DETAILED ACTION
Application, submitted on 09/13/2024, has been received, entered, and made of record. Currently, claims 1-8,10-11,13,15-16,18-20 and 22-25 remain pending in the application. Claims 9, 12, 14, 17, and 21 have been canceled.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/13/2024 and 04/09/2026 were filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and 1.98. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner as indicated. However, Applicant has not provided an explanation of relevance of cited document(s).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8, 10-11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites the limitation " the preset UP function" in line 2. However, it is unclear how the claimed limitation was introduced into the claim. Thus, there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 10 depends on claim 2 and recites the limitation "the second present function" in line 2. However, it is unclear how the claimed limitation was introduced into the claim. Thus, there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 11 and 13 fail to correct the issue. Thus, they are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 10-11, 15 and 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C.102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Fu et al. (hereinafter referred to as Fu, US 2024/0129789 A1).
Referring to claim 1, Fu discloses a network node (fig.1, Network 100), comprising a first preset function of a first network node (fig.1, core network device 30) and a second preset function of a second network node (fig.1, access network device 13/20), wherein the first network node and the second network node are different network nodes (fig.1), and the second network node comprises an access network node (fig.1, [0024], [0027], and [0029]) (Note: Fu discloses a network architecture comprising a first network node 30 to provide user connectivity (first preset function) and a second network node 20 to provide wireless communication functions (second preset function); wherein the network node 30 and the network node 20 are different network nodes, and the network node 20 comprises an access network node).
Referring to claim 2, Fu discloses the network node according to claim 1, wherein the first network node comprises a core network node (fig.1, core network device 30).
Referring to claim 3, Fu discloses the network node according to claim 2, wherein the first preset function comprises a preset access and mobility management function (AMF) ([0029]) (Note: the core network device may include an Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF) entity).
Referring to claim 4, Fu discloses the network node according to claim 3, wherein the preset AMF comprises: at least one of non-access stratum (NAS) signaling termination, NAS signaling security, access stratum security control, access authentication, access authorization, mobility management control, or network slicing ([0029] and [0185]) (Note: Fu discloses the core network device in the 5G NR system may include an Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF) entity (known as responsible for authentication, and mobility tracking as users move across the network). Fu further discloses when the instruction information is transmitted via the AMF (core network device), the instruction information is carried in the NAS signaling).
Referring to claim 5, Fu discloses the network node according to claim 2, wherein the first preset function comprises a preset user plane function (UPF) ([0029]) (Note: the core network device in the 5G NR system may include a User Plane Function (UPF) entity).
Referring to claim 10, Fu discloses the network node according to claim 2, wherein the core network node has the second present function ([0029]) (Note: the core network device in the 5G NR system includes a Session Management Function (SMF) entity).
Referring to claim 11, Fu discloses the network node according to claim 10, wherein an AMF of the core network node or a UPF of the core network node has the second preset function; or an AMF of the core network node and a UPF of the core network node have different second preset functions ([0029] and figs.9-10) (Note: the core network device in the 5G NR system may include an Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF) entity, a User Plane Function (UPF) entity to provide communication functions (second preset function)).
Referring to claim 15, Fu discloses the network node according to claim 2, wherein the second network node (fig.1, access network device 20) has the first preset function ([0027]-[0028]) (Note: the access network device 20 provides user connectivity (first preset function)).
Referring to claim 24, Fu discloses a communication method, applied to the network node according to claim 1 (fig.1) and comprising: communicating with a third network node (fig.1, terminal 10) through the network node (figs.1 and 10).
Referring to claim 25, Fu discloses a non-transitory storage medium storing a computer program which, when executed by a processor, causes the processor to implement the communication method according to claim 24 ([0285]-[0287]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being unpatentable over Fu in view of Bashir et al. (hereinafter referred to as Bashir, US 2023/0156522 A1).
Referring to claim 6, Fu discloses the network node according to claim 5, except wherein the preset UPF comprises: at least one of packet routing and forwarding, packet inspection and a user plane part of policy rule enforcement, traffic usage reporting, an uplink classifier, quality of service (QOS) handling for a user plane, uplink traffic verification, or downlink packet buffering and downlink data notification triggering.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Bashir discloses wherein the preset UPF comprises: at least one of packet routing and forwarding, packet inspection, quality of service (QoS) handling ([0019]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by the applicant to modify the network node of Fu with the concept wherein the preset UPF comprises: at least one of packet routing and forwarding, packet inspection, quality of service (QoS) handling as taught by Bashir. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to enable massive traffic volumes, low latency, and distributed edge computing.
Referring to claim 13, Fu discloses the network node according to claim 10, except wherein at least one of the following configurations is satisfied:
an AMF of the core network node comprises a plurality of function sub-nodes, wherein one function sub-node among the plurality of function sub-nodes has the second preset function; or a UPF of the core network node comprises a plurality of function sub-nodes, wherein one function sub-node among the plurality of function sub-nodes has the second preset function.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Bashir discloses wherein a UPF of the core network node comprises a plurality of function sub-nodes, wherein one function sub-node among the plurality of function sub-nodes has the second preset function ([0019]) (Note: The UPF is one of the network functions (NFs) of the 5GC, and the UPF comprises UPF1 104 and UPF2 106).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by the applicant to modify the network node of Fu with a UPF of the core network node comprising a plurality of function sub-nodes, wherein one function sub-node among the plurality of function sub-nodes has the second preset function as taught by Bashir. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to significantly enhance the core network performance.
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being unpatentable over Fu in view of Wang et al. (hereinafter referred to as Wang, US 2022/0386160 A1).
Referring to claim 7, Fu discloses the network node according to claim 2, except wherein the second preset function comprises at least one of a preset control plane (CP) function or a present user plane (UP) function.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Wang discloses wherein the second preset function comprises at least one of a preset control plane (CP) function or a present user plane (UP) function ([0004]-[0005]) (Note: the reference discloses a base station (access network node) with a preset function comprises at least one of a preset control plane (CP) function or a present user plane (UP) function).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by the applicant to modify the network node of Fu with the concept wherein the second preset function comprises at least one of a preset control plane (CP) function or a present user plane (UP) function as taught by Wang. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to manage data traffic and network signaling independently.
Referring to claim 8, Fu in view Wang discloses the network node according to claim 7. Wang discloses wherein the preset CP function comprises radio resource control; or the preset UP function comprises at least one of service data adaptation protocol or packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) ([0004] and [0177]) (Note: The functions of radio resource control (RRC) and packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) are implemented on CU; wherein the CU-UP function comprises packet data convergence protocol (PDCP)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by the applicant to modify the network node of Fu with the concept as taught by Wang. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to enable independent scaling, and optimized latency.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being unpatentable over Fu in view of Shapiro, US 2020/0037217 A1.
Referring to claim 16, Fu discloses the network node according to claim 15, except wherein at least one of the following configurations is satisfied: a control plane of the second network node comprises a first function layer, wherein the first function layer comprises one of: a NAS management layer, a management layer, an access management layer, or a mobility management layer; or a user plane of the second network node comprises a second function layer, wherein the second function layer comprises one of: a QoS management layer, a user management layer, an uplink management layer, or a routing management layer.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Shapiro discloses a concept wherein a control plane of the second network node comprises a first function layer, wherein the first function layer comprises one of: a NAS management layer, a management layer, an access management layer, or a mobility management layer ([0039]) (Note: The framework 300, implementing a user plane and control plane architecture of a base station node, comprises at least a stack management layer 302, a non-access stratum (NAS) layer 308).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by the applicant to modify the network node of Fu with the concept as taught by Shapiro. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to keep user data secure and confidential, and optimize network slicing.
Claims 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being unpatentable over Fu in view of Pang et al. (hereinafter referred to as Pang, US 2020/0305026 A1).
Referring to claim 18, Fu discloses the network node according to claim 2, except wherein the first network node and the second network node have a same function.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Pang discloses a concept wherein the first network node and the second network node have a same function ([0097]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by the applicant to modify the network node of Fu with the concept as taught by Pang. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to create network redundancy, and balance network loads.
Referring to claim 19, Fu discloses the network node according to claim 1, except wherein the first network node is an access network node different from the second network node, and the first network node and the second network node have a same function.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Pang discloses a concept wherein the first network node is an access network node different from the second network node, and the first network node and the second network node have a same function ([0079]-[0081] and [0097]) (Note: the first network node may be an access network (AN) device different from the second network node and having a same function).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by the applicant to modify the network node of Fu with the concept as taught by Pang. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been for scalability and cost-efficiency.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being unpatentable over Fu in view of Pang, and further in view of Luo et al. (hereinafter referred to as Luo, US 2020/0113008 A1).
Referring to claim 20, Fu in view of Pang discloses the network node according to claim 18, except wherein at least one of the following configurations is satisfied: the same function comprises at least one of a PDCP function or a medium access control (MAC) function; or the same function is synchronized, mapped, repeated or twinned between the first network node and the second network node.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Luo discloses wherein the same function comprises at least one of a PDCP function or a medium access control (MAC) function ([0009]) (Note: the first network node and the second network node have the same function comprising at least one of a full or partial packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) processing function or a full or partial media access control (MAC) processing function).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by the applicant to modify the network node of Fu in view of Pang with the concept as taught by Luo. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been for improved mobility and resilience, reduced end-to-end latency.
Claims 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being unpatentable over Fu in view of Jung et al. (hereinafter referred to as Jung, US 2021/0377318 A1).
Referring to claim 22, Fu discloses the network node according to claim 1, except wherein a UPF of the network node comprises a preset session management function (SMF).
However, in the same field of endeavor, Jung discloses wherein a UPF of the network node comprises a preset session management function (SMF) ([0059]) (Note: the reference integrates a Session Management Function (SMF) 320, and a User Plane Function (UPF) 330 as the components of a 5G standard network core).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by the applicant to modify the network node of Fu with the concept as taught by Jung. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to reduce latency and speed up packet processing.
Referring to claim 23, Fu in view of Jung discloses the network node according to claim 22. Jung discloses wherein the preset SMF comprises at least one of selection and control of a UPF, traffic steering at a UPF to route traffic to a proper destination, a control part of policy enforcement and QoS, or downlink data notification ([0063] and [0066]) (Note: The UPF 330 receives a control rule for traffic between the UE 100 and the UPF 330 from the SMF 320 through the N4 interface and performs functions such as traffic detection, routing, QoS control, and the like based on the received control rule).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by the applicant to modify the network node of Fu with the concept as taught by Jung. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to enable dynamic resource scaling, optimized traffic routing for edge computing, and stringent Quality of Service guarantees.
Conclusion
/MOUSTAPHA DIABY/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2683