DETAILED ACTION
This is the initial office action based on the application filed on September 12th, 2024, which claims 1-34 are presented for examination.
Status of Claims
Claims 17-21, 23-30, and 32 have been preliminarily canceled.
Claims 33-34 have been newly added.
Claims 1-16, 22, 31, and 33-34 are pending in the application and have been examined below, of which, claims 1, 11, 22, and 31 are presented in independent form.
Effective Date
Effective date that has been considered for this application is March 16th, 2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on September 12th, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Internet E-mail
A written authorization by Applicant is required for the Examiner to respond via
internet e-mail to any Internet correspondence which contains information subject to the
confidentiality requirement as set forth in 35 U3.0. 122, such as proposed Examiner’s
Amendments or interview agenda items (MPEP 502.03; See Internet Usage Policy, 64
PR 33056 (June 21, 1999)). To authorize e-mail communications from the Examiner
(e.g. proposed Examiner’s Amendments), the Applicant must place a written
authorization in the record. Applicant may authorize electronic and email communication
by the Examiner via PTO Automated Interview Request web service. To schedule an
interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request
(AER) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
Examiner Notes
Examiner cites particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-16 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites limitation “updating a firmware of a first controller” in line 7. It should be -- updating a first firmware of a first controller -- to be distinguish with “updating firmware of a controller” recited in claim 2.
Claims 2, 3, 5, and 10 recite the limitation “updating the firmware of the first controller” in lines 2, 1, 2, and 1, respectively. They should be -- updating the first firmware of the first controller --.
Claims 2-16: are dependent on claim 1 but not cure the deficiencies of that claim. Accordingly, they are objected for the same reasons.
Claim 4 recites limitations “updating a firmware of a second controller” and “the updating the firmware of the second controller” in lines 2 and 4 respectively. They should be -- updating a second firmware of a second controller -- and -- the updating the second firmware of the second controller --, respectively.
Claims 5-6: are dependent on claim 4 but not cure the deficiencies of that claim. Accordingly, they are objected for the same reasons.
Claim 8 recites the limitations “establishing a near field communication connection” in lines 1-2 and “the near field communication” in lines 5-6. They should be -- establishing [[a]] the near field communication connection -- and -- the near field communication device --, respectively.
Claim 9 recites the limitation “establishing a near field communication connection” in lines 1-2. It should be -- establishing [[a]] the near field communication connection --.
Claim 10 recites the limitation “a firmware update process” in lines 2-3. It should be – [[a]] the firmware update process --.
Claim 15 recites the limitation “updates the second firmware” in line 2. It should be -- updates the second firmware data --.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 11-13, 31, and 33-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ji (Pub. No.: US 2015/0178067 – hereinafter, Ji – IDS filed 9/12/2024).
Regarding claim 1:
Ji discloses a method, comprising:
operating a near field communication reader in a reader mode (FIG. 2 and associated text, such as, “As shown in FIG. 2, the system according to the present disclosure includes a mobile device 100 having NFC functionality, an update server 200 to provide vehicle software and map information over a wireless network 210, an NFC antenna 230 attached to one side in a vehicle to transmit and receive data through an NFC interface 220 between the mobile device 100 and an in-vehicle device 240, the in-vehicle device 240 connected to the NFC antenna 230 in a wired fashion, the in-vehicle device 240 being mounted in a vehicle, and a GPS 250 to transmit a GPS signal necessary for positioning to the mobile device 100 and the in-vehicle device 240.” (See para [0088]));
establishing, with the near field communication reader, a near field communication connection with a near field communication device (FIG. 1 and associated text, such as, “the mobile device 100 may identify an in-vehicle device capable of performing NFC communication through the sensing unit 120 and commence an NFC communication connection,” (See para [0069]). FIG. 2 and associated text, such as, “As shown in FIG. 2, the system according to the present disclosure includes a mobile device 100 having NFC functionality, an update server 200 to provide vehicle software and map information over a wireless network 210, an NFC antenna 230 attached to one side in a vehicle to transmit and receive data through an NFC interface 220 between the mobile device 100 and an in-vehicle device 240, the in-vehicle device 240 connected to the NFC antenna 230 in a wired fashion, the in-vehicle device 240 being mounted in a vehicle, and a GPS 250 to transmit a GPS signal necessary for positioning to the mobile device 100 and the in-vehicle device 240.” (See para [0088]). FIG. 3 and associated text, such as, “The NFC control module 320 is a module that controls an NFC connection. The NFC control module 320 senses NFC tagging of an external device, such as the mobile device 100, to commence NFC connection or performs an operation to pair the NFC connection to another communication means.” (See para [0105]));
reading, from the near field communication device with the near field communication reader, first firmware update data (FIG. 2 and associated text, such as, “the mobile device 100 transmits the latest software and map information received from the update server 200 to the in-vehicle device 240 through the NFC interface 220.” (See para [0100]). FIG. 4 and associated text, such as, “the mobile device 100 sets Wi-Fi Direct connection through NFC connection and transmits the received latest software to the in-vehicle device 240 through the set Wi-Fi Direct connection (S419).” (See para [0119]). FIG. 6 and associated text, such as, “When downloading from the update server 200 is completed, a predetermined popup notification window 610 indicating completion of downloading may be displayed on a screen of the mobile device 100... In addition, when downloading from the update server 200 is completed, the user may simply NFC tag the mobile device 100 on the software version confirmation screen 600 to transmit the downloaded latest software to the in-vehicle device 240.” (See para [0130])); and
updating a firmware of a first controller with the first firmware update data (FIG. 4 and associated text, such as, “When reception of the latest software is completed, the latest software is installed in the in-vehicle device 240 (S421).” (See para [0119]). FIG. 6 and associated text, such as, “When downloading from the update server 200 is completed, a predetermined popup notification window 610 indicating completion of downloading may be displayed on a screen of the mobile device 100. When an ‘install now’ button displayed on the popup notification window 610 is clicked, the downloaded latest software may be transmitted to the in-vehicle device 240.” (See para [0130])).
Regarding claim 2:
The rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, Ji further discloses wherein the near field communication reader is part of an electronic system FIG. 3 and associated text, such as, “The NFC control module 320 is a module that controls an NFC connection. The NFC control module 320 senses NFC tagging of an external device, such as the mobile device 100, to commence NFC connection or performs an operation to pair the NFC connection to another communication means.” (See para [0105])), and the updating the firmware of the first controller comprises updating firmware of a controller of the electronic system (FIG. 6 and associated text, such as, “When downloading from the update server 200 is completed, a predetermined popup notification window 610 indicating completion of downloading may be displayed on a screen of the mobile device 100. When an ‘install now’ button displayed on the popup notification window 610 is clicked, the downloaded latest software may be transmitted to the in-vehicle device 240.” (See para [0130])).
Regarding claim 3:
The rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, Ji further discloses wherein the updating the firmware of the first controller comprises updating firmware of a controller of the near field communication reader (FIG. 4 and associated text, such as, “When reception of the latest software is completed, the latest software is installed in the in-vehicle device 240 (S421).” (See para [0119]). FIG. 6 and associated text, such as, “When downloading from the update server 200 is completed, a predetermined popup notification window 610 indicating completion of downloading may be displayed on a screen of the mobile device 100. When an ‘install now’ button displayed on the popup notification window 610 is clicked, the downloaded latest software may be transmitted to the in-vehicle device 240.” (See para [0130])).
Regarding claim 4:
The rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, Ji further comprising:
reading, from the near field communication device with the near field communication reader, second firmware data (FIG. 2 and associated text, such as, “Subsequently, the mobile device 100 transmits a predetermined control message, such as a software update request message, including software version information and vehicle type information to the update server 200 over the wireless network. The update server 200 determines whether the received software version is the latest version of the vehicle. Upon determining that the received software version is not the latest version, the update server 200 transmits the latest software of the vehicle to the mobile device 100 over the wireless network 210.” (See para [0090])); and
updating a firmware of a second controller with the second firmware update data (FIG. 2 and associated text, such as, “Subsequently, the mobile device 100 transmits a predetermined control message, such as a software update request message, including software version information and vehicle type information to the update server 200 over the wireless network. The update server 200 determines whether the received software version is the latest version of the vehicle. Upon determining that the received software version is not the latest version, the update server 200 transmits the latest software of the vehicle to the mobile device 100 over the wireless network 210.” (See para [0090])).
Regarding claim 5:
The rejection of claim 4 is incorporated, Ji further discloses wherein,
the updating the firmware of the first controller comprises updating firmware of a controller of the near field communication reader (FIG. 6 and associated text, such as, “When downloading from the update server 200 is completed, a predetermined popup notification window 610 indicating completion of downloading may be displayed on a screen of the mobile device 100. When an ‘install now’ button displayed on the popup notification window 610 is clicked, the downloaded latest software may be transmitted to the in-vehicle device 240.” (See para [0130])); and
the updating the firmware of the second controller comprises updating firmware of a controller of an electronic system that includes the near field communication reader (FIG. 2 and associated text, such as, “Subsequently, the mobile device 100 transmits a predetermined control message, such as a software update request message, including software version information and vehicle type information to the update server 200 over the wireless network. The update server 200 determines whether the received software version is the latest version of the vehicle. Upon determining that the received software version is not the latest version, the update server 200 transmits the latest software of the vehicle to the mobile device 100 over the wireless network 210.” (See para [0090])).
Regarding claim 6:
The rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, Ji further discloses wherein the electronic system is part of a vehicle (FIG. 2 and associated text, such as, “FIG. 2 is a view showing configuration of a vehicle software upgrade system according to embodiments of the present disclosure.” (Se para [0087])).
Regarding claim 7:
The rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, Ji further discloses wherein the near field communication device is a mobile phone operating in a card emulation mode (FIG. 2 and associated text, such as, “The mobile device 100 has an NFC controller and an NFC antenna built therein. The mobile device 100 may acquire current software version information and vehicle type information from the in-vehicle device 240 through NFC tagging.” (See para [0089])).
Regarding claim 11:
Ji discloses an electronic system, comprising:
a near field communication reader including a radiofrequency transceiver (FIG. 2 and associated text, such as, “The mobile device 100 has an NFC controller and an NFC antenna built therein. The mobile device 100 may acquire current software version information and vehicle type information from the in-vehicle device 240 through NFC tagging.” (See para [0089])); and
a first controller including first firmware data, wherein the near field communication reader, in a reader mode of operation (FIG. 2 and associated text, such as, “As shown in FIG. 2, the system according to the present disclosure includes a mobile device 100 having NFC functionality, an update server 200 to provide vehicle software and map information over a wireless network 210, an NFC antenna 230 attached to one side in a vehicle to transmit and receive data through an NFC interface 220 between the mobile device 100 and an in-vehicle device 240, the in-vehicle device 240 connected to the NFC antenna 230 in a wired fashion, the in-vehicle device 240 being mounted in a vehicle, and a GPS 250 to transmit a GPS signal necessary for positioning to the mobile device 100 and the in-vehicle device 240.” (See para [0088])), establishes communication with a near field communication device, reads first firmware update data from the near field communication device and provides the first firmware update data to the first controller (FIG. 1 and associated text, such as, “the mobile device 100 may identify an in-vehicle device capable of performing NFC communication through the sensing unit 120 and commence an NFC communication connection,” (See para [0069]). FIG. 2 and associated text, such as, “As shown in FIG. 2, the system according to the present disclosure includes a mobile device 100 having NFC functionality, an update server 200 to provide vehicle software and map information over a wireless network 210, an NFC antenna 230 attached to one side in a vehicle to transmit and receive data through an NFC interface 220 between the mobile device 100 and an in-vehicle device 240, the in-vehicle device 240 connected to the NFC antenna 230 in a wired fashion, the in-vehicle device 240 being mounted in a vehicle, and a GPS 250 to transmit a GPS signal necessary for positioning to the mobile device 100 and the in-vehicle device 240.” (See para [0088]). FIG. 3 and associated text, such as, “The NFC control module 320 is a module that controls an NFC connection. The NFC control module 320 senses NFC tagging of an external device, such as the mobile device 100, to commence NFC connection or performs an operation to pair the NFC connection to another communication means.” (See para [0105])).
Regarding claim 12:
The rejection of claim 11 is incorporated, Ji further discloses wherein the first controller, in operation, updates the first firmware data with the first firmware update data (FIG. 4 and associated text, such as, “When reception of the latest software is completed, the latest software is installed in the in-vehicle device 240 (S421).” (See para [0119]). FIG. 6 and associated text, such as, “When downloading from the update server 200 is completed, a predetermined popup notification window 610 indicating completion of downloading may be displayed on a screen of the mobile device 100. When an ‘install now’ button displayed on the popup notification window 610 is clicked, the downloaded latest software may be transmitted to the in-vehicle device 240.” (See para [0130])).
Regarding claim 13:
The rejection of claim 11 is incorporated, Ji further discloses wherein the first controller is a controller of the near field communication reader (FIG. 4 and associated text, such as, “When reception of the latest software is completed, the latest software is installed in the in-vehicle device 240 (S421).” (See para [0119]). FIG. 6 and associated text, such as, “When downloading from the update server 200 is completed, a predetermined popup notification window 610 indicating completion of downloading may be displayed on a screen of the mobile device 100. When an ‘install now’ button displayed on the popup notification window 610 is clicked, the downloaded latest software may be transmitted to the in-vehicle device 240.” (See para [0130])).
Regarding claim 14:
The rejection of claim 12 is incorporated, Ji further comprising a second controller including second firmware data, wherein the near field communication reader, in operation, reads second firmware update data from the near field communication device and provides the second firmware update data to the second controller (FIG. 2 and associated text, such as, “Subsequently, the mobile device 100 transmits a predetermined control message, such as a software update request message, including software version information and vehicle type information to the update server 200 over the wireless network. The update server 200 determines whether the received software version is the latest version of the vehicle. Upon determining that the received software version is not the latest version, the update server 200 transmits the latest software of the vehicle to the mobile device 100 over the wireless network 210.” (See para [0090])).
Regarding claim 15:
The rejection of claim 14 is incorporated, Ji further discloses wherein the second controller, in operation, updates the second firmware with the second firmware update data (FIG. 2 and associated text, such as, “Subsequently, the mobile device 100 transmits a predetermined control message, such as a software update request message, including software version information and vehicle type information to the update server 200 over the wireless network. The update server 200 determines whether the received software version is the latest version of the vehicle. Upon determining that the received software version is not the latest version, the update server 200 transmits the latest software of the vehicle to the mobile device 100 over the wireless network 210.” (See para [0090])).
Regarding claim 16:
The rejection of claim 14 is incorporated, Ji further discloses wherein the first controller, in operation, controls the near field communication reader (FIG. 6 and associated text, such as, “When downloading from the update server 200 is completed, a predetermined popup notification window 610 indicating completion of downloading may be displayed on a screen of the mobile device 100. When an ‘install now’ button displayed on the popup notification window 610 is clicked, the downloaded latest software may be transmitted to the in-vehicle device 240.” (See para [0130])), and the second controller, in operation, controls functions of the electronic system (FIG. 2 and associated text, such as, “Subsequently, the mobile device 100 transmits a predetermined control message, such as a software update request message, including software version information and vehicle type information to the update server 200 over the wireless network. The update server 200 determines whether the received software version is the latest version of the vehicle. Upon determining that the received software version is not the latest version, the update server 200 transmits the latest software of the vehicle to the mobile device 100 over the wireless network 210.” (See para [0090])).
Regarding claim 31:
Ji discloses a method, comprising:
receiving, with a near field communication device, firmware update data (FIG. 2 and associated text, such as, “As shown in FIG. 2, the system according to the present disclosure includes a mobile device 100 having NFC functionality, an update server 200 to provide vehicle software and map information over a wireless network 210, an NFC antenna 230 attached to one side in a vehicle to transmit and receive data through an NFC interface 220 between the mobile device 100 and an in-vehicle device 240, the in-vehicle device 240 connected to the NFC antenna 230 in a wired fashion, the in-vehicle device 240 being mounted in a vehicle, and a GPS 250 to transmit a GPS signal necessary for positioning to the mobile device 100 and the in-vehicle device 240.” (See para [0088]));
establishing near field communication with a near field communication reader operating in reader mode (FIG. 1 and associated text, such as, “the mobile device 100 may identify an in-vehicle device capable of performing NFC communication through the sensing unit 120 and commence an NFC communication connection,” (See para [0069]). FIG. 2 and associated text, such as, “As shown in FIG. 2, the system according to the present disclosure includes a mobile device 100 having NFC functionality, an update server 200 to provide vehicle software and map information over a wireless network 210, an NFC antenna 230 attached to one side in a vehicle to transmit and receive data through an NFC interface 220 between the mobile device 100 and an in-vehicle device 240, the in-vehicle device 240 connected to the NFC antenna 230 in a wired fashion, the in-vehicle device 240 being mounted in a vehicle, and a GPS 250 to transmit a GPS signal necessary for positioning to the mobile device 100 and the in-vehicle device 240.” (See para [0088]). FIG. 3 and associated text, such as, “The NFC control module 320 is a module that controls an NFC connection. The NFC control module 320 senses NFC tagging of an external device, such as the mobile device 100, to commence NFC connection or performs an operation to pair the NFC connection to another communication means.” (See para [0105])); and
providing the firmware update data to the near field communication reader, wherein the firmware update data is for a controller of the near field communication reader system (FIG. 6 and associated text, such as, “When downloading from the update server 200 is completed, a predetermined popup notification window 610 indicating completion of downloading may be displayed on a screen of the mobile device 100. When an ‘install now’ button displayed on the popup notification window 610 is clicked, the downloaded latest software may be transmitted to the in-vehicle device 240.” (See para [0130])).
Regarding claim 33:
The rejection of claim 11 is incorporated, Ji further discloses comprising a vehicle, wherein the near field communication reader is part of the vehicle (FIG. 2 and associated text, such as, “FIG. 2 is a view showing configuration of a vehicle software upgrade system according to embodiments of the present disclosure.” (See para [0087])).
Regarding claim 34:
The rejection of claim 11 is incorporated, Ji further discloses comprising the near field communication device (FIG. 2 and associated text, such as, “As shown in FIG. 2, the system according to the present disclosure includes a mobile device 100 having NFC functionality, an update server 200 to provide vehicle software and map information over a wireless network 210, an NFC antenna 230 attached to one side in a vehicle to transmit and receive data through an NFC interface 220 between the mobile device 100 and an in-vehicle device 240, the in-vehicle device 240 connected to the NFC antenna 230 in a wired fashion, the in-vehicle device 240 being mounted in a vehicle, and a GPS 250 to transmit a GPS signal necessary for positioning to the mobile device 100 and the in-vehicle device 240.” (See para [0088])).
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C § 103
Claims 8-10 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Karlgaard et al. (Pub. No. 2022/0171609 – hereinafter, Karlgaard).
Regarding claim 8:
The rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, but Li does not explicitly teach:
wherein establishing a near field communication connection with the near field communication device includes: receiving a unique identification of the near field communication device with the near field communication reader; and authenticating, with the near field communication reader, the unique identification of the near field communication.
However, Karlgaard discloses:
receiving a unique identification of the near field communication device with the near field communication reader (“receiving, by the NFC reader/writer, unique ID indicators from each device of the group of devices” (See para [0005])); and
authenticating, with the near field communication reader, the unique identification of the near field communication (“transmit a verification message to verify that the data was successfully received by interrogating each device individually based on the unique ID indicator” (See para [0010]). FIG. 3 and associated text, such as, “at block 365, the signature of the updated firmware may be verified. For example, the device processor may determine that a digital signature of the version of firmware stored in the external memory device matches the digital signature of the firmware provided by the manufacturer” (See para [0040])).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Karlgaard into the teachings of Li because that would have provided data to devices in a pallet may be utilized to update firmware or provide other data, for example, but not limited to, configuration data, for devices that have been packaged and palletized without unwrapping the device as suggested by Karlgaard (See para [0037]).
Regarding claim 9:
The rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, but Li does not explicitly teach:
wherein establishing a near field communication connection with the near field communication device includes: receiving an application identification of the near field communication device with the near field communication reader; and identifying that application identification refers to a firmware update process.
However, Karlgaard discloses:
receiving an application identification of the near field communication device with the near field communication reader (FIG. 3 and associated text, such as, “In response to determining that an updated version of firmware is stored in the external memory device (360 Y), at block 365, the signature of the updated firmware may be verified. For example, the device processor may determine that a digital signature of the version of firmware stored in the external memory device matches the digital signature of the firmware provided by the manufacturer.” (See para [0040])); and
identifying that application identification refers to a firmware update process (FIG. 3 and associated text, such as, “At block 370, the updated firmware data may be validated. For example, the device processor may examine the firmware version number, or perform other checks to determine that the updated firmware data is valid. For example, the updated firmware data may be validated using an algorithm, for example, but not limited to, a cyclic redundancy check (e.g., a CRC-32 or other cyclic redundancy check), a 256-bit secure hash algorithm (SHA-256), or other algorithm.” (See para [0041])).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Karlgaard into the teachings of Li because that would have provided data to devices in a pallet may be utilized to update firmware or provide other data, for example, but not limited to, configuration data, for devices that have been packaged and palletized without unwrapping the device as suggested by Karlgaard (See para [0037]).
Regarding claim 10:
The rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, but Li does not explicitly teach:
comprising updating the firmware of the first controller responsive to identifying that that the application identification corresponds to a firmware update process.
However, Karlgaard discloses:
updating the firmware of the first controller responsive to identifying that that the application identification corresponds to a firmware update process (FIG. 3 and associated text, such as, “at block 365, the signature of the updated firmware may be verified. For example, the device processor may determine that a digital signature of the version of firmware stored in the external memory device matches the digital signature of the firmware provided by the manufacturer… At block 375, the updated firmware may be applied. A bootloader may load the updated firmware.” (See paras [0040] – [0042])).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Karlgaard into the teachings of Li because that would have provided data to devices in a pallet may be utilized to update firmware or provide other data, for example, but not limited to, configuration data, for devices that have been packaged and palletized without unwrapping the device as suggested by Karlgaard (See para [0037]).
Regarding claim 22:
Ji discloses a method, comprising:
operating a near field communication reader in a reader mode (FIG. 2 and associated text, such as, “As shown in FIG. 2, the system according to the present disclosure includes a mobile device 100 having NFC functionality, an update server 200 to provide vehicle software and map information over a wireless network 210, an NFC antenna 230 attached to one side in a vehicle to transmit and receive data through an NFC interface 220 between the mobile device 100 and an in-vehicle device 240, the in-vehicle device 240 connected to the NFC antenna 230 in a wired fashion, the in-vehicle device 240 being mounted in a vehicle, and a GPS 250 to transmit a GPS signal necessary for positioning to the mobile device 100 and the in-vehicle device 240.” (See para [0088]));
detecting a near field communication device with the near field communication reader (FIG. 2 and associated text, such as, “As shown in FIG. 2, the system according to the present disclosure includes a mobile device 100 having NFC functionality, an update server 200 to provide vehicle software and map information over a wireless network 210, an NFC antenna 230 attached to one side in a vehicle to transmit and receive data through an NFC interface 220 between the mobile device 100 and an in-vehicle device 240, the in-vehicle device 240 connected to the NFC antenna 230 in a wired fashion, the in-vehicle device 240 being mounted in a vehicle, and a GPS 250 to transmit a GPS signal necessary for positioning to the mobile device 100 and the in-vehicle device 240.” (See para [0088]));
However, Karlgaard discloses:
receiving, with the near field communication reader, a unique identification from the near field communication device (“receiving, by the NFC reader/writer, unique ID indicators from each device of the group of devices” (See para [0005])); and
receiving, with the near field communication reader, an application identification from the near field communication device indicating that the near field communication device is ready to participate in a firmware update process (FIG. 3 and associated text, such as, “In response to determining that an updated version of firmware is stored in the external memory device (360 Y), at block 365, the signature of the updated firmware may be verified. For example, the device processor may determine that a digital signature of the version of firmware stored in the external memory device matches the digital signature of the firmware provided by the manufacturer.” (See para [0040])); and
performing a firmware update process responsive to receiving the application identification (FIG. 3 and associated text, such as, “at block 365, the signature of the updated firmware may be verified. For example, the device processor may determine that a digital signature of the version of firmware stored in the external memory device matches the digital signature of the firmware provided by the manufacturer… At block 375, the updated firmware may be applied. A bootloader may load the updated firmware.” (See paras [0040] – [0042])).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Karlgaard into the teachings of Li because that would have provided data to devices in a pallet may be utilized to update firmware or provide other data, for example, but not limited to, configuration data, for devices that have been packaged and palletized without unwrapping the device as suggested by Karlgaard (See para [0037]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ashley et al. (Pub. No.: US 2015/0126110) discloses managing distribution of software updates in Near Field Communication (NFC) mobile devices includes retrieving information of one or more softwares in one or more NFC mobile devices by a NFC reader in communication range with the one or more NFC mobile devices, transmitting the retrieved information from the NFC reader to a distribution server which determines if the one or more softwares requires an update based on the retrieved information, in response to said determination, receiving an available updated software or update components of the one or more softwares from the distribution server to the NFC reader and transmitting thereof from the NFC reader to a secure element of the one or more NFC mobile devices whose one or more softwares require an updation.
/HANH THI-MINH BUI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2192 August 13th, 2026