DETAILED ACTION
Claim 1 is pending; claims 2-13 are canceled.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 09/13/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/847023, in view of Ooba et al. (US 2021/0154844 A1).
Regarding claim 1 of the present invention, claim 1 of copending Application ‘7023 teaches every claimed limitation except: determining a distance between a computer-implemented model of the robot and the environment model; wherein in this visualization a warning is issued if the distance determined for this portion falls within a predefined warning range, and an all-clear is issued if the distance determined for this portion falls within a predetermined all-clear range.
However, Ooba teaches determining a distance between a computer-implemented model of the robot and the environment model ([0025] “The interference detection section 15 is capable of detecting the presence or absence of the interference of the virtual robot 23 with the peripheral device 22 using a known interference detection method. For example, the interference detection section 15 may project a convex polyhedron having a simplified shape of the peripheral device 22 and a convex polyhedron having a simplified shape of the virtual robot 23 onto the XYZ planes, determine the intersection of the two convex polyhedrons formed by the projection using a known plane scanning method, and when intersection is detected in all of the XYZ planes, determine that there is interference.” – The detection of interference of the two convex polyhedrons is understood to be determined by monitoring the distance between the two convex polyhedrons); wherein in this visualization a warning is issued if the distance determined for this portion falls within a predefined warning range, and an all-clear is issued if the distance determined for this portion falls within a predetermined all-clear range ([0026] “The simulation device 10 may further comprise a color changing section 16 which changes the color of the virtual robot 23 when the interference is detected. For example, the color changing section 16 changes the color of the virtual robot 23 to red, and the augmented reality display section 12 displays the virtual robot 23 for which the color has been changed to red overlaid on the image. As a result, the presence or absence of the interference of the actual robot 20 with the peripheral device 22 can be easily visually understood.” – The predefined warning range corresponds with when interference is detected, i.e. distance is less than 0, while the all-clear range corresponds with when no interference is detected, i.e. distance is greater than 0).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of copending Application ‘7023 to determine a distance between a computer-implemented model of the robot and the environment model, wherein in this visualization a warning is issued if the distance determined for this portion falls within a predefined warning range, and an all-clear is issued if the distance determined for this portion falls within a predetermined all-clear range, as taught by Ooba, in order to allow an operator to visually understand when the actual robot collides with a peripheral device.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 line 1: “robot (1), comprising” should be changed to read “robot (1), the method comprising”.
Claim 1 line 8: “the convex envelope of the track” should be changed to read “the convex envelope of the one portion of the track”.
Claim 1 line 10 and line 11: “a portion of the track” should be changed to read “the one portion of the track”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumiya et al. (US 2012/0265342 A1), in view of Ooba et al. (US 2021/0154844 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kumiya teaches:
A method for checking a predefined track of a robot (1) (Abstract “A method and an apparatus for predicting interference, at practical accuracy and calculation time, between a target section of a robot and a peripheral object installed around the robot, when the target section, such as a tool or a sensor attached to a robot hand, is moved along a movement path thereof due to the motion of the robot.”), comprising the steps of:
determining (S20) or providing a computer-implemented three-dimensional environment model ([0015] “calculating the peripheral occupied area as a combination of convex polyhedrons; [0028] “container box 4 is approximated by an area
D
2
corresponding to a polyhedron constituted by removing a rectangular parallelepiped from another rectangular parallelepiped which is slightly larger than the former rectangular parallelepiped.”)
determining (S30) a convex envelope for at least one portion of the track ([0015] “calculating all convex hulls which are combinations of adjacent target section occupied areas when the plurality of target section occupied areas are aligned according to the order of the plurality of time points”);
determining an intersection of the convex envelope with the environment model ([0015] “judging whether the interference between the target section of the robot and the peripheral object occurs, by judging whether a common area exists between any of the convex hulls and the convex polyhedrons.”; Fig. 9; [0053] “As shown, there is a common area between convex hull
C
3
and polyhedron area
D
2
, wherein convex hull
C
3
includes two areas occupied by tool 3 at time points
T
2
and
T
3
. Therefore, on the movement path of FIG. 5, it is predicted or judged that tool 3 interferes with container box 4.).
Kumiya does not specifically teach visualizing (S40) a virtual representation of the convex envelope of the track using a visualization device (2; 3) in an augmented reality for checking the track, wherein in this visualization a warning is issued for a portion of the track if at least one intersection exists and an all-clear is issued for a portion of the track if no intersection exists for this portion.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Ooba teaches a method comprising a step of:
visualizing (S40) a virtual representation of the convex envelope ([0025] “a convex polyhedron having a simplified shape of the virtual robot 23 onto the XYZ planes,”) using a visualization device (2; 3) in an augmented reality (Fig. 1; [0019] “The simulation device 10 comprises an augmented reality display section 12”; [0020] “The augmented reality display device 12 of the present example captures an image in which an actual robot 20 and a peripheral device 22 arranged at the periphery of the actual robot 20 are shown, and displays a virtual robot 23 overlaid on the actual robot 20 shown in the captured image.”), wherein in this visualization a warning is issued if at least one intersection exists ([0026] “The simulation device 10 may further comprise a color changing section 16 which changes the color of the virtual robot 23 when the interference is detected. For example, the color changing section 16 changes the color of the virtual robot 23 to red, and the augmented reality display section 12 displays the virtual robot 23 for which the color has been changed to red overlaid on the image.”) and an all-clear is issued if no intersection exists for this portion ([0026] “The simulation device 10 may further comprise a color changing section 16 which changes the color of the virtual robot 23 when the interference is detected. For example, the color changing section 16 changes the color of the virtual robot 23 to red, and the augmented reality display section 12 displays the virtual robot 23 for which the color has been changed to red overlaid on the image. As a result, the presence or absence of the interference of the actual robot 20 with the peripheral device 22 can be easily visually understood.” – Color of the virtual robot not changing to red indicates no intersection exists).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Kumiya to visualize (S40) a virtual representation of the convex envelope using a visualization device (2; 3) in an augmented reality, wherein in this visualization a warning is issued if at least one intersection exists and an all-clear is issued if no intersection exists for this portion, as taught by Ooba, wherein the convex envelope includes a portion of the track of the robot as taught by Kumiya. Such modification allows an operator to visually understand the presence or absence of the interference of the actual robot with a peripheral device, as stated by Ooba in [0026].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Maier et al. (US 12,194,630 B2) teaches controlling an industrial robot provides that position data of the industrial robot are detected and environment data of an object in an environment of the industrial robot are captured with an environment detection unit.
Powers et al. (US 2021/0225082 A1) teaches generating point data including a set of safe points in a space and a set of unsafe points in the space, the space surrounding a user device of the system, generating a triangulation over a union of the set of safe points and the set of unsafe points, determining triangles of the triangulation that include at least one safe point and determining edges of determined triangles which are part of a single triangle that include at least one safe point.
/NHI Q BUI/Examiner, Art Unit 3656