DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species 1, Figures 1-4 and 7-9, claims 13-17 and 20-24, in the reply filed on July 15, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 18 and 19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on July 15, 2026.
Claim Objections
Claims 15-17 and 20-22 objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 15 (line 1) “Claim 13” should recite –Claim 14--.
In claim 16 (line 1) “Claim 13” should recite –Claim 15--.
In claim 17 (line 1) “Claim 13” should recite –Claim 15--.
In claim 20 (line 1) “Claim 13” should recite –Claim 14--.
In claim 21 (line 1) “Claim 13” should recite –Claim 14--.
In claim 22 (line 1) “Claim 13” should recite –Claim 21--.
For the purpose of examining the application, it is assumed that appropriate correction has been made.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 13-17 and 20-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Araki et al. (US 9,255,609).
As to claim 13, Araki et al. disclose a spacer for rotating members mounted on a drive shaft, wherein, it comprises a substantially tubular body 8 forming a seat for accommodating a drive shaft 7; said substantially tubular body being formed by bending a laminar body, made of rigid material, around a main axis of extension of said seat (Figures 1-6).
As to claim 14, Araki et al. disclose a spacer wherein it comprises at least a first bent-back portion 82,83 that substantially extends between two axial ends of said substantially tubular body 8; said first bent-back portion being formed integrally with said substantially tubular body and being made by bending said laminar body around a first bending axis which is substantially parallel to said main axis (Figures 1-6).
As to claim 15, Araki et al. disclose a spacer wherein it comprises a second bent- back portion 82,83 that substantially extends between said two axial ends of said substantially tubular body 8; said second bent-back portion being formed integrally with said substantially tubular body and being made by bending said laminar body around a second bending axis which is substantially parallel to said first bending axis and to said main axis (Figures 1-6).
As to claim 16, Araki et al. disclose a spacer wherein said first and second bent-back portions 82,83 face each other on opposite sides of a gap that substantially extends between said two axial ends of said substantially tubular body 8 (Figures 1-6).
As to claim 17, Araki et al. disclose a spacer wherein said first and second bent-back portions 82,83 substantially converge toward said main axis (Figures 1-6).
As to claim 20, Araki et al. disclose a spacer wherein it comprises one or more regions of strain-hardened material that substantially extend at each bent-back portion 82,83 (bending of the sheet material at bent-back portions 82,83 defines a strain-hardened portion of the sheet material; Figures 1-6).
As to claim 21, Araki et al. disclose a spacer wherein said two axial ends of said substantially tubular body 8 form respective axial abutting surfaces which are mutually parallel (Figures 1-6).
As to claim 22, Araki et al. disclose a spacer wherein at least one of said axial abutment surfaces has a shape capable of forming an anti-rotational constraint between said spacer and the rotating members between which it is interposed (Figures 1-6).
As to claim 23, Araki et al. disclose a spacer wherein said substantially tubular body 8 has a transverse cross-section with a substantially open profile (Figures 1-6).
As to claim 24, Araki et al. disclose a spacer wherein said laminar body has a substantially quadrangular shape (Figures 1-6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13-17 and 20-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiangsu Fengchao Pumps (CN 212803607) in view of Araki et al.
As to claims 13-17, Jiangsu Fengchao Pumps discloses a spacer for rotating members mounted on a drive shaft, wherein, it comprises a substantially tubular body 4 forming a seat for accommodating a drive shaft 2 (Figures 1-4).
Jiangsu Fengchao Pumps fails to explicitly disclose that said substantially tubular body is formed by bending a laminar body, made of rigid material, around a main axis of extension of said seat; wherein it comprises first and second bent-back portions that substantially extend between two axial ends of said substantially tubular body; said first and second bent-back portions being formed integrally with said substantially tubular body and being made by bending said laminar body around respective first and second bending axes which are substantially parallel to said main axis; wherein said first and second bent-back portions face each other on opposite sides of a gap that substantially extends between said two axial ends of said substantially tubular body and substantially converge toward said main axis.
Araki et al. teaches a spacer comprising a substantially tubular body 8 formed by bending a laminar body, made of rigid material, around a main axis of extension of a seat; wherein it comprises first and second bent-back portions 82,83 that substantially extend between two axial ends of said substantially tubular body; said first and second bent-back portions being formed integrally with said substantially tubular body and being made by bending said laminar body around respective first and second bending axes which are substantially parallel to said main axis; wherein said first and second bent-back portions face each other on opposite sides of a gap that substantially extends between said two axial ends of said substantially tubular body and substantially converge toward said main axis; the bent sheet material of the spacer enabling the spacer to resiliently flex, absorbing vibration and providing for smoother rotation of members via drive shaft 7 (Figures 1-6). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the spacer disclosed by Jiangsu Fengchao Pumps wherein the spacer is formed of bent sheet material comprising bent-back portions, as taught by Araki et al., in order to enable the spacer to resiliently flex, absorbing vibration and providing for smoother rotation of members via the drive shaft.
As to claim 20, Jiangsu Fengchao Pumps as modify by Araki et al. discloses a spacer wherein it comprises one or more regions of strain-hardened material that substantially extend at each bent-back portion (bending of the sheet material at bent-back portions 82,83 defines a strain-hardened portion of the sheet material; Araki Figure 6).
As to claim 21, Jiangsu Fengchao Pumps discloses a spacer wherein said two axial ends of said substantially tubular body 4 form respective axial abutting surfaces which are mutually parallel.
As to claim 22, Jiangsu Fengchao Pumps discloses a spacer wherein at least one of said axial abutment surfaces has a shape adapted to form an anti-rotational constraint 41,42 between said spacer and the rotating members between which it is interposed (Figures 1-4).
As to claim 23, Jiangsu Fengchao Pumps discloses a spacer wherein said substantially tubular body 4 has a transverse cross-section with a substantially open profile (Figures 1-4).
As to claim 24, Jiangsu Fengchao Pumps as modified by Araki et al. discloses a spacer wherein said laminar body (8 Araki Figure 5) has a substantially quadrangular shape.
Conclusion
08/08/26
/MICHAEL P FERGUSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619