This communication is in response to Application No. 18/846903, filed on 13-SEP-2024. Claims 15-34 are currently pending and have been examined. Claims 15-34 have been rejected as follows.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the computer-implemented three-dimensional model". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, and is therefore rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ). The computer-implemented three-dimensional model could be referring to the environmental model or the robot model in claim 15.
Claim 18 is also rejected as it depends on claim 16 and does not cure the deficiencies of the claim from which it depends.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 22 recites the limitation "the aid of a simulation environment". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 23 is also rejected as it depends on claim 4 and does not cure the deficiencies of the claim from which it depends.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 15-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Millard (US 20220365532 A1).
Regarding claim 15, Millard teaches: A method for planning a path of a robot, comprising: detecting data of a real environment of the robot with a detection device (Paragraph [19]); determining a computer-implemented three-dimensional model of the environment based on the detected data (Figure 3; element 300; Paragraph [46]); planning a first path of the robot based on the environment model and a computer-implemented model of the robot such that a collision between the robot model and the environment model is avoided (Paragraph [55], "The local planner 238, for example, may identify obstacles along the route and plan the robot's path so as to avoid the obstacles. Either planner 236, 238 may use data from one or more sources to generate a route or path. The global planner 236, for instance, may access maps database 228 to obtain mapping data 230 representing a map or layout of the robot's environment, as well as semantic data 232 that identifies semantic regions of the environment represented in the map and any constraints that bear on route planning"); and visually displaying a virtual representation of the planned first path in an augmented reality using a visualization device (element 640; Paragraph [75], "To provide for interaction with a user, the features can be implemented on a computer having a display device such as a CRT (cathode ray tube) or LCD (liquid crystal display) monitor for displaying information to the user and a keyboard and a pointing device such as a mouse or a trackball by which the user can provide input to the computer. Additionally, such activities can be implemented via touchscreen flat-panel displays and other appropriate mechanisms.")
Regarding claim 16, Millard teaches: The method of claim 15, wherein at least one of: the detection device is at least one of a mobile detection device or a portable detection device (element 206""); determining the computer-implemented three-dimensional model comprises determining by approximation of features detected by the detection device; or determining the computer-implemented three-dimensional model comprises determining by approximation of points detected by the detection device (Paragraph [45])
Regarding claim 17, Millard teaches: The method of claim 15, wherein planning the first path comprises optimizing specified quality criterion (Paragraph [12])
Regarding claim 18, Millard teaches: The method of claim 16, wherein the quality criterion depends on at least one of: a time required for traversing the first path with the robot (Paragraph [55], "The route may be optimized, for example, to minimize the time"); an energy required for traversing the first path with the robot; or a distance of the robot from the environment (Paragraph [55], "The route may be optimized, for example, to minimize the time or distance for the robot to reach the goal location")
Regarding claim 19, Millard teaches: The method of claim 15, further comprising: planning at least one second path of the robot based on the environment model and the model of the robot such that a collision between the robot model and the environment model is avoided (element 144; Paragraph [38]); visually displaying a virtual representation of the at least one second path using the visualization device in the augmented reality, together with the virtual representation of the first path (Figure 1B; Paragraph [75], "To provide for interaction with a user, the features can be implemented on a computer having a display device such as a CRT (cathode ray tube) or LCD (liquid crystal display) monitor for displaying information to the user and a keyboard and a pointing device such as a mouse or a trackball by which the user can provide input to the computer. Additionally, such activities can be implemented via touchscreen flat-panel displays and other appropriate mechanisms."); selecting a path from a set comprising the first path and the at least one second path (Paragraph [39], "adopts one of the candidate paths on which to initiate travel that optimizes the path cost function, e.g., by selecting a candidate path minimizes a cost that results from evaluating the path cost function") based on a user input; and at least one of: modifying at least one of the first path or the at least one second path based on a user input, or traversing at least one of the selected path or the modified path with the robot (Paragraph [50], "The system 20 may learn the planning policy for a specific person (or any particular instance of another class of objects) based on prior experience interacting with and traveling with that person or object, or the planning policy may be based on parameters manually specified by the person via userinput"; Paragraph [56], "The local planner 238 can constantly update the path as the robot travels, and so it may or may not generate a complete path that terminates at the goal location in a single pass")
Regarding claim 20, Millard teaches: The method of claim 19, wherein modifying at least one of the first path or the at least one second path comprises modifying the selected path (Paragraph [56], "The local planner 238 can constantly update the path as the robot travels, and so it may or may not generate a complete path that terminates at the goal location in a single pass")
Regarding claim 21, Millard teaches: The method of claim 19, wherein planning at least one of the first path or the at least one second path comprises planning based on at least one of: at least one specified path point; or a specified initial path (element 118, 113; Paragraph [35], "Accordingly, the robot 112 can use a local planner to refine the precise path or trajectory that it uses to maneuver in the environment 100, while still following the route 113 to reach goal location 120")
Regarding claim 22, Millard teaches: The method of claim 21, wherein the at least one path point or the specified initial path is specified in advance by at least one of: approaching or traversing the at least one path point or the specified initial path with a real robot (element 116; Paragraph [36]); specifying with the aid of a simulation environment (Paragraph [47]); or specifying by offline programming (Paragraph [43], "In other implementations, particular components of the system 200 may be separate from the robot 202, and may be located in either the same environment as the robot 202 or in a remote environment")
Regarding claim 23, Millard teaches: The method of claim 22, wherein approaching or traversing the at least one path point or the specified initial path comprises hand-guided approaching or traversing (element 116; Paragraph [36])
Regarding claim 24, teaches: The method of claim 15, wherein the detection device is at least one of: arranged on the visualization device; movable at least one of translationally, rotationally, or manually relative to the real environment for detecting the data; or comprises at least one of: at least one non-contact measuring distance meter (Paragraph [45], "LIDAR system that uses light detection and ranging techniques to determine distances of objects from the robot in the environment"), at least one camera (element 206; Paragraph [45]), or an image evaluation system (This limitation is being interpreted as the alternative with respect to “at least on of…or”, where the detection device only comprises a non-contact measuring distance meter and a camera)
Regarding claim 25, Millard teaches: The method of claim 24, wherein at least one of: the at least one non-contact measuring distance meter comprises at least one of a lidar distance meter (Paragraph [45], "LIDAR system that uses light detection and ranging techniques to determine distances of objects from the robot in the environment"), a radar distance meter, or an ultrasonic distance meter; or the at least one camera comprises a 3D camera system (This limitation is being interpreted as the alternative with respect to “at least on of…or”, where the non-contact measuring distance meter only comprises a lidar distance meter)
Regarding claim 26, Millard teaches: The method of claim 15, wherein at least one of: the environment model comprises at least one three-dimensional geometry primitive in a specified relation to a real environment obstacle (Paragraph [47]); the model of the robot is based on specified nominal data of at least one of the robot or a measurement of the robot; the model of the robot comprises at least one three-dimensional geometry primitive in a specified relation to a link of the robot; or the model of the robot comprises a computer-implemented model of a robot- guided tool or workpiece as a moving link of the robot (This limitation is being interpreted as the alternative with respect to “at least on of…or”, where the environment model only comprises a three-dimensional geometry)
Regarding claim 27, Millard teaches: The method of claim 26, wherein the specified nominal data comprises CAD data of at least one of the robot or a measurement of the robot (Paragraph [47])
Regarding claim 28, Millard teaches: The method of claim 15, wherein the environment model is determined based on at least one of: the robot (Paragraph [46], "The EAOD engine 214 is configured to generate a virtual environment representing all or a portion of the physical environment in which the robot 202 is currently located"); the model of the robot (Paragraph [46], "The robot 202 can also be represented in the virtual environment at a virtual location corresponding to its current location in the real-world environment"); or a selection of an environment area by a planner (Paragraph [46], "The EAOD engine 214 is configured to generate a virtual environment representing all or a portion of the physical environment in which the robot 202 is currently located")
Regarding claim 29, teaches: The method of claim 15, wherein at least one of: the visualization device is configured as at least one of a mobile or portable visualization device; the visualization device comprises at least one of a handheld apparatus, a smartphone (Paragraph [67], "The device 600 can also include mobile devices, such as personal digital assistants, cellular telephones, smartphones, and other similar computing devices."), or glasses; or the visualization device is designed and configured to control the robot (This limitation is being interpreted as the alternative with respect to “at least on of…or”, where the visualization device only requires a smartphone)
Regarding claim 30, Millard teaches: The method of claim 19, wherein the virtual representation of at least one of the first path or the at least one second path comprises at least one of: a path of a robot-fixed reference point (Figure 1B; Path A, element 120); a path of an end effector of the robot; a depiction of one or more moving links of the robot; or a depiction of one or more moving links of the robot in a simulation of the robot when traversing the path (This limitation is being interpreted as the alternative with respect to “at least on of…or”, where the virtual representation of the first path only requires a path of a robot-fixed reference point)
Regarding claim 31, Millard teaches: The method of claim 15, further comprising outputting at least one parameter of at least one of the first path (Path A) or the at least one second path (Path B) while visually displaying the virtual representation of at least one of the first path or the at least one second path (Figure 1B; Paragraph [75], "To provide for interaction with a user, the features can be implemented on a computer having a display device such as a CRT (cathode ray tube) or LCD (liquid crystal display) monitor for displaying information to the user and a keyboard and a pointing device such as a mouse or a trackball by which the user can provide input to the computer. Additionally, such activities can be implemented via touchscreen flat-panel displays and other appropriate mechanisms.")
Regarding claim 32, teaches: The method of claim 31, wherein at least one of: the at least one parameter comprises at least one of a speed or a direction of travel of at least one of the first path (Figure 1B; arrows point to goal) or the at least one second path; or outputting comprises at least one of numerically outputting the at least one parameter, acoustically outputting the at least one parameter, or symbolically outputting the at least one parameter (This limitation is being interpreted as the alternative with respect to “at least on of…or”, where the parameter only requires a direction of travel )
Regarding claim 33, Millard teaches: A system for planning a path of a robot, the system comprising: a detection device for detecting data of a real environment of the robot (element 206); means for determining a computer-implemented three-dimensional model of the environment based on the detected data (Figure 3; element 300; Paragraph [46]); means for planning a first path of the robot based on the environment model and a computer-implemented model of the robot such that a collision between the robot model and the environment model is avoided (Paragraph [55], "The local planner 238, for example, may identify obstacles along the route and plan the robot's path so as to avoid the obstacles. Either planner 236, 238 may use data from one or more sources to generate a route or path. The global planner 236, for instance, may access maps database 228 to obtain mapping data 230 representing a map or layout of the robot's environment, as well as semantic data 232 that identifies semantic regions of the environment represented in the map and any constraints that bear on route planning"); and a visualization device configured for visually displaying a virtual representation of the planned first path in an augmented reality (element 640; Paragraph [75], "To provide for interaction with a user, the features can be implemented on a computer having a display device such as a CRT (cathode ray tube) or LCD (liquid crystal display) monitor for displaying information to the user and a keyboard and a pointing device such as a mouse or a trackball by which the user can provide input to the computer. Additionally, such activities can be implemented via touchscreen flat-panel displays and other appropriate mechanisms.")
Regarding claim 34, Millard teaches: A computer program product for planning a path of a robot, the computer program product comprising program code stored on a non-transient, computer- readable storage medium, the program code, when executed on a computer, causing the computer to perform the method of claim 15 (Paragraph [73-74])
Conclusion
Other art of interest is Lewis et al. (US 2025/0369758 A1). It is directed to vehicle route planning using user input.
/A.T.T./ Examiner, Art Unit 3656 /KHOI H TRAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3656