DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: DEVICE AND METHOD FOR DETERMINING A MAPPING PATTERN OF AN UL PT-RS
Claim Interpretation
The term “circuitry” is structure. None of the instant claims invoke U.S.C. 112(f).
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: “receive a PUCCH” should be “receive a PDCCH.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “D1”: 3GPP; TSG RAN; NR; Physical layer procedures for data (Release 16), 3GPP TS 38.214 V16.8.0, 2022.01.05 [provided by Applicant] in view of “D2”: 3GPP; TSG RAN; NR; Multiplexing and channel coding (Release 16), 3GPP TS 38.212 V16.8.0, 2022.01.05, pp.92-112, Page97 Lines16-27, Page Tables 7.3.1.1.2-25, 7.3.1.1.2-26 [provided by Applicant].
As to claim 1, D1 discloses a terminal device (6.2.3, UE) comprising: reception circuitry (implicit) configured to receive a PDCCH (see Section 6.2.3, PUSCH scheduled by PDCCH); and transmission circuitry (implicit) configured to transmit one or more PUSCHs based on the PDCCH and UL PT-RS (Section 6.2.3, PUSCH transmissions scheduled by DCI format 0_0 or format 0_1; PT-RS is only present on PUSCH scheduled by PDCCH); and determination circuitry (implicit) configured to determine a mapping pattern of the UL PT-RS within the one or more PUSCHs based on a first DCI field (page 147, corresponding to PTRS-DMRS association field) in the PDCCH (see page 147, lines 10-16 - For codebook or non-codebook based UL transmission, the association between UL PT-RS port(s) and DM-RS port(s) is signaled by PTRS-DMRS association field in DCI format 0_1 and DCI format 0_2. For a PUSCH corresponding to a configured grant Type 1 transmission, the UE may assume the association between UL PT-RS port(s) and DM-RS port(s) defined by value 0 in Table 7.3.1.1.2-25 or value "00" in Table 7.3.1.1.1.2-26 described in Clause 7.3.1 of [5, TS38.212].).
D1 does not disclose the determination circuitry configured to determine the mapping pattern; wherein if the first DCI field is set to a first value, a first mapping pattern is applied for the UL PT-RS; and if the first DCI field is set to a second value, a second mapping pattern is applied for the UL PT-RS.
However, D2 discloses determination circuitry [implicit] configured to determine the mapping pattern; wherein if the first DCI field (i.e. corresponding to PTRS-DMRS association) is set to a first value, a first mapping pattern is applied for the UL PT-RS; and if the first DCI field is set to a second value, a second mapping pattern is applied for the UL PT-RS (see page 97, lines 16-27, and page 108 Table 7.3.1.1.2-25 and Table 7.3.1.1.2-26, showing different DMRS ports scheduled (i.e. mapping patterns) based on different values of bits). On page 147, lines 10-14 of D1, "PTRS-DMRS association field" in D1 refers to D2. Therefore, a person skilled in the art would easily conceive the idea of applying the first DCI field disclosed in D2 to the invention of D1.
Prior to the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a
person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the DMRS of D2 into the
invention of D1. The suggestion/motivation would have been for Multiplexing and channel coding in NR (D2, page 1). Including the DMRS of D2 into the
invention of D1 was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of D2.
As to claim 2, see similar rejection to claim 1. The apparatus teaches the method.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20200052930 A1 at para. 0134 discloses: When a UE detects an xPDCCH having the DCI format A1 or A2 in its intended subframe n, the UE transmits an UL PTRS in a subframe n+4+m+1 using one or two PTRS antenna ports identical with an allocated DM-RS antenna port indicated in DCI other than the following conditions (condition 1 and condition 2). [0135] Condition 1: if the dual PTRS field of detected DCI is set to ‘1’ and the number of DM-RS ports allocated to an xPUSCH is ‘1’, a UE transmits an UL PTRS in a subframe n+4+m+1 using the same PTRS port as an additional PTRS antenna port having the same subcarrier position as an allocated DM-RS antenna port and specific PTRS antenna port indicated in DCI. [0136] Condition 2: a relative transmission power ratio between a PTRS and an xPUSCH is determined by a transmission method defined by Table 3.
/OMAR J GHOWRWAL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463