DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 8-10, 21-22, 25-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 2024/0214862 A1) (Wang herein after) in view of Xiao et al. (US 2020/0059340 A1) (Xiao herein after).
Re Claim 1, Wang discloses a method for requesting system information, performed by a remote terminal device, comprising:
sending a system information request message (the terminal device 110 may trigger a transmission of a request for the on-demand information to the network device 120 [0099]), in a case that no valid system information is stored in the remote terminal device (if it is determined that there is no valid version of the on-demand information and the on-demand information is not being broadcasted by the network device 120, the terminal device 110 may determine the on-demand information is unavailable. In such embodiments, for example, there is no valid version of the on-demand information may be that terminal device 110 has not stored a valid version. In another example, it may be that the terminal device has not stored any version of the on-demand information at all [0100]).
Wang discloses the claimed invention except explicitly teaches wherein the system information request message carries a requested system information identifier.
However, Xiao teaches a wireless communication method and system for obtaining supplementary system information wherein system information request message includes an indication for requesting a required system information block and/or system information block group (that is, the message indicates supplementary system information that needs to be requested); for example, the value of the information element corresponding to the requested partial supplementary system information is set to an identifier of a corresponding system information block or an identifier of a corresponding system information block group ([0103]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify method and system of Wang, by making use of the technique taught by Xiao, in order to improve the energy efficiency.
Both references are within the same field of telecommunication, and in particular of system information handling, the modification does not change a fundamental operating principle of Wang, nor does Wang teach away from the modification (Wang merely discloses a preferred embodiment). The combination has a reasonable expectation of success in that the modifications can be made using conventional and well known engineering and/or programming techniques, the system information taught by Xiao is not altered and continues to perform the same function as separately, and the resultant combination produces the highly predictable result of wherein the system information request message carries a requested system information identifier.
Re Claim 2, the combined teachings disclose the method according to claim 1, Wang discloses wherein sending the system information request message comprises:
sending a radio resource control (RRC) message to a network device, in a case that a prohibit timer is not running and the network device configures a first configuration, wherein the RRC message is configured for requesting the system information (it is determined that the request for the on-demand information is received at an RRC layer from an upper layer of the terminal device [0101]), and the first configuration is an on-demand system information request configuration (it is determined that the on-demand information is unavailable, and the terminal device 110 is not performing SDT (i.e., the timer for SDT is not running), the terminal device 110 may request for the on-demand SI/P [0102]); and
starting the prohibit timer (timer may be a timer which is initiated once a SDT procedure is initiated by RRC layer [0126]).
Re Claim 3, the combined teachings disclose the method according to claim 2, Wang discloses further comprising: receiving an RRC reconfiguration message sent by the network device, wherein the RRC reconfiguration message carries the first configuration (information related with configuration for the terminal device configured by the second network device may be transmitted from the second network device via the first network device. Information related with reconfiguration for the terminal device configured by the second network device may be transmitted to the terminal device from the second network device directly or via the first network device [0039]).
Re Claim 4, the combined teachings disclose the method according to claim 2, Wang discloses further comprising one of: receiving, in an RRC reconfiguration message, system information corresponding to the requested system information identifier, stopping the prohibit timer; receiving, in a system broadcast message, system information corresponding to the requested system information identifier, stopping the prohibit timer; or receiving, in a sidelink RRC message, system information corresponding to the requested system information identifier, stopping the prohibit timer (receiving a Radio Resource Control (RRC) Reject message; and stopping the first timer, upon reception of the RRC Reject message, claim 27).
Re Claim 8, Wang discloses a method for requesting system information, performed by a network device, comprising:
receiving a system information request message sent by a remote terminal device (the terminal device 110 may trigger a transmission of a request for the on-demand information to the network device 120 [0099]).
Wang discloses the claimed invention except explicitly teaches wherein the system information request message carries a requested system information identifier.
However, Xiao teaches a wireless communication method and system for obtaining supplementary system information wherein system information request message includes an indication for requesting a required system information block and/or system information block group (that is, the message indicates supplementary system information that needs to be requested); for example, the value of the information element corresponding to the requested partial supplementary system information is set to an identifier of a corresponding system information block or an identifier of a corresponding system information block group ([0103]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify method and system of Wang, by making use of the technique taught by Xiao, in order to improve the energy efficiency.
Both references are within the same field of telecommunication, and in particular of system information handling, the modification does not change a fundamental operating principle of Wang, nor does Wang teach away from the modification (Wang merely discloses a preferred embodiment). The combination has a reasonable expectation of success in that the modifications can be made using conventional and well known engineering and/or programming techniques, the system information taught by Xiao is not altered and continues to perform the same function as separately, and the resultant combination produces the highly predictable result of wherein the system information request message carries a requested system information identifier.
Re Claim 9, the combined teachings disclose the method according to claim 8, Wang discloses further comprising: sending a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message to the remote terminal device (it is determined that the request for the on-demand information is received at an RRC layer from an upper layer of the terminal device [0101]), wherein the RRC reconfiguration message carries a first configuration for requesting the system information (it is determined that the request for the on-demand information is received at an RRC layer from an upper layer of the terminal device [0101]), and the first configuration is an on-demand system information request configuration (it is determined that the on-demand information is unavailable, and the terminal device 110 is not performing SDT (i.e., the timer for SDT is not running), the terminal device 110 may request for the on-demand SI/P [0102]).
Re Claim 10, the combined teachings disclose the method according to claim 8, Wang discloses further comprising one of: sending system information corresponding to the requested system information identifier to the remote terminal device through an RRC reconfiguration message; or broadcasting system information corresponding to the requested system information identifier through a broadcast message (receiving a Radio Resource Control (RRC) Reject message; and stopping the first timer, upon reception of the RRC Reject message, claim 27).
Re Claim 21, the combined teachings disclose a communication apparatus, Wang discloses comprising: a processor; and a memory storing a computer program executable by the processor (medium, memory and processor [0129]); wherein the processor executes the computer program stored in the memory, to cause the apparatus to perform the method according to claim 1.
Re Claim 22, the combined teachings disclose a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions, Wang discloses wherein when the instructions are executed by a processor (medium, memory and processor [0129]), the method according to claim 1 is implemented.
Re Claim 25, the combined teachings disclose a communication apparatus, Wang discloses comprising: a processor; and a memory storing a computer program executable by the processor (medium, memory and processor [0129]); wherein the processor executes the computer program stored in the memory, to cause the apparatus to perform the method according to claim 8.
Re Claim 26, the combined teachings disclose a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions, Wang discloses wherein when the instructions are executed by a processor (medium, memory and processor [0129]), the method according to claim 8 is implemented.
Re Claim 27, the combined teachings disclose the method according to claim 3, Cheng discloses further comprising one of: receiving, in an RRC reconfiguration message, system information corresponding to the requested system information identifier, stopping the prohibit timer; receiving, in a system broadcast message, system information corresponding to the requested system information identifier, stopping the prohibit timer; or receiving, in a sidelink RRC message, system information corresponding to the requested system information identifier, stopping the prohibit timer (receiving a Radio Resource Control (RRC) Reject message; and stopping the first timer, upon reception of the RRC Reject message, claim 27).
Re Claim 28, the combined teachings disclose the method according to claim 9, Cheng discloses further comprising one of: sending system information corresponding to the requested system information identifier to the remote terminal device through an RRC reconfiguration message; or broadcasting system information corresponding to the requested system information identifier through a broadcast message (receiving a Radio Resource Control (RRC) Reject message; and stopping the first timer, upon reception of the RRC Reject message, claim 27).
Claim(s) 6-7, 23-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng et al. (US 2024/0015637 A1) (Cheng herein after) in view of Xiao et al. (US 2020/0059340 A1) (Xiao herein after).
Re Claim 6, Cheng discloses a method for requesting system information, performed by a relay terminal device, comprising:
receiving a system information request message sent by a remote terminal device (system information request component 930 may be configured as or otherwise support a means for transmitting, to the second UE, a request associated with a base station for a second system information transmission, the request based on the relay connection with the second UE and a connection state of the first UE, the relay connection based on the one or more parameters in the first system information transmission. The system information component 925 may be configured as or otherwise support a means for receiving, from the second UE, the second system information transmission in response to the request [0170]).
Wang discloses the claimed invention except explicitly teaches wherein the system information request message carries a requested system information identifier.
However, Xiao teaches a wireless communication method and system for obtaining supplementary system information wherein system information request message includes an indication for requesting a required system information block and/or system information block group (that is, the message indicates supplementary system information that needs to be requested); for example, the value of the information element corresponding to the requested partial supplementary system information is set to an identifier of a corresponding system information block or an identifier of a corresponding system information block group ([0103]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify method and system of Wang, by making use of the technique taught by Xiao, in order to improve the energy efficiency.
Both references are within the same field of telecommunication, and in particular of system information handling, the modification does not change a fundamental operating principle of Wang, nor does Wang teach away from the modification (Wang merely discloses a preferred embodiment). The combination has a reasonable expectation of success in that the modifications can be made using conventional and well known engineering and/or programming techniques, the system information taught by Xiao is not altered and continues to perform the same function as separately, and the resultant combination produces the highly predictable result of wherein the system information request message carries a requested system information identifier.
Re Claim 7, the combined teachings disclose the method according to claim 6, Cheng discloses further comprising: sending obtained system information corresponding to the requested system information identifier to the remote terminal device through a sidelink RRC message (UE 115-f may transmit, to the UE 115-g, an indication of a request for a SIB (e.g., an on-demand SIB) via an RRC sidelink configuration information element. In some aspects, the UE 115-f may transmit such a request based on transmitting an indication of a requestSIBx in an RRCReconfigurationSidelink message for the requested on-demand SIB [0151]).
Re Claim 23, the combined teachings disclose a communication apparatus, Cheng discloses comprising: a processor; and a memory storing a computer program executable by the processor; wherein the processor executes the computer program stored in the memory (medium, memory and processor [0279]), to cause the apparatus to perform the method according to claim 6.
Re Claim 24, the combined teachings disclose a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions, Cheng discloses wherein when the instructions are executed by a processor (medium, memory and processor [0279]), the method according to claim 6 is implemented.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 2024/0214862 A1) (Wang herein after) and Xiao et al. (US 2020/0059340 A1) (Xiao herein after), further
in view of Cheng et al. (US 2024/0015637 A1) (Cheng herein after).
Re Claim 5, the combined teachings disclose the method according to claim 1, except wherein sending the system information request message comprises: sending a sidelink RRC message to a relay terminal device, in a case that a network device does not configure the first configuration, wherein the sidelink RRC message is configured for requesting the system information.
Cheng discloses a techniques for relaying system information over a sidelink wherein a first user equipment (UE) that is out-of-coverage of a base station and a second UE that is in-coverage of the base station may support signaling exchanges for transmitting or receiving a discovery message, an essential system information block (E-SIB), common SIB updates, or on-demand SIBs within a relaying network before and after a relay connection between the first UE and the second UE (abstract). UE 115-f may transmit, to the UE 115-g, an indication of a request for a SIB (e.g., an on-demand SIB) via an RRC sidelink configuration information element. In some aspects, the UE 115-f may transmit such a request based on transmitting an indication of a requestSIBx in an RRCReconfigurationSidelink message for the requested on-demand SIB ([0151]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify method and system of the combined teachings, by making use of the technique taught by Cheng, in order to improve the network coverage.
Both references are within the same field of telecommunication, and in particular of system information handling, the modification does not change a fundamental operating principle of the combined teachings, nor does the combined teachings teach away from the modification (the combined teachings merely discloses a preferred embodiment). The combination has a reasonable expectation of success in that the modifications can be made using conventional and well known engineering and/or programming techniques, the sidelink communication taught by Cheng is not altered and continues to perform the same function as separately, and the resultant combination produces the highly predictable result of wherein sending the system information request message comprises: sending a sidelink RRC message to a relay terminal device, in a case that a network device does not configure the first configuration, wherein the sidelink RRC message is configured for requesting the system information.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Agiwal et al. (US 2023/0380003 A1) – method for handling non small data transmission radio bearer during small data transmission
Shih et al. (US 2021/0105852 A1) – method and apparatus for acquiring system information
Araugo et al. (US 2025/0142653 A1) – operating a user equipment capable of connecting to multiple public land mobile networks
/KENNETH T LAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2631