Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hope (US 20180099219) in view of Koizumi (US 20170052750).
Regarding claim 1 Hope teaches an input device that is used while being worn by a user, the input device (fig.10A) comprising:
a main body having an operating section (fig. 10A, 210, fig. 12A, 410) in which an input member is disposed ([0051] In the embodiment of FIGS. 10A-10B, the head 210 includes thumb-operated controls A, B, and 208);
an outer surface (fig. 10A, 230) provided with a tracked portion to be tracked by an external device ([0051]);
an inner surface (fig. 4,) that surrounds a hand or wrist (fig.4, hand) of the user when the device is worn on the user (fig.4); and
Hope is silent on an attaching portion that is provided on the inner surface, wherein the attaching portion is attachable to, and detachable from, an attached portion of an accessory component.
However, Koizumi teaches an attaching portion (fig.4, ) that is provided on the inner surface (item 4 has inner surface that slides in item 2), wherein the attaching portion is attachable to, and detachable from, an attached portion of an accessory component (fig.4, ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art to combine Hope in light of Koizumi teaching so that it may include on an attaching portion that is provided on the inner surface, wherein the attaching portion is attachable to, and detachable from, an attached portion of an accessory component.
The motivation is to provide an accessory to which controller device is removably attachable.
Regarding claim 2 Hope teaches comprising: a first part extending in a first direction; a second part extending in a second direction from the first part, wherein at least a part of the attaching portion (fig. 12A, 414) is located on an inner surface at a connecting portion between the first part (fig. 12A, 430 upper part) and the second part (fig. 12A, 430 lower part).
Regarding claim 3 Hope teaches comprising: a part that is located rearward of the operating section (fig. 12A, 410) and that has the inner surface and the outer surface, wherein the attaching portion (fig. 12A, 414) is provided on the inner surface of the part.
Regarding claim 4 Hope teaches wherein the main body (fig. 12A, 412) further has a grip (fig. 4), and the part has a device rear part that is shaped to surround the hand or wrist of the user holding the grip (fig.4).
Regarding claim 5 Hope teaches comprising: a device side part (220) extending forward from the device rear part, wherein the attaching portion is formed on an inner surface at a connecting portion between the device rear part and the device side part (fig. 10A ).
Regarding claim 7 Hope teaches wherein the attaching portion (414) has an opening that is formed in the inner surface and into which the attached portion is capable of being fitted (fig. 12C).
Regarding claim 8 Hope teaches wherein the opening includes a first opening area extending from the center line in a first direction intersecting the center line and a second opening area extending from the center line in a second direction intersecting the center line, and an inner edge of the opening connecting a tip of the first opening area and a tip of the second opening area protrudes toward the center line with respect to a straight line connecting the tip of the first opening area and the tip of the second opening area (fig. 12C, it has two opening 414 and the other containing 427).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9, 12, 13, 14 are allowed.
Claims 6 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
-Lu US 2023/0105605
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TOWFIQ ELAHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2625