DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
In the instant case, claim 14 recites “guiding means”. The specification indicates that means can be designed as slotted link guide, moveable straps, limit cables or chains, as stops or as link mechanism.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11-15, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Achten et al. (USP 10,912,242).
With respect to claim 11, Achten et al. disclose an agricultural implement (1), configured to be lifted from a working position (figure 2, working position) into a lifted position (figure 3 overload position or lowered from the lifted position into the working position by a lifting device (8), comprising: a frame (5); multiple working tools (3, see column 3 line 44, one or several, wherein the first and second of several are mapped to the multiple) oriented in a tool plane (see figure 1) connected to the frame (see figure 1); depth guides (see column 3 line 67-column 4 line 9 wherein the tools (of which there are several) are depth guides so the third and fourth tools are considered depth guides) connected to the working tools (via the frame see figure 1) and arranged behind the working tools (wherein the back tool in direction of travel is considered a depth guide) for adjusting or changing a distance of the working tools (3) to a ground surface (see figure 1) in a working position of the agricultural implement (1); and a hinge unit (6, 17) and a locking mechanism (9, 10) arranged between the frame (5) and the depth guides (rear 3), wherein the depth guides (rear 3) are locked immovably relative to the frame in the working position (see figure 2) by the locking mechanism (10), wherein the depth guides (rear 3), upon a transfer from the working position into a lifted position (figure 3) of the agricultural implement (1), can moveably swing or pivot towards the frame (see figure 4) or the working tools by the hinge unit , and wherein the locking mechanism (10) is configured so as to be passive and releasable by lifting the agricultural implement (see column 4 lines 64-column 5 lines 54) or the frame.
With respect to claim 12, Achten et al. disclose wherein the locking mechanism comprises a projection (22) and a recess (25), wherein the projection (22) and the recess (25) interlock in a locking position (figure 2) and prevent a movement between the projection (22) and the recess (25) in a first direction (towards 11), and wherein a movement between the projection (22) and the recess (25) in a second direction (away from 11) reaches a release position (see figure 3) of the locking mechanism, in which the projection and the recess can be moved past one another along the first direction (see figures 2 and 3).
With respect to claim 13, Achten et al. disclose wherein the projection (22) and the recess (25) are designed in such a manner that their movement in the first direction and the second direction are arranged so as to run in a common plane (see figure 3, the movement along 25 is in the longitudinal plane of 25).
With respect to claim 14, Achten et al. disclose wherein guiding means (stop 20) are arranged between the frame (5) and the depth guides (3), and wherein the guiding means guide and/or limit a movement of the depth guides (3) in a region of the locking mechanism (9, 10) in the first direction and/or the second direction.
With respect to claim 15, Achten et al. disclose wherein the locking mechanism is hook-shaped and moveable (see figure 3).
With respect to claim 19, Achten et al. disclose wherein the position of the depth guides relative to the working tools is adjustable or changeable in distance and/or inclination by a link mechanism (17).
With respect to claim 20, Achten et al. disclose wherein flattening and/or harrowing tools are connected to the working tools and/or the depth guides (see column 2 line 64-column 3 line 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Achten et al. in view of Adams et al. (USP 8,342,256).
With respect to claim 16, Acthen disclose several tools 3, but does not show the tools arranged on a boom. Adams disclose an implement (10) designed in multiple parts so as to be foldable, wherein a first boom (left 16, 18 in figure 1) and a second boom (right 16, 18 in figure 1) are connected to the frame (12) so as to be foldable or pivotable and working tools (54) and depth guides (76) are connected to the booms. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to have modified the implement of Achten by including foldable booms as taught by Adams for the purpose of providing an implement being wider to reduce the time necessary to work a field while having a compact arrangement for transport .
With respect to claim 17, Achten in view of Adams disclose wherein the frame of the implement comprises a first tilting frame (14), wherein the first tilting frame is arranged so as to be pivotable or tiltable about a tilting axis (X), wherein the tilting axis (s) is arranged transversely or pivotably to a center plane (plane of 20, see figure 2) of the implement, wherein the booms (16, 18) are arranged so as to be pivotable about a pivot axis (Z), and wherein the pivot axis (Z) pivotably runs largely parallel to the center plane of the implement (see figure 5).
With respect to claim 18, Achten et al. in view of Adams disclose wherein the depth guides (3) are double roller units (wherein there is more than one so this is considered a double roller unit), and wherein the double roller units are connected to the first boom and the second boom via a pendulum compensation (20, 23) for offsetting ground irregularities.
Conclusion
/Nicole Coy/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3672