DETAILED ACTION
This is a non-final Office Action on the merits. Claims 1-15 are currently pending and are addressed below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/13/2024 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “speed control unit” and “stop control unit” in claim 3.
In the instant case, the recited “units” are disclosed as algorithms executed by processors.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2, and 4-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, because the claim purports to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, but fails to recite a combination of elements as required by that statutory provision and thus cannot rely on the specification to provide the structure, material or acts to support the claimed function. As such, the claim recites a function that has no limits and covers every conceivable means for achieving the stated function, while the specification discloses at most only those means known to the inventor. Accordingly, the disclosure is not commensurate with the scope of the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-7, and 11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (US 2016/0089790).
Regarding claim 1:
Wang discloses A robot controller configured to control a robot, the robot controller comprising:
a speed control unit configured to change a motion speed of the robot in response to detection of a predetermined external force being applied to the robot when the robot is operating according to a control program (controller slows and stops the robot depending on external force thresholds, see at least abstract ¶0070).
Regarding claim 2:
Wang further discloses wherein
the speed control unit changes the motion speed of the robot in response to detection of, as the predetermined external force, an external force equal to or less than a predetermined reference value (speed is reduced in each threshold condition based on magnitude of external force. Below any particular threshold, but above a first threshold meets the claim limitation, see at least ¶0070, ¶0076, Fig 14, 15).
Regarding claim 3:
Wang further discloses a stop control unit configured to stop the robot in response to an external force applied to the robot exceeding the predetermined reference value (stopping in response to force above second threshold, see at least ¶0009, ¶0054).
Regarding claim 6:
Wang further discloses wherein
the speed control unit reduces the motion speed of the robot when a direction of the predetermined external force applied to the robot is considered to be an opposite direction to a motion direction of the robot in a case where the robot is operating according to the control program (see at least ¶0053).
Regarding claim 7:
Wang further discloses wherein the speed control unit reduces the motion speed of the robot when an external force equal to or less than a first threshold value is detected as the predetermined external force, and a direction of the external force is considered to be an opposite direction to the motion direction of the robot (see at least ¶0053).
Regarding claims 11-13 and 14, Wang teaches a control method as in claims 1-3 and 6 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yamamoto (US 2016/0176052).
Regarding claim 1:
Yamamoto discloses A robot controller configured to control a robot (control device 2), the robot controller comprising:
a speed control unit configured to change a motion speed of the robot in response to detection of a predetermined external force being applied to the robot when the robot is operating according to a control program (see at least 0009-0011).
Regarding claim 5:
Yamamoto discloses the speed control unit sets a degree of change in the motion speed according to a length of a time during which the predetermined external force is applied to the robot (see at least ¶0009-0011, Figs. 4-6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee US 2021/0128384)
Regarding claim 1:
Lee discloses A robot controller configured to control a robot (Processor 180, 260, robot bed Fig. 4, ¶0104-0106), the robot controller comprising:
a speed control unit (controller 90, see at least Fig. 9) configured to change a motion speed of the robot in response to detection of a predetermined external force being applied to the robot when the robot is operating according to a control program (see at least ¶0252-0260).
Regarding claim 4:
Lee further discloses wherein the speed control unit changes the motion speed of the robot according to a direction of the predetermined external force with respect to a motion direction of the robot when application of the predetermined external force to the robot is detected in a case where the robot is operating according to the control program (see at least ¶0258-0291).
Regarding claim 8:
Lee further discloses wherein
the speed control unit increases the motion speed of the robot when a direction of the predetermined external force applied to the robot is considered to be the same direction as a motion direction of the robot in a case where the robot is operating according to the control program (see at least ¶0258-0291).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9, 10, and 15 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(a), set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/Ryan Rink/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619