DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-15 are presented for examination.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“an access guard unit configured to recognize forms of connection with an external apparatus or medium and controls an access range in accordance with a difference in the forms of connection” in claim 7
“the access guard unit recognizes at least a wired connection through the communication line provided in the charging stand and a radio connection as the forms of connection” in claim 8
“the access guard unit restricts access to the second information accumulation unit when the access guard unit recognizes a form of connection other than a wired connection through the communication line provided in the charging stand and a radio connection” in claim 9
“the access guard restricts access to the third information accumulation unit when the access guard unit recognizes a form of connection other than a wired connection through the communication line provided in the charging stand” in claim 9
“the first information accumulation unit accumulates data that does not require authentication by the center server” in claim 10
“the second information accumulation unit accumulates data indicating a state of the vehicle and a history of the state of the vehicle” in claim 10
“the third information accumulation unit accumulates data accessible when the authentication processing performed by the center server has confirmed the validity” in claim 10
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Park et al. (US 2013/0110340)
Wild et al. (US 2015/0095218)
Uesugi (US 2011/0241824)\
Erb et al. (US 2019/0291589)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 7-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 2013/0110340) in view of Uesugi (US 2011/0241824) in view of Wild et al. (US 2015/0095218).
[Claim 1] Park discloses a data update system comprising:
a user terminal operated by a user (¶¶ 45-47 – charging menu, input unit);
a center server configured to perform authentication processing and distribution of data (¶ 80 – Vehicle authentication via the server); and
a charging stand comprising a charging cable connected to a vehicle and a communication line through which data communication with the vehicle is performed, the charging stand being configured to charge the vehicle (¶ 93 – Charging stand with charging cable), and
the charging stand performs
authentication code provision processing for providing the authentication code in response to a connection of the charging cable to the vehicle (¶¶ 89-90 – “[0089] If the charging plug 230 is connected to the vehicle, the charging controller 210 is connected to the vehicle communication unit 120 through a communication terminal mounted to the charging plug and vehicle charging information and unique information are requested through the communication unit 290 and then received in the charging controller 210. [0090] The charging controller 210 determines whether charging is possible in response to the received vehicle charging information, transmits unique vehicle information to an external server through the communication unit 290, and requests the server to perform vehicle authentication.”; fig. 7, ¶ 126 – authentication via charging stand).
Park does not explicitly disclose wherein
the user terminal performs authentication request processing for transmitting authentication information including at least an authentication code provided by the charging stand to the center server ,
the center server performs
authentication processing for confirming whether or not the authentication information is valid, and
distribution processing for causing the charging stand to download the data to be updated in response to the authentication processing confirming the validity, and
the charging stand performs
data update processing for updating data of a vehicle to be updated by providing the downloaded data to the vehicle to be updated through the communication line.
However, Uesugi requests a password to authenticate users (Uesugi: ¶¶ 20-21 – “[0020] According to this construction, when the user is authenticated, the user may make the authentication code reading device read the authentication code output to the user. Accordingly, as compared with the case where the user is required to input his/her password or the like for authentication, the work imposed on the user for authentication can be reduced, and the convenience for users can be enhanced. [0021] In the above in-vehicle mount type battery charging system, the charging station may be provided with a card reading device that can read a card ID from an authentication card. When a user whose card ID is not stored is authenticated, the managing server may acquire the card ID of the authentication card by the card reading device in combination with the authentication of the user, store the acquired card ID in association with user information containing at least information concerning whether the user is a temporary member or not, and when a user whose card ID is stored is authenticated, the managing server may acquire the card ID of the authentication card by the card reading device, and authenticate the user on the basis of user information stored in association with the read card ID.“). Temporary members may be issued a one-time password (Uesugi: ¶ 17). Registration of members and authentication are performed via a manager server connected to the charger (Uesugi: abstract).
The Examiner submits that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicant’s invention to modify Park wherein
the user terminal performs authentication request processing for transmitting authentication information including at least an authentication code provided by the charging stand to the center server ,
the center server performs
authentication processing for confirming whether or not the authentication information is valid
so that “the work imposed on the user for authentication can be reduced, and the convenience for users can be enhanced” (as suggested in ¶ 20 of Uesugi).
Regarding the update of downloaded data, Wild states, “For example, the charging interface system 125 may provide a scalable platform capable of adding or supporting charging networks by simply dropping in an API Wrapper/Driver or other communication information to the interface.” (Wild: ¶ 34) The Examiner submits that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicant’s invention to modify Park wherein the charging stand performs data update processing for updating data of a vehicle to be updated by providing the downloaded data to the vehicle to be updated through the communication line in order to create a more scalable platform that is more readily accessible by more customers (as suggested in ¶ 34 of Wild).
[Claim 2] Park discloses wherein the charging cable is integrated with the communication line (¶ 62 – “The connector 170 includes not only a power-supply terminal but also a communication terminal. If the connector 170 is connected to the charging plug 230, it enables the vehicle to receive power from the charging stand 200, and at the same time the charging stand can communicate with the vehicle communication unit 120.”).
[Claim 3] Park does not explicitly disclose wherein the center server calculates an estimated amount of time required to update data and an estimated amount of time required to perform charging processing in which the charging stand charges the vehicle in response to the authentication processing confirming the validity, and displays the calculated estimated amount of time on a display unit of the charging stand or the user terminal. Wild explains that a charging station may pre-authorize an amount of charge based on a percent of total charge needed and charging information, including charging status, may be displayed on an interactive interface (Wild: ¶ 45 – “The authorization module 350, therefore, may pre-authorize and/or cause a charging station to pre-authorize or allow a first amount of charge (e.g., a small amount of charge) to be provided to the electric vehicle before receiving the payment information associated with charging the electric vehicle at the charging station. The pre-authorized amount of charge may be a small amount of charge (e.g., 1-10 percent of a total charge request or need, such as 5-15 minutes of charging time), and may be selected and/or determined based on a variety of factors. For example, the charging interface system 125 may pre-authorize a certain or initial amount of charge for drivers of electric vehicles that are members of a charging network that provides the charging station.”; ¶ 63 – “Once the EV is authorized based on the provided payment information, the mobile application 127 may display status information that indicates the EV is authorized with the specific charging station, and charging may commence.”; ¶¶ 39, 51 – Selections may be made via the UI.). The Examiner submits that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicant’s invention to modify Park wherein the center server calculates an estimated amount of time required to update data and an estimated amount of time required to perform charging processing in which the charging stand charges the vehicle in response to the authentication processing confirming the validity, and displays the calculated estimated amount of time on a display unit of the charging stand or the user terminal to ensure that a customer has the funds to pay for a desired amount of charge while facilitating convenient and clear communications between the charging stations and the customer.
[Claim 4] Park does not explicitly disclose wherein the charging stand provides the data to the vehicle when the user selects execution of the data update processing in a selection screen displayed on a display unit provided in the user terminal or the charging stand.
Wild explains that a charging station may pre-authorize an amount of charge based on a percent of total charge needed and charging information, including charging status, may be displayed on an interactive interface (Wild: ¶ 45 – “The authorization module 350, therefore, may pre-authorize and/or cause a charging station to pre-authorize or allow a first amount of charge (e.g., a small amount of charge) to be provided to the electric vehicle before receiving the payment information associated with charging the electric vehicle at the charging station. The pre-authorized amount of charge may be a small amount of charge (e.g., 1-10 percent of a total charge request or need, such as 5-15 minutes of charging time), and may be selected and/or determined based on a variety of factors. For example, the charging interface system 125 may pre-authorize a certain or initial amount of charge for drivers of electric vehicles that are members of a charging network that provides the charging station.”; ¶ 63 – “Once the EV is authorized based on the provided payment information, the mobile application 127 may display status information that indicates the EV is authorized with the specific charging station, and charging may commence.”; ¶¶ 39, 51 – Selections may be made via the UI.). Regarding the update of downloaded data, Wild states, “For example, the charging interface system 125 may provide a scalable platform capable of adding or supporting charging networks by simply dropping in an API Wrapper/Driver or other communication information to the interface” (Wild: ¶ 34) while creating a more scalable platform that is more readily accessible by more customers (as suggested in ¶ 34 of Wild).
The Examiner submits that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicant’s invention to modify Park wherein the charging stand provides the data to the vehicle when the user selects execution of the data update processing in a selection screen displayed on a display unit provided in the user terminal or the charging stand to ensure that a customer has the funds to pay for a desired amount of charge while facilitating convenient and clear communications between the charging stations and the customer.
[Claim 5] Park does not explicitly discloses wherein the authentication code is a one-time password updated by the center server.
However, Uesugi requests a password to authenticate users (Uesugi: ¶¶ 20-21 – “[0020] According to this construction, when the user is authenticated, the user may make the authentication code reading device read the authentication code output to the user. Accordingly, as compared with the case where the user is required to input his/her password or the like for authentication, the work imposed on the user for authentication can be reduced, and the convenience for users can be enhanced. [0021] In the above in-vehicle mount type battery charging system, the charging station may be provided with a card reading device that can read a card ID from an authentication card. When a user whose card ID is not stored is authenticated, the managing server may acquire the card ID of the authentication card by the card reading device in combination with the authentication of the user, store the acquired card ID in association with user information containing at least information concerning whether the user is a temporary member or not, and when a user whose card ID is stored is authenticated, the managing server may acquire the card ID of the authentication card by the card reading device, and authenticate the user on the basis of user information stored in association with the read card ID.“). Temporary members may be issued a one-time password (Uesugi: ¶ 17). Registration of members and authentication are performed via a manager server connected to the charger (Uesugi: abstract).
The Examiner submits that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicant’s invention to modify Park wherein the authentication code is a one-time password updated by the center serve so that “the work imposed on the user for authentication can be reduced, and the convenience for users can be enhanced” (as suggested in ¶ 20 of Uesugi) while expanding the access of various customers (including both members and non-members) to the charging network.
[Claim 7] Park discloses wherein the vehicle comprises an access guard unit configured to recognize forms of connection with an external apparatus or medium and controls an access range in accordance with a difference in the forms of connection (¶¶ 43-44 – “[0043] The door 260 is installed into the charging stand 200. If the charging plug 230 is taken out or inserted into the charging stand 200, the door 260 is opened. If the charging plug 230 is installed inside the charging stand 200, the door 260 is closed. In addition, if the charging plug 230 is taken out and connected to the vehicle, the door 260 is closed. [0044] In this case, the door 260 is opened or closed according to the user authentication result of the RF recognition unit 280. In addition, if the charging plug 230 is inserted into the vehicle, the door 260 may be closed or opened according to the vehicle authentication result.“; ¶¶ 48-49 – “[0048] If the RF card contacts or is placed on the RF recognition unit 280, the RF recognition unit 280 reads data from the RF card and performs user authentication. [0049] Once the user is authenticated, the door 260 is opened and the charging plug 230 is taken out and connected to the vehicle.“; ¶¶ 75-79).
[Claim 8] Park discloses wherein the access guard unit recognizes at least a wired connection through the communication line provided in the charging stand and a radio connection as the forms of connection (¶¶ 43-44 – “[0043] The door 260 is installed into the charging stand 200. If the charging plug 230 is taken out or inserted into the charging stand 200, the door 260 is opened. If the charging plug 230 is installed inside the charging stand 200, the door 260 is closed. In addition, if the charging plug 230 is taken out and connected to the vehicle, the door 260 is closed. [0044] In this case, the door 260 is opened or closed according to the user authentication result of the RF recognition unit 280. In addition, if the charging plug 230 is inserted into the vehicle, the door 260 may be closed or opened according to the vehicle authentication result.“; ¶¶ 48-49 – “[0048] If the RF card contacts or is placed on the RF recognition unit 280, the RF recognition unit 280 reads data from the RF card and performs user authentication. [0049] Once the user is authenticated, the door 260 is opened and the charging plug 230 is taken out and connected to the vehicle.“; ¶¶ 75-79).
[Claim 9] Park discloses wherein
the vehicle comprises a first information accumulation unit, a second information accumulation unit, and a third information accumulation unit (figs. 3, 4, 7; ¶¶ 43-44 – “[0043] The door 260 is installed into the charging stand 200. If the charging plug 230 is taken out or inserted into the charging stand 200, the door 260 is opened. If the charging plug 230 is installed inside the charging stand 200, the door 260 is closed. In addition, if the charging plug 230 is taken out and connected to the vehicle, the door 260 is closed. [0044] In this case, the door 260 is opened or closed according to the user authentication result of the RF recognition unit 280. In addition, if the charging plug 230 is inserted into the vehicle, the door 260 may be closed or opened according to the vehicle authentication result.“; ¶¶ 48-49 – “[0048] If the RF card contacts or is placed on the RF recognition unit 280, the RF recognition unit 280 reads data from the RF card and performs user authentication. [0049] Once the user is authenticated, the door 260 is opened and the charging plug 230 is taken out and connected to the vehicle.“; ¶¶ 75-79);
the access guard unit restricts access to the second information accumulation unit when the access guard unit recognizes a form of connection other than a wired connection through the communication line provided in the charging stand and a radio connection (figs. 3, 4, 7; ¶¶ 43-44 – “[0043] The door 260 is installed into the charging stand 200. If the charging plug 230 is taken out or inserted into the charging stand 200, the door 260 is opened. If the charging plug 230 is installed inside the charging stand 200, the door 260 is closed. In addition, if the charging plug 230 is taken out and connected to the vehicle, the door 260 is closed. [0044] In this case, the door 260 is opened or closed according to the user authentication result of the RF recognition unit 280. In addition, if the charging plug 230 is inserted into the vehicle, the door 260 may be closed or opened according to the vehicle authentication result.“; ¶¶ 48-49 – “[0048] If the RF card contacts or is placed on the RF recognition unit 280, the RF recognition unit 280 reads data from the RF card and performs user authentication. [0049] Once the user is authenticated, the door 260 is opened and the charging plug 230 is taken out and connected to the vehicle.“; ¶¶ 75-79), and
the access guard restricts access to the third information accumulation unit when the access guard unit recognizes a form of connection other than a wired connection through the communication line provided in the charging stand (figs. 3, 4, 7; ¶¶ 43-44 – “[0043] The door 260 is installed into the charging stand 200. If the charging plug 230 is taken out or inserted into the charging stand 200, the door 260 is opened. If the charging plug 230 is installed inside the charging stand 200, the door 260 is closed. In addition, if the charging plug 230 is taken out and connected to the vehicle, the door 260 is closed. [0044] In this case, the door 260 is opened or closed according to the user authentication result of the RF recognition unit 280. In addition, if the charging plug 230 is inserted into the vehicle, the door 260 may be closed or opened according to the vehicle authentication result.“; ¶¶ 48-49 – “[0048] If the RF card contacts or is placed on the RF recognition unit 280, the RF recognition unit 280 reads data from the RF card and performs user authentication. [0049] Once the user is authenticated, the door 260 is opened and the charging plug 230 is taken out and connected to the vehicle.“; ¶¶ 75-79; Authentication may occur with RF.).
[Claim 10] Park discloses wherein the first information accumulation unit accumulates data that does not require authentication by the center server (figs. 3, 4; ¶¶ 151-155 – “[0151] If the charging plug 230 is reconnected, the charging controller 210 again requests vehicle information through the communication unit 290, and receives the requested vehicle information in step S560. [0152] Upon receiving the vehicle information from the vehicle, the charging controller 210 determines whether the current connected vehicle is identical to the first connected vehicle in step S570. [0153] Since the charging controller 210 receives unique vehicle information when communicating with the vehicle, it compares unique vehicle information received from the reconnected vehicle with unique information of the first connected vehicle, and determines whether the reconnected vehicle is identical to the first connected vehicle according to the comparison result. [0154] If it is determined that the reconnected vehicle is identical to the first connected vehicle, the charging controller 210 restarts vehicle charging by controlling the power-supply unit 250 in step S580. [0155] On the other hand, if the reconnected vehicle after detachment of the charging plug 230 is different from the first connected vehicle, the charging controller 210 outputs a text or voice message indicating a charging disabled state and abnormal connection through the output unit 242.” Whether or not a vehicle was recently connected is an example of the vehicle’s history.; ¶ 145 – Charging status is an example of a state of the vehicle.; ¶¶ 63-64 – “[0063] If the connector 170 is connected to the charging plug 230, the vehicle communication unit 120 communicates with the charging stand 200 through a communication terminal mounted to the connector 170. [0064] The vehicle communication unit 120 outputs information regarding the remaining battery lifetime or the battery charge capacity of the vehicle to the charging stand 200, and transmits unique information of the vehicle in response to a request from the charging stand 200. The vehicle communication unit 120 performs CAN communication of the charging stand 200.”),
the second information accumulation unit accumulates data indicating a state of the vehicle and a history of the state of the vehicle (figs. 3, 4; ¶¶ 151-155 – “[0151] If the charging plug 230 is reconnected, the charging controller 210 again requests vehicle information through the communication unit 290, and receives the requested vehicle information in step S560. [0152] Upon receiving the vehicle information from the vehicle, the charging controller 210 determines whether the current connected vehicle is identical to the first connected vehicle in step S570. [0153] Since the charging controller 210 receives unique vehicle information when communicating with the vehicle, it compares unique vehicle information received from the reconnected vehicle with unique information of the first connected vehicle, and determines whether the reconnected vehicle is identical to the first connected vehicle according to the comparison result. [0154] If it is determined that the reconnected vehicle is identical to the first connected vehicle, the charging controller 210 restarts vehicle charging by controlling the power-supply unit 250 in step S580. [0155] On the other hand, if the reconnected vehicle after detachment of the charging plug 230 is different from the first connected vehicle, the charging controller 210 outputs a text or voice message indicating a charging disabled state and abnormal connection through the output unit 242.” Whether or not a vehicle was recently connected is an example of the vehicle’s history.; ¶ 145 – Charging status is an example of a state of the vehicle.), and
the third information accumulation unit accumulates data accessible when the authentication processing performed by the center server has confirmed the validity (figs. 3, 4; ¶¶ 151-155 – “[0151] If the charging plug 230 is reconnected, the charging controller 210 again requests vehicle information through the communication unit 290, and receives the requested vehicle information in step S560. [0152] Upon receiving the vehicle information from the vehicle, the charging controller 210 determines whether the current connected vehicle is identical to the first connected vehicle in step S570. [0153] Since the charging controller 210 receives unique vehicle information when communicating with the vehicle, it compares unique vehicle information received from the reconnected vehicle with unique information of the first connected vehicle, and determines whether the reconnected vehicle is identical to the first connected vehicle according to the comparison result. [0154] If it is determined that the reconnected vehicle is identical to the first connected vehicle, the charging controller 210 restarts vehicle charging by controlling the power-supply unit 250 in step S580. [0155] On the other hand, if the reconnected vehicle after detachment of the charging plug 230 is different from the first connected vehicle, the charging controller 210 outputs a text or voice message indicating a charging disabled state and abnormal connection through the output unit 242.” Whether or not a vehicle was recently connected is an example of the vehicle’s history.; ¶ 145 – Charging status is an example of a state of the vehicle.).
[Claim 11] Park does not explicitly disclose wherein the center server notifies the user terminal that the data needs to be updated. Regarding the update of downloaded data, Wild states, “For example, the charging interface system 125 may provide a scalable platform capable of adding or supporting charging networks by simply dropping in an API Wrapper/Driver or other communication information to the interface.” (Wild: ¶ 34) The Examiner submits that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicant’s invention to modify Park wherein the center server notifies the user terminal that the data needs to be updated in order to create a more scalable platform that is more readily accessible by more customers (as suggested in ¶ 34 of Wild).
[Claim 12] Park does not explicitly disclose wherein the charging stand downloads the data from the center server in advance when the user terminal notifies the charging stand that the data is to be updated, and
the charging stand provides the downloaded data to the vehicle when the communication line is connected to the vehicle to be updated and the authentication processing has confirmed the validity.
Regarding the update of downloaded data, Wild states, “For example, the charging interface system 125 may provide a scalable platform capable of adding or supporting charging networks by simply dropping in an API Wrapper/Driver or other communication information to the interface.” (Wild: ¶ 34) The Examiner submits that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicant’s invention to modify Park wherein
the charging stand downloads the data from the center server in advance when the user terminal notifies the charging stand that the data is to be updated, and
the charging stand provides the downloaded data to the vehicle when the communication line is connected to the vehicle to be updated and the authentication processing has confirmed the validity
in order to create a more scalable platform that is more readily accessible by more customers (as suggested in ¶ 34 of Wild).
[Claim 13] Park discloses does not explicitly disclose wherein the authentication information further includes user information registered in advance and position information of the charging stand and the user terminal.
However, Uesugi requests a password to authenticate users (Uesugi: ¶¶ 20-21 – “[0020] According to this construction, when the user is authenticated, the user may make the authentication code reading device read the authentication code output to the user. Accordingly, as compared with the case where the user is required to input his/her password or the like for authentication, the work imposed on the user for authentication can be reduced, and the convenience for users can be enhanced. [0021] In the above in-vehicle mount type battery charging system, the charging station may be provided with a card reading device that can read a card ID from an authentication card. When a user whose card ID is not stored is authenticated, the managing server may acquire the card ID of the authentication card by the card reading device in combination with the authentication of the user, store the acquired card ID in association with user information containing at least information concerning whether the user is a temporary member or not, and when a user whose card ID is stored is authenticated, the managing server may acquire the card ID of the authentication card by the card reading device, and authenticate the user on the basis of user information stored in association with the read card ID.“). Temporary members may be issued a one-time password (Uesugi: ¶ 17). Registration of members and authentication are performed via a manager server connected to the charger (Uesugi: abstract). In other words, both members and non-members must be registered with the system before using the charging functions. Also GPS may be used to identify a customer’s location (Uesugi: ¶ 166).
The Examiner submits that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicant’s invention to modify Park wherein the authentication information further includes user information registered in advance and position information of the charging stand and the user terminal so that “the work imposed on the user for authentication can be reduced, and the convenience for users can be enhanced” (as suggested in ¶ 20 of Uesugi) while allowing for the identification of local charging stations conveniently located for a customer’s use.
[Claim 14] Claim 14 recites limitations already addressed by the rejection of claim 1 above; therefore, the same rejection applies.
Furthermore, Park discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium storing a data update program executed in a data update system comprising a center server, a charging stand, and a user terminal by a calculation unit provided in each of these apparatuses, wherein various programs are executed in the center server, a charging stand, and a user terminal (Park: figs. 3, 4; ¶¶ 25-26, 38-48).
[Claim 15] Claim 15 recites limitations already addressed by the rejections of claims 1 and 14 above; therefore, the same rejection apply.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 2013/0110340) in view of Uesugi (US 2011/0241824) in view of Wild et al. (US 2015/0095218), as applied to claim 1, in view of Erb et al. (US 2019/0291589).
[Claim 6] Park does not explicitly disclose wherein the center server acquires vehicle body data generated by an operation of the vehicle after the updating of the data and performs validity diagnosis processing for performing validation of a state of the vehicle after the updating of the data. Erb states, “As an example, the HMI controls 178 may display all of the detected VIN on a display (not shown) and let the user to choose the correct one. Alternatively, the charging station 160 may present the options in a more intuitive manner by obtaining vehicle information (e.g. brand, model, vehicle color, and etc.) from the cloud using the VIN it detected, and letting the user to choose the vehicle brand and model instead of or in addition to the VIN. Alternatively, the charging station 160 may ask to user to perform some other operations (e.g. pressing a confirmation button via the HMI controls 118) to the proper vehicle 102 for identification. Alternatively, the charging station 160 may ask the user to plug in the charging cable 192 into the vehicle 102 to establish a wired connection to associate the VIN with the vehicle 102.” (Erb: ¶ 28) Regarding the update of downloaded data, Wild states, “For example, the charging interface system 125 may provide a scalable platform capable of adding or supporting charging networks by simply dropping in an API Wrapper/Driver or other communication information to the interface.” (Wild: ¶ 34) The Examiner submits that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicant’s invention to modify Park wherein the center server acquires vehicle body data generated by an operation of the vehicle after the updating of the data and performs validity diagnosis processing for performing validation of a state of the vehicle after the updating of the data in order to create a more scalable platform that is more readily accessible by more customers (as suggested in ¶ 34 of Wild) while allowing for a more intuitive manner in which a customer may correctly identify the vehicle to be charged (as suggested in ¶ 28 of Erb).
Conclusion
/SUSANNA M. DIAZ/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3625A