DETAILED ACTION
2. The preliminary amendment filed October 30, 2024 has been received and entered.
3. Claims 1-8 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
4. Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for treating Alzheimer’s disease, does not reasonably provide enablement for preventing Alzheimer’s disease. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to practice the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
Undue experimentation would be required to practice the invention as claimed due to the quantity of experimentation necessary; limited amount of guidance and limited number of working examples in the specification; nature of the invention; state of the prior art; relative skill level of those in the art; predictability or unpredictability in the art; and breadth of the claims. In re Wands, 8 USPQ2d 1400, 1404 (Fed. Cir. 1988).
Applicant’s claims are broadly drawn to a method of preventing Alzheimer’s disease. In order to be enabled for prevention of a condition, applicant must demonstrate that the invention is able to prevent the condition in each and every instance of that condition. Applicant’s specification does not set forth any evidence that the claimed product is able to prevent Alzheimer’s disease in all instances in all patients. In addition, the art teaches that prevention of Alzheimer’s disease is not currently accepted as possible (see “Can Alzheimer’s Disease Be Prevented?” https://www.alz.org/alzheimers-dementia/research-and-progress/prevention ; page 4). Thus, since applicant’s specification does not show prevention of Alzheimer’s disease and the art acknowledges that prevention is not currently possible, a person of ordinary skill in the art would be forced to experiment unduly in order to determine if applicant’s invention actually function as claimed. Therefore, the claims are not considered enabled for the prevention of Alzheimer’s disease.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Soo (KR 20200094590 A – English translation).
This reference teaches a method of treating symptoms associated with Alzheimer’s disease by administering a composition comprising a mulberry fruit extract fermented with lactic acid bacteria. The reference teaches that the fruit extract is obtained by extraction with hot water, ultrasonic, water, or a C1-C4 alcohol. The reference taches that the lactic acid bacteria can be Lactobacillus brevis DF01 and/or Pediococcus acidilactici K10. The reference teaches that the fermentation is performed by inoculating 0.1 to 5 parts by weight of the bacteria to 100 parts by weight of the mulberry fruit extract and the fermentation is carried out at 25 to 30°C for 2 to 5 days. The reference teaches that donepezil is also useful in treating Alzheimer’s disease (see paragraphs 4-8, 24, 25, 27-29, and 54).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hee (KR 20050067131 A – English translation) in view of Soo (KR 20200094590 A – English translation).
Hee teaches a method for treating Alzheimer’s disease by administering an extract from mulberry fruit (see pages 1-3). The reference does not specifically teach that the extract is fermented with lactic acid bacteria.
However, Soo teaches a mulberry fruit extract that is fermented with lactic acid bacteria. The reference teaches that the fruit extract is obtained by extraction with hot-water extraction, ultrasonic extraction, water, or a C1-C4 alcohol. The reference taches that the lactic acid bacteria can be Lactobacillus brevis DF01 and Pediococcus acidilactici K10. The reference teaches that the fermentation is performed by inoculating 0.1 to 5 parts by weight of the bacteria to 100 parts by weight of the mulberry fruit extract and the fermentation is carried out at 25 to 30°C for 2 to 5 days. The reference teaches that donepezil is also useful in treating Alzheimer’s disease (see paragraphs 4-8, 24, 25, 27-29, and 54).
Soo specifically states that the fermented fruit extract is an improvement on the extract taught in Hee (i.e. KR 20050067131 (see paragraph 22)). Thus, an artisan of ordinary skill would reasonably expect that the method of treating Alzheimer’s disease taught by Hee would be improved if the mulberry fruit extract was fermented as taught by Soo. This reasonable expectation of success would have motivated the artisan to modify Hee to include the fermentation of the extract as taught by Soo. Thus, applicant’s claims are considered to be an obvious modification of what was known in the art at the time of the invention.
7. No claims are allowed.
/SUSAN HOFFMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1655