DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the amendment filed on 09/29/2026. Claims 1, 4-5, 8, 10, 21-22, 25-26 are pending in this application and have been considered below.
Response to Amendment
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1, 4-5, 8, 10, 21-22, 25-26 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection because of the amendment changes the scope of the invention (i.e. claim 1 recites first RRC reconfiguration message and claim 4 recites second RRC reconfiguration message).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 8, 10, 21-22, 25-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 2024/0214862 A1) (Wang herein after) in view of Shih et al. (US 2019/0349837 A1) (Shih herein after).
Re Claim 1, Wang discloses a method for requesting system information, performed by a remote terminal device, comprising:
sending a system information request message (the terminal device 110 may trigger a transmission of a request for the on-demand information to the network device 120 [0099]), in a case that no valid system information is stored in the remote terminal device (if it is determined that there is no valid version of the on-demand information and the on-demand information is not being broadcasted by the network device 120, the terminal device 110 may determine the on-demand information is unavailable. In such embodiments, for example, there is no valid version of the on-demand information may be that terminal device 110 has not stored a valid version. In another example, it may be that the terminal device has not stored any version of the on-demand information at all [0100]).
wherein the method further comprising:
receiving a first RRC reconfiguration message sent by the network device, wherein the first RRC reconfiguration message carries the first configuration (information related with configuration for the terminal device configured by the second network device may be transmitted from the second network device via the first network device. Information related with reconfiguration for the terminal device configured by the second network device may be transmitted to the terminal device from the second network device directly or via the first network device [0039]).
Wang discloses the claimed invention except explicitly teaches wherein the system information request message carries a requested system information identifier; wherein sending the system information request message comprises: sending a radio resource control (RRC) message to a network device, in a case that a prohibit timer is not running and the network device configures a first configuration, wherein the RRC message is configured for requesting the system information, and the first configuration is an on-demand system information request configuration; and starting the prohibit time.
However, Shih teaches a wireless communication method and system for receiving system information wherein the RRC message (e.g., RRCSystemInfoRequest message) transmitted by the UE 102 may include information related to a timer. In one implementation, the timer may be preconfigured to the UE 102, broadcast in the system information by the NR gNB 104, or transmitted in a dedicated signaling (e.g., RRC message) by the NR gNB 104 to the UE 102. The UE 102 may start the timer after receiving the MAC CE with positive acknowledgement; UE 102 may expect the requested system information is transmitted by the NR gNB 104 before the timer expires. Thus, the UE 102 may not send the RRC message (e.g., RRCSystemInfoRequest message) to ask for the same system information (e.g., SI message, SIB) until the timer expires. In one implementation, no preamble is retransmitted until the timer expires. The UE 102 may send, to the NR gNB 104, the RRC message (e.g., RRCSystemInfoRequest message) or a preamble corresponding to the SI request message after the timer expires. If the UE 102 receives the SI message corresponding to the sent preamble or RRC message (e.g., RRCSystemInfoRequest message), the UE 102 may stop the timer. The UE 102 may send, to the NR gNB 104, the RRC message (e.g., RRCSystemInfoRequest message) or a preamble corresponding to the SI request message after the timer is stopped ([0097]-[0098]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify method and system of Wang, by making use of the technique taught by Shih, in order to improve the energy efficiency.
Both references are within the same field of telecommunication, and in particular of system information handling, the modification does not change a fundamental operating principle of Wang, nor does Wang teach away from the modification (Wang merely discloses a preferred embodiment). The combination has a reasonable expectation of success in that the modifications can be made using conventional and well known engineering and/or programming techniques, the system information taught by Shih is not altered and continues to perform the same function as separately, and the resultant combination produces the highly predictable result of wherein the system information request message carries a requested system information identifier; wherein sending the system information request message comprises: sending a radio resource control (RRC) message to a network device, in a case that a prohibit timer is not running and the network device configures a first configuration, wherein the RRC message is configured for requesting the system information, and the first configuration is an on-demand system information request configuration; and starting the prohibit time.
Re Claim 4, the combined teachings disclose the method according to claim 2, Shih discloses further comprising one of: receiving, in a second RRC reconfiguration message, system information corresponding to the requested system information identifier, stopping the prohibit timer; receiving, in a system broadcast message, system information corresponding to the requested system information identifier, stopping the prohibit timer; or receiving, in a sidelink RRC message, system information corresponding to the requested system information identifier, stopping the prohibit timer (UE 102 receives the SI message corresponding to the sent preamble or RRC message (e.g., RRCSystemInfoRequest message), the UE 102 may stop the time [0098]).
Re Claim 8, Wang discloses a method for requesting system information, performed by a network device, comprising:
receiving a system information request message sent by a remote terminal device (the terminal device 110 may trigger a transmission of a request for the on-demand information to the network device 120 [0099]); and
wherein the method further comprising:
sending a first RRC reconfiguration message to the remote terminal device, wherein the first RRC reconfiguration message carries the first configuration for requesting the system information (information related with configuration for the terminal device configured by the second network device may be transmitted from the second network device via the first network device. Information related with reconfiguration for the terminal device configured by the second network device may be transmitted to the terminal device from the second network device directly or via the first network device [0039]).
Wang discloses the claimed invention except explicitly teaches wherein receiving the system information request message sent by the remote terminal device comprises: receiving a radio resource control (RRC) message sent by the remote terminal device, in a case that a prohibit timer is not running and the network device configures a first configuration, wherein the RRC message is configured for requesting the system information, the first configuration is an on-demand system information request configuration, and the prohibit timer is stated by the remote terminal device.
However, Shih teaches a wireless communication method and system for receiving system information wherein the RRC message (e.g., RRCSystemInfoRequest message) transmitted by the UE 102 may include information related to a timer. In one implementation, the timer may be preconfigured to the UE 102, broadcast in the system information by the NR gNB 104, or transmitted in a dedicated signaling (e.g., RRC message) by the NR gNB 104 to the UE 102. The UE 102 may start the timer after receiving the MAC CE with positive acknowledgement; UE 102 may expect the requested system information is transmitted by the NR gNB 104 before the timer expires. Thus, the UE 102 may not send the RRC message (e.g., RRCSystemInfoRequest message) to ask for the same system information (e.g., SI message, SIB) until the timer expires. In one implementation, no preamble is retransmitted until the timer expires. The UE 102 may send, to the NR gNB 104, the RRC message (e.g., RRCSystemInfoRequest message) or a preamble corresponding to the SI request message after the timer expires. If the UE 102 receives the SI message corresponding to the sent preamble or RRC message (e.g., RRCSystemInfoRequest message), the UE 102 may stop the timer. The UE 102 may send, to the NR gNB 104, the RRC message (e.g., RRCSystemInfoRequest message) or a preamble corresponding to the SI request message after the timer is stopped ([0097]-[0098]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify method and system of Wang, by making use of the technique taught by Shih, in order to improve the energy efficiency.
Both references are within the same field of telecommunication, and in particular of system information handling, the modification does not change a fundamental operating principle of Wang, nor does Wang teach away from the modification (Wang merely discloses a preferred embodiment). The combination has a reasonable expectation of success in that the modifications can be made using conventional and well known engineering and/or programming techniques, the system information taught by Shih is not altered and continues to perform the same function as separately, and the resultant combination produces the highly predictable result of wherein receiving the system information request message sent by the remote terminal device comprises: receiving a radio resource control (RRC) message sent by the remote terminal device, in a case that a prohibit timer is not running and the network device configures a first configuration, wherein the RRC message is configured for requesting the system information, the first configuration is an on-demand system information request configuration, and the prohibit timer is stated by the remote terminal device.
Re Claim 10, the combined teachings disclose the method according to claim 8, Shih discloses further comprising one of: sending system information corresponding to the requested system information identifier to the remote terminal device through a second RRC reconfiguration message; or broadcasting system information corresponding to the requested system information identifier through a broadcast message (UE 102 receives the SI message corresponding to the sent preamble or RRC message (e.g., RRCSystemInfoRequest message), the UE 102 may stop the time [0098]).
Re Claim 21, the combined teachings disclose a communication apparatus, Wang discloses comprising: a processor; and a memory storing a computer program executable by the processor (medium, memory and processor [0129]); wherein the processor executes the computer program stored in the memory, to cause the apparatus to perform the method according to claim 1.
Re Claim 22, the combined teachings disclose a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions, Wang discloses wherein when the instructions are executed by a processor (medium, memory and processor [0129]), the method according to claim 1 is implemented.
Re Claim 25, the combined teachings disclose a communication apparatus, Wang discloses comprising: a processor; and a memory storing a computer program executable by the processor (medium, memory and processor [0129]); wherein the processor executes the computer program stored in the memory, to cause the apparatus to perform the method according to claim 8.
Re Claim 26, the combined teachings disclose a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions, Wang discloses wherein when the instructions are executed by a processor (medium, memory and processor [0129]), the method according to claim 8 is implemented.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 2024/0214862 A1) (Wang herein after) and Shih et al. (US 2019/0349837 A1) (Shih herein after), further
in view of Cheng et al. (US 2024/0015637 A1) (Cheng herein after).
Re Claim 5, the combined teachings disclose the method according to claim 1, except wherein sending the system information request message comprises: sending a sidelink RRC message to a relay terminal device, in a case that a network device does not configure the first configuration, wherein the sidelink RRC message is configured for requesting the system information.
Cheng discloses a techniques for relaying system information over a sidelink wherein a first user equipment (UE) that is out-of-coverage of a base station and a second UE that is in-coverage of the base station may support signaling exchanges for transmitting or receiving a discovery message, an essential system information block (E-SIB), common SIB updates, or on-demand SIBs within a relaying network before and after a relay connection between the first UE and the second UE (abstract). UE 115-f may transmit, to the UE 115-g, an indication of a request for a SIB (e.g., an on-demand SIB) via an RRC sidelink configuration information element. In some aspects, the UE 115-f may transmit such a request based on transmitting an indication of a requestSIBx in an RRCReconfigurationSidelink message for the requested on-demand SIB ([0151]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify method and system of the combined teachings, by making use of the technique taught by Cheng, in order to improve the network coverage.
Both references are within the same field of telecommunication, and in particular of system information handling, the modification does not change a fundamental operating principle of the combined teachings, nor does the combined teachings teach away from the modification (the combined teachings merely discloses a preferred embodiment). The combination has a reasonable expectation of success in that the modifications can be made using conventional and well known engineering and/or programming techniques, the sidelink communication taught by Cheng is not altered and continues to perform the same function as separately, and the resultant combination produces the highly predictable result of wherein sending the system information request message comprises: sending a sidelink RRC message to a relay terminal device, in a case that a network device does not configure the first configuration, wherein the sidelink RRC message is configured for requesting the system information.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KENNETH T LAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2631