DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Pursuant to the amendment, filed on June 2, 2025, claims 2, 3, 5-9, 12, 14-16, 19-22, 24-27, 29-48, 50-57, 60-79, 81-86, 90-92, and 94-96 are cancelled and claims 97-99 have been added. Claims 1, 4, 10-11, 13, 17-18, 23, 28, 49, 58-59, 80, 87-89, 93, and 97-99 are pending.
Priority
This application, filed on September 12, 2024, is a National Stage entry from International Application No. PCT/US2023/064231, filed on March 3, 2023, which claims benefit to Provisional Application Nos. 63/363,144, filed on April 18, 2022, and 63/269,329, filed on Mar. 14, 2022.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1 recites, R1a is selected from hydrogen, unsubstituted C2-4 alkyl, etc. and R1b is hydrogen, unsubstituted C1-4 alkyl, etc. The claim also recites that when R1b is hydrogen, then R1a is selected from deuterium, unsubstituted C2-4 alkyl, etc. The claim does not recite what R1b is when R1a is hydrogen, therefore the claim is construed as R1a encompassing the entire scope of its grouping when R1b is an unsubstituted C1-4 alkyl, i.e., if R1b is an unsubstituted C1-4 alkyl, R1a is hydrogen, deuterium, etc.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claim 99 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 99 is directed to a method for preparing the compound of claim 1 and the steps are referenced in “Scheme 1,” which is in the instant specification (p. 48). The written description and the claims are separate statutory requirements. Under modern claim practice, claims must stand alone to define an invention. Ex parte Fressola, 27 USPQ2d 1608 (BPAI 1993). As a result, one of ordinary skill in the art must refer back to the specification to understand what the claimed invention is.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 10-11, 17-18, 28, 49, 58-59, 80 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by WO2010111626 (“Brown”).
Claim 1 recites a compound of Formula (I) having the structure:
wherein;
Ring A is selected from phenyl, pyridine, etc., and is optionally substituted with one or more substituent independently selected from halogen, unsubstituted C1-4 alkyl, unsubstituted C1-4 alkoxy, etc.;
Ring B is selected from 6-membered monocyclic, 7-membered bicyclic, etc., nitrogen containing heterocycle which is optionally substituted with m amount of R3a wherein m is 0-2;
Ring C is selected from pyridine, phenyl, etc., which is optionally substituted with n amount of R3b wherein n is 0-2;
R1a is selected from hydrogen, unsubstituted C2-4 alkyl, etc.,
R1b is hydrogen, unsubstituted C1-4 alkyl, etc.;
Y1 is O, CH2, etc.;
R2 and R3 are each independently hydrogen, deuterium, etc.; and
R4 is -C(=O)NR5R6 (“amide”) wherein R5 is hydrogen or unsubstituted C1-4 alkyl and R6 is hydrogen, unsubstituted C1-4 alkyl, substituted C1-4 alkyl, unsubstituted monocyclic C3-6 cycloalkyl etc.
Claims 4 and 10 specify Ring A is an optionally substituted phenyl. Claim 11 specifies Ring B is a 6-membered monocyclic nitrogen-containing heterocycle. Claim 17 specifies Ring B is piperazine. Claim 18 specifies the amount of substituents on Ring B and Ring C are in the range of 0-1. Claim 28 specifies Ring C is pyridine. Claim 49 specifies the amide is substituted with R5 as hydrogen and R6 is hydrogen, unsubstituted C1-4 alkyl, unsubstituted monocyclic C3-6 cycloalkyl, etc. Claim 58 specifies Ring C is selected from pyridine wherein the N atom is positioned ortho to the bond between Ring C and Ring B, i.e,
. Claim 59 specifies R1a is hydrogen and R1b is unsubstituted C1-4 alkyl. Claim 80 specifies R2 and R3 are each hydrogen.
Brown teaches compounds 23-406 (pp. 83-234) were tested against PARP for inhibition (pp. 237-247). The compounds taught by Brown overlap wherein R2 and R3 are independently hydrogen, Y1 is O, and R1a and R1b are hydrogen and C1-4 alkyl, respectively. All the compounds discussed herein, except for 390-393, 395-397, have Ring B as piperazine, whereas compounds 390-393, 395-397 have Ring B as piperidine. Below are the species taught by Brown that read on the genus of the instant claims. The compounds are grouped together based on their rings and substitution patterns, relative to the instant claims, and are described in the parenthetical:
161-164, 398 (Ring A is phenyl substituted with C1-4 alkoxy, Ring C is phenyl, and the amide is monosubstituted with C1-4 alkyl or monocyclic C3-6 cycloalkyl);
223-225 and 249-250 (Ring A and C are phenyl and the amide is monosubstituted with C1-4 alkyl);
235-236, 238 (Ring A is phenyl, Ring C is pyridine wherein the N atom is ortho to the bond between Ring B and Ring C, and the amide is monosubstituted with C1-4 alkyl);
378-379 (Ring A and C are phenyl and the amide is disubstituted with C1-4 alkyl);
257-262, 305, 356, 358 (Ring A is phenyl substituted with C1-4 alkyl, Ring C is phenyl, and the amide is monosubstituted with C1-4 alkyl or monocyclic C3-6 cycloalkyl);
271-273, 308-311, 335-338 (Ring A is phenyl substituted with halogen, Ring C is phenyl, and amide is monosubstituted with C1-4 alkyl or monocyclic C3-6 cycloalkyl);
314-317 (Ring A is phenyl substituted with halogen, Ring C is pyridine wherein the N atom is positioned ortho to the bond between Ring B and Ring C, and the amide is monosubstituted with C1-4 alkyl or monocyclic C3-6 cycloalkyl);
360-361, 365-366, 372-373, 399 (Ring A is phenyl substituted with C1-4 alkoxy, Ring C is phenyl substituted with halogen, the amide is monosubstituted with C1-4 alkyl or monocyclic C3-6 cycloalkyl);
362-364 (Ring A is phenyl substituted with C1-4 alkoxy, Ring C is phenyl substituted with C1-4 alkyl, the amide is monosubstituted with C1-4 alkyl or monocyclic C3-6 cycloalkyl);
371 (Ring A is phenyl, Ring C is phenyl substituted with halogen, and amide is monosubstituted with C1-4 alkyl);
380-383, 387-388 (Ring A is phenyl substituted with C1-4 alkyl, Ring C is phenyl substituted with halogen, the amide substituted with C1-4 alkyl or monocyclic C3-6 cycloalkyl);
384-386 (Ring A is phenyl substituted with C1-4 alkyl, Ring C is phenyl substituted with C1-4 alkyl, the amide is monosubstituted with C1-4 alkyl or monocyclic C3-6 cycloalkyl);
390-393, 395-397 (Ring A is phenyl, Ring B is piperidine, Ring C is phenyl, and the amide is monosubstituted with C1-4 alkyl or monocyclic C3-6 cycloalkyl);
400-402 (Ring A is phenyl substituted with C1-4 alkoxy, Ring C is phenyl substituted with C1-4 alkyl, and the amide is monosubstituted with C1-4 alkyl or monocyclic C3-6 cycloalkyl);
403-404 (Ring A is phenyl substituted with C1-4 haloalkoxy, Ring C is phenyl, and the amide is monosubstituted with C1-4 alkyl);
405 (Ring A is phenyl substituted with C1-4 haloalkoxy, Ring C is phenyl substituted with halogen, and the amide is monosubstituted with C1-4 alkyl); and
406 (Ring A is phenyl substituted with C1-4 haloalkoxy, Ring C is phenyl substituted with C1-4 alkyl, and the amide is monosubstituted with C1-4 alkyl).
For example, compound 235 (
) is a species of the instant claims, because:
Ring A is phenyl (claims 1, 4, and 10);
Ring B is the 6-membered monocyclic piperazine (claims 1, 11, 17-18);
Ring C is pyridine (claims 1, 28, 58);
R1a is hydrogen and R1b is unsubstituted C1-4 alkyl (claims 1, 59);
Y1 is O (claim 1);
R2 and R3 are each independently hydrogen (claim 1 and 80); and
R4 is the amide wherein R5 is hydrogen and R6 is unsubstituted C1-4 alkyl (claims 1 and 49).
Accordingly, claims 1, 4, 10-11, 17-18, 28, 49, 58-59, 80 are anticipated by Brown.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 87-89 and 93 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brown.
Brown teaches compounds 223 and 235 as PARP inhibitors (Abstract, ¶[0008], pp. 83-234) and are shown below.
[AltContent: textbox (235)][AltContent: textbox (223)]
Brown also teaches pharmaceutical compositions of the compounds and a method of treating diseases associated with reduced PARP activity (¶¶ [0017], [0025], [0167], and [0195]; claim 81). The disease state is selected from a group consisting of cancers wherein the cancer is pancreatic, prostate, colon, colorectal, etc. (¶[0178]; claims 84 and 95). The compounds are also tested against a Jurkat cell line, an acute T-cell Leukemia cell line (¶[0727]).
Brown is analogous art to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of preparing compounds that are PARP inhibitors and are useful for treating cancer. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) to modify compounds 223 and 225 and arrive at the compounds instantly claimed. Compounds 223 and 235 are homologs of the species in instant claims 87 (Claims, p. 12, 1st column, 1st and 3rd compounds) and 88 (Claims, p. 21, 1st and 2nd columns, 3rd and 7th compounds), and are therefore of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that the compounds possess similar properties (MPEP §2144.09(II)). Accordingly, claims 87-88 are prima facie obvious.
Regarding claim 89, Brown teaches compositions that include a predetermined quantity of the therapeutically active compound in association with the required pharmaceutical carrier, vehicle, diluent, or excipient (vide supra).
Regarding claim 93, Brown teaches a method for treating a cancer by administering a composition including a compound to a subject (vide supra).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13 and 97-98 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 13 specifies that Ring B is a bicyclic 7-membered or 8-membered nitrogen-containing heterocycle. Claim 97 recites compound
, and claim 98 recites the stereoisomers of the same compound. Brown is close prior art which teaches compound 314
, which is substituted with a fluorine substituent on Ring A, but the fluorine substituent is not in the same position as the compound recited in instant claim 97. Additionally, Ring C of 314 is an unsubstituted pyridine, and the N atom is positioned ortho to the bond between Ring B and Ring C. There is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to reposition the fluorine substituent of Ring A, or the pyridine of Ring C, wherein the N atom is positioned meta to the bond between Ring B and Ring C, similar to the compound recited in instant claims 97-98. Additionally, there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to further substitute the pyridine of Ring C with a fluorine positioned meta to the amide.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 4, 10-11, 17-18, 23, 28, 49, 58-59, 80, 87-89, 93, and 99 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of U.S. Patent No. 12,054,479 (“ ‘479 “) in view of Brown. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are obvious over ‘479 in view of Brown.
Claims 1-4 of ‘479 recite compound
and a composition comprising the same compound and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier, diluent, excipient, or combination thereof.
‘479 does not teach a method of administering the compound to treat cancer in a subject.
Brown teaches pharmaceutical compositions of the compounds and a method of treating diseases associated with reduced PARP activity (¶¶ [0017], [0025], [0167], and [0195]; claim 81). The disease state is selected from a group consisting of cancers wherein the cancer is pancreatic, prostate, colon, colorectal, etc. (¶[0178]; claims 84 and 95). The compounds are also tested against a Jurkat cell line, an acute T-cell Leukemia cell line (¶[0727]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to a PHOSITA to obtain the compound recited in ‘479 and include it in a composition to include with a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier and administer the composition to treat a subject having cancer, based on the teachings of Brown.
Conclusion
Claims 1, 4, 10, 11, 17, 18, 23, 28, 49, 58, 59, 80, 87-89, 93, and 99 are rejected.
Claims 13 and 97-98 contain allowable subject matter over the prior art.
/SAHIL CHANDER AGGARWAL/Examiner, Art Unit 1623
/CLINTON A BROOKS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1621