DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "at the outlet" in ln 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the inlet of a steady stream (S1) of the autonomous breathing gas" in ln 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the inlet of a steady stream (S2) of the filtered air" in ln 4-5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 7 recites the limitation " a first part of the connector for connection to the surrounding elements" in ln 6-7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear to Examiner what “the connector” and “a first part” of said connector is.
Claims 2, 4-6, and 8-10 are rejected based on their dependency on a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, and 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Brookman (US 20060048777 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Brookman discloses a breathing apparatus ([0033] breathing apparatus 14; figure 1A-9) comprising a self-contained breathing apparatus ([0033] self-contained breathing apparatus “SCBA” 18; figure 1A-9) with a demand valve at the outlet ([0044] The bottled air then flows into the manifold 36 through the port 42 via a one-way valve 76; figure 3-5. Also see [0045]), a filter-ventilation unit ([0033] powered air purifying respirator "PAPR" 16; figure 1A-9) with at least one air filter ([0036] at least one or more filter elements 24; figure 1A-7) and a fan ([0036] powered blower 26; figure 7) and further comprising a head unit ([0035] face mask 20; figure 1A-7) with an inner space (see figure 3-7, inner space of face mask 20) for pressure-separated breathing of the user from the surrounding environment ([0035] The face mask 20 is adapted to be tightly fitted to the face of a user, not shown in FIGS. 1A and 1B, to prevent incursion by atmospheric contamination. A pair of conduits 22a, 22b connects the PAPR 16 and the SCBA 18 respectively, to the face mask 20. In particular, the conduit 22a provides filtered breathable air from the PAPR 16 while the conduit 22b provides bottled air from the SCBA 18) and with a one-way exhalation valve ([0046] the face mask outlet valve 48 is a one-way valve that opens when the user exhales because the air pressure in the face mask 20 is greater than the surrounding ambient pressure; figure 3-7), wherein the self-contained breathing apparatus and the filter-ventilation unit are fluidly connected to the inner space of the head unit ([0035] A pair of conduits 22a, 22b connects the PAPR 16 and the SCBA 18 respectively, to the face mask 20. In particular, the conduit 22a provides filtered breathable air from the PAPR 16 while the conduit 22b provides bottled air from the SCBA 18; figure 1A-8B), wherein
- the filter-ventilation unit is by its outlet fluidly unidirectionally coupled to the inner space of the head unit ([0036] The powered blower 26 is operably coupled to the plenum 29 for drawing ambient air through the filter elements 24 and supplying filtered air to the face mask 20 via the conduit 22a, which connects to a port 40 in fluid communication with a manifold 36. The manifold 36, in turn, is fluidically connected to the face mask 20; figure 1A-7) and
- the filter-ventilation unit is by its outlet fluidly unidirectionally coupled to the outlet ([0036] The powered blower 26 is operably coupled to the plenum 29 for drawing ambient air through the filter elements 24 and supplying filtered air to the face mask 20 via the conduit 22a, which connects to a port 40 in fluid communication with a manifold 36. [0044] The bottled air then flows into the manifold 36 through the port 42 via a one-way valve 76; figure 3-5. Also see [0045]; figure 3-5),
- the self-contained breathing apparatus is by its outlet fluidly coupled to the inner space of the head unit ([0038] A second conduit 22b provides a connection between the first stage pressure regulator 38 and a manifold inlet port 42 so that compressed air is delivered through the conduit 22b to the port 42, which is fluidly connected to the manifold 36; figure 1A-7);
- wherein
- the filter-ventilation unit is provided with means for generating a stream (S2) of filtered air ([0036] The powered blower 26 is operably coupled to the plenum 29 for drawing ambient air through the filter elements 24 and supplying filtered air to the face mask 20 via the conduit 22a, which connects to a port 40 in fluid communication with a manifold 36. The manifold 36, in turn, is fluidically connected to the face mask 20), whose pressure (p15) at the outlet of the self-contained breathing apparatus is greater that the value of the switching pressure (ps) of the demand valve ([0016] Either at the discretion of the wearer or in response to an audible and/or visual alarm, which may operate based on sampling and testing of the ambient air to indicate that the system should be switched from PAPR operation to SCBA operation, the wearer can open the SCBA supply valve and switch off the PAPR. If desired, the pressure of the SCBA air can trigger a switch to automatically shut off the PAPR, leaving the air supply solely from the SCBA. In the alternative, the decision as to whether to accept purified air from the filter assembly, or to demand air from the supplied air bottle means can operate automatically based on a sampling and testing means associated with the valving means, which would be electrically operated so as to open access to the SCBA system and close access to the PAPR system via the manifold valve. [0045] Switching to SCBA 18 supplied air from PAPR 16 supplied air can be implemented automatically, semi-automatically or manually as will be described in more detail below. As illustrated in FIG. 3, the breathing apparatus 14 may include a gas sensor 56 that is operable for sensing the gas content of the air being delivered to the user. The sensor 56 is operable for signaling a warning alarm 69 if the filtered ambient air is not clean enough to breathe. The alarm 69 can be audible, visual or both. In this configuration, the sensor 56 can trigger the alarm 69, automatically shut down the PAPR 16 and cause bottled air from the SCBA 18 to flow to the face mask 20. The manifold inlet valves 74, 76 associated with for the PAPR 16 and the SCBA 18, respectively, can be electronically connected to the sensor 56 such that the inlet valve 74 from the PAPR 16 can be automatically closed and the inlet valve 76 from the SCBA 18 can be automatically opened when the PAPR 16 is not providing breathable air. Also see [0048], the face mask 20 will receive air from the supply source with the highest pressure. During PAPR supply mode the level of air supplied to the manifold 36 from the PAPR is greater level of air required to open inlet valve 76 to switch the delivery of air to the SCBA air supply mode),
- and, at the same time, the demand valve (76) is provided with means for spontaneous automatic opening of the inlet of autonomous breathing gas when the pressure (p15) of the stream (S2) of the filtered air at the outlet of the self-contained breathing apparatus drops below the value of the switching pressure (ps) of the demand valve ([0045] Switching to SCBA 18 supplied air from PAPR 16 supplied air can be implemented automatically, semi-automatically or manually as will be described in more detail below. As illustrated in FIG. 3, the breathing apparatus 14 may include a gas sensor 56 that is operable for sensing the gas content of the air being delivered to the user. The sensor 56 is operable for signaling a warning alarm 69 if the filtered ambient air is not clean enough to breathe. The alarm 69 can be audible, visual or both. In this configuration, the sensor 56 can trigger the alarm 69, automatically shut down the PAPR 16 and cause bottled air from the SCBA 18 to flow to the face mask 20. The manifold inlet valves 74, 76 associated with for the PAPR 16 and the SCBA 18, respectively, can be electronically connected to the sensor 56 such that the inlet valve 74 from the PAPR 16 can be automatically closed and the inlet valve 76 from the SCBA 18 can be automatically opened when the PAPR 16 is not providing breathable air. [0043] FIGS. 3-5 schematically illustrate optional configurations of the breathing system of FIGS. 1A and 1B, wherein the face mask 20 includes a manifold 36. The configurations shown in FIGS. 3-5 are not necessarily distinct configurations that must be utilized independently, but to the contrary, can be combined in any manner desired. also see [0048], the face mask 20 will receive air from the supply source with the highest pressure).
Regarding claim 2, Brookman discloses the breathing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the filter-ventilation unit is further provided with means for generating a stream (S2) of filtered air ([0036] The powered blower 26 is operably coupled to the plenum 29 for drawing ambient air through the filter elements 24 and supplying filtered air to the face mask 20 via the conduit 22a, which connects to a port 40 in fluid communication with a manifold 36. The manifold 36, in turn, is fluidically connected to the face mask 20), whose pressure (p2) on the one-way exhalation valve is greater than the value of the closing pressure (p-z38) of the one-way exhalation valve ([0046] In any event, the air enters the face mask 20 from the manifold 36 through a face mask inlet port 50 when a face mask inlet valve 51 is open. The inlet valve 51 is a one-way valve that opens when the air pressure in the face mask 20 is lower than the air pressure in the manifold 36, i.e., when the user inhales. When the user exhales, the inlet valve 51 of the face mask 20 closes and the exhaled air exits through an outlet port 47, which also includes a one-way valve 48. In particular, the face mask outlet valve 48 is a one-way valve that opens when the user exhales because the air pressure in the face mask 20 is greater than the surrounding ambient pressure. [0050] An outlet valve 48 located in the face mask 20 permits exhaled air to vent from the face mask 20 to the atmosphere. The outlet valve 48 is also a one-way valve that is designed to open only when the pressure in the face mask 20 is greater than the surrounding atmosphere; figure 3-7. As air from the powered blower 26 enters the inlet valve 51, the air has a higher pressure than the safe value of the pressure for closing the one-way exhalation outlet valve 48 because the outlet valve 48 is always closed when air enters the face mask 20).
Regarding claim 3, Brookman discloses the breathing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein, the inner space of the head unit is connected to the inlet of a stream (S1) of the autonomous breathing gas via a first separate inlet ([0038] A second conduit 22b provides a connection between the first stage pressure regulator 38 and a manifold inlet port 42 so that compressed air is delivered through the conduit 22b to the port 42, which is fluidly connected to the manifold 36. [0046] In any event, the air enters the face mask 20 from the manifold 36 through a face mask inlet port 50 when a face mask inlet valve 51 is open; figure 1A-5. Also see figure 6-7, where there is no manifold 36) and is at the same time connected via a second separate inlet to the inlet of a steady stream (S2) of the filtered air ([0043] the blower 26 includes an impeller 39, or the like, for generating suction forces. After the cleaned air is transported through the conduit 22a, the cleaned air enters the port 40 and flows into the manifold 36 via a one-way valve 74. [0046] In any event, the air enters the face mask 20 from the manifold 36 through a face mask inlet port 50 when a face mask inlet valve 51 is open; figure 1A-5. Also see figure 6-7, where there is no manifold 36), wherein the inner space is by its separate outlet connected to the one-way exhalation valve ([0046] the exhaled air exits through an outlet port 47, which also includes a one-way valve 48. In particular, the face mask outlet valve 48 is a one-way valve that opens when the user exhales because the air pressure in the face mask 20 is greater than the surrounding ambient pressure; figure 1A-7) and the first separate inlet is fluidly connected to the second separate inlet (see figure 1A-5).
Regarding claim 4, Brookman discloses the breathing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the inner space of the head unit is by a common inlet ([0046] face mask inlet port 50; figure 3-5) coupled to the outlet of a merging adapter (manifold 36; figure 3-5) which is by its first inlet coupled to the outlet of the self-contained breathing apparatus ([0038] A second conduit 22b provides a connection between the first stage pressure regulator 38 and a manifold inlet port 42 so that compressed air is delivered through the conduit 22b to the port 42, which is fluidly connected to the manifold 36; figure 3-5) and by its second inlet is coupled to the outlet of the filter-ventilation unit ([0043] After the cleaned air is transported through the conduit 22a, the cleaned air enters the port 40 and flows into the manifold 36 via a one-way valve 74; figure 3-5), wherein a first one-way supply valve is assigned to the second inlet ([0043] a one-way valve 74; figure 3-5).
Regarding claim 6, Brookman discloses the breathing apparatus according to claim 4, wherein a second one-way supply valve is assigned to the common inlet of the inner space of the head unit ([0046] the air enters the face mask 20 from the manifold 36 through a face mask inlet port 50 when a face mask inlet valve 51 is open. The inlet valve 51 is a one-way valve that opens when the air pressure in the face mask 20 is lower than the air pressure in the manifold 36, i.e., when the user inhales; figure 3-5).
Regarding claim 7, Brookman discloses the breathing apparatus according to claim 4, wherein the adapter comprises a hollow body (manifold 36; figure 3-5) which is provided with an inlet for connecting the self-contained breathing apparatus ([0038] A second conduit 22b provides a connection between the first stage pressure regulator 38 and a manifold inlet port 42 so that compressed air is delivered through the conduit 22b to the port 42, which is fluidly connected to the manifold 36; figure 3-5) and the second inlet for connecting the filter-ventilation unit ([0043] After the cleaned air is transported through the conduit 22a, the cleaned air enters the port 40 and flows into the manifold 36 via a one-way valve 74; figure 3-5) and is further provided with a common outlet (outlet of manifold 36 at face mask inlet port 50; figure 3-5), wherein the second inlet is provided with the one-way supply valve ([0043] a one-way valve 74; figure 3-5) and both inlets and the common outlet are provided with a first part of the connector for connection to the surrounding elements (Examiner is interpreting this limitation as some sort of connecting element. See figure 1A1B and 3-5: Port 42, Port 40, and outlet at port 50 are all connected to a surrounding element via a tube).
Regarding claim 8, Brookman discloses the breathing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the inner space of the head unit is formed by the inner space of a face mask ([0035] The face mask 20 is adapted to be tightly fitted to the face of a user; figure 1A-7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brookman (US 20060048777 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Brookman discloses the breathing apparatus according to claim 4, wherein the merging adapter is removable from the head unit.
However, Brookman discloses [0025] FIG. 3 is a schematic diagram of a first embodiment of an air supply system that may be used by the breathing apparatus of FIGS. 1 and 2. [0026] FIG. 4 is a schematic diagram of a second embodiment of an air supply system that may be used by the breathing apparatus of FIGS. 1 and 2; [0027] FIG. 5 is a schematic diagram of a third embodiment of an air supply system that may be used by the breathing apparatus of FIGS. 1 and 2. Embodiments of figure 3-5 require manifold 36 and may be used by breathing apparatus shown in figure 2 which does not show the manifold 36.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to make the manifold removable from the face mask in order to obtain access to the face mask for cleaning, maintenance or replacement, since it has been held that it would be obvious to make a component removable if it were considered desirable for any reason to obtain access to an element that the component is applied to, In re Dulberg, 289 F.2d 522, 523, 129 USPQ 348, 349 (CCPA 1961).
Regarding claim 9, Brookman discloses the breathing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the head unit ([0035] face mask 20; figure 1A-2B and 8A-8B) are arranged in the inner space of a protective suit ([0033] protective suit 12; figure 8A-8B) which is provided with at least one passage of ambient air into the filter-ventilation unit ([0052] The protective suit 12 can be ventilated to flush relatively warm humid air caused by the user's perspiration and heat output. The ventilation exchanges the warm humid air from the interior of the suit 12 with relatively cool filtered ambient air. Ventilated air can be forced through the suit 12, with the PAPR blower 26 or with a separate blower (not shown). In either case, a ventilation hose 90 can be connected directly to the blower 26 or can be teed into the conduit 22a such that a portion of the airflow is diverted to ventilate the suit 12; figure 8A-8B) and which is provided with a one-way exhalation valve of the suit ([0052] An exhaust port 92 is provided on the suit 12 with a one-way valve 94 to exhaust the warm humid air out of the suit 12 and to prevent contaminated ambient air from entering the exhaust port 92; figure 8A-8B), but is silent as to wherein the self-contained breathing apparatus and the filter-ventilation unit are arranged in the inner space of a protective suit.
Brookman teaches the SCBA 18 and PAPR 16 arranged on an outer space of the protective suit 12, figure 8A-8B.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to rearrange the SCBA and PAPR to be provided on an inner space of the protective suit or reverse the design of the suit to be worn over the SCBA and PAPR devices, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art while the device having the claimed dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 and since it has been held that a mere reversal of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art, In re Einstein, 8 USPQ 167."
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brookman (US 20060048777 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Springer et al. (US 20190151686 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Brookman discloses a method of controlling the breathing apparatus according to claim 1, in which the cooperation of the self-contained breathing apparatus with the filter-ventilation unit in the inner space of the head unit is controlled ([0043] FIGS. 3-5 schematically illustrate optional configurations of the breathing system of FIGS. 1A and 1B, wherein the face mask 20 includes a manifold 36. The configurations shown in FIGS. 3-5 are not necessarily distinct configurations that must be utilized independently, but to the contrary, can be combined in any manner desired. [0045] Switching to SCBA 18 supplied air from PAPR 16 supplied air can be implemented automatically, semi-automatically or manually as will be described in more detail below), wherein the steady stream (S2) of the filtered air into the inner space of the head unit during the operation of the filter-ventilation unit keeps the outlet of the self-contained breathing apparatus closed when the pressure (p15) of the steady stream (S2) of the filtered air at the outlet of the self-contained breathing apparatus is higher than the set switching pressure (ps) of the self-contained breathing apparatus ([0045] Switching to SCBA 18 supplied air from PAPR 16 supplied air can be implemented automatically, semi-automatically or manually as will be described in more detail below. As illustrated in FIG. 3, the breathing apparatus 14 may include a gas sensor 56 that is operable for sensing the gas content of the air being delivered to the user. The sensor 56 is operable for signaling a warning alarm 69 if the filtered ambient air is not clean enough to breathe. The alarm 69 can be audible, visual or both. In this configuration, the sensor 56 can trigger the alarm 69, automatically shut down the PAPR 16 and cause bottled air from the SCBA 18 to flow to the face mask 20. The manifold inlet valves 74, 76 associated with for the PAPR 16 and the SCBA 18, respectively, can be electronically connected to the sensor 56 such that the inlet valve 74 from the PAPR 16 can be automatically closed and the inlet valve 76 from the SCBA 18 can be automatically opened when the PAPR 16 is not providing breathable air. Also see [0048] and figure 5, the face mask 20 will receive air from the supply source with the highest pressure. During PAPR supply mode the level of air supplied to the manifold 36 from the PAPR is greater level of air required to open inlet valve 76 to switch the delivery of air to the SCBA air supply mode), but is silent as to wherein the self-contained breathing apparatus delivers a controlled stream (S1) of autonomous breathing gas into the inner space of the head unit and the filter-ventilation unit feeds a steady stream (S2) of filtered air into the inner space of the head unit together to generate a breath-in stream (S3) of the breathing gas/air in the inner space of the head unit, wherein when the pressure (p15) of the steady stream (S2) of the filtered air at the outlet of the self-contained breathing apparatus drops below the set switching pressure (ps), the outlet of the self-contained breathing apparatus opens automatically and without user intervention, and the stream (S1) of the autonomous breathing gas is momentarily added to the stream (S2) of the filtered air in the inner space of the head unit, thereby autonomously and without intervention creating a breath-in stream (S3) of the breathing gas/air from the mixture of the two streams (S1, S2) in the inner space of the head unit.
Springer discloses a modular breathing apparatus (figure 1) comprising a PAPR unit (110; figure 1) and a SCBA unit (figure 1) capable switching gas supply to the user from either units (see [0105-0111]). However, Springer also teaches [0112] In some examples, a more elaborate valve may be used that can mix the gas sources at a desired level. This may be used, for example, to extend the operational duration of a compressed air or oxygen tank being used to supplement low-oxygen ambient air; to limit, without totally blocking, exposure to contaminants in the ambient atmosphere, which may not be completely removed by the PAPR; etc.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of Brookman to implement automatically opening both the inlet valves in order to mix the gas sources when the ambient air of the PAPR unit falls below a level, thereby extending the operational duration of the compressed air or oxygen tank being used to supplement low-oxygen ambient air, as taught by Springer [0112]. A such modified Brookman teaches creating a breath-in stream (S3) of the breathing gas/air from the mixture of the two streams (S1, S2) in the inner space of the head unit (see figure 3-7, as modified above when the air coming from PAPR supply is determined to be insufficient, both inlet valves 76/74 are opened to deliver a mixture of filtered air/breathing gas).
Conclusion
/M.I.A./Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/VALERIE L WOODWARD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3785