DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6-8, 11, 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2023/0217030 A1 (“Li”).
Regarding claim 1, Li discloses a method of decoding an image, the method comprising: constructing a histogram (e.g. see histogram, paragraphs [0104]-[0107]) of a current chroma block (e.g. see current chroma block, e.g. as shown in Figs. 6C-6D, paragraphs [0104]-[0107]) based on reconstruction samples included in a reference region of the current chroma block (e.g. see reconstructed samples, e.g. as shown in Figs. 6B-6D, paragraphs [0104]-[0107]); deriving an intra prediction mode from the histogram of for a the current chroma block (e.g. see select the intra prediction mode corresponding to the largest histogram amplitude value as the intra prediction mode of the current chroma block, paragraphs [0104]-[0107]); and based on the intra prediction mode, performing an intra prediction on the current chroma block (e.g. see intra prediction, e.g. see 158 in Fig. 1B), wherein the reference region comprises a luma reference region adjacent to a collocated luma block of the current chroma block, the luma reference region comprises a top reference region adjacent to the collocated luma block and a left reference region adjacent to the collocated luma block (e.g. see collocated luma block-adjacent luma reconstructed samples including L-shaped template, e.g. as shown in Fig. 6B, including upper and left reconstructed samples adjacent to the luma block, paragraphs [0104]-[0107]).
Regarding claim 6, Li further discloses wherein: the histogram is constructed by accumulating an amplitude of a reference sample per intra prediction mode (e.g. see histogram contains cumulative values of gradient intensities for each intra angular prediction mode, paragraphs [0092]-[0094] and see select the intra prediction mode corresponding to the largest histogram amplitude value as the intra prediction mode of the current chroma block, paragraphs [0104]-[0107]).
Regarding claim 7, Li further discloses wherein an intra prediction mode with a largest amplitude is derived from the histogram (e.g. see histogram contains cumulative values of gradient intensities for each intra angular prediction mode, paragraphs [0092]-[0094] and see select the intra prediction mode corresponding to the largest histogram amplitude value as the intra prediction mode of the current chroma block, paragraphs [0104]-[0107]).
Regarding claim 8, Li further discloses wherein a final prediction block of the current block is obtained based on a weighted sum operation of the plurality of intermediate prediction blocks, one of the plurality of intermediate prediction blocks being obtained based on the intra prediction mode derived from the histogram (e.g. see fusion, e.g. see Fig. 5, paragraphs [0094]-[0095], [0129]-[0130], [0145]).
Regarding claim 16, Li further discloses wherein in response to the intra prediction mode with the largest amplitude being the same as a pre-derived intra prediction mode, an intra prediction mode with the second largest amplitude is derived from the histogram (e.g. see paragraph [0147]).
Regarding claim 17, Li further discloses wherein the pre-derived intra prediction mode is a DM (Direct Mode) which represents an intra prediction mode of the collocated luma block (e.g. see paragraph [0147]).
Regarding claims 11 and 15, the claims recite analogous limitations to the claims above and are therefore rejected on the same premise.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of US 2024/0380885 A1 (“Dumas”).
Regarding claim 3, Li discloses wherein an intra prediction mode of a reference sample in the reference region is obtained based on a ratio between a horizontal gradient and a vertical gradient of the reference sample (e.g. see calculation of orientation which is the ratio of Gy and Gx, paragraphs [0104]-[0107]).
Although Li discloses the ratio between the horizontal gradient and the vertical gradient of the reference samples, it is noted Li differs from the present invention in that it fails to particularly disclose a ratio between an absolute value of a horizontal gradient and an absolute value of a vertical gradient. Dumas however, teaches a ratio between an absolute value of a horizontal gradient and an absolute value of a vertical gradient (e.g. see comparison of absolute value of vertical gradient GVER and horizontal gradient GHOR, paragraphs [0050]-[0051], [0071]-[0073]).
Therefore, given the teachings as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the references of Li and Dumas before him/her, to modify the Decoder side chroma intra prediction mode gradient-based derivation of Li with the teachings of Dumas in order to enhance DIMD to fix limited extent and discontinuities in the angle discretization.
Regarding claim 4, Li further discloses wherein an amplitude of the reference sample is derived as a sum of the absolute value of the horizontal gradient and the absolute value of the vertical gradient of the reference sample (e.g. see calculation of intensity which is a sum of absolute values of Gx and Gy, paragraphs [0104]-[0107]).
Regarding claim 5, Li further discloses wherein: the horizontal gradient and the vertical gradient of the reference sample are obtained by applying a filter to the reference sample, and wherein the filter is a Sobel mask or a Prewitt mask (e.g. see Sobel filters, paragraphs [0104]-[0107]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 3-8, 11, 15-17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2017/0302962 A1, Shen et al., Rapid selection method for video intra prediction mode and apparatus thereof
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Francis Geroleo/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619