DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-10 remain in the application for prosecution thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 5, the term “polymerizable compound” lacks antecedent basis as the claim from which it depends on recites “polymerizable compounds”. Clarification is requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2021-107513 (translation provided in Shimada et al. (US 2022/0220235)) in combination with JP 2007-213045.
Shimada et al. (US 2022/0220235) teaches a method for manufacturing an eyeglass lens having a photochromic layer, the method comprising coating a plastic lens substrate with a polymerizable composition for an optical article including polymerizable compounds having molecular weight of 736 as component A, a polymerizable compound having a molecular weight of 300-400 as component B, a polymerizable compound having a molecular weight or 296 as component C and a polymerizable compound having a molecular weight of 400 or less as component D [0017]-[0029], a photochromic compound [0034], a photo initiator [0035]-[0037] and irradiating with ultraviolet rays at a wavelength of 405 nm to cure the composition and form a photochromic layer [0045],[0066].
Shimada et al. (US 2022/0220235) fails to teach using a UV blocking filter during light emission for curing.
JP 2007-213045 teaches discloses changing a double bond reaction rate distribution in a functional layer to cause the functional layer to have adequate adhesion between an upper layer and a transparent support body as a lower layer (claim 1-3 and paragraphs [0006]-[0007]). JP 2007-213045 discloses, as a specific means for changing the double bond reaction rate distribution, performing irradiation through a UV cut filter when performing light irradiation to cure the functional layer. The photochromic compound and the photo-radical polymerization initiator in the invention disclosed in Shimada et al. (US 2022/0220235) are identical to the photochromic compound and the photo-radical polymerization initiator used in the examples in the specification of the present international application (paragraphs [0031]-[0032], [0070], and [0333]-[0339]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shimada et al. (US 2022/0220235) curing process to include a UV blocking filter as evidenced by JP 2007-213045 with the expectation of improving adhesion between the coating and substrate.
Regarding claim 2, Shimada et al. (US 2022/0220235) teaches a photochromic compound [0034] which would meet the claimed UV absorbing compound. Furthermore, Shimada et al. (US 2022/0220235) teaches UV absorbing agent [0037].
Regarding claim 3, Shimada et al. (US 2022/0220235) teaches the UV emission to be at 405 nm [0066].
Regarding claim 4, JP 2007-213045 teaches using a UV cut filter when performing light irradiation to cure the functional layer. The Examiner takes the position that during irradiation the UV cut filter can be utilized as well as curing without the filter as a matter of design choice.
Regarding claim 5, Shimada et al. (US 2022/0220235) teaches a method for coating a plastic lens substrate with a polymerizable composition for an optical article including polymerizable compounds having molecular weight of less than 500 as component B, component C or component D [0021]-[0025].
Regarding claim 6, Shimada et al. (US 2022/0220235) teaches a method for coating a plastic lens substrate with a polymerizable composition for an optical article including polymerizable compounds having molecular weight of 736 as component A which is more than 500 [0018].
Regarding claims 7-10, Shimada et al. (US 2022/0220235) teaches a optical article including a spectacle lens, a google lens, a sun visor and a shield for a helmet [0014],[0058].
/BRIAN K TALBOT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712