DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/5/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. As to the 112 arguments regarding the thermal conditioning means, applicant’s arguments in fact highlight the problem of why it is unclear as to what structural requirements the thermal conditioning means includes. Applicant cites the duct, but the suction and blowing means would be inoperable if the duct was not an included element of the suction and blowing means in which case the thermal conditioning means has no additional structure and would be subject to a 112(d) rejection. Furthermore, applicant argues repeatedly saying elements that “may” be considered as the thermal conditioning means, but may is a conditional limitation not required by the claim see MPEP 2111.04. As the specification of the instant application states: “the blowing means and the suction means comprise the thermal conditioning means. In other words, the suction an air d blowing means can be activated selectively and used for adjusting the temperature of the transport element 7 during its movement during the closed path.” As the thermal conditioning just results from how the suction and blowing means are utilized, this feature is just an intended use. The manner of operating a device does not differentiate an apparatus claim from the prior art, see MPEP 2114 II. Applicant then argues against the 102 rejection citing that the pushing element does not have passageways, however, Aldigheri explicitly states “The pushing element 53 could be provided with suction means and/or blowing means, not illustrated, for retaining the dose 10 in contact with the conveying surface 238 and/or facilitating the detachment of the dose 10 from the conveying surface 238” [0163]. Applicant is welcome to explain exactly how the suction/blowing means effects “retaining the dose…. Facilitating the detachment” without passageways. Furthermore, even assuming applicants argument that the different embodiments are mutually exclusive, this would still not address the 103 argument made the examiner. As stated previously, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have altered the invention and included passageways connected to blowing and vacuum means, as suggested by Aldigeri, in order to “allows the conveying surface to be kept clean, that is to say, free of any residues of polymeric material, and to avoid that the conveying surface is excessively heated due to the heat released from the dose” [0154].
Claim Interpretation
The suction means is interpreted as a vacuum source.
The blowing means is interpreted as a compressed air source.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-5, 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitations “the thermal conditioning means” and invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The examiner was unable to locate a disclosure of a specific structure for the thermal conditioning means, and thus, this term is indefinite. To the extent, the examiner can determine the thermal conditioning means is just ether the suction and blowing means as the specification discloses “the blowing means and the suction means comprise the thermal conditioning means. In other words, the suction and blowing means can be activated selectively and used for adjusting the temperature of the transport element 7 during its movement during the closed path.” The examiner was unable to find a noted structure within the specification for the “means for modifying the orientation.”
Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Additionally, the specification appears to state that thermal conditioning means can just be the blowing and suction means, “the blowing means and the suction means comprise the thermal conditioning means. In other words, the suction and blowing means can be activated selectively and used for adjusting the temperature of the transport element 7 during its movement during the closed path.” Which creates another ambiguity because it is unclear if the thermal conditioning means is an additional structure to the blowing means and suction means or not.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "central body.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 3, 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. The specification appears to state that thermal conditioning means can just be the blowing and suction means, “the blowing means and the suction means comprise the thermal conditioning means. In other words, the suction and blowing means can be activated selectively and used for adjusting the temperature of the transport element 7 during its movement during the closed path.” Which creates another ambiguity because it is unclear if the thermal conditioning means is just the blowing means and suction means which would mean this limitation would fail to further limit claim 1. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim(s) 1, 3-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Aldigheri (IT 201900018965 or WO 2021/074887 with US 2023/0068378 utilized as translation).
As to claim 1, Aldigeri teaches an apparatus (1) comprising: - a dispensing device (2) for dispensing at least one polymeric material [0034-0037]; a severing element (50) for severing a dose of polymeric material from the polymeric material dispensed by the dispensing device (2) [0147]; - a mould (6) comprising at least two half-moulds (6, 28, 29) wherein at least one of said half-moulds is movable towards the other [0065] so as to compression mould an object from said dose [0061]; - at least one transport element (9), movable along a closed path defined between the dispensing device (2) and the mould (6) [0069, 0070], configured for picking up the dose from the dispensing device (2) and, subsequently, releasing the dose in the mould (6) [0069, 0070], said transport element (9) being configured to perform a rotational movement about its own axis, transversal to said closed path, for rotating between a first orientation, with which the dose is received by the transport element (7), and a second orientation with which the dose is released into the mould (6) [0019, Fig 6]; - suction means and blowing means connected or connectable to said transport element (9) and selectively activatable, respectively, for retaining the dose on the transport element (7) or releasing the dose (4) into the mould (6, 28, 29) [0163, 0154, Fig 8], said transport element (9) comprising a pushing element (53), provided with a contact surface, and a transport surface designed to define a contact with the dose and defined by the contact surface (54) and by a surrounding surface (55) of the transport element (7) which surrounds the pushing element (10) [0160-0163, Fig 9], wherein said pushing element (10) is movable between a retracted position, wherein the contact surface (54) is positioned flush with the surrounding surface (53), and a protruding position wherein the contact surface protrudes relative to the surrounding surface to release the dose into said mould [0161]. Aldigeri notes pushing element comprising be provided with some connection to the suction means and to the blowing means in such a way as to define, selectively, a fluid communication between the dose and said suction means, for retaining the dose (4), or said blowing means, for releasing the dose, on said contact surface [0163] and the only provided example of such an embodiment are a plurality of passage holes on the contact surface [0154, Fig 8] which infers that passageways on the contact surface of pushing element is the intended embodiment of [0163]. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have altered the invention and included passageways connected to blowing and vacuum means, as suggested by Aldigeri, in order to “allows the conveying surface to be kept clean, that is to say, free of any residues of polymeric material, and to avoid that the conveying surface is excessively heated due to the heat released from the dose” [0154]. Aldigeri teaches the pushing element and which can be selectively activated to move said pushing element between said retracted position and said protruding position in communication with the suction and blowing means as explained above and therefore must be within a guide of some sort in order to be displaceable in this manner. As the pushing means is slidable has air passages through it as explained above, the force of the air would displace the pushing means at least somewhat which would make the suction and blowing means in communication with a mechanism of the displacement.
As to claim 3, Aldigeri teaches the transport element is provided with thermal conditioning means for thermally conditioning the dose during transport and/or the transport element along the closed path as it is connected to the blowing and suction means [0069, 0070, 0154, Fig 6].
As the specification of the instant application states: “the blowing means and the suction means comprise the thermal conditioning means. In other words, the suction an air blowing means can be activated selectively and used for adjusting the temperature of the transport element 7 during its movement during the closed path.” As the thermal conditioning just results from how the suction and blowing means are utilized, this feature is just an intended use. The manner of operating a device does not differentiate an apparatus claim from the prior art, see MPEP 2114 II.
As to claim 4, Aldigeri teaches thermal conditioning means are defined by an inner duct surrounding said pushing element (the entrances of the ducts are either side of the pushing elements and therefore do surround it) and placed in fluid communication with a source of air or water (the compressed air source of the blowing means ) [0154, 0155, Fig 8, 9].
As to claim 5, Aldigeri teaches suction means and said blowing means comprise said thermal conditioning means as the thermal conditioning means are just the suction and blowing means as explained above.
As to claim 6, Aldigeri teaches plurality of passage holes is distributed on a perimeter portion of the contact surface [Fig 8].
As to claim 7, Aldigeri teaches the severing element is included or defined on an end for picking up the dose (4) of the transport element [0149, 0158, Fig 6, 8, 9].
As to claim 8, Aldigeri said transport element (7) is made in the form of a blade or a knife [0149, 0158, Fig 6, 8, 9].
As to claim 9, Aldigeri teaches a pushing element is made in the form of a piston defining a contact surface having a circular or square shape [Fig 9].
As to claim 10, Aldigeri teaches a transport device (8) provided with a central support (13), rotatable about its own axis and configured for moving said at least one transport element (9) along said closed path, and means for modifying the orientation (the rotatable axis near 37) configured for moving said transport element (9) between the first orientation and the second orientation [Fig 6, 0164].
As to claim 11, Aldigeri teaches a central support (13) is configured for supporting a plurality of transport elements (9) and said means (rotatable axis corresponding to 37) for modifying the orientation are configured for selectively moving each transport element (9) between the first orientation and the second orientation along the closed path when a respective transport element (9) is close to the dispensing device (2) or said mould (6) [Fig 6, 0164].
As to claim 12, Aldigeri teaches a wherein each transport element (9) is connected to an arm (36) supported by the central support (13) and the means (37) for modifying the orientation are configured for rotating each transport element (9) about said arm (36) coinciding with the axis of rotation [Fig 6, 0164].
As to claim 13, said dispensing device (2) is configured for dispensing a dose (4) which is parallelepiped in shape [0122] and wherein one of said half-moulds (28) has an upper end delimited by a substantially flat zone for supporting the dose [Fig 6].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ARMAND MELENDEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759