DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election with traverse of group I, claims 1-5 and 16-18, in the reply filed on 04/23/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 6-15 and 19 withdrawn from further consideration.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/13/2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Preliminary Amendment
Preliminary Amendment that was filed on 09/13/2024 is entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, because the claim purports to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, but fails to recite a combination of elements as required by that statutory provision and thus cannot rely on the specification to provide the structure, material or acts to support the claimed function. As such, the claim recites a function that has no limits and covers every conceivable means for achieving the stated function, while the specification discloses at most only those means known to the inventor. Accordingly, the disclosure is not commensurate with the scope of the claim.
Claim 1 relates to a water-soluble sheet of any composition. This represent an unreasonable generalization from the specific support, since a technical effect has only been shown for PVOH films. Moreover, the application fails to provide support demonstrating or rendering plausible technical effects for all compositions claimed, thus lacks patentability.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because the subject- matter for which protection is sought is not clearly defined. The claim attempts to define the subject-matter in terms of the result to be achieved, i.e. that the nanostructured surface pattern is configured such that, in use, polychromatic light incident on the nanostructured surface pattern is diffracted into dispersed colours that are visible on the water-soluble sheet. This is merely a statement of the underlying problem without providing the technical features necessary to achieve this result.
The feature of claim 2 is interpreted in the following as being fulfilled by all water-soluble films having a nanostructured surface pattern with structural features of less than 2 µm.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by IEDA (US PUB 2020/0207530).
Regarding claim 1, IEDA teaches a water-soluble sheet comprising a nanostructured surface pattern (a uniform irregularity pattern can be formed, para. [0123]) having structural features of less than 2 μm (see Abstract and para. [0015]).
Regarding claim 2, IEDA teaches the nanostructured surface pattern is configured such that, in use, polychromatic light incident on the nanostructured surface pattern is diffracted into dispersed colours that are visible on the water-soluble sheet (e.g., a laser diffraction particle size distribution measuring apparatus, see para. [0053] … additives usually used in a PVA film, such as a colorant, para. [0101]).
Regarding claim 4, IEDA teaches the nanostructured surface pattern comprises one or more protrusions and/or depressions (e.g., a combination of irregularities formed by arranging a large number of relatively coarser projections (protrusions) in a pyramid, trapezoid, hexagonal, or diagonal-line shape or the like, para. [0047]).
Regarding claim 16, IEDA teaches the protrusion is a ridge, a cross shaped protrusion, and/or a hexagonal shaped protrusion (e.g., a combination of irregularities formed by arranging a large number of relatively coarser projections (a ridge) in a pyramid, trapezoid, hexagonal, or diagonal-line shape or the like, para. [0047]).
Regarding claim 17, IEDA teaches the depression is a groove, a cross shaped depression, and/or a hexagonal shaped depression (e.g., the engraving shape is not especially limited, and an arrangement of a large number of recesses (e.g., grooves) each in a pyramid shape, trapezoid cross-section, hexagonal shape, diagonal-line or the like is employed, para. [0047]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 5 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over IEDA (US PUB 2020/0207530).
Regarding claim 3, IEDA teaches the nanostructured surface pattern covers between 1 and 100% of at least one side of the water-soluble sheet, or from 1-50%, or from 1-25%, or from 1-10% of the surface of at least one side of the water-soluble sheet (i.e., The first and second irregularities may be formed, in general, uniformly on the surface of the roll (e.g., surface area), para. [0123]).
IEDA discloses the claimed invention except for explicit teaching of the nanostructured surface pattern covers between 1 and 100%. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have desired area to be covered with projections (nanostructures) since, it has held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 5, IEDA teaches the protrusions and/or depressions are arranged in a pattern of 500-1500 protrusions and/or depressions per mm (a combination of irregularities formed by arranging a large number of relatively coarser projections, and relatively finer random irregularities may be employed (protrusions per mm), para. [0047]); and wherein the water-soluble sheet comprises a polymeric material (e.g., a polyvinyl alcohol “PVA”) resin, para. [0024]).
IEDA discloses the claimed invention except for explicit teachings of a pattern of 500-1500 protrusions per mm. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a pattern of 500-1500 protrusions and/or depressions per mm, since it has been held that the provision of adjustability, where needed, involves only routine skill in the art. In re Stevens, 101 USPQ 284 (CCPA 1954).
Regarding claim 18, IEDA teaches the protrusions and/or depressions have a centre-to-centre distance between adjacent protrusions and/or depressions of less than 2 μm (i.e., a combination of irregularities formed by arranging a large number of relatively coarser projections, … and relatively finer random irregularities (e.g., pitch of less than 2 μm) may be employed, para. [0047]).
IEDA discloses the claimed invention except for explicit teachings of a centre-to-centre distance between adjacent protrusions of less than 2 μm. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a pitch of protrusions of less than 2 μm, since it has been held that the provision of adjustability, where needed, involves only routine skill in the art. In re Stevens, 101 USPQ 284 (CCPA 1954).
Cited prior art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. JP 2002241797 A (IDE et al.) teaches “in order to enhance the strength of the water-soluble film, improve the water solubility, or enhance the commercial value, the film has an average particle size of 0.1 to 10 μm.”, see pages 5-6.
Conclusion
/MUSTAK CHOUDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872
July 9, 2026