitation refers back to the point or if this is somehow another point. In addition, the metes and bounds of “substantially” containing the point are not clearly delineated. Appropriate correction required.
Claim 1 recites “the at least two insert seats and the several burnishing assemblies are alternately arranged in the circumferential direction of the tool body such that each one of the at least two insert seats is followed by an associated one of the several burnishing assemblies as seen in an intended direction of rotation of the tool body.” It is unclear what is required by the “as seen in an intended direction of rotation” limitation. That is, it is unclear whether the view is taken in said direction as suggested by the language or if the arrangement is merely in that direction (and seen in a different direction such as an end view parallel to the centre axis). Appropriate correction required.
Claim 2 recites “when mounted in the associated insert seat” in Lines 5-6. The term “when” creates a lack of clarity. It is unclear whether the cutting insert is required to be mounted to the seat to create said cutting tool or not. Appropriate correction required.
Claim 4 recites “at least substantially evenly distributed about the centre axis” in Lines 2-3 and 4-5, respectively. The metes and bounds of “at least substantially evenly distributed” are not clearly delineated. That is, the boundary between “at least substantially evenly” and not considered such is unclear. Furthermore, the phrase “at least” creates vagueness as to what is required by the spacing being at least substantially evenly distributed. Appropriate correction required.
Claim 4 recites “the recommended maximum feed per tooth for the face milling cutter” in Line 7. The limitation “the recommended maximum feed per tooth” lacks proper antecedent basis. Indeed, the claim lacks mention of any teeth. Additionally, the metes and bounds of what is “recommended” is not clearly delineated. Appropriate correction required.
Claim 4 recites “as seen from the centre axis of the tool body” in Line 8. It is unclear whether the view is from the centre axis or the angle is measured from the axis and between two points in a view parallel to the centre axis. The same issue is present in the recitation of similar language in Line 11. Appropriate correction required.
Claim 4 recites “directly after the cutting insert as seen in the intended direction of rotation of the tool body.” The scope of “directly after” is vague. It is unclear whether it is merely the next or associated burnishing element or if the directly after must be a positional relationship as it is directly behind as in connected to the cutting insert. It is also unclear whether the cutting insert is mounted or not. The “as seen” limitation is also rejected on the same grounds as that recited for the limitation in claim 1. Appropriate correction required.
Claim 5 recites “at least substantially evenly distributed about the centre axis” in Lines 2-3 and 4-5, respectively. The metes and bounds of “at least substantially evenly distributed” are not clearly delineated. That is, the boundary between “at least substantially evenly” and not considered such is unclear. Furthermore, the phrase “at least” creates vagueness as to what is required by the spacing being at least substantially evenly distributed. Appropriate correction required.
Claim 5 recites “the recommended minimum feed per tooth for the face milling cutter” in Line 7. The limitation “the recommended minimum feed per tooth” lacks proper antecedent basis. Indeed, the claim lacks mention of any teeth. Additionally, the metes and bounds of what is “recommended” is not clearly delineated. Appropriate correction required.
Claim 5 recites “the recommended maximum feed per tooth for the face milling cutter” in Line 8. The limitation “the recommended maximum feed per tooth” lacks proper antecedent basis. Indeed, the claim lacks mention of any teeth. Additionally, the metes and bounds of what is “recommended” is not clearly delineated. Appropriate correction required.
Claim 5 recites “as seen from the centre axis of the tool body” in Line 9. It is unclear whether the view is from the centre axis or the angle is measured from the axis and between two points in a view parallel to the centre axis. The same issue is present in the recitation of similar language in Line 12. Appropriate correction required.
Claim 5 recites “directly after the cutting insert as seen in the intended direction of rotation of the tool body.” The scope of “directly after” is vague. It is unclear whether it is merely the next or associated burnishing element or if the directly after must be a positional relationship as it is directly behind as in connected to the cutting insert. It is also unclear whether the cutting insert is mounted or not. The “as seen” limitation is also rejected on the same grounds as that recited for the limitation in claim 1. Appropriate correction required.
Claim 6 recites “at least substantially evenly distributed about the centre axis” in Lines 2-3 and 4-5, respectively. The metes and bounds of “at least substantially evenly distributed” are not clearly delineated. That is, the boundary between “at least substantially evenly” and not considered such is unclear. Furthermore, the phrase “at least” creates vagueness as to what is required by the spacing being at least substantially evenly distributed. Appropriate correction required.
Claim 6 recites “as seen from the centre axis of the tool body” in Line 7. It is unclear whether the view is from the centre axis or the angle is measured from the axis and between two points in a view parallel to the centre axis. The same issue is present in the recitation of similar language in Line 10. Appropriate correction required.
Claim 6 recites “directly after the cutting insert as seen in the intended direction of rotation of the tool body.” The scope of “directly after” is vague. It is unclear whether it is merely the next or associated burnishing element or if the directly after must be a positional relationship as it is directly behind as in connected to the cutting insert. It is also unclear whether the cutting insert is mounted or not. The “as seen” limitation is also rejected on the same grounds as that recited for the limitation in claim 1. Appropriate correction required.
Claim 7 recites “as seen when the burnishing element of each burnishing assembly is in the retracted position.” It is unclear, given the term “when,” whether the limitation preceding the “when” condition is required if the condition never occurs. Appropriate correction required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otani et al. (JP H11-10432 A) in view of Chen et al. (GB 2574437 A).
(Claim 1) Otani et al. (“Otani”) discloses a face milling cutter (Fig. 1) that includes a tool body (5, 11) having a front end (5) and an opposite rear end (11), the rear end being configured for attachment to a machine (Translation; Fig. 1). A longitudinal center axis of the tool body extends between the rear end and the front end of the tool body (Fig. 1). At least two cutting inserts (6; Translation) arranged for forming a milled flat surface on a workpiece (12). At least two insert seats provided in the tool body (5) and distributed in a circumferential direction of the tool body (Translation), the at least two insert seats being configured to accommodate a respective one of the at least two cutting inserts (6). Each cutting insert (6) of the at least two cutting inserts, when mounted in the associated insert seat (Fig. 1), has a secondary cutting edge that constitutes an axially foremost cutting edge of the cutting insert, as seen in a reference direction (axial direction) from the rear end (11) of the tool body towards the front end (5) of the tool body in parallel with the center axis of the tool body (Fig. 1). Several burnishing assemblies (7, 8, 9, 5a) are arranged in the tool body (5). Each burnishing assembly includes a burnishing element (7), which is partly received in a chamber (5a) of the burnishing assembly and having an outwardly bulging end part that projects from the chamber and forwards from the tool body (5) as seen in said the reference direction (Fig. 1). The bulging end part ends in a rounded tip (Fig. 1) that constitutes an axially foremost point of the burnishing element as seen in said the reference direction (Fig. 1). A spring unit (8, 9) is provided in said the chamber (5a). The burnishing element (7), against the action of a spring force from the spring unit, is moveable inwards in the chamber in a direction opposite to said the reference direction from an advanced position (Fig. 1; Translation), in which the burnishing element rests against a dedicated seat (9) in the chamber (5a) and in which said the bulging end part of the burnishing element (7) projects in said the reference direction beyond a reference plane that extends perpendicularly to the center axis of the tool body (5, 11) and contains or substantially contains an axially foremost point of the secondary cutting edge of each one of the at least two cutting inserts (6), to a retracted position, in which said the rounded tip of the burnishing element (7) is on a level with said the reference plane (Fig. 1). Otani does not explicitly disclose the number of the several burnishing assemblies in the tool body being the same as a number of the at least two insert seats (10); and the at least two insert seats and the several burnishing assemblies being alternately arranged in the circumferential direction of the tool body such that each one of the at least two insert seats is followed by an associated one of the several burnishing assemblies as seen in an intended direction of rotation of the tool body.
Chen et al. (“Chen”) discloses a cutter having a plurality of cutting inserts (108) and aplurality of burnishing assemblies (110). The number of the several burnishing assemblies (110) in the tool body is the same as a number of the at least two insert seats (Figs. 1-4); and the at least two insert seats and the several burnishing assemblies being alternately arranged in the circumferential direction of the tool body such that each one of the at least two insert seats is followed by an associated one of the several burnishing assemblies as seen in an intended direction of rotation of the tool bod (Figs. 1-4). At a time prior to filing it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to provide the face milling cutter disclosed in Otani with an equal amount of burnishing assemblies to cutting insert seats in alternating arrangement as suggested by Chen in order to provide a roughing cut and then a finishing burnish to the workpiece surface and/or as obvious to try – choosing from a finite number of solutions – leading to the predictable result of roughing and then finishing operations. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 418 (2007) (reciting several exemplary rationales that may support a finding of obviousness); In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019 (CCPA 1950) (holding claim unpatentable because shifting the position of a feature would not have modified the operation of the device); In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553 (CCPA 1975) (holding the particular placement of a claimed feature to be an obvious matter of design choice).
(Claim 3) The at least two cutting inserts (6) are positioned with the axially foremost point of the secondary cutting edge at a substantially same radial distance from the center axis of the tool body (Fig. 1). The axially foremost point of the burnishing element (7) of each burnishing assembly of the several burnishing assemblies is located closer to the center axis of the tool body than the axially foremost point of the secondary cutting edge of each cutting insert (6) of the at least two cutting inserts such that there is a radial distance between the axially foremost point of the burnishing element (7) of each burnishing assembly of the several burnishing assemblies and the axially foremost point of the secondary cutting edge of each cutting insert of the at least two cutting inserts (Fig. 1).
(Claims 4-6) Otani does not explicitly disclose evenly circumferentially spaced insert seats or evenly circumferentially spaced burnishing assemblies.
Chen discloses equal circumferential spacing of both cutting insert seats and burnishing assemblies (Figs. 2-4). At a time prior to filing it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to provide the face milling cutter disclosed in Otani with respective equal spacing of burnishing assemblies and cutting insert seats as suggested by Chen in order to distribute weight equally such that resonance is balanced and/or as obvious to try – choosing from a finite number of solutions – leading to the predictable result of distributing weight. See KSR, 550 U.S. at 418. The modified device does not explicitly disclose recommended maximum or minimum feeds or angular values that satisfy the relationships claimed. Yet, the arrangement of the burnishing assembly between neighboring cutting inserts is a result-effective variable because it impacts tool balance. As such, at a time prior to filing it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to provide an arrangement as claimed in order to satisfy the claimed ranges in order to optimize tool balance/performance. See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456 (CCPA 1955) (“[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.”).
(Claim 7) In the modified device, in every plane that is parallel with said the reference plane and intersects said the end part of the burnishing element of each burnishing assembly, there is a radial distance between a radially outermost point of the burnishing element of each burnishing assembly and a radially outermost point of each cutting insert. Δr'>Δr in each such plane as seen when the burnishing element of each burnishing assembly is in said the retracted position.
(Claim 8) The burnishing element (7) of each burnishing assembly has a spherical shape (Fig. 1; Translation).
(Claim 9) Otani does not explicitly disclose a support member in each burnishing assembly.
Slatineanu et al. (“Slatineanu”) discloses a burnishing assembly (Figs. 1-4) includes a support member (140) slidably received in the chamber (Figs. 2-4) of the burnishing assembly. The burnishing element (134) of the burnishing assembly rotatably rests against a burnishing element seat (146) in the support member. At a time prior to filing it would have been to provide the face milling cutter disclosed in Otani with a support member seat as suggested by Chen in order to allow for rotatable movement of the burnishing element (Translation).
(Claim 10) In the modified cutter, the burnishing element seat (Chen 146) has a concave shape adapted to the spherical shape of the associated burnishing element (Chen Figs. 2-4).
(Claim 11) In the modified cutter, the spring unit (Otani 9) of each burnishing assembly is fitted between the support member (Chen 140) of the burnishing assembly. Otani does not explicitly disclose a stop member as claimed.
Chen discloses a stop member (156) of the burnishing assembly having an external thread (Figs. 2-4) that is in threaded engagement with an internal thread in a hole connected to the chamber of the burnishing assembly (Figs. 2-4). At a time prior to filing it would have been to provide the face milling cutter disclosed in Otani with a stop member as suggested by Chen in order to provide an adjustment means for setting the protrusion amount of the burnishing element relative to the cutter body.
(Claim 12) Otani does not explicitly disclose the spring unit of each burnishing assembly being formed by a stack of disc springs. Yet, a stack of disc springs is well-known in the prior art, the fact of which examiner takes official notice thereof. As such, at a time prior to filing ti would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to provide the milling cutter disclosed in Otani with a stack of disc springs as is well-known in the art in place of the coil spring as mere simple substitution of known elements leading to the predictable result of providing resilience to the burnishing element. See KSR, 550 U.S. at 418 (reciting several exemplary rationales that may support a finding of obviousness).
(Claim 13) Otani discloses a plurality of cutting inserts (and therefore seats), but the reference does not explicitly disclose the number of insert seats in the tool body being three or more. At a time prior to filing it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to provide the milling cutter with three or more seats for cutting inserts in order to increase cutting efficiency. See In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669 (CCPA 1960) (holding that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otani et al. (JP H11-10432 A) in view of Chen et al. (GB 2574437 A) further in view of Kuzovenko et al. (SU 1201068 A).
Otani discloses that each cutting insert (6) of said at least two cutting inserts includes: a rake face (inherent) and an abutment face (inherent) arranged on opposite sides of the cutting insert. The cutting insert (6), when mounted in the associated insert seat, is configured to abut against a tangential support surface (Fig. 1) in the insert seat via the abutment face. The cutting insert also includes a peripheral surface extending around the cutting insert between the rake face and the abutment face (Fig. 1).
The modified Otani device does not explicitly disclose circular cutting inserts (2) having a circular or arc-shaped cutting edge. The end part of a burnishing element (3, 4) has a spherical shape with a radius of curvature smaller than a radius of the circular or substantially arc-shaped cutting edge of the cutting insert (Fig. 2). At a time prior to filing it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the milling cutter disclosed in Otani to be compatible with circular cutting inserts as taught by Kuzovenko as obvious to try – from a finite number of solutions – leading to the predictable result of forming a cut surface. See KSR, 550 at 418. In the modified cutter, the end part of the burnishing element of each burnishing assembly having a spherical shape with a radius of curvature substantially equal to or smaller than a radius of the substantially circular or substantially arc-shaped cutting edge of the cutting inserts.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otani et al. (JP H11-10432 A) in view of Chen et al. (GB 2574437 A) further in view of Slatineanu et al. (RO 135368 B1).
Otani does not explicitly disclose a support member in each burnishing assembly.
Slatineanu et al. (“Slatineanu”) discloses a burnishing assembly (Fig. 4) includes a support member (Translation discussing additional balls in which burnishing element 11 is seated upon) slidably received in the chamber (Fig. 4) of the burnishing assembly. The burnishing element (11) of the burnishing assembly rotatably rests against a burnishing element seat (14 and additional balls) in the support member (Fig. 4). At a time prior to filing it would have been to provide the face milling cutter disclosed in Otani with a support member seat as suggested by Slatineanu in order to allow for rotatable movement of the burnishing element (Translation).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See Tsumarew et al. (SU 872231 A1) (disclosing a face milling cutter with a plurality of cutting inserts and radially offset burnishing assemblies).
/RYAN RUFO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3722