Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of claims 10-17 in the reply filed on 05/06/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim 18 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 05/06/2026.
Double Patenting
Claims 10-17 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 13-22 of copending Application No. 18/846,617 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are encompassed by Application No. 18/846,617.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 10, 12, 13, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by LO (2007/0201138).
Regarding claims 10, 12, 13, and 15, discloses a method of producing a polymer molding comprising:
a) placing a polymer film ([0083]-[0084]; 54) onto a base frame (57b) having a first through opening (59) such that the polymer film (54) fully covers the first through opening (59) and lies on an edge zone (57b-Fig.5a) of a top side of the base frame that bounds the first through opening (57-Fig.5a; [0074]);
b) heating the polymer film lying on the base frame (with fluidic medium ranging over 100ºC [0057]); and
c) contacting the polymer film that lies on the base frame, which has been heated in step (b), with a fluid pressure medium [0057] such that the polymer film is pressed against a mold and hence formed into the polymer molding [0100],
wherein a tension frame having a second through opening (58) is positioned in step (a) on the polymer film lying on the base frame such that the tension frame (57a) presses and hence fixes the polymer film against the top side of the base frame (57b) in the region of the edge zone, and in that the second through opening of the tension frame lies at least partly opposite the first through opening of the base frame,
wherein step (b) is conducted with the polymer film fixed between the base frame and the tension frame (Fig.5a),
wherein the forming of the polymer film in step (c) is conducted in a pressure chamber [0109],
and wherein the pressure chamber is formed via a wall (51a, 51b) surrounding the mold that presses the base frame against the polymer film and hence the latter against the tension frame, such that both the tension frame is part of the pressure chamber and the base frame is part of the pressure chamber [0109].
Claim(s) 10-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by NIEBLING, JR.et al. (5,108,530-of record).
Regarding claims 10, 12, 13, and 15, NIEBLING, JR.et al. discloses a method of producing a polymer molding comprising:
a) placing a polymer film (18) onto a base frame (10) having a first through opening (6) such that the polymer film (18) fully covers the first through opening (6) and lies on an edge zone (Fig.2) of a top side of the base frame that bounds the first through opening (Fig.2; C7:L17-56);
b) heating the polymer film lying on the base frame (with heating channels-19); and
c) contacting the polymer film that lies on the base frame, which has been heated in step (b), with a fluid pressure medium (C7:L30) such that the polymer film is pressed against a mold and hence formed into the polymer molding (Fig.5),
wherein a tension frame having a second through opening (9) is positioned in step (a) on the polymer film lying on the base frame such that the tension frame presses and hence fixes the polymer film against the top side of the base frame in the region of the edge zone (20), and in that the second through opening of the tension frame lies at least partly opposite the first through opening of the base frame (Fig.2),
wherein step (b) is conducted with the polymer film fixed between the base frame and the tension frame (Fig.2),
wherein the forming of the polymer film in step (c) is conducted in a pressure chamber (8-Fig.2),
and wherein the pressure chamber is formed via a wall surrounding the mold that presses the base frame against the polymer film and hence the latter against the tension frame, such that both the tension frame is part of the pressure chamber and the base frame is part of the pressure chamber (Fig.2).
Regarding claim 11, NIEBLING, JR.et al. discloses the forming in step (C) is conducted isostatically (claim 1).
Regarding claim 14, NIEBLING, JR.et al. discloses stop elements (16-Fig.1).
Regarding claim 16, NIEBLING, JR.et al. discloses pins (17) at the edge zone (Fig.2).
Regarding claim 17, NIEBLING, JR.et al. discloses the plastic sheet (18) is clamped between mold half (9) and frame (20) (C7:L41-57; Fig.1).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
a) Gerletz (US 3,114,934) discloses pressure forming apparatus for thermoplastic sheet material.
b) LI et al. (CN 117383800) discloses lens compression moulding system and method.
STELLA YI
Examiner
Art Unit 1742
/STELLA K YI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1742