DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Claims 1-3, 9-13, 16, 19-20, 30-31, 35, 40, 43-44, 49, 52-53, 58-59, 61-65, 67 are pending.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group 71, claims 2-3, 9-11, drawn in part to a cysteine protease that comprises SEQ ID NO: 72, as submitted in a communication filed on 9/23/2026 is acknowledged. In view of the fact that SEQ ID NO: 72 comprises amino acids 1-312 of SEQ ID NO: 2, the restriction requirement between Group 1 and Group 71 is hereby withdrawn.
Claims 12-13, 16, 19-20, 30-31, 35, 40, 43-44, 49, 52-53, 58-59, 61-65, 67 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 9/23/2026.
Claim 1 (linking claim) and claims 2-3, 9-11 are under consideration and will be examined only to the extent they encompass the elected invention.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because it contains an embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code. See page 32, paragraph [0064], two instances. Applicant is required to delete the embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code. See MPEP § 608.01.
The specification is objected for not complying with sequence rules. While Figure 1 discloses several amino acid sequences, there are no sequence identifiers associated with the amino acid sequences disclosed in Figure 1 or in the Brief Description of the Drawings section. Applicant is required to insert sequence identifiers in front of the sequences shown in Figure 1 or indicate which sequence identifiers are associated with the sequences of Figure 1 in the Brief Description of the Drawings (37 CFR 1.821(d)). Appropriate correction is required.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of a claim for domestic priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) to provisional application No. 63/269,502 filed on 03/17/2022, 63/483,984 filed on 02/09/2023, and 63/485,312 filed on 02/16/2023.
This is the US national application which entered the national stage from PCT/IB2023/052463 filed on 03/14/2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 9/23/2026 is acknowledged. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings submitted on 9/12/2024 have been reviewed and are accepted by the Examiner for examination purposes.
Claim Objections
Claims 9-10 are objected to due to the recitation of “SEQ ID NOs: ”. The term should be amended to recite “SEQ ID NO:”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 9-10 are objected to as being directed to nonelected inventions. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-3, 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to products of nature without significantly more. The claims recite in part a cysteine protease that specifically cleaves IgG that has any structure, consists essentially of amino acids 1-312 of SEQ ID NO: 2, or consists essentially of SEQ ID NO: 72, and a pharmaceutical composition that comprises any cysteine protease that cleaves IgG and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier. It is noted that in the absence of a statement indicating how much structural variability is allowed by the term “consistent essentially of”, the cysteine protease can comprise an amino acid sequence which is any variant of amino acids 1-312 of SEQ ID NO: 2 or can comprise an amino acid sequence which is any variant of SEQ ID NO: 72. See Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b) or Second Paragraph (pre-AIA ) for claim interpretation.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because claims 1-3, 9-10 are directed to a naturally occurring protein as evidenced by Kawabata et al. (GenBank accession No. BAB20904 10/24/2002), and the composition of claim 11 merely places the product of nature in combination with a generic carrier, such as water, and does not add a meaningful limitation as it is merely a nominal or token component of the claim, and is nothing more than an attempt to generally link the product of nature to a particular environment. Furthermore, to the extent that the term “pharmaceutical” conveys additional limitations to a generic composition comprising the cysteine protease in that the composition is not toxic or detrimental to an animal or a human being, a composition comprising water (pharmaceutically acceptable carrier) and the cysteine protease would be considered non-toxic or detrimental to an animal or a human being. As shown in the alignment below, Kawabata et al. discloses a cysteine protease that degrades IgG called Mac-1 or Sib38 from S. pyogenes that comprises all of SEQ ID NO: 72 except for two substitutions at positions corresponding to positions 1 and 2 in the protein of SEQ ID NO: 72. As shown in the alignment below, SEQ ID NO: 2 comprises SEQ ID NO: 72. Therefore, the protein of Kawabata et al. comprises amino acids 3-312 of SEQ ID NO: 2 as well as amino acids 3-312 of SEQ ID NO: 72. In the absence of a definition of what is considered “consisting essentially of”, one would conclude that comprising amino acids 3-312 of SEQ ID NO: 2 or 3-312 of SEQ ID NO: 72 is encompassed by the term “consisting essentially of”. According to the specification, the wildtype IdeS protein described in Table 5 of the specification is that of Wenig et al. (Proc. Natl. Acad. Sci. U.S.A. 101:17371-17376, 2004; cited in the IDS), which is the same as that of Kawabata et al. As such, the protein of Kawabata et al. would have a Tm of 54.29 °C and a Tonset of 46.8 °C as evidenced by the specification (Table 5). The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because claims 1-3, 9-10 fully encompass a naturally-occurring protein and a composition that comprises water and the cysteine protease, which is a composition that can be considered a pharmaceutical composition, does not add a meaningful limitation to the cysteine protease since the presence of water simply provides an inert medium for the naturally occurring product and does not have any effect on the functional properties of the cysteine protease. As such, the claims encompass subject matter which is not patent-eligible.
Query = SEQ ID NO:2
Sbjct = SEQ ID NO:72
NW Score Identities Positives Gaps
1647 312/321(97%) 312/321(97%) 9/321(2%)
Query 1 MGDSFSANQEIRYSEVTPYHVTSVWTKGVTPPANFTQGEDVFHAPYVANQGWYDITKTFN 60
MGDSFSANQEIRYSEVTPYHVTSVWTKGVTPPANFTQGEDVFHAPYVANQGWYDITKTFN
Sbjct 1 MGDSFSANQEIRYSEVTPYHVTSVWTKGVTPPANFTQGEDVFHAPYVANQGWYDITKTFN 60
Query 61 GKDDLLCGAATAGNMLHWWFDQNKDQIKRYLEEHPEKQKINFNGEQMFDVKEAIDTKNHQ 120
GKDDLLCGAATAGNMLHWWFDQNKDQIKRYLEEHPEKQKINFNGEQMFDVKEAIDTKNHQ
Sbjct 61 GKDDLLCGAATAGNMLHWWFDQNKDQIKRYLEEHPEKQKINFNGEQMFDVKEAIDTKNHQ 120
Query 121 LDSKLFEYFKEKAFPYLSTKHLGVFPDHVIDMFINGYRLSLTNHGPTPVKEGSKDPRGGI 180
LDSKLFEYFKEKAFPYLSTKHLGVFPDHVIDMFINGYRLSLTNHGPTPVKEGSKDPRGGI
Sbjct 121 LDSKLFEYFKEKAFPYLSTKHLGVFPDHVIDMFINGYRLSLTNHGPTPVKEGSKDPRGGI 180
Query 181 FDAVFTRGDQSKLLTSRHDFKEKNLKEISDLIKKELTEGKALGLSHTYANVRINHVINLW 240
FDAVFTRGDQSKLLTSRHDFKEKNLKEISDLIKKELTEGKALGLSHTYANVRINHVINLW
Sbjct 181 FDAVFTRGDQSKLLTSRHDFKEKNLKEISDLIKKELTEGKALGLSHTYANVRINHVINLW 240
Query 241 GADFDSNGNLKAIYVTDSDSNASIGMKKYFVGVNSAGKVAISAKEIKEDNIGAQVLGLFT 300
GADFDSNGNLKAIYVTDSDSNASIGMKKYFVGVNSAGKVAISAKEIKEDNIGAQVLGLFT
Sbjct 241 GADFDSNGNLKAIYVTDSDSNASIGMKKYFVGVNSAGKVAISAKEIKEDNIGAQVLGLFT 300
Query 301 LSTGQDSWNQTNGGGHHHHHH 321
LSTGQDSWNQTN
Sbjct 301 LSTGQDSWNQTN--------- 312
Q9F1R7_STRPY
ID Q9F1R7_STRPY Unreviewed; 339 AA.
AC Q9F1R7;
DT 01-MAR-2001, integrated into UniProtKB/TrEMBL.
DT 01-MAR-2001, sequence version 1.
DT 10-JUN-2026, entry version 107.
DE SubName: Full=IgG-degrading enzyme/Mac-1 IdeS {ECO:0000313|EMBL:VDC38975.1};
DE SubName: Full=Sib38 {ECO:0000313|EMBL:BAB20904.1};
GN Name=sib38 {ECO:0000313|EMBL:BAB20904.1};
GN ORFNames=SP119_0687 {ECO:0000313|EMBL:VDC38975.1};
OS Streptococcus pyogenes.
OC Bacteria; Bacillati; Bacillota; Bacilli; Lactobacillales; Streptococcaceae;
OC Streptococcus.
OX NCBI_TaxID=1314 {ECO:0000313|EMBL:BAB20904.1};
RN [1] {ECO:0000313|EMBL:BAB20904.1}
RP NUCLEOTIDE SEQUENCE.
RX PubMed=12207920; DOI=10.1016/S0006-291X(02)02078-8;
RA Kawabata S., Tamura Y., Murakami J., Terao Y., Nakagawa I., Hamada S.;
RT "A novel, anchorless streptococcal surface protein that binds to human
RT immunoglobulins.";
RL Biochem. Biophys. Res. Commun. 296:1329-1333(2002).
RN [2] {ECO:0007829|PDB:1Y08}
RP X-RAY CRYSTALLOGRAPHY (1.93 ANGSTROMS) OF 34-339.
RX PubMed=15574492; DOI=10.1073/pnas.0407965101;
RA Wenig K., Chatwell L., von Pawel-Rammingen U., Bjorck L., Huber R.,
RA Sondermann P.;
RT "Structure of the streptococcal endopeptidase IdeS, a cysteine proteinase
RT with strict specificity for IgG.";
RL Proc. Natl. Acad. Sci. U.S.A. 101:17371-17376(2004).
RN [3] {ECO:0000313|EMBL:VDC38975.1}
RP NUCLEOTIDE SEQUENCE [LARGE SCALE GENOMIC DNA].
RC STRAIN=S119 {ECO:0000313|EMBL:VDC38975.1};
RA Rosinski-Chupin I.;
RL Submitted (OCT-2018) to the EMBL/GenBank/DDBJ databases.
CC ---------------------------------------------------------------------------
CC Copyrighted by the UniProt Consortium, see https://www.uniprot.org/terms
CC Distributed under the Creative Commons Attribution (CC BY 4.0) License
CC ---------------------------------------------------------------------------
DR EMBL; AB045752; BAB20904.1; -; Genomic_DNA.
DR EMBL; LR031521; VDC38975.1; -; Genomic_DNA.
DR RefSeq; WP_010922160.1; NZ_AP019548.1.
DR PDB; 1Y08; X-ray; 1.93 A; A=34-339.
DR PDBsum; 1Y08; -.
DR MEROPS; C66.001; -.
DR PATRIC; fig|1314.191.peg.677; -.
DR EvolutionaryTrace; Q9F1R7; -.
DR GO; GO:0008233; F:peptidase activity; IEA:InterPro.
DR FunFam; 3.90.70.10:FF:000346; IgG-degrading protease; 1.
DR Gene3D; 3.90.70.10; Cysteine proteinases; 2.
DR InterPro; IPR015117; IdeS.
DR InterPro; IPR038765; Papain-like_cys_pep_sf.
DR Pfam; PF09028; Mac-1; 1.
DR SUPFAM; SSF54001; Cysteine proteinases; 1.
PE 1: Evidence at protein level;
KW 3D-structure {ECO:0007829|PDB:1Y08}; Signal {ECO:0000256|SAM:SignalP}.
FT SIGNAL 1..29
FT /evidence="ECO:0000256|SAM:SignalP"
FT CHAIN 30..339
FT /evidence="ECO:0000256|SAM:SignalP"
FT /id="PRO_5048131362"
FT DOMAIN 48..335
FT /note="Ig protease IdeS"
FT /evidence="ECO:0000259|Pfam:PF09028"
SQ SEQUENCE 339 AA; 38021 MW; C7D211E49994F5A2 CRC64;
Query Match 99.4%; Score 1657; Length 339;
Best Local Similarity 99.4%;
Matches 310; Conservative 1; Mismatches 1; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 MGDSFSANQEIRYSEVTPYHVTSVWTKGVTPPANFTQGEDVFHAPYVANQGWYDITKTFN 60
: ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 28 IADSFSANQEIRYSEVTPYHVTSVWTKGVTPPANFTQGEDVFHAPYVANQGWYDITKTFN 87
Qy 61 GKDDLLCGAATAGNMLHWWFDQNKDQIKRYLEEHPEKQKINFNGEQMFDVKEAIDTKNHQ 120
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 88 GKDDLLCGAATAGNMLHWWFDQNKDQIKRYLEEHPEKQKINFNGEQMFDVKEAIDTKNHQ 147
Qy 121 LDSKLFEYFKEKAFPYLSTKHLGVFPDHVIDMFINGYRLSLTNHGPTPVKEGSKDPRGGI 180
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 148 LDSKLFEYFKEKAFPYLSTKHLGVFPDHVIDMFINGYRLSLTNHGPTPVKEGSKDPRGGI 207
Qy 181 FDAVFTRGDQSKLLTSRHDFKEKNLKEISDLIKKELTEGKALGLSHTYANVRINHVINLW 240
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 208 FDAVFTRGDQSKLLTSRHDFKEKNLKEISDLIKKELTEGKALGLSHTYANVRINHVINLW 267
Qy 241 GADFDSNGNLKAIYVTDSDSNASIGMKKYFVGVNSAGKVAISAKEIKEDNIGAQVLGLFT 300
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 268 GADFDSNGNLKAIYVTDSDSNASIGMKKYFVGVNSAGKVAISAKEIKEDNIGAQVLGLFT 327
Qy 301 LSTGQDSWNQTN 312
||||||||||||
Db 328 LSTGQDSWNQTN 339
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b) or Second Paragraph (pre-AIA )
Claims 2-3, 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 2 (claims 3, 9-10 dependent thereon) is indefinite in the recitation of “…protease has greater potency or thermal stability relative to wildtype IdeS” for the following reasons. The term “wildtype IdeS” encompasses a genus of proteins and not a specific protein with a single amino acid sequence. As known in the art, one could have naturally occurring variants of a protein which would have the same activity and name. The claim does not require the comparison to be made with a specific protein but rather allows for the comparison to be made with a genus of proteins. The basis for comparison is variable, thus making the determination as to what is included or excluded from the scope of the claims impossible. A cysteine protease may or may not be encompassed by the scope of the claim depending on what is used as the basis for comparison. For example, cysteine protease A may be encompassed by the claim if the comparison is made with wild-type IdeS having SEQ ID NO: X but be excluded if the comparison is made with wild type IdeS having SEQ ID NO: Y. In addition, the term “IdeS” as recited appears to be a generic term and not limited to a particular organism. While this gene/protein nomenclature may be appropriate for S. pyogenes, the use of this nomenclature for proteins of identical function in other organisms may not be accurate. As known in the art, genes encoding proteins of identical function in two different organisms may use different designations. For example, the ARO4 gene of Candida albicans encodes a DAHP synthase whereas the E. coli counterpart is the aroF gene. See the abstract of Sousa et al. (Microbiology 148(Pt5):1291-1303, 2002). As such, the use of gene/protein terminology which is applicable to some organisms and not to others as used herein is confusing since one cannot determine if by using this nomenclature, the claims are limiting the organism from which this protein derives to those that use the same nomenclature. For examination purposes, claim 2 will be interpreted as a duplicate of claim 1. Correction is required.
Claim 3 is indefinite in the recitation of “…greater compared to wildtype IdeS protein……greater compared to wildtype IdeS protein……compared to wildtype IdeS…” for the following reasons. The term “wildtype IdeS” encompasses a genus of proteins and not a specific protein with a single amino acid sequence. As known in the art, one could have naturally occurring variants of a protein which would have the same activity and name. The claim does not require the comparison to be made with a specific protein but rather allows for the comparison to be made with a genus of proteins. The basis for comparison is variable, thus making the determination as to what is included or excluded from the scope of the claims impossible. A cysteine protease may or may not be encompassed by the scope of the claim depending on what is used as the basis for comparison. For example, cysteine protease A may be encompassed by the claim if the comparison is made with wild-type IdeS having SEQ ID NO: X but be excluded if the comparison is made with wild type IdeS having SEQ ID NO: Y. For examination purposes, no patentable weight will be given to the terms “wherein said cysteine protease has a Tonset value …greater compared to wildtype IdeS protein”, “said cysteine protease has a Tm value…greater compared to wildtype IdeS protein…”, and “said cysteine protease has IgG cleaving potency…less compared to wildtype IdeS”. Correction is required.
Claims 9-10 are indefinite in the recitation of “consists essentially of amino acid numbers 1-312 of…SEQ ID NO: 2…or amino acid numbers 2-312 of …SEQ ID NO: 2..” and “…consists essentially of…SEQ ID NO: 72..” for the following reasons. The term “essentially” is a relative term and the claims fail to provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree. The term “consists essentially of” is unclear because one cannot determine how much of the recited fragment of SEQ ID NO: 2, or how much of SEQ ID NO: 72 is encompassed by the term. For example, how much of SEQ ID NO: 72 is encompassed by “consists essentially of SEQ ID NO: 72”. Does the term limits the cysteine protease to one that comprises only fragments of 72, or does the term allow the cysteine protease to be a variant that comprises any type of modifications within SEQ ID NO: 72? For examination purposes, it will be assumed that “consists essentially of” refers to any variant of the recited proteins. Correction is required.
When amending the claims, applicant is advised to carefully review all examined claims and make the necessary changes to ensure proper antecedent basis and dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a) or First Paragraph (pre-AIA )
Claims 1-3, 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
As stated in MPEP 2111.01, during examination, the claims must be interpreted as broadly as their terms reasonably allow. Claims 1-3, 9-11 require in part a genus of cysteine proteases that cleave an IgG, wherein said proteases comprise any structure, and a pharmaceutical composition comprising said cysteine proteases. As explained above with regard to claims 9-10, the term “consists essentially of” has been found indefinite in view of the fact that one cannot determine how much of the recited fragment of SEQ ID NO: 2, or how much of SEQ ID NO: 72 is encompassed by the term. As such, the claims have been interpreted as encompassing variants of the polypeptide of SEQ ID NO: 2 or the polypeptide of SEQ ID NO: 72 having any structure. See Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b) or Second Paragraph (pre-AIA ) for claim interpretation.
In University of California v. Eli Lilly & Co., 43 USPQ2d 1938, the Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit has held that “A written description of an invention involving a chemical genus, like a description of a chemical species, ‘requires a precise definition, such as by structure, formula, [or] chemical name,’ of the claimed subject matter sufficient to distinguish it from other materials”. As indicated in MPEP § 2163, the written description requirement for a claimed genus may be satisfied through sufficient description of a representative number of species by actual reduction to practice, reduction to drawings, or by disclosure of relevant, identifying characteristics, i.e., structure or other physical and/or chemical properties, by functional characteristics coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or by a combination of such identifying characteristics, sufficient to show that Applicant was in possession of the claimed genus. In addition, MPEP § 2163 states that a representative number of species means that the species which are adequately described are representative of the entire genus. Thus, when there is substantial variation within the genus, one must describe a sufficient variety of species to reflect the variation within the genus.
There is no structural limitation with regard to the recited genus of cysteine proteases claimed. While the specification in the instant application discloses the structure of the cysteine protease of SEQ ID NO: 2 or SEQ ID NO: 72, it provides no clue as to the structural elements required in any cysteine protease that specifically cleaves IgG, nor does it teach which structural elements of the proteins disclosed, including the protein of SEQ ID NO: 2 or 72, are required in any cysteine protease that can cleave an IgG. No disclosure of a structure/function correlation has been provided which would allow one of skill in the art to recognize which variants of the polypeptide of SEQ ID NO: 2 or 72 have cysteine protease activity against IgG.
The claims encompass a large genus of proteins which are structurally unrelated or substantially unrelated. A sufficient written description of a genus of polypeptides may be achieved by a recitation of a representative number of polypeptides defined by their amino acid sequence or a recitation of structural features common to members of the genus, which features constitute a substantial portion of the genus. However, in the instant case, there is no recited structural feature which is representative of all the members of the genus of cysteine proteases recited in the claims. The polypeptides of SEQ ID NO: 2 and 72 are not representative of all the members of the genus of cysteine proteases recited since there is no information as to which are the structural elements within the polypeptide of SEQ ID NO: 2 or 72 that are essential for the recited activity, or a correlation between structure and function which would provide those unknown structural features. Furthermore, while one could argue that the few species disclosed are representative of the structure of all the members of the genus, it is noted that the art teaches several examples of how even highly structurally homologous polypeptides can have different enzymatic activities. For example, Witkowski et al. (Biochemistry 38:11643-11650, 1999) teach that one conservative amino acid substitution transforms a β-ketoacyl synthase into a malonyl decarboxylase and completely eliminates β-ketoacyl synthase activity. Tang et al. (Phil Trans R Soc B 368:20120318, 1-10, 2013) teach that two Dehalobacter reductive dehalogenases, CfrA and DcrA, having 95.2% sequence identity to teach other have exclusively different substrate (Abstract; page 7, left column, Discussion, CfrA and DcrA). Seffernick et al. (J. Bacteriol. 183(8):2405-2410, 2001) teach that two naturally occurring Pseudomonas enzymes having 98% amino acid sequence identity catalyze two different reactions: deamination and dehalogenation, therefore having different function. Therefore, since minor structural differences may result in changes affecting function, and no additional information correlating structure with the desired functional characteristics has been provided, one cannot reasonably conclude that the few species disclosed are representative of the structure of all the cysteine proteases claimed.
Due to the fact that the specification only discloses a limited number of species of the genus of cysteine proteases required by the claims, and the lack of description of any additional species by any relevant, identifying characteristics or properties, one of skill in the art would not recognize from the disclosure that Applicant was in possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1-3, 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for a cysteine protease that comprises SEQ ID NO: 2 or SEQ ID NO: 72, a cysteine protease that comprises amino acids 1-312 of SEQ ID NO: 2, or a cysteine protease that comprises amino acids 2-312 of SEQ ID NO: 2, does not reasonably provide enablement for any cysteine protease that cleaves an IgG, any variant of the cysteine protease of SEQ ID NO: 2 or 72 having any structure that cleaves an IgG, or a compositing comprising said cysteine protease. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
Factors to be considered in determining whether undue experimentation is required are summarized in In re Wands (858 F.2d 731, 737, 8 USPQ2nd 1400 (Fed. Cir. 1988)) as follows: 1) quantity of experimentation necessary, 2) the amount of direction or guidance presented, 3) the presence and absence of working examples, 4) the nature of the invention, 5) the state of prior art, 6) the relative skill of those in the art, 7) the predictability or unpredictability of the art, and 8) the breadth of the claims. The factors which have led the Examiner to conclude that the specification fails to teach how to make and/or use the claimed invention without undue experimentation, are addressed in detail below.
The breadth of the claims. Claims 1-3, 9-11 are so broad as to encompass any cysteine protease that cleaves an IgG having any structure, a variant of the cysteine protease of SEQ ID NO: 2 or 72 having any structure that cleaves an IgG, and a compositing comprising said cysteine protease. See Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b) or Second Paragraph (pre-AIA ) for claim interpretation. The enablement provided is not commensurate in scope with the claims due to the lack of information regarding the structural features required in any cysteine protease that cleaves an IgG, or the structural elements within the polypeptide of SEQ ID NO: 2 or 72 that are required and those that can be modified to obtain cysteine proteases that cleave IgG In the instant case, the specification enables the protein of SEQ ID NO: 2 or 72, a protein that comprises amino acids 1-312 of SEQ ID NO: 2, a protein that comprises amino acids 2-312 of SEQ ID NO: 2, and a pharmaceutical comprising any of these proteins.
The amount of direction or guidance presented and the existence of working examples. The specification discloses the amino acid sequence of the protein of SEQ ID NO: 2 and the protein of SEQ ID NO: 72, as a working example. However, the specification fails to provide any clue as to the structural elements required in any cysteine protease that cleaves IgG, including those structural features within SEQ ID NO: 2 or 72 can be modified and those that should be present for a variant to display the same cysteine protease activity as that of the polypeptide of SEQ ID NO: 2/72. No correlation between structure and function has been presented.
The state of prior art, the relative skill of those in the art, and the predictability or unpredictability of the art. The amino acid sequence of a polypeptide determines its structural and functional properties. While the art discloses a limited number of cysteine proteases, neither the specification nor the art provide a correlation between structure and function such that one of skill in the art can envision the structure of any cysteine protease that specifically cleaves IgG. In addition, the art does not provide any teaching or guidance as to which changes can be made to the protein of SEQ ID NO: 2/72 such that the resulting variant would display the desired functional characteristics, or the general tolerance of cysteine proteases to structural modifications and the extent of such tolerance. The art clearly teaches that (a) determining function based solely on structural homology, and (b) modification of a protein’s amino acid sequence to obtain the desired activity without any guidance/knowledge as to which amino acids in a protein are tolerant of modification and which ones are conserved are highly unpredictable. For example, Singh et al. (Current Protein and Peptide Science 19(1):5-15, 2018) disclose different protein engineering approaches and state that despite the availability of an ever-growing database of protein structures and highly sophisticated computational algorithms, protein engineering is still limited by the incomplete understanding of protein functions, folding, flexibility and conformational changes (page 11, left column, last paragraph). Sadowski et al. (Current Opinion in Structural Biology 19:357-362, 2009) teach that much of the problem in assigning function from structure comes from functional convergence, where although a stable structure is required to perform many functions it is not always necessary to adopt a particular structure to carry out a particular function (page 357, right column, first full paragraph). Sadowski et al. further explain that the unexpected and significant difficulties of predicting function from structure show that the potential of structural models for providing novel functional annotations has not yet fully realized. Sadowski et al. also states that while a few successes have been achieved which required manual intervention, the ability to vary the requirements for specificity in prediction means that it is difficult to determine how useful the end result may be for the user (page 361, left column, first full paragraph). The teachings of Singh et al. and Sadowski et al. are further supported by the teachings of Witkowski et al., Tang et al. and Seffernick et al. already discussed above, where it is shown that even small amino acid changes result in enzymatic activity changes.
The quantity of experimentation required to practice the claimed invention based on the teachings of the specification. While methods of generating or isolating variants of a polypeptide and enzymatic assays were known in the art at the time of the invention, it was not routine in the art to screen by a trial and error process for an essentially infinite number of proteins to find a protein with cysteine protease activity specific for IgG. In the absence of (i) a rational and predictable scheme for selecting those proteins most likely to have the desired functional features, and/or (ii) a correlation between structure and cysteine protease activity specific for IgG, one of skill in the art would have to test an essentially infinite number of proteins to determine which ones have the desired functional characteristics.
Therefore, taking into consideration the extremely broad scope of the claim, the lack of guidance, the amount of information provided, the lack of knowledge about a correlation between structure and the desired function, and the high degree of unpredictability of the prior art in regard to structural changes and their effect on function, one of ordinary skill in the art would have to go through the burden of undue experimentation in order to practice the claimed invention. Thus, Applicant has not provided sufficient guidance to enable one of ordinary skill in the art to make and use the invention in a manner reasonably correlated with the scope of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 (AIA )
Claims 1-3, 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Runström et al. (WO 2021/160805, published 8/19/2021; previously cited) as evidenced by Kawabata et al. (GenBank accession No. BAB20904 10/24/2002).
Claims 1-3, 9-11 as interpreted are directed in part to a cysteine protease that cleaves IgG, wherein said cysteine protease can have any structure, consists essentially of amino acids 1-312 of SEQ ID NO: 2 or consists essentially of SEQ ID NO: 72, wherein the cysteine protease has a Tonset of about 46.8 °C and a Tm of about 54.3 °C, and a pharmaceutical composition comprising said cysteine protease and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier. See Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b) or Second Paragraph (pre-AIA ) for claim interpretation.
Runström et al. teach cysteine proteases that cleave IgG which comprise amino acids 3-312 of SEQ ID NO: 2 as well as amino acids 3-312 of SEQ ID NO: 72 (SEQ ID NO: 2 and SEQ ID NO: 26 in the reference of Runström et al.). See alignment below. Also, the cysteine protease of SEQ ID NO: 26 of Runström et al. comprises amino acids 3-321 of SEQ ID NO: 2. See alignment below. In the absence of a definition of what is considered “consisting essentially of”, one would conclude that comprising amino acids 3-312 of SEQ ID NO: 2 or 3-312 of SEQ ID NO: 72 is encompassed by the term “consisting essentially of”. The specification states that the wildtype IdeS protein described in Table 5 of the specification is that of Wenig et al. (Proc. Natl. Acad. Sci. U.S.A. 101:17371-17376, 2004; cited in the IDS), which is the same as the protein of Kawabata et al. Since the protein of Runström et al. comprises the same fragment of SEQ ID NO: 2/72 that the protein of Kawabata et al. comprises (amino acids 3-312 of SEQ ID NO: 2, amino acids 3-312 of SEQ ID NO: 72), in the absence of evidence to the contrary, the
protein of Runström et al. would have a Tm about 54.29 °C and a Tonset about 46.8 °C as evidenced by the specification (Table 5). Runström et al. teach pharmaceutical compositions comprising the cysteine proteases and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier (pages 22-23). Therefore, the teachings of Runström et al. anticipate the instant claims as written/interpreted.
SEQ ID NO: 2 and SEQ ID NO: 72
BJU89227
ID BJU89227 standard; protein; 310 AA.
XX
AC BJU89227;
XX
DT 30-SEP-2021 (first entry)
XX
DE Streptococcus pyogenes mature IdeS protein, SEQ ID 2.
XX
KW IdeS protein; antibody detection; antiinflammatory;
KW cardiovascular disease; cardiovascular-gen.; dermatological;
KW gastrointestinal disease; gastrointestinal-gen.; granulomatosis;
KW hematological disease; hematological-gen.; iga nephropathy; imlifidase;
KW immune disorder; immunoassay; immunoglobulin G-degrading enzyme;
KW immunomodulator; immunosuppressive; metabolic disorder; metabolic-gen.;
KW musculoskeletal-gen.; nephrotropic; polyangiitis; protein therapy;
KW surgical-gen.; systemic lupus erythematosus; therapeutic;
KW transplantation; uropathic; vasculitis; vasotropic;
KW wegener granulomatosis.
XX
OS Streptococcus pyogenes.
XX
CC PN WO2021160805-A1.
XX
CC PD 19-AUG-2021.
XX
CC PF 12-FEB-2021; 2021WO-EP053462.
XX
PR 14-FEB-2020; 2020GB-00002072.
XX
CC PA (HANS-) HANSA BIOPHARMA AB.
XX
CC PI Runstroem A, Bockermann R, Sjoeholm K, Roupe M, Kjellman C;
CC PI Lorant T;
XX
DR WPI; 2021-957666/071.
DR REFSEQ; WP_010922160.1.
DR GENBANK; ADF13949.1.
XX
CC PT Detecting immunoglobulin M, immunoglobulin A or immunoglobulin E
CC PT antibodies in sample involves contacting sample with immunoglobulin G
CC PT cysteine protease under conditions which permit immunoglobulin G cysteine
CC PT protease activity to occur.
XX
CC PS Claim 3; SEQ ID NO 2; 97pp; English.
XX
CC The present invention relates to a novel method for detecting the IgM
CC antibodies, IgA antibodies or IgE antibodies in a sample. The method
CC involves: contacting the sample with an IgG cysteine protease under
CC conditions which permits the IgG cysteine protease activity to occur; and
CC contacting the sample with an agent suitable for detecting the IgM
CC antibodies, IgA antibodies or IgE antibodies. The invention also
CC provides: a kit for detecting the IgM, IgA or IgE antibodies in sample,
CC comprising the IgG cysteine protease and agent for detecting IgM
CC antibody, IgA antibody or IgE antibody, additionally comprising antigen
CC of interest, such as human leukocyte antigen (HLA), erythrocyte antigen
CC or drug antigen; and a method for treating disease or condition mediated
CC in whole or in portion by pathogenic IgM, IgA or IgE antibodies in
CC subject. The disease or condition is selected from the vasculitis,
CC granulomatosis with polyangiitis (Wegener's granulomatosis), IgA
CC nephropathy, systemic lupus erythematosus, immune disorders, metabolic
CC disorders, gastrointestinal diseases, cardiovascular diseases,
CC hematological diseases and ABO incompatible transplantation.
XX
SQ Sequence 310 AA;
Query Match 99.3%; Score 1656; Length 310;
Best Local Similarity 100.0%;
Matches 310; Conservative 0; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 3 DSFSANQEIRYSEVTPYHVTSVWTKGVTPPANFTQGEDVFHAPYVANQGWYDITKTFNGK 62
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1 DSFSANQEIRYSEVTPYHVTSVWTKGVTPPANFTQGEDVFHAPYVANQGWYDITKTFNGK 60
Qy 63 DDLLCGAATAGNMLHWWFDQNKDQIKRYLEEHPEKQKINFNGEQMFDVKEAIDTKNHQLD 122
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 61 DDLLCGAATAGNMLHWWFDQNKDQIKRYLEEHPEKQKINFNGEQMFDVKEAIDTKNHQLD 120
Qy 123 SKLFEYFKEKAFPYLSTKHLGVFPDHVIDMFINGYRLSLTNHGPTPVKEGSKDPRGGIFD 182
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 121 SKLFEYFKEKAFPYLSTKHLGVFPDHVIDMFINGYRLSLTNHGPTPVKEGSKDPRGGIFD 180
Qy 183 AVFTRGDQSKLLTSRHDFKEKNLKEISDLIKKELTEGKALGLSHTYANVRINHVINLWGA 242
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 181 AVFTRGDQSKLLTSRHDFKEKNLKEISDLIKKELTEGKALGLSHTYANVRINHVINLWGA 240
Qy 243 DFDSNGNLKAIYVTDSDSNASIGMKKYFVGVNSAGKVAISAKEIKEDNIGAQVLGLFTLS 302
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 241 DFDSNGNLKAIYVTDSDSNASIGMKKYFVGVNSAGKVAISAKEIKEDNIGAQVLGLFTLS 300
Qy 303 TGQDSWNQTN 312
||||||||||
Db 301 TGQDSWNQTN 310
SEQ ID NO: 72
BJU89251
ID BJU89251 standard; protein; 320 AA.
XX
AC BJU89251;
XX
DT 30-SEP-2021 (first entry)
XX
DE Streptococcus pyogenes his tagged mature IdeS protein, SEQ ID 26.
XX
KW IdeS protein; antibody detection; antiinflammatory;
KW cardiovascular disease; cardiovascular-gen.; dermatological;
KW gastrointestinal disease; gastrointestinal-gen.; granulomatosis;
KW hematological disease; hematological-gen.; iga nephropathy; imlifidase;
KW immune disorder; immunoassay; immunoglobulin G-degrading enzyme;
KW immunomodulator; immunosuppressive; metabolic disorder; metabolic-gen.;
KW musculoskeletal-gen.; nephrotropic; polyangiitis; protein therapy;
KW surgical-gen.; systemic lupus erythematosus; therapeutic;
KW transplantation; uropathic; vasculitis; vasotropic;
KW wegener granulomatosis.
XX
OS Streptococcus pyogenes.
OS Synthetic.
XX
CC PN WO2021160805-A1.
XX
CC PD 19-AUG-2021.
XX
CC PF 12-FEB-2021; 2021WO-EP053462.
XX
PR 14-FEB-2020; 2020GB-00002072.
XX
CC PA (HANS-) HANSA BIOPHARMA AB.
XX
CC PI Runstroem A, Bockermann R, Sjoeholm K, Roupe M, Kjellman C;
CC PI Lorant T;
XX
DR WPI; 2021-957666/071.
DR N-PSDB; BJU89258, BJU89297.
XX
CC PT Detecting immunoglobulin M, immunoglobulin A or immunoglobulin E
CC PT antibodies in sample involves contacting sample with immunoglobulin G
CC PT cysteine protease under conditions which permit immunoglobulin G cysteine
CC PT protease activity to occur.
XX
CC PS Disclosure; SEQ ID NO 26; 97pp; English.
XX
CC The present invention relates to a novel method for detecting the IgM
CC antibodies, IgA antibodies or IgE antibodies in a sample. The method
CC involves: contacting the sample with an IgG cysteine protease under
CC conditions which permits the IgG cysteine protease activity to occur; and
CC contacting the sample with an agent suitable for detecting the IgM
CC antibodies, IgA antibodies or IgE antibodies. The invention also
CC provides: a kit for detecting the IgM, IgA or IgE antibodies in sample,
CC comprising the IgG cysteine protease and agent for detecting IgM
CC antibody, IgA antibody or IgE antibody, additionally comprising antigen
CC of interest, such as human leukocyte antigen (HLA), erythrocyte antigen
CC or drug antigen; and a method for treating disease or condition mediated
CC in whole or in portion by pathogenic IgM, IgA or IgE antibodies in
CC subject. The disease or condition is selected from the vasculitis,
CC granulomatosis with polyangiitis (Wegener's granulomatosis), IgA
CC nephropathy, systemic lupus erythematosus, immune disorders, metabolic
CC disorders, gastrointestinal diseases, cardiovascular diseases,
CC hematological diseases and ABO incompatible transplantation.
XX
SQ Sequence 320 AA;
Query Match 99.3%; Score 1656; Length 320;
Best Local Similarity 100.0%;
Matches 310; Conservative 0; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 3 DSFSANQEIRYSEVTPYHVTSVWTKGVTPPANFTQGEDVFHAPYVANQGWYDITKTFNGK 62
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2 DSFSANQEIRYSEVTPYHVTSVWTKGVTPPANFTQGEDVFHAPYVANQGWYDITKTFNGK 61
Qy 63 DDLLCGAATAGNMLHWWFDQNKDQIKRYLEEHPEKQKINFNGEQMFDVKEAIDTKNHQLD 122
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 62 DDLLCGAATAGNMLHWWFDQNKDQIKRYLEEHPEKQKINFNGEQMFDVKEAIDTKNHQLD 121
Qy 123 SKLFEYFKEKAFPYLSTKHLGVFPDHVIDMFINGYRLSLTNHGPTPVKEGSKDPRGGIFD 182
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 122 SKLFEYFKEKAFPYLSTKHLGVFPDHVIDMFINGYRLSLTNHGPTPVKEGSKDPRGGIFD 181
Qy 183 AVFTRGDQSKLLTSRHDFKEKNLKEISDLIKKELTEGKALGLSHTYANVRINHVINLWGA 242
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 182 AVFTRGDQSKLLTSRHDFKEKNLKEISDLIKKELTEGKALGLSHTYANVRINHVINLWGA 241
Qy 243 DFDSNGNLKAIYVTDSDSNASIGMKKYFVGVNSAGKVAISAKEIKEDNIGAQVLGLFTLS 302
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 242 DFDSNGNLKAIYVTDSDSNASIGMKKYFVGVNSAGKVAISAKEIKEDNIGAQVLGLFTLS 301
Qy 303 TGQDSWNQTN 312
||||||||||
Db 302 TGQDSWNQTN 311
SEQ ID NO: 2
BJU89251
ID BJU89251 standard; protein; 320 AA.
XX
AC BJU89251;
XX
DT 30-SEP-2021 (first entry)
XX
DE Streptococcus pyogenes his tagged mature IdeS protein, SEQ ID 26.
XX
KW IdeS protein; antibody detection; antiinflammatory;
KW cardiovascular disease; cardiovascular-gen.; dermatological;
KW gastrointestinal disease; gastrointestinal-gen.; granulomatosis;
KW hematological disease; hematological-gen.; iga nephropathy; imlifidase;
KW immune disorder; immunoassay; immunoglobulin G-degrading enzyme;
KW immunomodulator; immunosuppressive; metabolic disorder; metabolic-gen.;
KW musculoskeletal-gen.; nephrotropic; polyangiitis; protein therapy;
KW surgical-gen.; systemic lupus erythematosus; therapeutic;
KW transplantation; uropathic; vasculitis; vasotropic;
KW wegener granulomatosis.
XX
OS Streptococcus pyogenes.
OS Synthetic.
XX
CC PN WO2021160805-A1.
XX
CC PD 19-AUG-2021.
XX
CC PF 12-FEB-2021; 2021WO-EP053462.
XX
PR 14-FEB-2020; 2020GB-00002072.
XX
CC PA (HANS-) HANSA BIOPHARMA AB.
XX
CC PI Runstroem A, Bockermann R, Sjoeholm K, Roupe M, Kjellman C;
CC PI Lorant T;
XX
DR WPI; 2021-957666/071.
DR N-PSDB; BJU89258, BJU89297.
XX
CC PT Detecting immunoglobulin M, immunoglobulin A or immunoglobulin E
CC PT antibodies in sample involves contacting sample with immunoglobulin G
CC PT cysteine protease under conditions which permit immunoglobulin G cysteine
CC PT protease activity to occur.
XX
CC PS Disclosure; SEQ ID NO 26; 97pp; English.
XX
CC The present invention relates to a novel method for detecting the IgM
CC antibodies, IgA antibodies or IgE antibodies in a sample. The method
CC involves: contacting the sample with an IgG cysteine protease under
CC conditions which permits the IgG cysteine protease activity to occur; and
CC contacting the sample with an agent suitable for detecting the IgM
CC antibodies, IgA antibodies or IgE antibodies. The invention also
CC provides: a kit for detecting the IgM, IgA or IgE antibodies in sample,
CC comprising the IgG cysteine protease and agent for detecting IgM
CC antibody, IgA antibody or IgE antibody, additionally comprising antigen
CC of interest, such as human leukocyte antigen (HLA), erythrocyte antigen
CC or drug antigen; and a method for treating disease or condition mediated
CC in whole or in portion by pathogenic IgM, IgA or IgE antibodies in
CC subject. The disease or condition is selected from the vasculitis,
CC granulomatosis with polyangiitis (Wegener's granulomatosis), IgA
CC nephropathy, systemic lupus erythematosus, immune disorders, metabolic
CC disorders, gastrointestinal diseases, cardiovascular diseases,
CC hematological diseases and ABO incompatible transplantation.
XX
SQ Sequence 320 AA;
Query Match 99.4%; Score 1722; Length 320;
Best Local Similarity 100.0%;
Matches 319; Conservative 0; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 3 DSFSANQEIRYSEVTPYHVTSVWTKGVTPPANFTQGEDVFHAPYVANQGWYDITKTFNGK 62
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2 DSFSANQEIRYSEVTPYHVTSVWTKGVTPPANFTQGEDVFHAPYVANQGWYDITKTFNGK 61
Qy 63 DDLLCGAATAGNMLHWWFDQNKDQIKRYLEEHPEKQKINFNGEQMFDVKEAIDTKNHQLD 122
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 62 DDLLCGAATAGNMLHWWFDQNKDQIKRYLEEHPEKQKINFNGEQMFDVKEAIDTKNHQLD 121
Qy 123 SKLFEYFKEKAFPYLSTKHLGVFPDHVIDMFINGYRLSLTNHGPTPVKEGSKDPRGGIFD 182
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 122 SKLFEYFKEKAFPYLSTKHLGVFPDHVIDMFINGYRLSLTNHGPTPVKEGSKDPRGGIFD 181
Qy 183 AVFTRGDQSKLLTSRHDFKEKNLKEISDLIKKELTEGKALGLSHTYANVRINHVINLWGA 242
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 182 AVFTRGDQSKLLTSRHDFKEKNLKEISDLIKKELTEGKALGLSHTYANVRINHVINLWGA 241
Qy 243 DFDSNGNLKAIYVTDSDSNASIGMKKYFVGVNSAGKVAISAKEIKEDNIGAQVLGLFTLS 302
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 242 DFDSNGNLKAIYVTDSDSNASIGMKKYFVGVNSAGKVAISAKEIKEDNIGAQVLGLFTLS 301
Qy 303 TGQDSWNQTNGGGHHHHHH 321
|||||||||||||||||||
Db 302 TGQDSWNQTNGGGHHHHHH 320
Claims 1-3, 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by anticipated by Kawabata et al. (GenBank accession No. BAB20904 10/24/2002).
Claims 1-3, 9-10 as interpreted are directed in part to a cysteine protease that cleaves IgG, wherein said cysteine protease consists essentially of amino acids 1-312 of SEQ ID NO: 2 or consists essentially of SEQ ID NO: 72, wherein the cysteine protease has a Tonset of about 46.8 °C and a Tm of about 54.3 °C. See Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b) or Second Paragraph (pre-AIA ) for claim interpretation.
Kawabata et al. discloses a cysteine protease that degrades IgG called Mac-1 or Sib38 that comprises all of SEQ ID NO: 72 except for two substitutions at positions corresponding to positions 1 and 2 in the protein of SEQ ID NO: 72. See alignment above. As previously indicated, SEQ ID NO: 2 comprises SEQ ID NO: 72. See alignment above. Therefore, the protein of Kawabata et al. comprises amino acids 3-312 of SEQ ID NO: 2 as well as amino acids 3-312 of SEQ ID NO: 72. In the absence of a definition of what is considered “consisting essentially of”, one would conclude that comprising amino acids 3-312 of SEQ ID NO: 2 or 3-312 of SEQ ID NO: 72 is encompassed by the term “consisting essentially of”. The specification states that the wildtype IdeS protein described in Table 5 of the specification is that of Wenig et al. (Proc. Natl. Acad. Sci. U.S.A. 101:17371-17376, 2004; cited in the IDS), which is the same as the protein of Kawabata et al. As such, the protein of Kawabata et al. would have a Tm of 54.29 °C and a Tonset of 46.8 °C as evidenced by the specification (Table 5). Therefore, the protein of Kawabata et al. anticipate the instant claims as written/interpreted.
Conclusion
No claim is in condition for allowance.
Applicant is advised that any Internet email communication by the Examiner has to be authorized by Applicant in written form. See MPEP § 502.03 (II). Without a written authorization by Applicant in place, the USPTO will not respond via Internet email to any Internet correspondence which contains information subject to the confidentiality requirement as set forth in 35 U.S.C. 122. Sample written authorization language can be found in MPEP § 502.03 (II). An Authorization for Internet Communications in a Patent Application or Request to Withdraw Authorization for Internet Communications form (SB/439) can be found at https://www.uspto.gov/patent/forms/ forms-patent-applications-filed-or-after-september-16-2012, which can be electronically filed.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to DELIA M RAMIREZ, Ph.D., whose telephone number is (571) 272-0938. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday from 8:30 AM to 5:00 PM. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Robert B. Mondesi, can be reached at (408) 918-7584. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/DELIA M RAMIREZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1652
DR
September 26, 2026