DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed on 12/30/2024.
Claims 1-5, 7, 8, 11, 12, 15, 18, 21-26, 35, 39, and 41 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7, 8, 11, 12, 15, 18, 21-26, 35, 39, and 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (US 2020/0275296 A1; hereafter CHEN).
With respect to claim 1, CHEN discloses an information processing method, performed by a user equipment (UE) (500, 502, 501 in FIG. 5), wherein the UE comprises:
a first transceiver and a second transceiver (401, 402 in FIG. 4); and
the method comprises:
determining that the UE (500, 502, 501 in FIG. 5) is in a radio resource control (RRC) connected state and meets a preset condition (paragraph [0012], [0013], and [0067], see the RRC message and states of RRC_CONNECTE and RRC_IDLE, and the preset condition is the Opportunity for DRX); and
turning off the first transceiver and turning on the second transceiver, wherein the second transceiver (401, 402 in FIG. 4; the UE has reception module [first transceiver] and measurement module [second transceiver], the measurement module is only turns on to perform the RRM measurements) is configured for the UE to monitor a preset signal (paragraph [0056], see the preset indication signaling to use the RRM measuring).
With respect to claim 2, CHEN further discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the UE meets a preset requirement (paragraph [0056], see the preset indication signaling to use the RRM measuring).
With respect to claim 3, CHEN further discloses the method according to claim 2, wherein the UE that meets the preset requirement comprises at least one of the following:
the UE configured with discontinuous reception (DRX) (paragraph [0012], [0013], and [0067], see the RRC message and states of RRC_CONNECTE and RRC_IDLE, and the preset condition is the Opportunity for DRX);
the UE not configured with carrier aggregation; or
the UE of a predetermined type (paragraph [0156]).
With respect to claim 4, CHEN further discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein meeting the preset condition comprises at least one of the following:
receiving indication information (paragraph [0056], see the preset indication signaling to use the RRM measuring) sent by a network device; or
meeting a trigger condition.
With respect to claim 5, CHEN further discloses the method according to claim 4, wherein the method further comprises:
receiving, by the UE, the indication information within a wake-up period; or
receiving, by the UE, the indication information at a preset moment within a sleep period of a discontinuous reception DRX cycle (paragraph [0012], [0013], and [0067], see the RRC message and states of RRC_CONNECTE and RRC_IDLE, and the preset condition is the Opportunity for DRX).
With respect to claim 7, CHEN further discloses the method according to claim 4, wherein meeting the trigger condition comprises at least one of the following:
detecting that the UE meets a low mobility condition;
detecting that the UE meets a cell signal quality good condition;
detecting that the UE meets a condition of stopping radio resource management (RRM)
measurement of at least one of a current cell and/or a neighboring cell (401, 402 in FIG. 4; the UE has reception module [first transceiver] and measurement module [second transceiver], the measurement module is only turns on to perform the RRM measurements);
detecting that the UE has continuously not received downlink transmission for a preset duration; or
detecting that a number of times the UE has continuously not received downlink transmission reaches a number threshold.
With respect to claim 8, CHEN further discloses the method according to claim 4, wherein the method further comprises:
receiving condition information of the trigger condition sent by the network device (401, 402 in FIG. 4; the UE has reception module [first transceiver] and measurement module [second transceiver], the measurement module is only turns on to perform the RRM measurements); or
determining the trigger condition according to a protocol agreement.
With respect to claim 11, CHEN further discloses the method according to claim 4,
wherein the indication information further comprises at least one of the following:
duration information, configured to determine a duration for which the UE turns off the
first transceiver and turns on the second transceiver (401, 402 in FIG. 4; the UE has reception module [first transceiver] and measurement module [second transceiver], the measurement module is only turns on to perform the RRM measurements); or
effective mode information, configured to determine an effective mode of the indication information.
With respect to claim 12, CHEN further discloses the method according to claim 11, wherein the effective mode indicated by the effective mode information comprises at least one of the following:
a first effective mode where the indication information is effective immediately after the UE receiving the indication information (paragraphs [0012] and [0013]);
a second effective mode where effective time is determined according to effective time
information carried by the indication information; or
a third effective mode where the indication information is determined to be effective after completing a predetermined event.
With respect to claim 15, CHEN further discloses the method according to claim 8, wherein the condition information further comprises:
duration information, configured to indicate a duration of turning off the first transceiver and turning on the second transceiver (paragraphs [0012] and [0013]).
With respect to claim 18, CHEN further discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises:
after turning off, by the UE, the first transceiver and turning on the second transceiver,
performing at least one of the following operations:
monitoring the preset signal through the second transceiver (401, 402 in FIG. 4; the UE has reception module [first transceiver] and measurement module [second transceiver], the measurement module is only turns on to perform the RRM measurements);
stopping radio resource management RRM measurement of a current cell; or
stopping the RRM measurement of a neighboring cell.
With respect to claim 21, CHEN further discloses the method according to claim 1,
wherein the method further comprises:
sending auxiliary information of the UE to a network device, wherein the auxiliary
information is related to the preset mode of the UE (401, 402 in FIG. 4; the UE has reception module [first transceiver] and measurement module [second transceiver], the measurement module is only turns on to perform the RRM measurements).
With respect to claim 22, CHEN further discloses the method according to claim 21, wherein the auxiliary information comprises at least one of the following:
capability information, configured to indicate whether the UE comprises the first
transceiver and the second transceiver;
expectation information, configured to indicate whether the UE has an expectation to turn off the first transceiver and turn on the second transceiver (paragraphs [0055] and [0056]);
expected duration information, configured to indicate an expected duration for the UE to turn off the first transceiver and turn on the second transceiver; or
expected condition information, configured to indicate an expected triggering condition
for the UE to turn off the first transceiver and turn on the second transceiver.
With respect to claim 23, CHEN discloses an information processing method, performed by a network device (700, 701, 703, 702 in FIG. 7), wherein the method comprises:
sending indication information or condition information of a triggering condition, wherein the indication information or the condition information is configured to turn off a first transceiver (401, 402 in FIG. 4; the UE has reception module [first transceiver] and measurement module [second transceiver], the measurement module is only turns on to perform the RRM measurements)
of a user equipment (UE) (500, 502, 501 in FIG. 5) and turn on a second transceiver (401, 402 in FIG. 4; the UE has reception module [first transceiver] and measurement module [second transceiver], the measurement module is only turns on to perform the RRM measurements) of the UE (500, 502, 501 in FIG. 5) when the UE is in a radio resource control (RRC) connected state and meets a preset condition (paragraph [0012], [0013], and [0067], see the RRC message and states of RRC_CONNECTE and RRC_IDLE, and the preset condition is the Opportunity for DRX),
wherein the second transceiver (401, 402 in FIG. 4; the UE has reception module [first transceiver] and measurement module [second transceiver], the measurement module is only turns on to perform the RRM measurements) is configured for the UE to monitor a preset signal.
With respect to claim 24, CHEN further discloses the method according to claim 23, wherein the UE meets a preset requirement the indication information or the condition information is configured to turn off the first transceiver of the UE (401, 402 in FIG. 4; the UE has reception module [first transceiver] and measurement module [second transceiver], the measurement module is only turns on to perform the RRM measurements) and
turn on the second transceiver when the UE that meets a preset requirement is in the RRC connected state and meets the preset condition (paragraph [0012], [0013], and [0067], see the RRC message and states of RRC_CONNECTE and RRC_IDLE, and the preset condition is the Opportunity for DRX).
With respect to claim 25, CHEN further discloses the method according to claim 23, wherein the method further comprises:
when monitoring that the UE meets the trigger condition, determining that the UE sends the indication information (paragraphs [0055] and [0056]).
With respect to claim 26, CHEN further discloses the method according to claim 23,
wherein the trigger condition comprises at least one of the following:
a low mobility condition;
a cell signal quality good condition;
the UE has continuously not received downlink transmission for a preset duration (paragraphs [0055] and [0056]);
a base station has continuously not sent downlink transmission to the UE for a preset duration;
a number of times the UE has continuously not received downlink transmission reaches a number threshold; or
a number of times the base station has not sent downlink transmission to the UE reaches a number threshold.
With respect to claim 35, CHEN further discloses the method according to claim 23
wherein the method further comprises:
receiving auxiliary information sent by the UE,
wherein the auxiliary information is related to the UE turning off the first transceiver and turning on the second transceiver (401, 402 in FIG. 4; the UE has reception module [first transceiver] and measurement module [second transceiver], the measurement module is only turns on to perform the RRM measurements).
With respect to claim 39, CHEN discloses a communication device (700, 701, 703, 702 in FIG. 7), comprising
a processor (700, 701, 703, 702 in FIG. 7), a transceiver (700, 701, 703, 702 in FIG. 7),
a memory (700, 701, 703, 702 in FIG. 7), and an executable program (paragraph [0024] and [0025]) stored on the memory and capable of being run by the processor, wherein the processor executes the method according to claim 23 when running the executable program.
With respect to claim 41, CHEN discloses a communication device (500, 502, 501 in FIG. 5), comprising
a processor (500, 502, 501 in FIG. 5), a transceiver,
a memory (500, 502, 501 in FIG. 5), and an executable program (5022 in FIG. 5) stored on the memory and capable of being run by the processor,
wherein by running the executable program (paragraph [0024] and [0025]), the processor is configured to:
determine that a user equipment (UE) (500, 502, 501 in FIG. 5) is in a radio resource control (RRC) connected state and meets a preset condition (paragraph [0012], [0013], and [0067], see the RRC message and states of RRC_CONNECTE and RRC_IDLE, and the preset condition is the Opportunity for DRX), and
turn off a first transceiver of the UE and turn on a second transceiver of the UE, wherein the second transceiver (401, 402 in FIG. 4; the UE has reception module [first transceiver] and measurement module [second transceiver], the measurement module is only turns on to perform the RRM measurements) is configured for the UE to monitor a preset signal (paragraph [0056], see the preset indication signaling to use the RRM measuring).
Conclusion
/BRIAN T O CONNOR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465 September 12, 2026