DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 14-15, and 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Peng et al (US 20240205967)- relying on Foreign Appl. Priority filed 08-31-2021.
As to claim 1 Peng discloses a sidelink communication method, performed by a terminal device (Peng 1061, 1062 of Fig.1b), the sidelink communication method comprising: receiving sidelink transmission resource information from a network device, wherein the sidelink transmission resource information at least comprises sidelink transmission resource information on a shared frequency (Peng Fig. 1b, ¶0074-Data transmission may be performed between the network device 105 and each of the terminal device 1061 and the terminal device 1062 through an air interface resource, and data transmission may be performed between the terminal device 1061 and the terminal device 1062 through a sidelink resource.; ¶0106-a V2X system is used as an example. Regardless of broadcast, unicast, or multicast, if terminals in a coverage area of a sidelink need to normally communicate with each other, an LBT process generally needs to be first performed, to find an available or idle sidelink resource in an available or idle unlicensed spectrum, to perform information transmission ¶0108-In the base station scheduling mode (Mode 1), a base station may indicate a resource pool to which a currently scheduled resource belongs. Specifically, the base station may schedule a resource for a UE by using DCI, or allocate a sidelink configured grant to the UE by using an RRC message. ); and selecting a sidelink transmission resource for transmitting a sidelink message according to the sidelink transmission resource information (Peng ¶0109- In the UE selection mode (Mode 2), after a UE determines the sidelink resource, behavior of the UE is similar to behavior of the base station in the base station scheduling mode. However, before determining the sidelink resource, the UE needs to autonomously select a resource pool. One possibility is that the UE performs selection. In other words, the UE autonomously determines to select a specific resource pool. For example, the UE receives a resource pool configuration from the base station, or obtains the resource pool configuration from a preconfiguration, and then selects a resource from the resource pool to perform sidelink communication).
As to claim 2 Peng discloses the sidelink communication method according to claim 1, wherein
receiving the sidelink transmission resource information from the network device comprises:
determining that the terminal device is in a connected state; and receiving a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message from the network device, wherein the sidelink transmission resource information is carried in the RRC message (Peng ¶0130- the configuration information received by the first terminal sent by the base station may be sent by the base station to the UE through broadcast or RRC dedicated signaling. For example, when the UE is in an idle state or an inactive state, the base station sends the configuration information to the UE through a broadcast message. When the UE is in a connected state, the base station sends the configuration information to the UE through the RRC dedicated signaling).
As to claim 14 Peng discloses a sidelink communication method, performed by a network device (Peng 105 of Fig.1b), the sidelink communication method comprising: transmitting sidelink transmission resource information to a terminal device, wherein the sidelink transmission resource information at least comprises[[:]] sidelink transmission resource information on a shared frequency. (Peng Fig. 1b, ¶0074-Data transmission may be performed between the network device 105 and each of the terminal device 1061 and the terminal device 1062 through an air interface resource, and data transmission may be performed between the terminal device 1061 and the terminal device 1062 through a sidelink resource.; ¶0106-a V2X system is used as an example. Regardless of broadcast, unicast, or multicast, if terminals in a coverage area of a sidelink need to normally communicate with each other, an LBT process generally needs to be first performed, to find an available or idle sidelink resource in an available or idle unlicensed spectrum, to perform information transmission ¶0108-In the base station scheduling mode (Mode 1), a base station may indicate a resource pool to which a currently scheduled resource belongs. Specifically, the base station may schedule a resource for a UE by using DCI, or allocate a sidelink configured grant to the UE by using an RRC message. ); and selecting a sidelink transmission resource for transmitting a sidelink message according to the sidelink transmission resource information (Peng ¶0109- In the UE selection mode (Mode 2), after a UE determines the sidelink resource, behavior of the UE is similar to behavior of the base station in the base station scheduling mode. However, before determining the sidelink resource, the UE needs to autonomously select a resource pool. One possibility is that the UE performs selection. In other words, the UE autonomously determines to select a specific resource pool. For example, the UE receives a resource pool configuration from the base station, or obtains the resource pool configuration from a preconfiguration, and then selects a resource from the resource pool to perform sidelink communication).
As to claim 15 Peng discloses the sidelink communication method according to claim 14,
wherein transmitting the sidelink transmission resource information to the terminal device
comprises: transmitting a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message to the terminal device in a
connected state, wherein the sidelink transmission resource information is carried in the RRC
message (Peng ¶0130- the configuration information received by the first terminal sent by the base station may be sent by the base station to the UE through broadcast or RRC dedicated signaling. For example, when the UE is in an idle state or an inactive state, the base station sends the configuration information to the UE through a broadcast message. When the UE is in a connected state, the base station sends the configuration information to the UE through the RRC dedicated signaling).
As to claim 24 Peng discloses A sidelink communication apparatus, comprising one or more
processors and a memory (Peng ¶0214- the communication apparatus 40 may include a plurality of processors, for example, the processor 401 and a processor 408 in FIG. 4. ….. the communication apparatus may include any quantity of input devices, output devices, processors, memories, and communication interfaces,), wherein the one or more processors are collectively configured to: receive sidelink transmission resource information from a network device, wherein the sidelink transmission resource information at least comprises sidelink transmission resource information on a shared frequency; and select a sidelink transmission resource for transmitting a sidelink message according to the sidelink transmission resource information (Peng ¶0074, ¶0106, ¶0109)
As to claim 25 Peng discloses a sidelink communication apparatus, comprising a processor and a
memory, wherein a computer program is stored in the memory, and the computer program stored
in the memory can be executed by the processor to enable the sidelink communication
apparatus to execute the sidelink communication method according to claim 14(Peng ¶0214, ¶0256-the foregoing functions may be stored in a computer-readable medium or transmitted as one or more instructions or code in a computer-readable medium. The computer-readable medium includes a computer storage medium and a communication medium, and the communication medium includes any medium that enables a computer program to be transmitted from one place to another ).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 9, 16, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peng in view of Xue et al (US 20210195637).
As to claim 3 Peng discloses the sidelink communication method according to claim 1, wherein the sidelink transmission resource information comprises at least one time-frequency resource location, and the at least one time-frequency resource location is configured to indicate the sidelink transmission resource in the sidelink transmission resource pool (Peng ¶0119- 3rd sentence- There are a plurality of time domain start locations in a time-frequency resource used for data transmission Peng ¶0174-last sentence- The time-frequency domain resource may be configured by the base station for the UE 2 or may be obtained by the UE 2 based on the preconfiguration. Peng ¶0175- 1st sentence- each base station in a sidelink communication system may provide a same resource pool configuration for a UE served by the base station, to ensure resource configuration consistency).
Peng however is silent where the sidelink transmission resource information is configured to indicate a sidelink transmission resource pool for transmission of the sidelink message; However in an analogous art Xue remedies this deficiency: (Xue ¶0116- 1st sentence-the sidelink configuration module 608 is configured to transmit, to a UE…., a sidelink configuration indicating a sidelink resource pool; Xue ¶0116- 2nd sentence-The sidelink configuration may indicate time-frequency resources for a sidelink resource pool (e.g., the frequency band 301, the frequency subbands 302, the sidelink frames 404); Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of Peng with that of Xue for the purpose of utilizing shared-frequency resources by sidelink transmissions.
As to claim 9 Peng discloses the sidelink communication method according to claim 1, however silent further comprising: receiving third configuration information from the network device;
wherein the third configuration information is configured to indicate whether a sidelink message from a sidelink logical channel or a bearer can be transmitted on a sidelink transmission resource on the shared frequency; or the third configuration information is configured to indicate whether a sidelink message to be transmitted to a destination terminal device can be transmitted on the sidelink transmission resource on the shared frequency. However, in an analogous art Xue remedies this deficiency: (Xue ¶0078- The SCI can also indicate scheduling information and/or a destination identifier (ID) identifying a target receiving sidelink UE for the next sidelink resource 306. Thus, a sidelink UE may monitor SCI transmitted by other sidelink UEs. Upon detecting SCI in a sidelink resource 306, the sidelink UE may determine whether the sidelink UE is the target receiver based on the destination ID). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of Peng with that of Xue for the purpose of utilizing shared-frequency resources by sidelink transmissions.
As to claim 16 Peng disclose the sidelink communication method according to claim 14,
wherein the sidelink transmission resource information comprises[[:]] at least one time-frequency
resource location, and the at least one time-frequency resource location is configured to
indicate the sidelink transmission resource in the sidelink transmission resource pool(Peng ¶0119- 3rd sentence- There are a plurality of time domain start locations in a time-frequency resource used for data transmission Peng ¶0174-last sentence- The time-frequency domain resource may be configured by the base station for the UE 2 or may be obtained by the UE 2 based on the preconfiguration. Peng ¶0175- 1st sentence- each base station in a sidelink communication system may provide a same resource pool configuration for a UE served by the base station, to ensure resource configuration consistency).
Peng however is silent wherein the sidelink transmission resource information is configured to indicate a sidelink transmission resource pool for transmission of a sidelink message. However in an analogous art Xue remedies this deficiency: (Xue ¶0116- 1st sentence-the sidelink configuration module 608 is configured to transmit, to a UE…., a sidelink configuration indicating a sidelink resource pool; Xue ¶0116- 2nd sentence-The sidelink configuration may indicate time-frequency resources for a sidelink resource pool (e.g., the frequency band 301, the frequency subbands 302, the sidelink frames 404); Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of Peng with that of Xue for the purpose of utilizing shared-frequency resources by sidelink transmissions.
As to claim 21 Peng discloses the sidelink communication method according to claim 14, however silent further comprising: transmitting [[a ]]third configuration message information to the terminal device; wherein the third configuration information is configured to indicate whether a sidelink message from a sidelink logical channel or a bearer can be transmitted on a sidelink transmission resource on the shared frequency; or the third configuration information is configured to indicate whether a sidelink message to be transmitted to a destination terminal device can be transmitted on the sidelink transmission resource on the shared frequency. However, in an analogous art Xue remedies this deficiency: (Xue ¶0078- The SCI can also indicate scheduling information and/or a destination identifier (ID) identifying a target receiving sidelink UE for the next sidelink resource 306. Thus, a sidelink UE may monitor SCI transmitted by other sidelink UEs. Upon detecting SCI in a sidelink resource 306, the sidelink UE may determine whether the sidelink UE is the target receiver based on the destination ID). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of Peng with that of Xue for the purpose of utilizing shared-frequency resources by sidelink transmissions.
Claim(s) 5, 6, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peng in view of Xue and further in view of Wu et al (US 20240292432).
As to claim 5 the combined teachings of Peng and Xue disclose the sidelink communication method according to claim 3, further comprising: receiving at least one piece of second configuration information from the network device, wherein the at least one piece of second configuration information corresponds to at least one piece of the sidelink transmission resource information on the shared frequency (Peng ¶0127-1st and 2nd sentences- the network device may configure the BWPs for the terminal on an unlicensed spectrum, and activate one of the configured BWPs. The terminals may perform sidelink communication with each other by using the unlicensed spectrum. That the configuration information is associated with the first carrier or the first resource pool may also be understood as that the configuration may be based on a carrier granularity or a BWP granularity, or may be based on a resource pool granularity).
Peng and Xue however are silent wherein the second configuration information comprises[[:]] a use condition, wherein the use condition comprises: a service attribute condition configured to indicate that a service attribute of the sidelink message needs to be consistent with a service attribute corresponding to the service attribute condition; a Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) threshold value and a corresponding first judgment condition, configured to indicate that a magnitude relationship between an RSRP value of the terminal device and the RSRP threshold value needs to meet the first judgment condition: However, in an analogous art Wu remedies this deficiency: Wu ¶0076- The UE may determine a reference signal received power (RSRP) with which the sidelink transmissions for resource reservation are received. The UE may determine that a resource is not available if a measured RSRP of a received sidelink transmission for resource reservation during sensing window 305 is greater than an RSRP threshold, and if the resource is reserved as indicated by the received sidelink transmission. For example, the UE may determine that reserved resource 320 is not available due to receiving an associated sidelink transmission for resource reservation with an RSRP greater than the RSRP threshold);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combined teachings of Peng and Xue with that of Wu for the purpose of efficient use of shared-frequency resources in sidelink transmissions.
As to claim 6 the combined teachings of Peng Xue and Wu disclose the sidelink communication method according to claim 5, wherein selecting the sidelink transmission resource for transmitting the sidelink message according to the sidelink transmission resource information comprises: determining that the at least one piece of second configuration information comprises the use condition and the use condition is met; and selecting, from the sidelink transmission resource pool indicated by a sidelink transmission resource message on the shared frequency corresponding to the second configuration information whose comprised use condition is met, the sidelink transmission resource for transmitting the sidelink message: Wu ¶0076- The UE may determine a reference signal received power (RSRP) with which the sidelink transmissions for resource reservation are received. The UE may determine that a resource is not available if a measured RSRP of a received sidelink transmission for resource reservation during sensing window 305 is greater than an RSRP threshold, and if the resource is reserved as indicated by the received sidelink transmission. For example, the UE may determine that reserved resource 320 is not available due to receiving an associated sidelink transmission for resource reservation with an RSRP greater than the RSRP threshold);; Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Peng, Xue and Wu for the purpose of efficient use of shared-frequency resources in sidelink transmissions.
As to claim 18 the combined teachings of Peng and Xue disclose the sidelink communication method according to claim 16, further comprising: transmitting at least one piece of second configuration information to the terminal device, wherein the at least one piece of second configuration information corresponds to at least one piece of the sidelink transmission resource information on the shared frequency (Peng ¶0127-1st and 2nd sentences- the network device may configure the BWPs for the terminal on an unlicensed spectrum, and activate one of the configured BWPs. The terminals may perform sidelink communication with each other by using the unlicensed spectrum. That the configuration information is associated with the first carrier or the first resource pool may also be understood as that the configuration may be based on a carrier granularity or a BWP granularity, or may be based on a resource pool granularity).
Peng and Xue however are silent the second configuration information comprises[[:]] a use condition, wherein the use condition comprises: a service attribute condition, configured to indicate that a service attribute of the sidelink message needs to be consistent with a service attribute corresponding to the service attribute condition; a Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) threshold value and a corresponding first judgment condition, configured to indicate that a magnitude relationship between an RSRP value of the terminal device and the RSRP threshold value needs to meet the first judgment condition; However, in an analogous art Wu remedies this deficiency: Wu ¶0076- The UE may determine a reference signal received power (RSRP) with which the sidelink transmissions for resource reservation are received. The UE may determine that a resource is not available if a measured RSRP of a received sidelink transmission for resource reservation during sensing window 305 is greater than an RSRP threshold, and if the resource is reserved as indicated by the received sidelink transmission. For example, the UE may determine that reserved resource 320 is not available due to receiving an associated sidelink transmission for resource reservation with an RSRP greater than the RSRP threshold);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combined teachings of Peng and Xue with that of Wu for the purpose of efficient use of shared-frequency resources in sidelink transmissions.
Claim(s) 7 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peng in view of Xue, in view of Wu and further un view of Tian et al (CN 116470998)
As to claim 7 the combined teachings of Peng, Xue and Wu disclose the sidelink communication method according to claim 5, wherein the first judgment condition comprises that the RSRP value of the terminal device is greater than or equal to the RSRP threshold value, or the RSRP value of the terminal device is less than the RSRP threshold value( Wu ¶0076- The UE may determine a reference signal received power (RSRP) with which the sidelink transmissions for resource reservation are received. The UE may determine that a resource is not available if a measured RSRP of a received sidelink transmission for resource reservation during sensing window 305 is greater than an RSRP threshold, and if the resource is reserved as indicated by the received sidelink transmission. For example, the UE may determine that reserved resource 320 is not available due to receiving an associated sidelink transmission for resource reservation with an RSRP greater than the RSRP threshold.);
Peng Xue and Wu however are silent wherein the second judgment condition comprises that the CBR value of the terminal device is greater than or equal to the CBR threshold value, or the CBR value of the terminal device is less than the CBR threshold value wherein the CBR value is measured for the sidelink transmission resource pool indicated by the sidelink transmission resource information on the shared frequency. However in an analogous art Tian remedies this deficiency: Tian (Tian ¶¶0039-¶0041, ¶0097- ¶0103 - Specifically, when the measured CBR value is greater than the CBR threshold value, determining the resource indication mode as the third indication mode; or when the first priority value is greater than the priority threshold, determining the resource indication mode as the third indication mode; or, when the measured CBR value is greater than the CBR threshold value and the first priority value is greater than the priority threshold value, determining that the resource indication mode is the third indication mode, That is, the time domain location of the first partial resource within the activation time of the first SL-DRX period is indicated by SCI. when the measured CBR value is less than or equal to the CBR threshold value, and the first priority value is less than or equal to the priority threshold value, determining the resource indication mode is the fourth indication mode, That is, the time domain position of the first partial resource in the non-activation time of the first SL-DRX period and the time domain position of the second partial resource in the activation time of the second SL-DRX period are indicated by SCI.) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combined teachings of Peng, Xue and Wu with that of Tian for the purpose of efficient use of shared-frequency resources in sidelink transmissions.
As to claim 19 the combined teachings of Peng, Xue and Wu disclose the sidelink communication method according to claim 18, wherein the first judgment condition comprises[[is]] that the RSRP value of the terminal device is greater than or equal to the RSRP threshold value, or the RSRP value of the terminal device is less than the RSRP threshold value( Wu ¶0076- The UE may determine a reference signal received power (RSRP) with which the sidelink transmissions for resource reservation are received. The UE may determine that a resource is not available if a measured RSRP of a received sidelink transmission for resource reservation during sensing window 305 is greater than an RSRP threshold, and if the resource is reserved as indicated by the received sidelink transmission. For example, the UE may determine that reserved resource 320 is not available due to receiving an associated sidelink transmission for resource reservation with an RSRP greater than the RSRP threshold.);
Peng Xue and Wu however are silent wherein the second judgment condition comprises[[is]] that the CBR value of the terminal device is greater than or equal to the CBR threshold value, or the CBR value of the terminal device is less than the CBR threshold value; wherein the CBR value is measured for the sidelink transmission resource pool indicated by the sidelink transmission resource information on the shared frequency; However in an analogous art Tian remedies this deficiency: Tian (Tian ¶0039-¶0041, ¶0097- ¶0103- Specifically, when the measured CBR value is greater than the CBR threshold value, determining the resource indication mode as the third indication mode; or when the first priority value is greater than the priority threshold, determining the resource indication mode as the third indication mode; or, when the measured CBR value is greater than the CBR threshold value and the first priority value is greater than the priority threshold value, determining that the resource indication mode is the third indication mode, That is, the time domain location of the first partial resource within the activation time of the first SL-DRX period is indicated by SCI. when the measured CBR value is less than or equal to the CBR threshold value, and the first priority value is less than or equal to the priority threshold value, determining the resource indication mode is the fourth indication mode, That is, the time domain position of the first partial resource in the non-activation time of the first SL-DRX period and the time domain position of the second partial resource in the activation time of the second SL-DRX period are indicated by SCI.) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combined teachings of Peng, Xue and Wu with that of Tian for the purpose of efficient use of shared-frequency resources in sidelink transmissions.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 8, 10, 17, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and
any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/DERRICK V ROSE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2462