Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it exceeds 150 words. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Otabe (US20080262667A1), which was cited by Applicant.
Regarding claim 1, Otabe discloses: A vehicle control device mounted on a vehicle capable of switching between a first traveling state in which the vehicle is driven by transmitting a driving force of an electric motor by power supply from a battery to drive wheels and a second traveling state in which the vehicle is driven with at least operation of an engine, the vehicle control device comprising {paragraph [0017]: The hybrid system 1 controls the driving of the vehicle… a mode in which the driving power of the engine 11 is mechanically translated to wheels, a mode in which the vehicle travels only using the motor 12 while the engine 11 is stopped, a mode in which the driving power of the engine 11 and the driving power of the motor 12 are translated to wheels}: a determination value storage unit which allocates and stores a determination value obtained based on a battery consumption amount required for the vehicle to travel from a predetermined point to a base in the first traveling state and a target battery remaining amount at the time when the vehicle reaches the base for each of a plurality of predetermined points {[0041]: the battery management section 6… calculates the predicted travel distance between the current position of the hybrid vehicle and the predicted destination. Further, the possible distance that the hybrid vehicle is able to travel only using the motor 12 with the amount of charge remaining in the battery 16 is compared with the predicted travel distance. When the possible distance to be traveled with the amount of charge remaining in the battery is equal to or greater than the predicted travel distance, the battery usage per unit distance and a suitable travel mode are calculated in a way that the SOC value of the battery 16 becomes a low limit (target battery remaining amount) … when the hybrid vehicle arrives at the predicted destination [0023] discloses a history data storage, which stores the determination value for a travel. [0026] discloses that a route includes a plurality of predetermined points}; and a traveling state determination unit which starts traveling in the first traveling state in a case where a current battery charge amount of the vehicle exceeds the determination value corresponding to a current point of the vehicle {[0041]}.
Regarding claim 2, which depends from claim 1, Otabe discloses: comprising: a map information acquisition unit which acquires map information {[0028] discloses a map information acquisition unit}; a base setting unit which sets a predetermined point of the map information as a base; a route generation unit which generates a route from a peripheral point of the base set by the base setting unit to the base {[0030]: The route searching section 5 of the navigation ECU 2 obtains the destination (the base)… obtains coordinates of the current position (a peripheral of the base) and coordinates of the input destination by the user's operation and searches for a route to the destination}; an energy consumption amount calculation unit which calculates an energy consumption amount in a case where the vehicle travels on the route toward the base; and a battery charge amount planning unit which plans the battery charge amount based on the energy consumption amount such that the vehicle travels on the route from a predetermined point of the route in the first traveling state, and reaches the base with a predetermined charge amount of a battery of the vehicle, wherein the determination value is determination information for determining whether or not the vehicle travels in the first traveling state by associating the battery charge amount planned by the battery charge amount planning unit with a point of the route in the map information {[0041], [0026], [0030]}.
Regarding claim 3, which depends from claim 2, Otabe discloses: wherein the base setting unit further comprises: a base estimation unit which estimates a point to be the base; and a base information storage unit which stores information for estimating the base, wherein the base estimation unit stores information for estimating the base in the base information storage unit so as to refer to a point where the vehicle has ended the driving by tracing back to the driving of the vehicle a predetermined number of times before, and estimates a point having a high appearance frequency as a point where the vehicle has ended the driving as the base {[0032] discloses history data that includes repeated travel from a place over a week, which implies that the starting point where an ignition switch is turned on or a vehicle position at which a destination has been set is the base}.
Regarding claim 6, which depends from claim 2, Otabe discloses: further comprising: a travel track record accumulation unit which accumulates a travel track record of a vehicle in association with the map information; a target charge state setting unit which corrects a target charge state, wherein the target charge state setting unit corrects the target charge state of the battery based on the travel track record of the vehicle accumulated in the travel track record accumulation unit, sets a second traveling state in which the vehicle travels while driving the engine and driving a generator, or directly driving drive wheels and driving the engine at a point not stored in the determination value storage unit, and corrects the target charge state of the battery in the second traveling state to a high charge side {[0028], [0030] and [0032] disclose travel track record accumulation. [0007] and [0050] disclose correcting the target charge state of the battery based on the travel track record. [0043] discloses driving in the second traveling state and correcting the target charge state to a high charge side. Examiner notes that when traveling in the second traveling state, the traveling route is not limited to the points stored in in determination value storage unit since the stored points are related to the first traveling state only}.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otabe in view of Tabata (JP 2018169313 A), which was cited by Applicant.
Regarding claim 4, which depends from claim 2, Otabe does not explicitly disclose: wherein the base setting unit further comprises a base estimation unit which estimates a point to be the base; and a base information storage unit which stores information for estimating the base, the base estimation unit stores in a base information storage unit a point at which driving of the vehicle is ended and a point at which driving is started, and a time at which the driving is ended and a time at which the driving is started which are associated respectively, estimates a time at which the driving is ended or started as a base where switching to the first traveling state is to be performed based on a fact that the time at which the driving is ended or started falls within in a predetermined time zone, and determines whether or not to store information in the base information storage unit based on an elapsed time from the end of the driving to the start of the driving.
Tabata teaches information for start and end of driving point and time, and elapsed time from the end of driving to the start of driving, which are used for estimating the base in paragraph [0036] of the English translation: event information in which the start point, the goal point, and the travel route are set as one event. At this time, when the parking time, that is, the time during which the IG switch 10 is off is short (for example, within 10 minutes), the generation unit 21 can determine that the event is continuing without determining that the vehicle is parked during such a period; [0037]: set the position at which the vehicle C is parked for a long time as the goal point.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the driving point and time information feature of Tabata with the described invention of Otabe in order to facilitate estimating a base.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otabe in view of Abe (US20030015874A1), which was cited by Applicant.
Regarding claim 5, which depends from claim 2, Otabe does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the route generation unit further generates a route from the base toward a periphery of the base, and the battery charge amount planning unit corrects a charge amount when the vehicle reaches the base based on a difference between an energy consumption amount of a route from the periphery of the base to the base and an energy consumption amount of a route from the base to the periphery of the base.
Abe teaches battery energy requirement for a route from the base to the periphery of the base and from the periphery of the base to the base in paragraphs [0061]-[0088], Figs. 6-8.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the energy consumption amount for a round trip feature of Abe with the described invention of Otabe in order to prepare charging for the entire trip.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otabe.
Regarding claim 7, which depends from claim 2, Otabe teaches: wherein the determination value storage unit stores a first traveling state execution determination value indicating a charge state of the battery required to reach the base, and the traveling state determination unit compares the first traveling state execution determination value for the vehicle to reach a first base with the first traveling state execution determination value having a value different from the first traveling state execution determination value for the vehicle to reach a second base, and determines a traveling state based on the first traveling state execution determination value on a higher charge side {[0023] teaches predicting destinations and travel distance. [0038] teaches a charge state of the battery required to reach the base}.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the base estimation feature of Otabe to choose a base that can be reached with less battery discharge amount in order to facilitate maintaining battery charge in a higher charge side.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otabe in view of Hayamizu (JP 2009280139 A), which was cited by Applicant.
Regarding claim 8, which depends from claim 2, Otabe does not explicitly disclose: wherein in response to a state where the first traveling state cannot be continued, an engine is operated at a low output, and a transition is made to a third traveling state in which an output of the engine is reduced and noise is reduced while only a generator is driven.
Hayamizu teaches the third traveling state with reducing engine workload and driving generator in paragraph [0043] of the English translation.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the third traveling state feature of Hayamizu with the described invention of Otabe in order to facilitate low noise traveling.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otabe in view of Sakai et al. (US 20100131139 A1), which was cited by Applicant.
Regarding claim 9, which depends from claim 2, Otabe does not explicitly disclose: wherein in response to a state where the vehicle cannot continue the first traveling state, the traveling state determination unit stores in the determination value storage unit a point at which the first traveling state is ended, and corrects an execution determination value of a section in which an execution determination value falls in a previous travel route to a charge side.
Sakai teaches correcting execution determination value of a section, when traveling in the first traveling state is ended, in paragraph [0107]: If the estimated SOC transition is not within the allowable estimation value range, that is, if any part of the estimated SOC transition exceeds the allowable value range, the process proceeds to step 248 to fine-tune (i.e., modify) the tentative control index plan; [0108]: according to the final plan, the SOC loss and gain for each of the sections are calculated based on the SOC data acquired in step 220 or 230, and the calculated SOC for each section is added to the current SOC, section by section, for estimating the SOC transition along the navigation route.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the execution determination value correction feature of Sakai with the described invention of Otabe in order to facilitate route planning.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otabe in view of Ogawa (US20170066429A1), which was cited by Applicant.
Regarding claim 10, which depends from claim 2, Otabe does not disclose: further comprising an interface device which notifies a driver that the vehicle is in the first traveling state, wherein the interface device notifies information regarding the base and an execution determination value in the first traveling state when the vehicle starts the first traveling state.
Ogawa teaches an interface device notifying a driver that the vehicle is in the first driving state in paragraph [0048]: outputs the planned traveling mode to the display 50 as an EV mode indication 52; [0047]: displaying the searched route together with a map.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the interface device of Ogawa with the described invention of Otabe in order to facilitate informing a driver of a driving mode.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otabe in view of Morisaki (US 20190168736 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Otabe discloses: A vehicle control method of a vehicle capable of switching between a first traveling state in which the vehicle is driven by transmitting a driving force of an electric motor by power supply from a battery to drive wheels and a second traveling state in which the vehicle is driven with at least operation of an engine, the vehicle control method comprising: acquiring map information; setting a predetermined point of the map information as a base {[0017], [0028], [0030]}.
Otabe does not explicitly disclose: acquiring, via a communication device from a calculation resource installed outside the vehicle, a route from a peripheral point of the set base to the base, an energy consumption amount in a case where the vehicle travels on the route toward the base, and a battery charge amount plan which plans the battery charge amount based on the energy consumption amount such that the vehicle travels on the route from a predetermined point of the route in the first traveling state, and reaches the base with a predetermined charge amount of a battery of the vehicle.
Morisaki teaches an external calculation resource can provide route information and battery charge amount plan in Fig. 1 and paragraph [0048]: determined such as to decrease with a decrease in driving load in an estimated driving route… the map information… the cloud server. [0054]: destination estimated by the cloud server… the start reference value Pstart and the stop reference value Pstop based on the estimated driving route to the destination. This enables the state of charge reduction control to be performed.
In relation to these limitation, Otabe also discloses the energy consumption amount and the charge amount plan in [0041].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the external calculation resource feature of Morisaki with the described invention of Otabe in order to distribute computation load over a network.
Otabe further discloses: allocating and storing, a determination value obtained based on a battery consumption amount required for the vehicle to travel from a predetermined point to a base in the first traveling state and a target battery remaining amount at the time when the vehicle reaches the base for each of a plurality of predetermined points; determining whether or not the vehicle travels in the first traveling state by associating the charge amount of the battery according to the battery charge amount plan with a point of the route in the map information; and starting traveling in the first traveling state in a case where a current battery charge amount of the vehicle exceeds the determination value corresponding to a current point of the vehicle {[0041], [0023], [0026]}.
Conclusion
/C.P./Examiner, Art Unit 3661
/RAMYA P BURGESS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3661