Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s provisionally election of group I identified as claims 1-6, 11-14, 16, 19, 27 and 29 in the reply filed on 7/27/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
2. Claims 1-3, 11-12, 27 and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No US 2019/0074952 to Bhattad et al. (hereinafter Bhattad)
As to claims 1, 27 and 29, Bhattad discloses an information transmission method, comprising:
receiving a transport block (TB) sent by at least one second node, wherein the TB forms a TB set (Bhattad; [0104] discloses a device of the wireless communications system 100 (e.g., a UE 115 or a base station 105) may support receiving a set of TBs [0104] also discloses a device of the wireless communications system 100 (e.g., a base station 105 or a UE 115) may support transmitting a set of TBs, each of the TBs comprising one or more CBGs) ;
obtaining feedback information according to the TB set, wherein the feedback information is used to represent a reception condition of the TB sent by the at least one second node (Bhattad; [0211] discloses at block 1710 the UE 115 may generate a bit sequence providing CBG-level feedback on a first subset of TBs in the set of TBs and TB-level feedback on at least a second subset of TBs in the set of TBs, the first subset differing from the second subset, [0122] discloses the bit sequence 410 may include a TB-level ACK/NACK set 440 (e.g., a subsequence), which may be a fixed resource (e.g., eight bits) that provides TB-level feedback for each of the TBs associated with a data transmission 210 (e.g., the eight TBs, associated with eight unique HARQ IDs). [0061] discloses a value of “1” in a portion of the bit sequence (e.g., a subsequence) may indicate an ACK for a particular TB or CBG, and a value of “0” in the portion of the bit sequence may indicate a NACK for a particular TB or CBG; in this case, the feedback information including which portions of the data transmission were successfully received corresponds to a reception condition of the TB) and
sending the feedback information to the at least one second node (Bhattad; [0106] discloses a first device (e.g., base station 105-a) may transmit data transmission 210 to a second device (e.g., UE 115-a), which may indicate a number of HARQ IDs (e.g., particular TBs, HARQ IDs associated with particular TBs) included in the data transmission 210. In response, the second device may provide feedback transmission 220 to the first device indicating which portions of the data transmission 210 were successfully received. For example, the UE 115-a may provide feedback transmission 220 that includes multiplexed CBG-level feedback and TB-level feedback in response to the data transmission 210, which may be in the form of a bit sequence)
As to claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 as listed above is incorporated herein. In addition, Bhattad discloses wherein the TB is indicated by a TB identifier; and the TB identifier comprises at least one of:
a user equipment (UE) identifier, an index value of a UE identifier, or a signature index (Bhattad; [0124] discloses the bit sequence 410 may include an index that identifies the TBs for which CBG-level feedback is provided, or an index indicating the HARQ ID of the TBs for which CBG-level feedback is provided, and in some examples the index may have a fixed bit width).
As to claim 3, the rejection of claim 1 as listed above is incorporated herein. In addition, Bhattad discloses wherein the obtaining feedback information according to the TB set comprises:
obtaining the feedback information according to information about a correct TB in the TB set (Bhattad; [0211] discloses at block 1710 the UE 115 may generate a bit sequence providing CBG-level feedback on a first subset of TBs in the set of TBs and TB-level feedback on at least a second subset of TBs in the set of TBs, the first subset differing from the second subset, and see par. [0122]: the bit sequence 410 may include a TB-level ACK/NACK set 440 (e.g., a subsequence), which may be a fixed resource (e.g., eight bits) that provides TB-level feedback for each of the TBs associated with a data transmission 210 (e.g., the eight TBs, associated with eight unique HARQ IDs); in this case, determining a bit sequence corresponds to obtaining information about a set of correct TBs).
As to claim 11, the rejection of claim 1 as listed above is incorporated herein. In addition, Bhattad discloses wherein information about the correct TB comprises at least one of:
a maximum quantity of correct TBs, an ordered set of TB identifiers, an ordered set of TB sequences, a predefined set of complex sequences, a size of the ordered set of TB identifiers, a set of identifiers of correct TBs, a set of correct TB sequences, a quantity of correct TBs, or a length of the feedback information (Bhattad; [0110] discloses a bitmap or size of an index may be based on a number of TB-level NACKs corresponding to the feedback transmission 220, in which case the bit map or size of index of the feedback transmission 220 may be variable. In some examples a bit map or size of index may be based on the number of TBs in the data transmission 210, in which case the bit map or size of index of the feedback transmission 220 may be fixed (e.g., according to a semi-static configuration) [0124] discloses the bit sequence 410 may include an index that identifies the TBs for which CBG-level feedback is provided, or an index indicating the HARQ ID of the TBs for which CBG-level feedback is provided, and in some examples the index may have a fixed bit width; in this case, the bitmap is based on number of TBs which have indexes (i.e. TB identifiers). Here Bhattad is applied for the 2nd alternative)
As to claim 12, the rejection of claim 11 as listed above is incorporated herein. In addition, Bhattad discloses wherein the maximum quantity of correct TBs is configured by adopting a higher layer parameter (Claim12 is dependent on claim11 and for claim 11, 2nd alternative (i.e. an ordered set of TB identifiers) is used to reject the claim limitation of claim 11 and therefore claim limitation of claim 12 which is dependent on the 1st limitation of claim 11 is not considered here)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 13 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pre-Grant Publication No US 2019/0074952 to Bhattad et al. (hereinafter Bhattad) in view of U.S. Publication No US 2023/0224891 to Noh et al. (hereinafter Noh)
As to claim 4, Bhattad discloses of determining feedback of correct TB, Bhattad fails to disclose of determining a target complex sequence of the correct TB. However, Noh discloses wherein the obtaining the feedback information according to information about a correct TB comprises:
determining a target complex sequence of the correct TB (Noh; [0179] discloses when the HARQ-ACK feedback is received, a HARQ-ACK value is obtained for each transport block (TB). The HARQ-ACK feedback includes at least one of a TB-based HARQ-ACK bit sequence and a CBG-based HARQ-ACK. When the HARQ-ACK feedback is the TB-based HARQ-ACK bit sequence, one HARQ-ACK information bit is obtained per TB. On the other hand, when the HARQ-ACK feedback is the CBG-based HARQ-ACK bit sequence, N HARQ-ACK information bit(s) are obtained per TB. Here, N is the maximum number of CBGs per TB configured in the Rx entity of the PDSCH transmission. According to an embodiment of the present disclosure, HARQ-ACK value(s) for each TB may be determined with the HARQ-ACK information bit(s) for each TB of the HARQ-ACK feedback for CWS determination. More specifically, when the HARQ-ACK feedback is the TB-based HARQ-ACK bit sequence, one HARQ-ACK information bit of the TB is determined as the HARQ-ACK value. However, when the HARQ-ACK feedback is the CBG-based HARQ-ACK bit sequence, one HARQ-ACK value may be determined based on N HARQ-ACK information bit(s) corresponding to CBGs included in the TB); and
obtaining the feedback information according to the target complex sequence (Noh; [0179] discloses when the HARQ-ACK feedback is received, a HARQ-ACK value is obtained for each transport block (TB). The HARQ-ACK feedback includes at least one of a TB-based HARQ-ACK bit sequence and a CBG-based HARQ-ACK. When the HARQ-ACK feedback is the TB-based HARQ-ACK bit sequence, one HARQ-ACK information bit is obtained per TB. On the other hand, when the HARQ-ACK feedback is the CBG-based HARQ-ACK bit sequence, N HARQ-ACK information bit(s) are obtained per TB. Here, N is the maximum number of CBGs per TB configured in the Rx entity of the PDSCH transmission. According to an embodiment of the present disclosure, HARQ-ACK value(s) for each TB may be determined with the HARQ-ACK information bit(s) for each TB of the HARQ-ACK feedback for CWS determination. More specifically, when the HARQ-ACK feedback is the TB-based HARQ-ACK bit sequence, one HARQ-ACK information bit of the TB is determined as the HARQ-ACK value. However, when the HARQ-ACK feedback is the CBG-based HARQ-ACK bit sequence, one HARQ-ACK value may be determined based on N HARQ-ACK information bit(s) corresponding to CBGs included in the TB).
It is obvious for a person of ordinary skilled in the art to combine the teachings before the effective filing date of the invention. One would be motivated to combine the teachings in order to determine HARQ-ACK value(s) for each TB with the HARQ-ACK information bit(s).
As to claim 13, the rejection of claim 4 as listed above is incorporated herein. In addition, Bhattad-Noh discloses wherein the obtaining the feedback information according to the target complex sequence comprises:
obtaining a set of target complex sequences according to each target complex sequence (Noh; [0179] discloses when the HARQ-ACK feedback is received, a HARQ-ACK value is obtained for each transport block (TB). The HARQ-ACK feedback includes at least one of a TB-based HARQ-ACK bit sequence and a CBG-based HARQ-ACK. When the HARQ-ACK feedback is the TB-based HARQ-ACK bit sequence, one HARQ-ACK information bit is obtained per TB. On the other hand, when the HARQ-ACK feedback is the CBG-based HARQ-ACK bit sequence, N HARQ-ACK information bit(s) are obtained per TB. Here, N is the maximum number of CBGs per TB configured in the Rx entity of the PDSCH transmission. According to an embodiment of the present disclosure, HARQ-ACK value(s) for each TB may be determined with the HARQ-ACK information bit(s) for each TB of the HARQ-ACK feedback for CWS determination. More specifically, when the HARQ-ACK feedback is the TB-based HARQ-ACK bit sequence, one HARQ-ACK information bit of the TB is determined as the HARQ-ACK value. However, when the HARQ-ACK feedback is the CBG-based HARQ-ACK bit sequence, one HARQ-ACK value may be determined based on N HARQ-ACK information bit(s) corresponding to CBGs included in the TB); and
obtaining the feedback information according to the set of target complex sequences (Noh; [0179] discloses when the HARQ-ACK feedback is received, a HARQ-ACK value is obtained for each transport block (TB). The HARQ-ACK feedback includes at least one of a TB-based HARQ-ACK bit sequence and a CBG-based HARQ-ACK. When the HARQ-ACK feedback is the TB-based HARQ-ACK bit sequence, one HARQ-ACK information bit is obtained per TB. On the other hand, when the HARQ-ACK feedback is the CBG-based HARQ-ACK bit sequence, N HARQ-ACK information bit(s) are obtained per TB. Here, N is the maximum number of CBGs per TB configured in the Rx entity of the PDSCH transmission. According to an embodiment of the present disclosure, HARQ-ACK value(s) for each TB may be determined with the HARQ-ACK information bit(s) for each TB of the HARQ-ACK feedback for CWS determination. More specifically, when the HARQ-ACK feedback is the TB-based HARQ-ACK bit sequence, one HARQ-ACK information bit of the TB is determined as the HARQ-ACK value. However, when the HARQ-ACK feedback is the CBG-based HARQ-ACK bit sequence, one HARQ-ACK value may be determined based on N HARQ-ACK information bit(s) corresponding to CBGs included in the TB)
As to claim 19, the rejection of claim 4 as listed above is incorporated herein. In addition, Bhattad-Noh discloses wherein the target complex sequence comprises a sequence of direct sequence spread spectrum used in non-orthogonal multiple access (Noh; [0179] discloses when the HARQ-ACK feedback is received, a HARQ-ACK value is obtained for each transport block (TB). The HARQ-ACK feedback includes at least one of a TB-based HARQ-ACK bit sequence and a CBG-based HARQ-ACK. When the HARQ-ACK feedback is the TB-based HARQ-ACK bit sequence, one HARQ-ACK information bit is obtained per TB. On the other hand, when the HARQ-ACK feedback is the CBG-based HARQ-ACK bit sequence, N HARQ-ACK information bit(s) are obtained per TB. Here, N is the maximum number of CBGs per TB configured in the Rx entity of the PDSCH transmission. According to an embodiment of the present disclosure, HARQ-ACK value(s) for each TB may be determined with the HARQ-ACK information bit(s) for each TB of the HARQ-ACK feedback for CWS determination. More specifically, when the HARQ-ACK feedback is the TB-based HARQ-ACK bit sequence, one HARQ-ACK information bit of the TB is determined as the HARQ-ACK value. However, when the HARQ-ACK feedback is the CBG-based HARQ-ACK bit sequence, one HARQ-ACK value may be determined based on N HARQ-ACK information bit(s) corresponding to CBGs included in the TB)
Claim 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pre-Grant Publication No US 2019/0074952 to Bhattad et al. (hereinafter Bhattad) in view of U.S. Publication No US 2021/0297225 to Marinier et al. (hereinafter Marinier)
As to claim 5, Bhattad discloses of determining feedback of TB, Bhattad fails to disclose wherein feedback information is zero power signal. However, Marinier discloses wherein:
a set of the correct TB is an empty set (Mariner; [0253] discloses fixed mapping of a feedback group to a sub-resource with possible zero-power transmission may be used, and see par. [0254]: In case no transmission needs to take place for a feedback group, the WTRU may transmit with zero power (i.e., may not transmit) on the corresponding sub-resource. In some solutions, the WTRU may transmit on a sub-resource even if no transmission needs to take place for the corresponding feedback group to ensure that the signal transmitted by the WTRU spans contiguous RBs. The WTRU may perform such transmission, for instance, if the sub-resource is over a RB and non-zero-power transmission takes place on both adjacent RBs); and
the obtaining the feedback information according to information about a correct TB comprises:
determining that the feedback information is an empty sequence, wherein a feedback signal comprising the feedback information is a zero power signal Mariner; [0253] discloses fixed mapping of a feedback group to a sub-resource with possible zero-power transmission may be used, and see par. [0254]: In case no transmission needs to take place for a feedback group, the WTRU may transmit with zero power (i.e., may not transmit) on the corresponding sub-resource. In some solutions, the WTRU may transmit on a sub-resource even if no transmission needs to take place for the corresponding feedback group to ensure that the signal transmitted by the WTRU spans contiguous RBs. The WTRU may perform such transmission, for instance, if the sub-resource is over a RB and non-zero-power transmission takes place on both adjacent RBs).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the feedback signal of the combination of Bhattad in view of Marinier with the zero power signal. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of efficiently using resources
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 14 and 16 are objected, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims
Conclusion
/FAISAL CHOUDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478