DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The following is a non-final, first action on the merits, in response to application filed September 13, 2024. The preliminary amended claims 21-40, are currently pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 9/13/2024, 05/06/2026, are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21, 24-25, 27, 29, 31, 34-35, 37, 39, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feng et al (hereinafter Feng) (CN 110557191A, IDS reference).
Regarding claim 21, 31, Feng discloses a computing system (method), comprising:
processing circuitry (system comprises a processor, para. 0021); and
a memory device (a memory, para. 0021) including instructions embodied thereon, wherein the instructions which when executed by the processing circuitry, configure the processing circuitry to perform operations that (para. 0073):
obtain orbital position data for a low-earth orbit satellite vehicle (SV), the low- earth orbit SV to operate as a serving transmission and reception point (TRP) to a user equipment (UE) (method periodically transmits a downlink synchronization signal and a downlink broadcast channel by using a single low-earth orbit satellite, wherein the downlink broadcast channel includes downlink beam center point coordinates and satellite coordinates or satellite orbit parameter information) (paras. 0010, 0011, 0020, 0021);
determine a timing measurement of at least one communication between the serving TRP and the UE (wherein the low earth orbit satellite is used to periodically transmit downlink synchronization signals and a downlink broadcast channel, and wherein the downlink broadcast channel comprises downlink beam center point coordinates and satellite coordinates or satellite orbit parameter information) (para. 0013, see also claims 1, 2). Feng does not expressly show calculate a geographic location of the UE based on the orbital position data and the timing measurement. However, Feng discloses (see claim 1: calculating position coordinates of the ground terminal according to a plurality of sight distance measurement data and a simultaneous pseudo range difference equation). However, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would arrive at the claimed invention by general experimentation alone without exercising any ingenuity location of the UE utilizing the disclosure per Feng as an obvious choice.
Regarding claim 24, 34, Feng discloses obtain UE geographic position data, based on coordinates obtained at the UE from a global navigation satellite system (GNSS), wherein the coordinates provide an initial position to calculate a timing advance for the UE; wherein the geographic location of the UE is further verified based on a comparison of the UE geographic position data with the calculated geographic location. (calculating the position coordinates of the ground terminal according to the plurality of sight distance measurement data and a simultaneous pseudo range difference equation) (see Feng claim 21).
Regarding claims 25, 35, Feng discloses wherein the at least one communication provides a reference signal, and wherein the timing measurement is a reference signal time difference between a receipt and a transmission of the reference signal from the UE (see Feng Claim 1).
Regarding claims 27, 37, Feng discloses obtaining orbital position data, except obtain from third-party source of satellite positioning. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to obtain third-party as a source of satellite position since it was known in the art that by doing so additional orbital data could be utilized for assessing calculation.
Regarding claims 29, 39, Feng discloses computing system obtain orbital position data, except Location Management Function (LMF) or Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF). Use of AMF or LMF in communication systems is notoriously known in the art that manages the physical location of a number of communication devices connected to a network including 3GPP/5G network. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make use/deploy known services such as LMF or AMF for the benefit of activity history information where needed for movement management.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 22-23, 26, 28, 30, 32-33, 36, 38 and 40, are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/QUTBUDDIN GHULAMALI/
Primary Examiner,
Art Unit 2632.