CTNF 18/847,001 CTNF 91111 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maeyama (JP 2018138867A, machine translation attached) . Regarding claim 1 , Maeyama discloses: a refrigeration cycle apparatus (10) (fig. 1) [par. 0001] comprising: a refrigeration circuit comprising a compressor (12) (fig. 1) [par. 0012], wherein refrigerant is sealed in the refrigeration circuit [par. 0012], refrigerant contains a first component (trifluoroethylene) and a second component (R134a), and does not contain difluoroiodomethane [abstract and par. 0021-0022], the first component consists of 1,1,2-trifluoroethylene [abstract], the second component (R134a) consists of a fluorinated hydrocarbon (R134a) [par. 0021-0022] having a carbon number not smaller than 1 and not larger than 5 (known in the art for R134a), a content C1 based on a mass of the first component (trifluoroethylene) in refrigerant is not lower than 50 mass % [par. 0061], a percentage (C2/C1)×100 of a content C2 based on a mass of the second component (R134a) to the content C1 based on the mass of the first component (trifluoroethylene) in refrigerant is not lower than 15% and lower than 50% [par. 0061], (it is noted that, pursuant MPEP 2144.05-I, in the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, which is the case here, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim , 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodroof , 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990)), compressor (12) is filled with compressor oil (60) (fig. 3) [par. 0023], and compressor oil (60) is compatible with the second component (R134a) (since compressor oil is mixed with the mixed refrigerant in the refrigeration circuit, known in the art). Regarding claim 9 , Maeyama discloses: refrigerant does not contain difluoromethane and difluoroiodomethane (as it applies to the mixed refrigerant used in claim 1) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1 and 3-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ueno et al. (US 2018/0079941, herein “Ueno”) in view of Itou et al. (US 2023/0416580, herein “Itou”) . Regarding claim 1 , Ueno discloses: a refrigeration cycle apparatus (10) (fig. 1) [par. 0002] comprising: a refrigeration circuit comprising a compressor (11) (fig. 1) [par. 0165], wherein refrigerant (working fluid) is sealed in the refrigeration circuit [par. 0002], refrigerant (working fluid) contains a first component (trifluoroethylene) and a second component (“ first component ” of Ueno, propane), and does not contain difluoroiodomethane [abstract and par. 0079-0080], the first component consists of 1,1,2-trifluoroethylene [abstract], the second component (“ first component ” of Ueno) consists of a hydrocarbon (propane) [abstract] having a carbon number not smaller than 1 and not larger than 5 (known in the art for propane), a content C1 based on a mass of the first component (trifluoroethylene) in refrigerant (working fluid) is not lower than 50 mass % [par. 0080], a percentage (C2/C1)×100 of a content C2 based on a mass of the second component (“ first component ” of Ueno, propane) to the content C1 based on the mass of the first component (trifluoroethylene) in refrigerant (working fluid) is not lower than 15% and lower than 50% [par. 0080], (it is noted that, pursuant MPEP 2144.05-I, in the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, which is the case here, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim , 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodroof , 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990)), compressor oil [par. 0122-0124], and compressor oil is compatible with the second component (“ first component ” of Ueno, propane) (since compressor oil is mixed with the mixed refrigerant in refrigeration circuit, known in the art). Ueno does not specifically disclose the compressor (11) being filled with compressor oil. Itou , for instance, also directed to a refrigeration cycle apparatus (1) comprising a refrigeration circuit (10) comprising a compressor (100) (fig. 1) [par. 0013-0014] teaches that it is old and known in the art to store oil (L) at the bottom of the compressor (100) casing (110) for lubricating compression mechanism (130) [par. 0060] ensuring smooth operation and minimizing friction, reducing wear and tear on the components. It would have been obvious to one of skill I the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate into Ueno the teachings of Itou to have, in the context of the instant specification, the bottom part of the body of the compressor being filled with compressor oil in order to help lubricate compression mechanisms ensuring smooth operation, minimizing friction and reducing wear and tear. Regarding claim 3 , Ueno discloses: the second component (“ first component ” of Ueno, propane) consisting of propane [par. 0080]. Regarding claim 4 , Ueno discloses: refrigerant (working fluid) further containing a third component (“ second component ” of Ueno, HFC32, for instance) [par. 0081-0085], and the third component (“ second component ” of Ueno, HFC32) having a flammability class 2L (lower flammability) under ISO817: 2014 (known for HFC32). Regarding claim 5 , Ueno discloses: the third component (“ second component ” of Ueno, HFC32) consisting of difluoromethane [par. 0081-0085]. Regarding claim 6 , Ueno discloses: a solubility of the third component (“ second component ” of Ueno, HFC32) in compressor oil being higher than a solubility of the first component (trifluoroethylene) in compressor oil (known in the art for mineral oil [par. 0124]. Regarding claim 7 , Ueno discloses: compressor oil consisting of mineral oil [par. 0124]. Regarding claim 8 , Ueno discloses: the second component (“ first component ” of Ueno, propane) does not containing difluoromethane and difluoroiodomethane. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to GUSTAVO A HINCAPIE SERNA whose telephone number is (571)272-6018. The examiner can normally be reached 9am-5:30pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Len Tran can be reached at 571-272-1184. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /GUSTAVO A HINCAPIE SERNA/Examiner, Art Unit 3763 /JENNA M MARONEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763 Application/Control Number: 18/847,001 Page 2 Art Unit: 3763 Application/Control Number: 18/847,001 Page 3 Art Unit: 3763 Application/Control Number: 18/847,001 Page 4 Art Unit: 3763 Application/Control Number: 18/847,001 Page 5 Art Unit: 3763