Detailed Action
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 15 and its dependent, i) it is unclear whether term “the heating member” refers to a) the heating member of a (any one) heating element of the previously claimed plurality of heating elements; or b) the heating member of each of the previously claimed plurality of heating elements; and ii) it is unclear whether term “the support” refers to a) the support of a (any one) heating element of the previously claimed plurality of heating elements; or b) the support of each of the previously claimed plurality of heating elements. The same rejections are also applied to terms “the support” and “the heating member” in claim 17 and its dependents.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 12-15 and 17-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipate by Winter 12509993.
Regarding claim 12, Winter teaches the invention as claimed: An aircraft part (20, Figs. 1-2) comprising:
a composite material structure (airfoil body 42 in Figs. 2-3 is a fiber-reinforced composite, see col. 3, ll. 38-42) comprising a fibrous reinforcement (48 in layers 46A and 46D-46F, Fig. 3) and a matrix (50 in Fig. 3), the fibrous reinforcement (48 in layers 46A and 46D-46F, Fig. 3) being embedded into the matrix (50, Fig. 3 and col. 3, ll. 40-45); and
a plurality of heating elements (per Figs. 1-3 and 5A and from col. 4, l. 60 to col. 5, l. 25, a heater 64 comprising heating member 68 woven into a cloth 54 as shown in Fig. 5A is respective provided in the layer 46B and 46C in Fig. 3, and thus, the claimed plurality of heating elements is the heater 64 and the cloth 54 in Fig. 5A in layer 46B and the heater 64 and the cloth 54 in Fig. 5A in layer 46C) configured to heat the aircraft part (20, col. 5, ll. 1-15), each of the plurality of heating elements (the heater 64 and the cloth 54 in Fig. 5A in layer 46B and the heater 64 and the cloth 54 in Fig. 5A in layer 46C) being embedded into (see Fig. 3) the matrix (50, Fig. 3) of the composite material structure (airfoil body 42 in Figs. 2-3), the plurality of heating elements (the heater 64 and the cloth 54 in Fig. 5A in layer 46B and the heater 64 and the cloth 54 in Fig. 5A in layer 46C) being distributed across the aircraft part (airfoil body 42 in Figs. 2-3) with a density depending on a position in the aircraft part (per Figs. 1-2 and col. 5, l. 60 to col. 6, l. 5, the heater 64 is provided on a portion of 20, which is a position of where an inner surface 38 and leading edge 34 are).
Regarding claim 13, Winter further teaches wherein each of the plurality of heating elements (each of the heater 64 and the cloth 54 in Fig. 5A in layer 46B and the heater 64 and the cloth 54 in Fig. 5A in layer 46C) is distinct from (because they are at different layers) the fibrous reinforcement (48 in layers 46A and 46D-46F, Fig. 3) of the composite material structure (airfoil body 42 in Figs. 2-3).
Regarding claim 14, Winter further teaches wherein each of the plurality of heating elements (each of the heater 64 and the cloth 54 in Fig. 5A in layer 46B and the heater 64 and the cloth 54 in Fig. 5A in layer 46C) comprises a support (cloth 54 in Fig. 5A) and a heating member (68 in Fig. 5A), the support (cloth 54 in Fig. 5A) being permeable to the matrix (50, Fig. 3 and col. 5, ll. 15-25) and the heating member (68 in Fig. 5A) being configured to heat the aircraft part (20, col. 5, ll. 1-15).
Regarding claim 15, Winter further teaches wherein the heating member (68 in Fig. 5A in layer 46B in Fig. 3) comprises an electrically conductive portion (the filled portion of 68, annotated Fig. 5A), the support (cloth 54 in Fig. 5A in layer 46C in Fig. 3) being configured to electrically insulate the electrically conductive portion (the filled portion of 68, annotated Fig. 5A) from the fibrous reinforcement (48 in the layer 46D in Fig. 3) of the composite material structure (42; because the fiber 58A is fiberglass per col. 3, ll. 40-47, which is not electrically conductive).
Regarding claim 17, Winter further teaches wherein the support (cloth 54 in Fig. 5A) comprises a first layer (formed by 56A and 58A in Fig. 5A) and a second layer (formed by 56B and 58B in Fig. 5A), the heating member (68 in Fig. 5A) being positioned between the first layer and the second layer (see Fig. 5A).
Regarding claim 18, Winter further teaches wherein at least one of the first layer (formed by 56A and 58A in Fig. 5A) and of the second layer (formed by 56B and 58B in Fig. 5A) comprises a woven portion (Fig. 5A and col. 5, ll. 15-31).
Regarding claim 19, Winter further teaches wherein at least one of the first layer (formed by 56A and 58A in Fig. 5A) and of the second layer (formed by 56B and 58B in Fig. 5A) comprises a warp knit fabric (58A or 58B, see col. 5, ll. 15-31).
Regarding claim 20, Winter further teaches wherein the aircraft part (20, Figs. 1-2 and 7B) is a blade (see Figs. 1-2 and 7B and col. 3, ll. 18-22) of an aircraft engine (Fig. 8), the blade having a root (28) and a tip (30), the plurality of heating elements (the heater 64 and the cloth 54 in Fig. 5A in layer 46B and the heater 64 and the cloth 54 in Fig. 5A in layer 46C) being distributed across the blade (20, Figs. 1-2 and 7B) with a higher density at the root (28) than at the tip (30; per Fig. 7B and col. 6, ll. 20-35, ice is more likely accumulated at root 28, and thus, the heater 64 is provided at root 28 rather than tip 30).
Regarding claim 21, Winter further teaches A fan (94, Fig. 8) comprising a hub (annotated Fig. 8) and a plurality of blades (100s, Fig. 8), each of the plurality of blades (each 100) being the blade (20, see col. 7, ll. 10-22) and extending radially from the hub (see annotated Fig. 8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Winter 12509993 in view of MIZUNO 20200386159.
Regarding claim 16, Winter further teaches an electrical connection element (in order to provide electricity to the heater 64 from the electricity source 66 as taught by Fig. 1 and col. 4, l. 60 to col. 5, l. 6, an electrical connection element is required, e.g., a wire/cable), the electrical connection element (in order to provide electricity to the heater 64 from the electricity source 66 as taught by Fig. 1 and col. 4, l. 60 to col. 5, l. 6, an electrical connection element is required, e.g., a wire/cable) being configured to electrically connect the electrically conductive portion (the filled portion of 68, see annotated Fig. 5A in claim 15) to an electrical power source (66, Fig. 1).
Winter does not teach an electrically insulating sheath, and the electrically insulating sheath receiving the electrical connection element so as to electrically insulate the electrical connection element from the fibrous reinforcement of the composite material structure.
However, MIZUNO teaches an electrical connection element (the wire connected between power supply 35 and electrode 311, see Fig. 10) and an electrically insulating sheath (electrically insulating coating 33, [0109]), the electrical connection element (the wire connected between power supply 35 and electrode 311, see Fig. 10) being configured to electrically connect the electrically conductive portion (in order to provide a heating region 36, Fig. 10 and [0106-0107]) to an electrical power source (35, Fig. 10) and the electrically insulating sheath (electrically insulating coating 33, [0109]) receiving the electrical connection element (the wire connected between power supply 35 and electrode 311, see Fig. 10) so as to electrically insulate the electrical connection element (the wire connected between power supply 35 and electrode 311, see Fig. 10) from an aircraft part (the portion of blade 800 where the wire and electrically insulating coating 33 passing through, see Fig. 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosed but non-depicted electrical connection element of Winter to be MIZUNO’s electrical connection element received by an electrically insulating sheath (a wire with electrically insulating coating), such that
and an electrically insulating sheath, the electrical connection element being configured to electrically connect the electrically conductive portion to an electrical power source and the electrically insulating sheath receiving the electrical connection element so as to electrically insulate the electrical connection element from the fibrous reinforcement of the composite material structure (the modification is to use MIZUNO’s electrical connection element received by an electrically insulating sheath to electrically connect Winter’s the electrically conductive portion and Winter’s electrical power source, which read on the claimed limitation)
because it is noted that the use of a known prior art structure, in this case the use of an electrical connection element received by an electrically insulating sheath (a wire with electrically insulating coating) taught by MIZUNO, to obtain predictable results, in this case to provide electricity, was an obvious extension of prior art teachings, MPEP 2141 III A.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Winter 12509993 in view of COURTIER 20200223531.
Regarding claim 22, Winter further teaches the plurality of heating elements (the heater 64 and the cloth 54 in Fig. 5A in layer 46B and the heater 64 and the cloth 54 in Fig. 5A in layer 46C) is fixed on the fibrous reinforcement (48 in layers 46A and 46D-46F, see Fig. 3), and all of the plurality of heating elements (the heater 64 and the cloth 54 in Fig. 5A in layer 46B and the heater 64 and the cloth 54 in Fig. 5A in layer 46C) and the fibrous reinforcement (48 in layers 46A and 46D-46F, Fig. 3) are embedded by the matrix (50 in Fig. 3) to form the aircraft part (20m Figs. 1-2) that is a composite airfoil (col. 3, ll. 18-20).
Winter does not teach a method for manufacturing the aircraft part, the method comprising making the fibrous reinforcement, fixing the plurality of heating elements on the fibrous reinforcement and then solidifying the matrix.
However, COURTIER teaches a method (claims 7-10) for manufacturing the aircraft part (composite blade 10, Figs. 1-2), the method comprising making the fibrous reinforcement comprising a plurality of fibrous reinforcement layers (107 or 108 in Figs. 3-5), fixing the plurality of the fibrous reinforcement layers (in order to form the fiber structure 200 that is shaped as the blade, see Fig. 8) and then solidifying the matrix (per [0065-0068], the fiber structure is placed in a mold, the matrix is injected into the mold to impregnate the entire fiber structure, and a heating is apply to the mold to solidify the matrix).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to provide Winter with COURTIER’s method for manufacturing the aircraft part, such that
the method comprising making the fibrous reinforcement, fixing the plurality of heating elements on the fibrous reinforcement and then solidifying the matrix (the modification is to apply COURTIER’s method to manufacture Winter’s composite blade, which read on the claimed limitation because Winter’s composite blade is formed by a plurality of fibrous reinforcement layers with a plurality of heating members woven into a portion of the plurality of fibrous reinforcement layers embedded by the matrix)
in order to obtain a lighter propeller vanes or blades by producing said vanes or blades with fiber reinforcement and resin matrix (COURTIER, [0004]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Picard 20200291783 teaches An aircraft part comprising: a composite material structure comprising a fibrous reinforcement and a matrix, the fibrous reinforcement being embedded into the matrix; and a plurality of heating elements configured to heat the aircraft part, each of the plurality of heating elements being embedded into the matrix of the composite material structure, the plurality of heating elements being distributed across the aircraft part with a density depending on a position in the aircraft part.
SAKOTA 20150053663 teaches An aircraft part comprising: a composite material structure comprising a fibrous reinforcement and a matrix, the fibrous reinforcement being embedded into the matrix; and a plurality of heating elements configured to heat the aircraft part, each of the plurality of heating elements being embedded into the matrix of the composite material structure, the plurality of heating elements being distributed across the aircraft part with a density depending on a position in the aircraft part.
Feeney 9793672 teaches An aircraft part comprising: a composite material structure comprising a fibrous reinforcement and a matrix, the fibrous reinforcement being embedded into the matrix; and a plurality of heating elements configured to heat the aircraft part, each of the plurality of heating elements being embedded into the matrix of the composite material structure, the plurality of heating elements being distributed across the aircraft part with a density depending on a position in the aircraft part.
Vontell 7789620 teaches An aircraft part comprising: a composite material structure comprising a fibrous reinforcement and a matrix, the fibrous reinforcement being embedded into the matrix; and a plurality of heating elements configured to heat the aircraft part, each of the plurality of heating elements being embedded into the matrix of the composite material structure, the plurality of heating elements being distributed across the aircraft part with a density depending on a position in the aircraft part.
/JINGCHEN LIU/Examiner, Art Unit 3741